More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.28

Awesome63.89%
Worth A Look: 11.11%
Average: 18.06%
Pretty Bad: 2.78%
Total Crap: 4.17%

1 review, 66 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Caddyshack
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Hawkboy

"Memorable quotes do NOT a good movie make."
3 stars

Chevy Chase, Bill Murray, Rodney Dangerfield - you're all so very funny. And the dialogue you speak in this movie is very quotable, and many of these quotes appear in our daily lives. But your movie? It ain't that great.

There are some for whom this movie is an institution. It is said that being able to recite this movie from memory was a requirement for most fraternity brothers. And indeed, the film does have some really great lines. Most of Bill Murray's dialogue in the movie in particular stands out. But there's really nothing special about this movie. It's bogged down too much by attempts to impose a plot on all the free-form craziness. If they had just let Rodney, Chevy, and Bill do their thing and leave the damn caddies and their damn golf tournament out of it.

The plot: There's a golf course/country club. It's owned by rich stuffy white guy Ted Knight. There's this caddy (played by a guy whose name I really don't remember) and he wants the scholarship given to one caddy per year by Ted. Bill Murray is Carl the groundskeeper, trying to stop a gopher. He's crazy and lusts after elderly women. Chevy Chase is a rich guy too, but he's funny and doesn't care about money. Rodney is Al Czervik, a rich guy who tells dirty jokes and farts. Rodney and Ted clash. Hilarity ensues.

So, we've got all the right ingredients for a zany madcap romp. But something goes wrong. And that something can be best summed up in one sentence: It has a plot, and attempts to make us give a shit whether or not stupid caddy boy gets the scholarship. Do we care? No. Do we care if his waitress girlfriend with the weird-ass accent is pregnant? No. Do we care if the hot chick named Lacy Underall gets naked on a regular basis? Yes. You know what we want to see as well? We want to see Bill Murray use dynamite to kill gophers. We want to see Chevy Chase playing golf blindfolded. We want to see Rodney Dangerfield do his stand-up comedy act to the stuffy white people at the country club and yelling "We're all gonna get laid!". We want to see that chick naked some more. But NOOOOOOO. We have to worry about a GOLF TOURNAMENT. Featuring the wussy caddy kid.

What the hell were they thinking? Were they sitting there in the writing sessions, thinking, "Yeah, we got a pretty funny movie. But you know what it needs? More golf." Mental note: Golf is the least funny of all sports. What? Happy Gilmore? Don't shove that "Happy Gilmore" shit in my face. Happy was a hockey player. He HAD to play golf, but he was still a hockey player. Golf: NOT FUNNY. You wonder why "Slap Shot" was funny, and "Tin Cup" was about as amusing as a plate of wet noodles? Wonder no more.

There's so much great shit in the movie that it's definitely worth seeing. But it has SUCH weakness in it. And said weakness comes every time we watch wussy boy and his irish/scottish/polish girlfriend show up on screen. It's like the old Marx Brothers movies - we get the funny guys an awful lot, but there's also shitty-ass musical numbers, a lame romantic subplot, bland lead characters, and Zeppo. Fucking Zeppo. (For those of you confused, Zeppo = Scott Baio of the 1930's. A talentless bastard who got by on his looks and his relation to someone famous.) (Chachi was related to Fonzie, stupid.) So Groucho, Harpo, and Chico had some great moments in this one - too damn bad Zeppo was top-billed.

Well, at least it was better than the sequel.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2681&reviewer=27
originally posted: 11/15/99 17:07:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/25/15 Joe KS 1 stars
1/25/11 Diehard Some of u r crazy this is arguably best comedy ever.would love to see what u consider funny 5 stars
1/22/10 art NO I TAKE IT BACK!,BOTH CADDYSHACK"S SHOULD BE ERASED! 1 stars
7/12/09 art THIS IS GREAT!,CADDYSHACK 2 should be ERASED! 4 stars
5/21/09 PAUL SHORTT AN UNYIELDINGLY CRUDE AND USELESS SERIES OF FARCICAL EVENTS WHICH CHIEFLY LACK HUMOUR 2 stars
5/17/09 art A FUN FILM ABOUT GOLF! 3 stars
9/22/08 Shaun Wallner This film is hilarious!! 5 stars
3/10/08 art the ONLY INTERESTING MOVIE ABOUT GOLF 3 stars
2/18/08 Pamela White funny and the gopher was a cute menace. 4 stars
7/16/07 tom Best... sports... movie... ever... 5 stars
6/03/06 Wipef I liked the bits about killing all the golfers and the Doody scene but I was totally bored 2 stars
5/26/06 G. Axford Best comedy, gag for gag, EVER! 5 stars
4/04/06 JRE this is THE funniest movie ever made. everyone should watch it at least twice 5 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer When you speak of funny you think..."Dangerfield". #2 comedy of all time! 5 stars
11/11/05 zeitgeist Critiquing this movie's storyline is like calling Jenna Jameson a bad actress. Just laugh. 5 stars
8/31/05 ES The caddy's were idiots, it should have been all about the four guys on the cover 3 stars
8/25/05 Sugarfoot One of the best comedies from the 80s. Period 5 stars
6/08/05 CJ funny 5 stars
4/13/05 Cassander Gambling is illegal at Bushwood sir 5 stars
1/29/05 ralph a true movie expert 32 yrs old for people who like silly humor 3 stars
1/17/05 Jeff Anderson Along with Rodney Dangerfield, Ted Knight gives the single funniest performance. A CLASSIC! 5 stars
10/30/04 Scott Roen Superb...a great laugh from start to finish. Everyone has to see this at least once 5 stars
9/01/04 A upton N N N N N Naa beee the ball 5 stars
8/28/04 Tiger Woods Awesome, funny ass shit, except for the "colored boy" crap! 5 stars
7/27/04 Ken Chevy Chase at his best! Rodney Dangerfield and Bill Murray are very funny also! 4 stars
2/13/04 KD Glienke It's a good comedy -- because it makes me laugh my ass off several times! 5 stars
12/20/03 ROY L. CAIN,JR. A hell lot better than it's sequel "CADDYSHACK II". Ratfarts! 4 stars
12/14/03 Helen Bradley worst film of the decade 1 stars
8/30/03 Kitty B. murray's best damn film EVER!!! 5 stars
8/11/03 The Savage The ultimate classic, If you don't like it, then you should stick your head in an oven 5 stars
6/23/03 cochese Hawkboy shouldn't be reviewing movies because this one's a classic. 5 stars
6/18/03 Andrew Callaway Extremely funny - but that's it. 4 stars
3/25/03 cody crites this is the best golf movie ther is. 5 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Screamingly funny. Excepting a few dead spots, this is grand entertainment. Dangerfield A+ 4 stars
1/19/03 R.W. Welch Some clever bits but mostly just slapstick stuff. Cult following. 3 stars
11/20/02 David A. Seems somewhat tame after Jim Carrey, but would have been a blast in 1979 4 stars
10/15/02 Charles Tatum Really borderline funny until Rodney comes in and saves the day 5 stars
6/08/02 Ronald Dawson One of the funniest movies of all time! 5 stars
5/13/02 Dark Baron Funny!!! The 20th DVD edition is great!! 5 stars
10/25/01 shep_ramsay i smell varment puntang and the only good varment puntang is dead varment puntang 5 stars
10/04/01 Stu "Farts! DOUBLE FARTS!" 5 stars
8/22/01 zeitgeist "hey Wang, they're a little prejudice here, so don't tell them you're Jewish" 5 stars
8/12/01 Andrew Carden So Funny! 5 stars
8/10/01 E-Funk Bill Murray makes this movie. They don't make em like this anymore. 4 stars
7/21/01 sarah this film proves that chevy chace was once hilarious. where has the time gone? 5 stars
7/10/01 Stu Burns Underrated film about a man (Dangerfield) coming to grips with his grief in his own way. 5 stars
7/06/01 Caddy 6 the part where ted knight throws his g.c in the air was so AWESOME! i've tried it before. 5 stars
6/29/01 Mister Robinson "HEY EVERYBODY! WE'RE ALL GONNA GET LAID" -Al Czervk 5 stars
6/20/01 Judith Latham Hey lady...wanna make 50 bucks....the "hard" way? 5 stars
6/10/01 Dustin rodney dangerfield is very, very funny in this film 5 stars
6/07/01 Brandon Glenn Rogers Hey everybody, wer'e all gonna get laid! 5 stars
5/30/01 Chevy Murray I just got stoned to the bejeezus belt. 5 stars
5/24/01 zeitgeist "Hey Wang, they're a little prejudice around here, so don't tell them you're Jewish" 5 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog It does'nt get much better than this! A true classic!! 5 stars
1/16/01 Dave My favourite film 5 stars
1/15/01 Sklorsh This is THE BEST comedy movie of all time, hands down. 5 stars
9/24/00 Bender I'm one of the few people who's not that impressed with this movie. But its still ok. 3 stars
7/17/00 doug Very funny!A must see! Espicially at the end with everything exploding and patriotic music! 5 stars
5/24/00 Rich Lee Danny Noonan is the single greatest protagonist in the history of cinema. 5 stars
4/21/00 Steve Layne It has some laughs, but not a lot and its also not that entertaining. 3 stars
4/12/00 Chartsy Chevy Chase, Ted Knight, Bill Murray - the dream team. 5 stars
4/04/00 Steve Chase You'll either love it or loathe it - AND I LOVE IT!!!! 5 stars
1/06/00 ck brillance personified! 5 stars
12/31/99 JussMatt An ALL Time Classic!!! There are NO better comedy movies than this!!! 5 stars
11/15/99 MickCollins Hawkboy is a tool,the Shack rocks. Murray is God 5 stars
11/15/99 JonnyAngel Danny Noonan is my hero. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Jul-1980 (R)
  DVD: 04-Apr-2000

UK
  N/A

Australia
  21-Aug-1980




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast