More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 10.58%
Worth A Look44.23%
Average: 19.23%
Pretty Bad: 18.27%
Total Crap: 7.69%

7 reviews, 62 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

Early Man by Jay Seaver

Beyond Skyline by Jay Seaver

Agent Mr. Chan by Jay Seaver

Wrinkle in Time, A by Peter Sobczynski

Kill Order by Jay Seaver

Detective Chinatown 2 by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

Can't Hardly Wait
[] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"Ain't nothin but a party, y'all."
4 stars

I had low expectations for this type of film, just like anyone else.

At the same time, John-Hughes-style teen comedies are so hard to come by these days, I was hoping that this new offering, Can't Hardly Wait, would be a decent effort. Writers/directors Elfont and Kaplan manage to pull it off and then some.

The typical cases are all there at the post-graduation get-together: the shy boy (Ethan Embry) putting forth his best effort to win the love of the most popular girl in school (Jennifer Love Hewitt); the nerdy-type (Charlie Korsmo) seeking high-tech revenge on the Cro-Magnon jock who's hassled him through the years; the space case (Seth Green) out to score some poon-tang in a fit of overenthusiasm (and overpreparedness). Also in the mix are the cynical introvert (Lauren Ambrose), the school-spirit poster child (Melissa Joan Hart) obsessed with her yearbook, and the neurotic host of the party (dammit, I forgot her name).

This could have fell apart quite easily, but what saves this film is first-rate acting, an enthusiastic pace, and a determinedness to steer clear of worn-out character cliches. The nerd-type isn't made into an over-dorky Eddie Deezen wannabe; in fact, he has a soft spot for Guns-n-Roses, as shown in the heavy-metal-karaoke scene that was the highlight of the film for me. The jock isn't a standard-issue tough guy - he can't even get his own buds to follow his orders. The popular girl isn't a stuck-up bitch waiting for someone to win her over, but instead finds the shy boy's love letter to her and sets out to find the guy herself.

Complementing the film nicely is the usual assortment of songs by popular alternative rock acts, as well as an abundance of 80s-90s pop culture references that would make HUBER proud.

Sure, it doesn't quite reach the level of John Hughes' finest. But Can't Hardly Wait sure has a hell of a lot of fun trying.

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 08/18/98 23:16:55
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/22/17 morris campbell typical teen crap 1 stars
10/16/14 Jeff WIlder Cliched script. Ambrose is entertaining. 2 stars
9/27/10 Jennifer kimberly all teens must watch! 4 stars
12/22/08 CTT Disarmingly funny flick, with loads of big stars starting out then 5 stars
7/02/07 johnnyfog Weird mix of truth and stereotype. Seth and Ambrose the only thing worth seeing. 2 stars
7/12/04 DM A few interesting moments, but generally corny and predictable 2 stars
10/20/03 Samuel Justus I sorta liked this movie, it was sorta lame in alot of places, but it had a decent story... 4 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Unexpectedly entertaining. Charming cast. 3 stars
9/06/02 Chancey Thunderpants JLH is a terrible actress... this whole movie blows chunks. 1 stars
6/26/02 Thunderfuck The most fun of all these recent teen movies, esp. thanks to Seth Green. He is HILARIOUS 5 stars
5/27/02 Nicole Pretty damn funny if you have lived through high school 4 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee I'm surprised JLH tits didn't receive seperate billing. 2 stars
2/15/02 Shelly Howard JLH forgettable this time, but who's this Lauren Ambrose and where can I see more of her?! 4 stars
12/30/01 sarafina Not today folks 2 stars
11/12/01 Jon C. Ericson Another stereotypical teen flick. 3 Stars for J. Hewitt's beauty. 3 stars
6/16/01 MARK to hell with hewitt... id chase ethan for 4 years though... 3 stars
4/10/01 Gary JLH cannot act very well, but it's a good movie and it's funny. 4 stars
4/03/01 Ryan Peithman The Best fucking movie in the world!! 5 stars
2/26/01 Big P. Only teen movie worth seeing. Isn't entirely realistic, but real teen life sucks. 5 stars
2/01/01 BASSee welcome to the 90s, were everything in the movies is even more phony than ever! 1 stars
1/02/01 Emily it wasn't supposed to be amazing. it was just a cool little movie that had some great lines 4 stars
9/03/00 Bender Plays like a 80's greatest teen movie hits. A gulity pleasure. The soundtrack is awesome. 4 stars
5/05/00 TIGGER One of the best movies of the 90's . JLH was good for once. 5 stars
2/12/00 steve layne I liked it better in the theatre, but still in the top 10 of the best teen movies ofthe 90s 4 stars
2/11/00 Kyle Broflovski Too much party...not enough..."whatever whatever"... 3 stars
10/30/99 Bozo only reason its not 'crap' is ethan embry rises above the material occasionally 2 stars
9/23/99 alaina this movie rocks 5 stars
7/31/99 Dr. Worm The best teen cast ever! The best teen movie ever! My 3rd favorite movie of all time 5 stars
7/08/99 jvt yo yo yo this movie was trash yo 1 stars
7/08/99 Freyja I loved it. Seth Green is the best new teen actor by so far it's not funny. 5 stars
5/02/99 Mindy Seth Green is the highlight, the script the lowlight - but what can we really expect? 3 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn another stunning performance by miss boobs herself.Where's your brain Jennifer.between them 3 stars
2/07/99 roxy seth green is cute and reminds me of jeff olive. i hate teenagers. 2 stars
1/04/99 geisele Please do not start the Pretty in Pink cliches all over again!!!!!! 3 stars
12/28/98 Cage Very funny... Hewitt is just gorgeous.... 4 stars
11/10/98 Bluntman Wrong, Vanessa! Seth Green was on WB's BUFFY before this piece of shit! 2 stars
10/08/98 Daddy Rich I enjoyed it thoroughly. A great party movie. Also very funny. 5 stars
9/27/98 katherine it was alright. not much of a ployt though, and not too funny. 3 stars
9/25/98 Pat Flanagan If you're looking for a teen party movie, this is a great one. Class of '98!! 4 stars
9/24/98 MR HOLLYWOOD alcohol,drugs,sex,nerds etc etc, its all be seen before,funny at parts ! 3 stars
9/18/98 Christian I think Seth Green kicked ass, and Hewitt is such a hottie! Very funny movie! 5 stars
9/13/98 Como Erectus I wanted to hate it, but I actually enjoyed myself. Love Hewitt does nothing at all. Boobys 4 stars
9/06/98 J Lyons Funny as hell. Reminded me of my HS graduation. 5 stars
9/04/98 Badass Seth Green has a great scene all by himself. Other than that, the movie sucked. 2 stars
9/01/98 pooky the bald a great reportory movie. matinee, yay. 3 stars
8/30/98 Drasord poor dialgue, cheesy script, average actors 2 stars
8/30/98 J-Guy (The MFC) fuckin' trendy teen crap. fuck this shit. 1 stars
8/25/98 Puppy78 (You know who I am) why do i need to watch high school kids drink, i drink by myself enough thank you 2 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Charlie Korsmo doing Axel. High point. Ethan Embry doing anything. Low point. 3 stars
8/23/98 Dutch Take me down to a paradise city, where the guys talk crap and the girls show titty. 4 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Love's breasts defy gravity. 3 stars
8/20/98 Miss Stress none of the parties i went to in high school were like that 2 stars
8/18/98 spork-girl ethan embry is hot, and seth green is cute. not quality filmmaking, though 4 stars
8/16/98 Clam Chowder Y'know, this blew. 1 stars
8/15/98 rotten f. milk God bless Seth Green 4 stars
8/15/98 Schmeekins As an epic drama, it blew chunks 3 stars
8/14/98 VioLenT BoB I Didn't Want My Money for Halloween I want my LIFE BACK!@ 4 stars
8/14/98 Pythomas It's better than you'd think. My fave: the "Paradise City" performance 4 stars
8/13/98 {{OZ}} It didn't hurt my brain... so it's better than most things I've seen 2 stars
8/13/98 clark decent flick. brings back high school party memories. 3 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  08-Jun-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 22-May-2001


  17-Sep-1998 (M)

Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast