More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.78

Awesome: 16.22%
Worth A Look: 21.62%
Average: 8.11%
Pretty Bad32.43%
Total Crap: 21.62%

2 reviews, 25 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


SubUrbia
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Horribly written, but decently acted."
2 stars

Airport, hotel, show; airport, hotel, show.

Eric Bogosian can't write for people my age.
He just can't.

This movie's all talk, like Before Sunrise, another Richard Linklater film, was, but this ain't no Before Sunrise. It's boring. The characters spend the entire film whining about, well, everything. Bitch and moan, bitch and moan, drink, eat pizza, bitch and moan.

Get the picture?

People have called it a sad commentary on today's youth, how it (and the characters it portrays) is aimless and clueless, with nothing to look forward to with any hope, and nothing to look back at with any pride.

Bullshit.

If you think everyone between the ages of 15 and 26 is like this, you're living in a cave, or an idiot, or both. Listen up, hermit-man: One guy, Pony (Jayce Bartok) has made it as a musician. He comes home to hang with the old gang. They wait for him to show. One guy (Giovanni Ribisi) is unimpressed when he does show. He's living in a pup tent in his parents garage. What follows is sort of like a series of vignettes, spliced together to make a movie. It makes sense, since Suburbia was written for the stage, where it probably works a little better.

What saves it for me is the actors. They're all good, despite the fact that the movie's dialogue is a phenomenal bore. Steve Zahn is hilarious as Buff, the would-be stoner stuck in a dead-end job, and Ribisi is pretty good, too.

But it doesn't change the fact that the movie doesn't work. When it goes from people talking to deadly serious in a matter of minutes, the change is so abrupt that your head spins.

It's not Linklater's best work.

Oh, and Parker Posey's in this. I'm of the belief that Parker Posey is the most overrated indie actress around.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=276&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/26/98 00:20:29
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/17/06 mark eric needs to find another occupation 1 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge SEE THE ORIGINAL Punk suburbia. This movie is shit. GO get the orig..go on then..do it.... 1 stars
11/17/03 Cherry I think Bartok did a good performance. 5 stars
5/22/03 Dave I really think this movie is great. Especialy in comparison with the usual movies on tv 5 stars
11/25/02 jksfsdkl ug. felt like i was watching a bad high school play. everyone seemed too old to be in it. 1 stars
2/13/02 Lish this movie is based on TRUTH!..you go Giovanni Rbisi and Parker Posey!.. 5 stars
12/30/01 sarafina I wanted to hide under the sofa and cry.. 1 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk This movie sucks so much dick I think I could taste it. 1 stars
4/25/01 sarah i wanted to like this, mostly because of the full frontal nudity, but its pure angsty shite 2 stars
4/17/01 Elizabeth Great Screenplay and Wonderful Acting! You must see for yourself!! 5 stars
2/28/01 c3posborn If you think that this movie is boring and goes nowhere then you obviously have missed the 4 stars
11/05/00 Gray Ribisi and Posey should've had more screen time. Maybe, just maybe, this would be worth it. 3 stars
1/22/00 Josh Very Entertaining 5 stars
12/01/99 Jason Ehas Once again proving that "real" critics are old and unaware, subUrbia is a terrific! 5 stars
4/12/99 Randall It was alright, not linklater's finest 3 stars
3/18/99 Max Bernstein Max...Angry!....Smash!.....Crash!.......Destroy Bill Paxton!!! 1 stars
11/25/98 katharina ribisi is the only worthwhile thing in this film. he is an incredible actor. otherwise,ick 4 stars
10/24/98 Timmy C Well...I guess Linklater had to make a subpar film eventually 3 stars
8/25/98 Mister Whoopee Love the Rbisi man. Love the Posey girl. Hate the director. 2 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress can you say boring boys and girls? very good! 1 stars
8/25/98 The Capital City Goofball A couple of guys stand in a parking lot. Yeah! Let's make it a movie! Erg. 1 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet You can't tell me that Linklater's a genius. Not after this. 2 stars
8/19/98 zubilicious pretty shitty flick, even if vanni ribisi gets nekkid. 2 stars
8/17/98 Johny ---> 2 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} I want to see Parker Posey naked. But only naked. No more of this not naked stuff. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Feb-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Richard Linklater

Written by
  Eric Bogosian

Cast
  Jayce Bartok
  Amie Carey
  Nicky Katt
  Ajay Naidu
  Parker Posey
  Giovanni Rbisi



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast