More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 16.22%
Worth A Look: 21.62%
Average: 8.11%
Pretty Bad32.43%
Total Crap: 21.62%

2 reviews, 25 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Wild Mouse by Jay Seaver

Pacific Rim: Uprising by alejandroariera

Unsane by Peter Sobczynski

Tehran Taboo by Rob Gonsalves

Final Portrait by Rob Gonsalves

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story by Jay Seaver

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

[] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Horribly written, but decently acted."
2 stars

Airport, hotel, show; airport, hotel, show.

Eric Bogosian can't write for people my age.
He just can't.

This movie's all talk, like Before Sunrise, another Richard Linklater film, was, but this ain't no Before Sunrise. It's boring. The characters spend the entire film whining about, well, everything. Bitch and moan, bitch and moan, drink, eat pizza, bitch and moan.

Get the picture?

People have called it a sad commentary on today's youth, how it (and the characters it portrays) is aimless and clueless, with nothing to look forward to with any hope, and nothing to look back at with any pride.


If you think everyone between the ages of 15 and 26 is like this, you're living in a cave, or an idiot, or both. Listen up, hermit-man: One guy, Pony (Jayce Bartok) has made it as a musician. He comes home to hang with the old gang. They wait for him to show. One guy (Giovanni Ribisi) is unimpressed when he does show. He's living in a pup tent in his parents garage. What follows is sort of like a series of vignettes, spliced together to make a movie. It makes sense, since Suburbia was written for the stage, where it probably works a little better.

What saves it for me is the actors. They're all good, despite the fact that the movie's dialogue is a phenomenal bore. Steve Zahn is hilarious as Buff, the would-be stoner stuck in a dead-end job, and Ribisi is pretty good, too.

But it doesn't change the fact that the movie doesn't work. When it goes from people talking to deadly serious in a matter of minutes, the change is so abrupt that your head spins.

It's not Linklater's best work.

Oh, and Parker Posey's in this. I'm of the belief that Parker Posey is the most overrated indie actress around.

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 09/26/98 00:20:29
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/17/06 mark eric needs to find another occupation 1 stars
2/23/04 Naturezrevenge SEE THE ORIGINAL Punk suburbia. This movie is shit. GO get the orig..go on it.... 1 stars
11/17/03 Cherry I think Bartok did a good performance. 5 stars
5/22/03 Dave I really think this movie is great. Especialy in comparison with the usual movies on tv 5 stars
11/25/02 jksfsdkl ug. felt like i was watching a bad high school play. everyone seemed too old to be in it. 1 stars
2/13/02 Lish this movie is based on TRUTH! go Giovanni Rbisi and Parker Posey!.. 5 stars
12/30/01 sarafina I wanted to hide under the sofa and cry.. 1 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk This movie sucks so much dick I think I could taste it. 1 stars
4/25/01 sarah i wanted to like this, mostly because of the full frontal nudity, but its pure angsty shite 2 stars
4/17/01 Elizabeth Great Screenplay and Wonderful Acting! You must see for yourself!! 5 stars
2/28/01 c3posborn If you think that this movie is boring and goes nowhere then you obviously have missed the 4 stars
11/05/00 Gray Ribisi and Posey should've had more screen time. Maybe, just maybe, this would be worth it. 3 stars
1/22/00 Josh Very Entertaining 5 stars
12/01/99 Jason Ehas Once again proving that "real" critics are old and unaware, subUrbia is a terrific! 5 stars
4/12/99 Randall It was alright, not linklater's finest 3 stars
3/18/99 Max Bernstein Max...Angry!....Smash!.....Crash!.......Destroy Bill Paxton!!! 1 stars
11/25/98 katharina ribisi is the only worthwhile thing in this film. he is an incredible actor. otherwise,ick 4 stars
10/24/98 Timmy C Well...I guess Linklater had to make a subpar film eventually 3 stars
8/25/98 Mister Whoopee Love the Rbisi man. Love the Posey girl. Hate the director. 2 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress can you say boring boys and girls? very good! 1 stars
8/25/98 The Capital City Goofball A couple of guys stand in a parking lot. Yeah! Let's make it a movie! Erg. 1 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet You can't tell me that Linklater's a genius. Not after this. 2 stars
8/19/98 zubilicious pretty shitty flick, even if vanni ribisi gets nekkid. 2 stars
8/17/98 Johny ---> 2 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} I want to see Parker Posey naked. But only naked. No more of this not naked stuff. 2 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  07-Feb-1997 (R)



Directed by
  Richard Linklater

Written by
  Eric Bogosian

  Jayce Bartok
  Amie Carey
  Nicky Katt
  Ajay Naidu
  Parker Posey
  Giovanni Rbisi

Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast