More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.79

Awesome: 17.54%
Worth A Look: 15.79%
Average: 26.32%
Pretty Bad: 8.77%
Total Crap31.58%

2 reviews, 45 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

Art and Craft by Jay Seaver

One Chance by Jay Seaver

St. Vincent by Peter Sobczynski

Wyrmwood by Jay Seaver

Judge, The by Peter Sobczynski

Over Your Dead Body by Jay Seaver

Breakup Buddies by Jay Seaver

Dracula Untold by Daniel Kelly

subscribe to this feed


Dante's Peak
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"People getting boiled alive is the high point of this flick."
1 stars

Pierce Brosnan in an disaster flick. Also with Linda Hamilton, but she's not the hero, so she can't save this flick.

Brosnana is a volcanologist. Hamilton is a mom/mayor. Her town is next to a volcano. It erupts. Brosnan is their only hope!

How this pitch got beyond the idea stage is beyond me. Disaster flicks were many and not far enough between after Twister, and this one...just sucks. Ohmygod! What's going to happen? I wonder...I wonder who produced this cow turd.

Save your money. Don't rent this. If you're all into volcanoes, go see Volcano with Tommy Lee Jones. 1 spork.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=278&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/03/98 01:30:56
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/19/13 dr.lao Standard disaster flick, not bad but nothing new to see 3 stars
10/12/10 PAUL SHORTT ENTERTAINING DISASTER FILM WITH CONVINCING EFFECTS 3 stars
1/18/09 bibi it was good but i didnt get tooo see the beginning 2 stars
7/31/07 weow dantes peak has 0 mates 5 stars
4/23/07 David Risser It's a Volcano wannabe 2 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Not so accurate to facts, but, hey! It's Hollywood. 3 stars
1/18/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 4 stars
2/03/06 Anthony Feor Peirce grabs us again with another performance 4 stars
10/19/05 Quigley effects are much better than volcano, but I am so tired of watching it. 4 stars
8/11/05 ES All I can say a mountain volcano=blievable, a desert volcano in downtown LA not so much 4 stars
6/21/05 tony Whats wrong with this movie! Everything! But i still enjoyed it 5 stars
3/13/05 G-Man this movie rocked 5 stars
9/09/04 Daniel Peterson Ithought it was pretty good 4 stars
2/17/04 Dr.Lecter Only good thing was the music 2 stars
12/09/03 john uninspired desaster movie - predictable and boring 2 stars
11/14/03 Edith the Maid and Meredith the Mermaid Better than VOLCANO. Linda Hamilton much better than in TERMINATOR crap. 4 stars
4/02/03 Jack Sommersby A first-rate adventure. Superbly directed and acted by the two leads. 4 stars
3/31/03 sfghghfghg Way better than valcano a must see 5 stars
2/20/03 Dave Not that good, but much much better than Volcano. 3 stars
9/02/02 movie guy A GREAT FILM 5 stars
12/10/01 waterfall IT'S THE BEST THING i HAVE EVER SEEN! 5 stars
12/03/01 Jim Spectacular special effects & action hung on wafer-thin script and a bunch of stereotypes 4 stars
11/30/01 Andrew Carden At The Time It Was Good, but Now It Totally Bores Me. 1 stars
8/09/01 Mr. Hat Sometimes it's a little too freaky for me. 4 stars
6/11/01 j j 5 stars
2/19/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Watching the town fall apart was the best part of a sorry business. 3 stars
1/09/01 I love movies you're right, it's pretty stupid 3 stars
12/24/00 The Evil Penguin just changed my rating to 5. Awesome effects and huge destruction 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin intense, but with thin characters 3 stars
10/18/00 dan the greatest movie... incredibly tense and suspenseful... forget Volcano! 5 stars
8/02/00 Alce The only Dante I want to know is the one who wrote the Divine Comedy 1 stars
3/18/00 Lame-Oh 100 times shit than that abysmal Volcano 1 stars
10/27/99 Sailor Uranus One of the few films I WANTED to fall asleep while watching. 1 stars
7/18/99 chris some movies are made just to be fuupposed to be fun, and this movie did a great job of that 5 stars
6/09/99 lucas jackson the movie had a good plot, just the story was no good and to fake 3 stars
12/10/98 Scion of Graveheart SHITTY scenarios. Ya gotta love 'em. Oh, you mean Dante's farts? Hah! 1 stars
12/04/98 Shadow Raider You shitheads! Nobody believes 007. What I do? I need a drink. 1 stars
11/12/98 Lord Of The Dunce Nothing to see here. Move along please. 1 stars
10/13/98 joseph dante's puke?? 1 stars
10/01/98 Simple Pimple Ornery idea, ornery plot, ornery acting, ornery movie. 1 stars
9/12/98 kanatcha ugh. 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Volcano gonna pop and nobody believes 007. Stupidheads. 3 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Let's have just a small amount of realism in films please. 1 stars
8/21/98 Pete How stupid do studios think we are? I was rooting for the volcano. 1 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Volcano go bang. Nobody believe. What we do? We get more popcorn. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  07-Feb-1997 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast