More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.32

Awesome72.73%
Worth A Look: 13.64%
Average: 0%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 13.64%

1 review, 16 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


When We Were Kings
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"He's the greatest."
5 stars

If you don't watch documentaries, you're missing out.

Some of the best films of the last 10 years or so have been documentaries: Roger & Me, Hoop Dreams, the recent Michael Moore film The Big One, and of course, When We Were Kings.

This movie tells the story behind the story of the Rumble In The Jungle, the fight between George Foreman and Muhammed Ali in 1973, but also the stories surrounding that fight: the concerts before the fight, the general disbelief that Ali would even have a chance against Foreman.

Director Leon Gast shot 300,000 feet of film. That's like, nearly 60 miles. That's a lot of film, but he wanted to get it all. He's been cutting and recutting this movie (after scrounging up the finances to get all that film processed) for years, and when you see it, it's absolutley mesmerizing. George Plimpton and Norman Mailer recount the feel of that night at the fight (they were both there), and Spike Lee offers up what Ali means to everyone, not just the African-American community.

All that, plus snippets from the concert featuring James Brown, the Spinners, and B.B. King.

Totally engrossing.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=283&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/10/98 01:02:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/26/16 FireWithFire You were never Kings,never even in Affucka 1 stars
2/08/11 Phineas Propaganda about fight that BANKRUPTED all of Zaire,that did not make you "kings" 1 stars
8/09/09 zenny great, but. that one crazy lady freaked me out 5 stars
3/22/04 john I think he was the most fun AND the Greatest! brings back the feeling of a whole decade! 5 stars
9/03/03 R.W. Welch Not sure Ali was the greatest but he sure was the most fun. Sharply edited stuff. 4 stars
11/28/01 august Tess This movie is a magical piece of art. Ali displays his greatness throught out the film. 5 stars
5/09/01 jacquie hamel fascinating and emotional as well as educational 5 stars
4/15/00 malcolm incredible, not even considering that we know how the fight ends 5 stars
10/11/99 Weird Andy Any film with Ali AND B.B. King in it is "fucking awesome" in my book. 5 stars
9/10/99 Ellen A beautiful movie about a true hero. Long live the king! 5 stars
3/03/99 bill stanbar piece O shit 1 stars
2/18/99 Bishop Best Documentary of all time. Hands down, it is "the Greatest." Produces alot of nostalgia. 5 stars
2/02/99 Kooky Sal The greatest sportsman of all time. A really intriguing doco. 4 stars
2/01/99 Vick Di Brecci Ali's charisma, Foreman's image back then as compared to today's make this compelling viewi 4 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob A fantastic documentary that engrosses even the harshest non boxing fan. 5 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet Great stuff. Ali will always be the greatest. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Feb-1997 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Leon Gast

Written by
  (documentary)

Cast
  Muhammad Ali
  George Foreman
  Don King
  James Brown
  B.B. King
  Spike Lee



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast