More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.1

Awesome: 37.93%
Worth A Look51.72%
Average: 0%
Pretty Bad: 3.45%
Total Crap: 6.9%

1 review, 23 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Parallel (2018) by Jay Seaver

Witch: Part 1 - The Subversion, The by Jay Seaver

Lôi Báo by Jay Seaver

Bohemian Rhapsody by Rob Gonsalves

Fireworks (2017) by Jay Seaver

Knuckleball (2018) by Jay Seaver

Roma (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Detour by Peter Sobczynski

Anna and the Apocalypse by Peter Sobczynski

Chuck Steel: Night of the Trampires by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Meatballs
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Brian McKay

"It really just doesn't matter!"
4 stars

Okay, I'll admit, this movie is dated. It's a cheesy 1979 comedy that spawned a number of duplicates, and some lame sequels that should have never even been made without Murray on board. But it is a fun glimpse back to the days when Murray was in his prime.

It's basically a coming of age story about an unpopular kid named Rudy(Chris Makepeace) who goes to a slobby summer camp full of other unpopular kids. The head camp counselor, Tripper Harrison (Bill Murray), excels at playing practical jokes on both his boss and the counselors at the nearby snobby rich kids camp, seducing the cute female counselors, and bolstering the kids self-esteem through "unorthodox" tactics - like the now-famous "It just doesn't matter" speech.

Tired of losing the summer camp Olympics every year, Murray schemes to give the rich kids their comeuppance through a combination of dirty tricks and encouraging kids like Rudy to be their best without taking a hard-line, high pressure approach.

Drive-In Triple Feature Picks for Meatballs

Stripes - the quintessential Bill Murray movie. It's Meatballs meets Full Metal Jacket. Sean Young looks hot.

Bad News Bears - the other "root for the underdog" classic.

I wish my summer camp counselors had been as cool, fun, or exciting as Tripper Harrison. But then, I usually got sent off to Christian camp, so the notion of "fun" wasn't in their vocabulary.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2833&reviewer=258
originally posted: 09/12/02 05:36:15
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

3/30/17 Blake Patterson You'll have a ball with the hilarious Billl Murray and the rowdy others. 5 stars
6/26/12 Marcus Most authentic camp movie ever. Takes me back to a great time in my life. Awesome. 5 stars
1/26/11 PAUL SHORTT DISMAL TEEN COMEDY 1 stars
1/25/11 Diehard If u dont like this movie u r as un-American as they come ..Bill Murray is a comic genius 5 stars
11/08/09 art IT SUCK"S! 1 stars
3/18/08 kowface How can you not like "It just doesn't matter!" 5 stars
2/18/08 Pamela White summer camp at its funniest 4 stars
9/22/06 Sugarfoot A fun film, though avoid the sequels. (Especially 3 and 4) 4 stars
9/19/06 PD Dated teen film prototype that noentheless has some wuality humour and a heart 4 stars
7/13/06 EZ Immensely funny but why does Bill Murray have a bald spot?? 5 stars
7/03/06 Curt Great Fun- Reminds me of my Summer Camp Days in the 70's! 5 stars
1/22/06 Face Balls Murray only needs to stand still to be funny. All the sentimentality is really one big joke 5 stars
1/17/05 Jeff Anderson I compare this with INDIAN SUMMER as the best summer camp comedies ever made. CANADA ROCKS! 5 stars
12/29/04 HL Be a Campmate will Bill Murray for a Few Hours...Good Fun! 4 stars
6/09/04 Hal Galikakick Candice was hot 5 stars
11/17/03 rae superb film! A definate must see for all Canadians! 4 stars
3/24/03 Jack Sommersby A very good time to be had, but would have been funnier with R-rated material. 4 stars
12/08/02 North Star Choirboy Pleasant romp with a lovably over-the-top Bill Murray as the coolest camp counselor ever 5 stars
9/15/02 Zefram Mann Nice for its time. It's no Caddyshack, but it's got its moments. 4 stars
9/12/02 Charles Tatum Back when teen films were funny; lousy sequels, though 4 stars
11/03/01 Andrew Carden Very Stupid Sex-Comedy Which Spawned Even Worse Sequels. 2 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog Ivan Reitman movies rule!!! Murray is funnier than shit. 4 stars
9/14/00 The Bomb 69 classic!!!! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jun-1979 (PG)
  DVD: 05-Jun-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Ivan Reitman

Written by
  Janis Allen
  Len Blum

Cast
  Bill Murray
  Chris Makepeace
  Matt Craven
  Kate Lynch
  Michael Kirby



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast