More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.16

Awesome28.95%
Worth A Look: 13.16%
Average: 18.42%
Pretty Bad: 23.68%
Total Crap: 15.79%

2 reviews, 26 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Fools Rush In
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"You're everything I never knew I always wanted."
3 stars

Yes, I liked it. Sue me.

Two reasons:

A.) I'm a sucker for Salma Hayek.
B.) I actually think Matthew Perry's the funniest part of Friends.

Basically, it's your "opposites attract" storyline, where the two leads rush into sex (a one night stand), love and marriage (she turns out to be pregnant after their tryst, so they get married), then spend the rest of the film figuring out that just maybe they weren't meant for each other. There's the obvious things about them: he's a WASP who barely speaks with his family, she's part of a huge, close-knit family. He's a New Yorker, she's into staying near Vegas. She's Catholic, he's Protestant. They both have other potential suitors waiting in the wings. And so on and so forth.

Yes, it's cornball, and it's pretty formulaic, even down to the obligatory childbirth scene. The "will they or won't they" question of staying together is never really in doubt. But the leads work for me.

Salma Hayek is sexy as hell, and she's used that to her advantage in nearly every role she's had. But there's more to her role as Isabel. We actually see her get to act a little more here than we have in previous roles like in Desperado or From Dusk Till Dawn. And Matthew Perry is just charming.

You could do worse on a Saturday night with a movie starring a Friends cast member.

Like The Pallbearer. Or She's The One. Or Commandments. Or Ed.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=284&reviewer=7
originally posted: 11/05/98 02:30:04
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/23/05 Shellyn Erespe It is one of the most romantic film i've ever seen. 5 stars
12/31/04 tiffanyespain@hotmail.com Does anyone know who sings that "skies of blue" song in the movie? 5 stars
8/02/04 Alma B. Ecleo I really love this film, the movie that you can recommend the the couples 5 stars
6/15/04 Mark Retcon I don't know which movie Melissa Bollinger saw, but it definitely wasn't the same one I saw 4 stars
8/14/03 Dalucci I LOVED IT 5 stars
7/14/03 Zaharin Hamid aka The Movie Samseng What "My Big Fat Greek Wedding" wanted to do but can't. This movie's the best. 5 stars
1/29/03 Goofy Maxwell If you're not in a rush to see the romance ignite, then you're foolish enough to like it. 3 stars
10/30/02 Isabel Leon Very great,! Love and dreams are always wonderful. 5 stars
5/18/02 Dark Barřn If only Perry could give Chandler "Gay" Bing a break... 2 stars
2/20/02 Sylvie Alice Borden S.H.I.T. Salma Hayek Is Terrific! 5 stars
1/03/02 Laura Dudley Really good. Very romantic and funny. 4 stars
10/31/01 Casey Never replace Matthew Perry :( he is the hottest man alive! 5 stars
8/10/01 Bony The movie is great. It is full of love, emotions and dreams.. makes sense to me 5 stars
3/11/01 Erin Zuniga This was a great movie!! I can't get enough of it 5 stars
2/05/01 Heather Garrett This movie was WONDERFUL!!! ROMANCE IS IN, BITCH IS OUT!!! LEARN TO LOVE!!! 5 stars
11/04/00 Jed This movie was and funny & good so the heck with you as..people. 4 stars
4/20/99 jimmy jam Piss off Salma - and change that fucked up name.Grasp of english language would be nice 1 stars
11/24/98 Kram S. Terrific date movie! 4 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce Replace Perry with David Arquette and you have a winner. Fools sure did rush in. 1 stars
9/28/98 katherine dumb. 2 stars
8/31/98 Tyrone Powers Give it up, Perry. You're Chandler now and you'll be Chandler tomorrow. 1 stars
8/26/98 Pete I watched it for Salma, but as it turned out... she was all that warranted watching 2 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress hey! i liked it. but that's probably cuz i'm a girl. 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Why? Stay on TV, you talentless fuck. 1 stars
8/17/98 Johny Lame as hell 1 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Friends stars have no place in film. Especially Schwimmer. And Perry. But not Cox. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Feb-1997 (PG-13)
  DVD: 24-Feb-1998

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1997




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast