More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.56

Awesome77.78%
Worth A Look: 12.22%
Average: 3.33%
Pretty Bad: 1.11%
Total Crap: 5.56%

4 reviews, 66 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Let Us Prey by Jay Seaver

Puzzle (2014) by Jay Seaver

Heavenly Sword by Jay Seaver

Haunt by Charles Tatum

Expendables 3, The by Daniel Kelly

Zero Theorem, The by Jay Seaver

Zombie TV by Jay Seaver

Suburban Gothic by Jay Seaver

Admiral: Roaring Currents, The by Jay Seaver

Expendables 3, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


National Lampoon's Animal House
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Indiana

"Almost as good as PCU!"
5 stars

If you like being entertained by sex, drugs and "Louie Louie" then see this movie. If you don't, then go become a Mormon.

I hate this movie. Not because it's bad mind you, in fact it's one of the best comedies I have ever seen. I hate this movie because I thought that was how college was going to be. God dammit!

I'm going to go ahead and spoil it for you. College is nothing like this movie. I went to USC for four years and it sucked. We sat around, smoked pot, did homework, and ran to our cars everytime we parked off campus (USC is in the ghetto of L.A.). We didn't kill the R.O.T.C. Captain's horse, crash a major town parade, or screw the Dean's wife. Nobody does; that's why this movie is so awesome, because they do.

The basic plot is a stupid thing to put in a review, so fuck you. If you want to find out the plot watch the god damn movie. Instead I will give away some of the funnier lines such as when Delta looses their charter, and the repo men come, John Belushi screams "They took the Bar! The whole fucking bar!" and then chugs an entire bottle of Jack Daniels that his friend saved for him. Jesus Harold Christ that rules!

This movie has all kinds of Tits and Ass, loads of drinking, and some of the best one liners ever, done by National Lampoon before they started releasing shit like "Loaded Weapon 1". Oh yeah, and Karen Allen is in it. She's hot as hell (well, she was, she's probably about six hundred by now). See it dammit!

One time my friend ate an entire bowl of Cheerio's and Beer at a party and dumped mustard on himself. Somebody called him "Bluto" and he punched them in the face. A few months later he saw Animal House and got the joke. He laughed his ass off.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2858&reviewer=194
originally posted: 12/27/99 13:42:46
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the National Lampoon Movies series, click here.

User Comments

8/24/12 Ed Great flick. Belushi in top form." 4 stars
4/09/12 keith miron My favorite part is when the horse freeze framed 3 stars
5/10/10 art CADDYSHACK stole this movie's THUNDER! 1 stars
6/05/09 art ONLY FOR DRUNKEN FRAT-BOY"S! 1 stars
9/17/08 Jeph singlehandedly rewrote American 'jargon' ! 5 stars
3/18/08 kowface A classic! i can warch it a million times! 5 stars
1/15/07 David Pollastrini very funny 4 stars
1/06/07 Josh Nichols Belushi was awesome. 5 stars
12/28/06 Kid Belushi It was simply hysterical. 5 stars
10/29/06 SS They should remake it. with Jack Black playing Bluto. 5 stars
10/18/06 Werebelushi mash potato zit. Bluto is my favourite character in that movie, i love John Belushi. 5 stars
9/12/06 Indrid Cold Some pacing problems courtesy of John Landis, but a classic nonetheless. 5 stars
6/08/06 Peggy Doty COULDN'T STOP LAUGHING 5 stars
3/11/06 BBX This is a unique classic! It rocks! 5 stars
1/06/06 yousef ammar 1 stars
8/19/05 ES See old school for a good time, this one is too blah 3 stars
6/09/05 Taylor Fladgate One of the Top 5 comedies of ALL TIME!!! 5 stars
6/03/05 Indrid Cold Chock full of hilarious, unforgettable scenes. An unqualified comedy classic. 5 stars
5/27/05 Lord Haw Haw All other comedies worship at the Animal House shrine. 5 stars
3/07/05 Jeff Anderson John Landis' CITIZEN KANE! A great comedy & the late Belushi & the entire awesome cast ROCK 5 stars
1/13/05 HL A Grade Point Average of "0.0"!! 5 stars
1/08/05 nirmals animalsex 5 stars
11/09/04 mm thakare film 1 stars
9/28/04 sbpat21 hilarious 5 stars
8/22/04 steve o what was the " ZIT " cottage cheese or mashed potato 5 stars
8/01/04 Kathryn Knowlton glorious, such a classic! Set the precedent for all the stuff out there now 5 stars
7/08/04 Spinz BELUSHI IS MY HERO 5 stars
2/10/04 Whatevr Worth watching at least 100 times. 5 stars
1/28/04 Kitty B. CC SUCKS!!!! 5 stars
12/13/03 Jay Randolph this movie is one of the greats 5 stars
11/18/03 *A Monotonous Creton who loves Tom Hulce* i luv u john!!!!! and i luv u too, pinto, u hottie!!! 5 stars
11/07/03 Capt' Fox Classic. This is part of America. Cut lose, have fun, lighten up and watch it. 5 stars
10/11/03 Nikki Jean Theophobia tom hulce was SOOO much cuter 20 years ago than justin timberlake is 20 years later 5 stars
9/22/03 MellCat_Slayer_de_Jake how belushi can down all that shit is pretty obvious but where hes puttin it all has got me 5 stars
9/22/03 Kitty J. Blues how many guys do u see a day chuggin a whole bottle of jack daniels?? thats my man belushi! 5 stars
9/21/03 CAT BLUES it was awesome i loved bluto and d-day he rocked pinto is so hot stork rox 5 stars
9/01/03 Andy Tugnoli simply the nr. one 5 stars
8/31/03 Kitty Kelso Bluto's MY man baby!! get back grls!! Pinto u were soo cute!!! 5 stars
8/30/03 Kitty B. "start drinking heavily" BELUSHI ALL THE WAY BABY!! 5 stars
8/21/03 tyler this movie is awseom! 5 stars
8/08/03 3man "Do you mind if we dance with your dates?" 5 stars
5/21/03 drew shurson outstanding 5 stars
2/16/03 savagegiraffe please sir..may i have another??? 5 stars
1/20/03 Allen Can you say OVERRATED? 3 stars
1/20/03 Jack Sommersby Atrociously directed and poorly written. A couple of laughs, but that's it. 1 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano Was it over when the Germans bombed Pearl Harbor? HELL NO! 5 stars
9/26/02 Morally Sound Guess what I am! . . . (*Sploosh*) . . . The Human Zit! 5 stars
9/17/02 Charles Tatum Geez, it ain't THAT funny 4 stars
9/01/02 AshFan This movie is THE college comedy! If you're below 15, though, see it on TV. 4 stars
5/11/02 Butterbean A dull comedy that was rightfully credited for better,funnier future "bad boy" movies. 2 stars
12/15/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Funny as hell! John Belushi was probably one of the funniest dudes of his time! 5 stars
10/22/01 Bob Jones Best film ever 5 stars
9/23/01 Larry Smith CLASSIC John Belushi... Give it a "10".... 5 stars
8/30/01 Gary Really funny. 4 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk When Landis was king...Perfect film. 5 stars
8/02/01 Ricky toga! toga! toga! toga! 5 stars
7/27/01 tom F. Awesome, survives its cheap knockoffs... 5 stars
7/23/01 Chuck Moore One of the best comedies ever 5 stars
7/19/01 R.W. Welch Raucous, amusing and done with colossal verve. Something of a tour de force. 5 stars
6/07/01 King Jackass Belushi is priceless! 5 stars
3/03/01 Mento Buru The bible..... 5 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog Belushi acting, Landis directing, Ramis writing, what the fuck. Best movie ever!!! 5 stars
2/01/01 tim A Must See!! 5 stars
11/07/00 Kevin Parsons If you don't like this movie you must be blind! 5 stars
2/17/00 Ann This movie rules! 5 stars
11/03/99 Todd The ultimate college slacker movie 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jul-1978 (R)
  DVD: 26-Aug-2003

UK
  N/A (15)

Australia
  N/A (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast