More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.56

Awesome77.78%
Worth A Look: 12.22%
Average: 3.33%
Pretty Bad: 1.11%
Total Crap: 5.56%

4 reviews, 66 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Yasmine by Jay Seaver

Mr. Go by Jay Seaver

Hercules (2014) by Brett Gallman

Wish I Was Here by Jaycie

Predestination by Jay Seaver

Faults by Jay Seaver

Lucy by Brett Gallman

Kumiko, the Treasure Hunter by Jay Seaver

And So It Goes by Peter Sobczynski

Huntresses, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


National Lampoon's Animal House
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by LitzaMo

"The essence of brain-dead (but in a positive way)"
4 stars

From John Belushi's classic zit line to "I lied to you, too--I'm only thirteen!" Animal House is a really funny movie, and in the way that Scary Movie just tried to be. Appealing to our baser senses of humor, with sex, beer, college, and good music abounding, the movie gets people giggling. Especially when there's beer, sex, and college flowing profusely through the group watching the movie. And I think every college kid wishes they could chug a fifth of Jack Daniel's.

The genius of Animal House lays in its exaggerations of the people we know. From the blond debutantes to the campus leaders that call points of parliamentary procedure, we all know them and we all detest them, being, as we are, fun-loving creatures with no ambition.

Well, sort of. Because the people here that can quote parli-pro and are in the "frats" on campus (my poor college has no Greek system) are also the ones that can come damn close to chugging that fifth of Jack and are hung over at Senate meetings.

God only knows where I sit in this continuum.

Anyway, the movie's funny because it plays on stereotypes of college kids and college professors. Donald Sutherland's character is pure hilarity. Pitting the two factions of college life against one another was a perfect premise for a nice, mindless flick that really was funny, even if it wasn't an all-out perfect film. Classic in any case.

Good to watch late at night and hammered, although I've been sober every time I've seen it. It's required viewing for college.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2858&reviewer=222
originally posted: 01/25/01 06:34:31
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the National Lampoon Movies series, click here.

User Comments

8/24/12 Ed Great flick. Belushi in top form." 4 stars
4/09/12 keith miron My favorite part is when the horse freeze framed 3 stars
5/10/10 art CADDYSHACK stole this movie's THUNDER! 1 stars
6/05/09 art ONLY FOR DRUNKEN FRAT-BOY"S! 1 stars
9/17/08 Jeph singlehandedly rewrote American 'jargon' ! 5 stars
3/18/08 kowface A classic! i can warch it a million times! 5 stars
1/15/07 David Pollastrini very funny 4 stars
1/06/07 Josh Nichols Belushi was awesome. 5 stars
12/28/06 Kid Belushi It was simply hysterical. 5 stars
10/29/06 SS They should remake it. with Jack Black playing Bluto. 5 stars
10/18/06 Werebelushi mash potato zit. Bluto is my favourite character in that movie, i love John Belushi. 5 stars
9/12/06 Indrid Cold Some pacing problems courtesy of John Landis, but a classic nonetheless. 5 stars
6/08/06 Peggy Doty COULDN'T STOP LAUGHING 5 stars
3/11/06 BBX This is a unique classic! It rocks! 5 stars
1/06/06 yousef ammar 1 stars
8/19/05 ES See old school for a good time, this one is too blah 3 stars
6/09/05 Taylor Fladgate One of the Top 5 comedies of ALL TIME!!! 5 stars
6/03/05 Indrid Cold Chock full of hilarious, unforgettable scenes. An unqualified comedy classic. 5 stars
5/27/05 Lord Haw Haw All other comedies worship at the Animal House shrine. 5 stars
3/07/05 Jeff Anderson John Landis' CITIZEN KANE! A great comedy & the late Belushi & the entire awesome cast ROCK 5 stars
1/13/05 HL A Grade Point Average of "0.0"!! 5 stars
1/08/05 nirmals animalsex 5 stars
11/09/04 mm thakare film 1 stars
9/28/04 sbpat21 hilarious 5 stars
8/22/04 steve o what was the " ZIT " cottage cheese or mashed potato 5 stars
8/01/04 Kathryn Knowlton glorious, such a classic! Set the precedent for all the stuff out there now 5 stars
7/08/04 Spinz BELUSHI IS MY HERO 5 stars
2/10/04 Whatevr Worth watching at least 100 times. 5 stars
1/28/04 Kitty B. CC SUCKS!!!! 5 stars
12/13/03 Jay Randolph this movie is one of the greats 5 stars
11/18/03 *A Monotonous Creton who loves Tom Hulce* i luv u john!!!!! and i luv u too, pinto, u hottie!!! 5 stars
11/07/03 Capt' Fox Classic. This is part of America. Cut lose, have fun, lighten up and watch it. 5 stars
10/11/03 Nikki Jean Theophobia tom hulce was SOOO much cuter 20 years ago than justin timberlake is 20 years later 5 stars
9/22/03 MellCat_Slayer_de_Jake how belushi can down all that shit is pretty obvious but where hes puttin it all has got me 5 stars
9/22/03 Kitty J. Blues how many guys do u see a day chuggin a whole bottle of jack daniels?? thats my man belushi! 5 stars
9/21/03 CAT BLUES it was awesome i loved bluto and d-day he rocked pinto is so hot stork rox 5 stars
9/01/03 Andy Tugnoli simply the nr. one 5 stars
8/31/03 Kitty Kelso Bluto's MY man baby!! get back grls!! Pinto u were soo cute!!! 5 stars
8/30/03 Kitty B. "start drinking heavily" BELUSHI ALL THE WAY BABY!! 5 stars
8/21/03 tyler this movie is awseom! 5 stars
8/08/03 3man "Do you mind if we dance with your dates?" 5 stars
5/21/03 drew shurson outstanding 5 stars
2/16/03 savagegiraffe please sir..may i have another??? 5 stars
1/20/03 Allen Can you say OVERRATED? 3 stars
1/20/03 Jack Sommersby Atrociously directed and poorly written. A couple of laughs, but that's it. 1 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano Was it over when the Germans bombed Pearl Harbor? HELL NO! 5 stars
9/26/02 Morally Sound Guess what I am! . . . (*Sploosh*) . . . The Human Zit! 5 stars
9/17/02 Charles Tatum Geez, it ain't THAT funny 4 stars
9/01/02 AshFan This movie is THE college comedy! If you're below 15, though, see it on TV. 4 stars
5/11/02 Butterbean A dull comedy that was rightfully credited for better,funnier future "bad boy" movies. 2 stars
12/15/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Funny as hell! John Belushi was probably one of the funniest dudes of his time! 5 stars
10/22/01 Bob Jones Best film ever 5 stars
9/23/01 Larry Smith CLASSIC John Belushi... Give it a "10".... 5 stars
8/30/01 Gary Really funny. 4 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk When Landis was king...Perfect film. 5 stars
8/02/01 Ricky toga! toga! toga! toga! 5 stars
7/27/01 tom F. Awesome, survives its cheap knockoffs... 5 stars
7/23/01 Chuck Moore One of the best comedies ever 5 stars
7/19/01 R.W. Welch Raucous, amusing and done with colossal verve. Something of a tour de force. 5 stars
6/07/01 King Jackass Belushi is priceless! 5 stars
3/03/01 Mento Buru The bible..... 5 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog Belushi acting, Landis directing, Ramis writing, what the fuck. Best movie ever!!! 5 stars
2/01/01 tim A Must See!! 5 stars
11/07/00 Kevin Parsons If you don't like this movie you must be blind! 5 stars
2/17/00 Ann This movie rules! 5 stars
11/03/99 Todd The ultimate college slacker movie 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jul-1978 (R)
  DVD: 26-Aug-2003

UK
  N/A (15)

Australia
  N/A (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast