More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.55

Awesome81.04%
Worth A Look: 5.21%
Average: 3.32%
Pretty Bad: 8.06%
Total Crap: 2.37%

4 reviews, 187 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Sin City: A Dame to Kill For by Peter Sobczynski

If I Stay by Peter Sobczynski

Most Wanted Man, A by Jay Seaver

Let Us Prey by Jay Seaver

Puzzle (2014) by Jay Seaver

Heavenly Sword by Jay Seaver

Haunt by Charles Tatum

Expendables 3, The by Daniel Kelly

Zero Theorem, The by Jay Seaver

Zombie TV by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Schindler's List
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Forget the backlash. It actually is that good."
5 stars

In the past, Steven Spielberg has frightened us with B-movie stuff that we could laugh off: sharks, spiders, raptors. 'Schindler's List,' his overwhelming movie about the Holocaust, may well be the most frightening movie ever made.

Everyone who sees it will take home at least one indelible image of horror. For me, the image is of a Jewish hinge-maker in a labor camp who displeases a Nazi commandant. The Nazi orders the man to make a hinge, timing him by stopwatch. When the hinge is finished, the Nazi remarks that the man has made only a handful of hinges all day. So the hinge-maker is dragged outside to be shot. We've been watching Jews killed left and right, randomly, so we cringe in anticipation of another murder -- but the Nazi's gun won't fire. The scene, which seems to go on forever as the man expects to be shot and the gun keeps misfiring, is agonizing.

Spielberg, the king of candied entertainment, the Hollywood Peter Pan, has finally grown up. Watching Schindler's List, I had to remind myself it was a Spielberg film: The very words "Spielberg film" have become synonymous with "sweet, escapist, insignificant." This movie is none of the above. Yet it isn't a dour lump of suffering, either. In a shocking reversal, a master of cinematic toys has tackled the most hideous subject of the century and emerged with a genuine work of art. Who could have guessed? Some of the thrill of Schindler's List derives from Spielberg's shock at himself, his surprise at the level of candor he turns out to be capable of. Except for three small lapses in judgment, the film is a triumph of restraint and intelligence, the definitive Holocaust drama.

The hero of the movie (and of Thomas Keneally's 1982 historical novel) is a paradox. Oskar Schindler (Liam Neeson), a German industrialist and Nazi party member, comes to Krakow in 1939 to capitalize on the developing tragedy. At first, Schindler views the Nazis neutrally: If they can help him, he helps them; one hand washes the other. But he finds that when dealing with Nazis, you might wash their hands but yours come away bloody. With the help of Jewish accountant Itzhak Stern (Ben Kingsley in a striking performance), Schindler the war profiteer sets up a supplies factory, employing Jews as unpaid workers. It's slave labor, but at least the Jews, as "essential workers" in the war effort, stay clear of the death camps. Stern is quite aware of this, even if Schindler isn't at first.

Stern, in fact, becomes Schindler's conscience in a process of awakening that begins during the liquidation of the Krakow ghetto. Sitting mightily on horseback, gazing down at the chaos, Schindler spots a little girl in a red coat (the only bit of color in the black-and-white frame) wandering through the crowd. Spielberg and screenwriter Steven Zaillian don't hype this wake-up call too much, but the point is clear: Drawn into identification with this lonely, anonymous girl, Schindler sees the Jews as actual, suffering people, not cheap labor. And he launches a conscious, aggressive plan to save as many of them as possible, losing his fortune in the bargain.

Liam Neeson, a robust actor who's been fascinating in many bad movies as well as good ones, fills out a deliberately hollow role. Spielberg realizes that to overanalyze Schindler's motives would strip him of his mystique. (Many who knew the actual Schindler never figured him out.) Schindler the philanderer, drinker, gambler, and Nazi associate is uniquely qualified to be Schindler the savior: His Nazi cronies aren't likely to peg him as a closet Gandhi. Neeson's slyness in the role also suggests that Schindler loves outfoxing the Nazis for its own sake. After a string of pristine heroes, Spielberg gives us a richer breed of hero -- one who can be selfish, hedonistic, even objectionable, but no less heroic. Neeson's key contribution is his confident charisma, augmented by his bullish physique. His Schindler is a man who knows he can get away with anything.

Not long before seeing Schindler's List, I attended a screening of the Indiana Jones trilogy at the Wang Center in Boston. Aware that Spielberg's Nazis in Schindler's List would be realistic, I paid close attention to how he handled them in the Indy films. They were comic-book skunks, largely objects of ridicule; there was even a gag in Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade featuring Hitler himself. I doubt that Spielberg would attempt such a joke now. The Nazis in Schindler's List are terrifyingly human, people deformed by hatred, who otherwise have recognizable traits -- they haven't landed here from another planet. Spielberg has discovered the banality of evil. These Nazis aren't lurid, hissable villains; they're hearty, presentable, fun-loving guys whose idea of recreation is killing Jews. Spielberg stages their obscenities without editorializing -- the acts speak for themselves. These are true monsters.

One such monster is Amon Goeth (Ralph Fiennes), a commandant who arrives at the Plaszow labor camp and establishes his authority by executing a forewoman in front of her workers. For amusement, Goeth sits up in his balcony and picks off prisoners with his rifle. (Disturbingly, Spielberg's camera takes the point of view of Goeth aiming at his victims randomly, in effect forcing us into complicity with genocide for a moment.) Fiennes, a British actor theretofore unknown to Americans, gives a shattering and amazingly layered performance. He understands the true horror of Goeth: not just that the Jews live or die according to his whims (which vary from moment to moment), but that he doesn't even enjoy it much; he's not a sadistic caricature -- he sees himself as a guy doing a job, who would really rather not have to be here in frigid Plaszow executing Jews, if not for the troublesome fact that they exist. Goeth is appalling, but Fiennes manages to locate his humanity, the glimmers of kindness or tolerance that make him all the more appalling when he chooses to deny them. After Schindler has told a drunken Goeth that real power is when you have every reason to kill someone but don't, the audience's relief is enormous when Goeth actually entertains this advice -- for a few hours. He's as frighteningly capricious as a tornado; the concept of mercy bounces off him.

Generally, Spielberg's direction is strictly meat and potatoes (though sumptuously photographed by Janusz Kaminski), never regressing to his trademark dolly shots or sense-of-wonder angles. The filmmaking is gritty, hand-held, journalistic, and beautifully compact; the movie's three hours and fifteen minutes feel like fifteen minutes. Spielberg does, however, get a bit fancy -- and offensively so -- in the editing of a scene in which Goeth brutalizes his servant (Embeth Davidtz). Spielberg and editor Michael Kahn (whose work is otherwise unimpeachable) bounce us between three scenarios: Goeth abusing the woman, two prisoners being married, and Schindler dancing with a woman. Intellectually, the contrast is readable, but it's distracting, with intrusive transitional cuts. Goeth has kept this woman alive because he feels something for her, but what? Is it love? Does he see her as sanity in the midst of annihilation -- does he hate himself for the part of him that is trying to reach out to her, the human part of himself he must then squelch through sadism? If any scene needed to be straightforward, it was this one. Perhaps, though, Spielberg didn't want to get too deeply into Night Porter territory.

I also didn't warm to the finale, invented for the movie, in which Schindler breaks down because he feels he could have saved more Jews. Stern reminds him that he did everything he could; it's as if Spielberg thought we needed reminding. This emotional display comes out of left field (it's certainly out of character for Schindler as Neeson plays him for most of the film), and is jarring and beside the point; Schindler, surrounded by people who have real reason to despair, has no right to weep. Spielberg does have the tact to pan across the faces of the workers, most of whom are unmoved by Schindler's tears -- they're worried about finding their families. The emphasis should be on them, not Schindler. And the coda, shot in color, with actual surviving Schindler Jews being led to Schindler's grave by members of the movie's cast, verges on self-congratulation. These people come on for a cameo, and we realize we hardly know most of them as individuals. Again, the emphasis here is wrongly on Schindler, on the Jews' enduring gratitude to the great German. He was a great man, no question, but the title is Schindler's List, not Schindler.

Still, overall, Spielberg keeps his head and focuses on what matters, and if Schindler is a bit too overwrought at the end, his presence is welcome elsewhere. Schindler is no Indiana Jones, swashbuckling through Krakow and kicking Nazi ass. His weapons are deception and an unerring business instinct. (Only a die-hard capitalist could convince the Nazis that he wants to divert little girls from Auschwitz not because he cares about them, but because their tiny hands are ideal for polishing the insides of shells.) This is the hero as bullshit artist. Spielberg must sense that without Schindler's snake-oil charm and bullheaded optimism (you just know he's a man who doesn't know the meaning of the word "nein"), the film would be too relentlessly horrifying.

Schindler's scenes give us respite from the hell of the ghetto and the camps. Big-shouldered and shrewd, Schindler can take care of himself while moving among the vipers; we know he'll take care of his workers, too. Yet the nonstop cruelty in the camps shows us how limited Schindler's power is next to a random bullet to the head. Fittingly, Spielberg's final image is of a road paved with Jewish gravestones. Schindler's List is equal parts rage and hope: a tribute to those who did what they could (Schindler was far from the only Holocaust samaritan), with a howl of anguish at its core. If Spielberg's reflexes as an entertainer get the best of him near the end, compelling him to hype Schindler as a saint, that doesn't seriously mute the film's cumulative impact.

Spielberg is a new filmmaker here. Plunging into the darkest chapter of recent history, a subject so nightmarish it defies comprehension, he uses his considerable resources to heighten whatever understanding we could possibly have of the Holocaust, and at God knows what emotional cost. Spielberg has painted his masterpiece with his own blood.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=286&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/06/07 14:17:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

7/25/14 ejhanyir USA 3 stars
3/30/12 Jonathan Essential viewing 5 stars
2/15/12 stanley welles poignant, powerful, bone-chilling, mesmerising 5 stars
8/27/10 InsanityCap This is the only film on the face of the planet that has made me weep so hard 5 stars
6/08/10 Flathead King A well paced film but the acting and script are mediocre 3 stars
6/04/10 User Name In the top three of the best films of the 90's. 5 stars
4/20/10 Meghan Gianni-Bradford As close as we will ever get to having a good view of both sides 5 stars
4/13/10 Mariah One of the best movies ever made. Anyone with a shred of sympathy will be touched 5 stars
12/10/09 Red Rubbish... pure jewish propaganda and you all bought into it. Holocaust = Hoax 1 stars
1/10/09 Anonymous. the best holocaust-related flm made IMO, though not my favorite...hard to watch... 5 stars
12/06/08 Jonathan Essential viewing. "Schindler's List" is the mark of a true master filmmaker. 5 stars
8/28/08 PAUL SHORTT OUTSTANDING DRAMA OF A SCOUNDREL'S AMAZING ACT OF BRAVERY AND SELFLESSNESS 5 stars
8/06/08 Max One of the best films ever made 5 stars
7/17/08 HOSWA THIS FILM REALLY KICK MY ASS,.,BULL SHIT 4 stars
6/19/08 noops grt direction and grt cast... 5 stars
3/05/08 action movie fan a bore-jurassic park was the best film of 1993 1 stars
1/26/08 proper amateur film critic The final masterpiece of the 20th century 5 stars
1/06/08 dave gutierrez great movie 5 stars
12/15/07 stormsiren awesome film by an awesome director 5 stars
11/20/07 vick brown perfect 5 stars
9/25/07 petey MUST SEE 5 stars
6/25/07 fools♫gold I've underrated "Shanghai Ghetto", which undoubtedlly deserves 5 stars. 5 stars
6/15/07 ryan you're an idiot and someone should shoot you. 5 stars
5/23/07 Werty OMG IF U THINK THIS MOVIE WAS BAD THEN FU, GREATE FILM 5 stars
5/19/07 Leandra This film stirred up emotions in me i have never known existed. It is a Masterpiece!! 5 stars
3/05/07 izzy An incredibly dark and intense film of overwhelming power and emotional impact 5 stars
2/01/07 Matt Spielberg's masterpiece is essential for anybody with half a brain. Neeson is superb. 5 stars
1/13/07 Clayton A cinematic masterpiece at every level... 5 stars
1/09/07 Drew Galletti A Masterpiece 5 stars
1/01/07 johnnyfog There is no comparison to the trite M.Burning. Very sad when Neelson cries at the end 5 stars
10/19/06 David Pollastrini brilliant, frightening 5 stars
10/17/06 Isaac Baranoff Very, very good. Highly recommended. 5 stars
8/06/06 Chris Wilbik Realistic and sad movie of the lifes of jewish people 5 stars
5/20/06 chienne Severely depressing, but an excellent film. Even Neeson was good. 5 stars
3/06/06 Nina It has been one of the best movies that I have watched and that was based on a true story.. 5 stars
11/18/05 Chris Barrett A Tearjerker! Those Who Say It's Crap Have No Heart 5 stars
9/16/05 Daveman A sick targedy, cheapened by Spielberg schmaltz and LIES. 2 stars
9/02/05 Zack wonderfly maid, Who was the bastard u voted total crap? any it was sad :( but good 5 stars
8/26/05 Michael Very Good Movie 5 stars
8/17/05 ES This one and old yeller 8*( 5 stars
8/08/05 Moctezuma The Pianist is better, but this one is still good 4 stars
6/11/05 Adam A masterpiece in filmaking, very sad but a story that had to be told 5 stars
6/08/05 me a good 'make-out' movie 4 stars
4/24/05 Quigley an amazing story, but a very dark one at that. it'd be hard to watch again for sure. really 4 stars
4/16/05 Carol Conway Fantastic movie 5 stars
4/14/05 Frenzy Superb 5 stars
3/26/05 Denise great 5 stars
3/18/05 indrid cold Its effect stays with you for days afterwords. A masterpiece in every way. 5 stars
3/18/05 B. D. Cole One of the best films of all time 5 stars
3/14/05 The Talking Elbow Spielberg "sexed up" Schindler from reality. Still a great movie though. 5 stars
3/01/05 CanDance Walker I love true stories & the younger generation needs to know about the holocaust. 5 stars
3/01/05 Jeanette T. A life experience rather than a movie. Literally unforgettable. 5 stars
2/27/05 Charlene Javier Best. Film. Ever 5 stars
2/26/05 Joy Venters EXCELLENT - EVERYONE SHOULD SEE THIS 5 stars
2/26/05 Theresa Wagner Brings the horror of the holocaust to the present 5 stars
2/26/05 James Kiang Powerful film that still is relevant. 5 stars
2/23/05 andrea313 Hard to watch in places, but certainly worth the heartache. 5 stars
2/06/05 daveyt couldn't agree less with the review... 5 stars
12/15/04 Tom Benton The best film ever made, Spielberg's finest; Neeson does one of the best acts in history. 5 stars
12/07/04 keithers.. To depressing to enjoy but extremely well done 4 stars
12/01/04 mohit best edited and directed film have ever seen 5 stars
11/25/04 gentile Even if your not a jew you will be touched. 5 stars
11/25/04 T. Maj Spielberg just now heard about the Holocaust. 2 stars
10/26/04 ELI ARG! This film is really, really depressing 5 stars
10/25/04 UMER steven's best movie direction ever 5 stars
10/23/04 ODH Boring film that is more disturbing than anything. 2 stars
10/20/04 Pinkline Jones I didn't laugh once. And this won Best Comedy 1 stars
10/07/04 Desperado Alien VS Predator hmm you're a blithering dipshit who doesnt understand what movies r about 5 stars
8/04/04 Chloe Montana critic...yes, you are a faggot... 5 stars
7/27/04 Luke "THere will be generations to generations because of what you did". 5 stars
7/16/04 Chlo-mo-bo God...breathtaking...just...beautiful... 5 stars
6/27/04 Christy A movie that still haunts me today, ten years later. I'll never be the same. 5 stars
6/18/04 T. Maj Steven Spielberg just found out about the Holocaust? 2 stars
5/07/04 katie burtsell i thought it was so touching 5 stars
4/25/04 Carla oh my god, i was touched, i was moved, i felt completely numb, like i'd left my body. 5 stars
4/25/04 MetallicA Anyone who gives this a sucks rating is a shit excuse for a human 5 stars
4/20/04 TonyMontana Everyone who gives this sucks is nothing short of a faggot. 5 stars
3/18/04 Schmidty How you could you not like something about the war, and as sad as this 5 stars
2/28/04 Kyle A horrifying movie and a good movie: NOT THE SAME DAMN THING. Flawed and exploitive. 2 stars
2/19/04 MP Bartley Astonishing, moving piece of work. And not just because it's 'revered'. It's just that good 5 stars
2/13/04 Bryand The best film for the people with high I.Q 5 stars
1/30/04 fgifhjiefe Ray Hall and Lance Everest are stupid fucks. This movie is the best. 5 stars
1/08/04 Chlo Gyllenhaal Oh my God...this should have won so many more oscars than it did! Damn the Academy! 5 stars
12/14/03 luke How-can-you-not-like-this!!!! 5 stars
12/10/03 Desperado Ray Hall, Lance Everest= Absolute Dipshits, Extraordinary 5 stars
11/29/03 DM John L. Roberson, go fuck yourself. 5 stars
11/27/03 John pretty good film that could have been better (as in THE PIANIST or LIFE IS BEAUTIFUL) 3 stars
11/18/03 *A Monotonous Creton who loves Tom Hulce* ha dto do a 9th grade essay on it; fuck anyone who hates it! damn u!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/12/03 Shaq This fucking film was like a tiny little turd-nugget dangling from my asshole. IT ROCKED! 5 stars
10/02/03 Mattocks Okay movie 4 stars
9/29/03 Kyle A MASTERPIECE. Only a handful of films can claim that title. 5 stars
9/21/03 Fenris BULLSHIT! As historically accurate as Indiana Jones ... 1 stars
9/06/03 Jess o Totally moving,Both horrific and amazing film and everyone should be made to see it. 5 stars
8/14/03 Jeannie Karlsen My first introduction to actor Ralph Fiennes. His performance is absolute perfection. 5 stars
8/02/03 DM Anybody who gives less than 4 out of 5 stars should be shot! Great movie! 5 stars
7/12/03 Indrid Cold As deep as a frisbee, but almost unbelievably powerful and moving. Stays with you forever. 5 stars
4/27/03 Megan The book was more powerful, but the film still gave this horribly true story justice 5 stars
4/27/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Horrific, yet great film. 5 stars
4/16/03 JL This movies is excellent. 5 stars
3/31/03 Jessica Davis Good news: It amply deserved Best Pic win. Bad News: That puts it in company with SHITCAGO! 5 stars
3/28/03 Gray wish it was more historicaly truthful but it does convay the gravity of the Holocaust 5 stars
3/22/03 Jack Sommersby Great period detail, but the dramatic core is hollow and the characters ill-defined. 2 stars
2/11/03 Ubu the Ripper Want to know what Jews, Jehovah's Witnesses, and gays experienced? This is real. 5 stars
2/10/03 Paul Decent 3 stars
1/24/03 Jeremy Wonderful in every respect. I loved this film. 5 stars
1/08/03 Seppo Only Spielberg can make this kind of masterpiece! 5 stars
11/29/02 Jay Excellent movie! 5 stars
11/23/02 Kyle A good movie, but TV did it better in 1978's miniseries "Holocaust" 3 stars
8/26/02 Jo Not really all that truthful, but quite emotive 4 stars
6/05/02 Todd something everyone should see 5 stars
2/27/02 Shrike Brilliant film making from a 5 stars
2/17/02 Meryl K. Fiennes and Neeson were immaculate. The movie is brilliantly distressing - see it. 5 stars
1/27/02 Lin Rainey I sat spellbound through the entire film..tragic, haunting, uplifting. 5 stars
12/20/01 Heather Smyth I great film, not unjoyable to watch in any way but it protrays the holocaust brilliantly 5 stars
12/17/01 chuck all u that say this film is crap, shut up u nazis 5 stars
10/24/01 kris one of the best movies I have ever seen 5 stars
9/06/01 Gary Astounding. Spielberg's finest hour. Amazing. 5 stars
8/31/01 spaceworm Let us all now genuflect at the alter of Spielberg. 5 stars
8/25/01 John Roberson Matthew, you will find that info IN THE REVIEW. And what do YOU know? 2 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg very moving .Spielberg's best film yet . 5 stars
7/05/01 Matthew Bartley Why does John roberson have a vendetta against this film?What the fuck do you know anyway? 5 stars
6/28/01 John Roberson "Almost?" Rampage, it takes a Spielberg film to make you wish the Nazis never happened?!?) 2 stars
5/31/01 Ben Donnelly ok 3 stars
4/30/01 The Jedi Droid what can I say...what a film...emotional, & the black & white really added alot to the film 5 stars
4/23/01 Rampage it was good, almost made you wish the term Nazi never happened 4 stars
4/21/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) This film touched me deeply...and no, not just because I'm Jewish... 5 stars
4/16/01 Tam Heart-rending and profound, one of the finest films ever 5 stars
4/09/01 James Beetlejuice, you are a fucking moron.....nuff said 5 stars
3/18/01 Beetlejuice It was boring to me. Sorry. 3 stars
2/17/01 Michael Nicholls It emotionally drains the viewer, leaving little to spare... 5 stars
2/14/01 Lee Faultless and important 5 stars
1/15/01 Skip A masterpiece. Don't hate it because it's Spielberg. 5 stars
1/01/01 Msitrab Staggering 5 stars
12/31/00 kevin An excellent movie, one of Spielberg's best. It draws you into the plot and shows you life 5 stars
12/28/00 Viking If you don't like this movie, join the intellectual wankers at a Peter Greenaway festival 5 stars
11/26/00 Jack Wolverton I think this is the greatest film ever made. At the end I just set there in shock, awesome 5 stars
11/24/00 Cristopher Revilla you panners, pay attention or don't bother to review, you fucking morons, the film is great 5 stars
11/21/00 Randy Eischer The nude scenes were pretty good, though. 2 stars
11/18/00 The Bill Head The best movie of the 90s! Classic..Superb..Spielberg's best!On my top ten of all time... 5 stars
8/16/00 Lucritia I thik it was good of Steven to focus on schindler and what he did.He did not favour nazis 4 stars
8/04/00 Jake Ryan, That is soooooo true. What a total waste. "Oh No, I am a Jew!" 1 stars
7/26/00 fred wicked but gruesome 5 stars
7/11/00 Jami An absolutely amazing film. Ryan, you make me sick 5 stars
7/06/00 Matthew Bartley Ryan how can you say racist shit like IT'S JUST ANOTHER JEW MOVIE? 5 stars
6/27/00 Christian Zell Great film. Fiennes was incredible as Amon Goethe. 5 stars
6/12/00 perverted pixie Painful- yet exceptional. A classic. That red dress... 5 stars
6/01/00 TERRIE SMITH A emotional experience. One of the best during the 1990's. 5 stars
5/23/00 Steven Hunter This film is awesome. Naysayers wouldn't know a gret movie if it took up home in their arse 5 stars
5/05/00 matt touching 5 stars
4/26/00 Fran I wouldn't watch it again 'cause it's to bad if you see all this people. 4 stars
4/12/00 TJ St John Matthew, you're right, John Linton is an asshole!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/06/00 Bruce A hard film to watch, but you will be glad you did 5 stars
3/31/00 Matthew Bartley John Linton, you're a dickhead. How can you not acknowledge it's brilliance? 5 stars
3/18/00 Ashley superb 5 stars
2/17/00 k.tomkowski Grossly overrated, because of the subject and director. 2 stars
11/29/99 Mic The Greatest Film Ever Made. I wish I had 5,000 words to write about this movie. 5 stars
11/29/99 Crystal Fleming Well done movie 5 stars
11/28/99 Stephanie Arden Fantastic a movie to be seen by everyone, to eduacate people the harm war devauors ITS GREA 5 stars
11/19/99 Lisa Solinas I was so drained after watching this, I flipflopped through a thousand emotions 5 stars
11/07/99 Anthony Ellis One of the great movie masterpieces. If not the greatest. A remarkable landmark in cinema!! 5 stars
10/30/99 Marita Absolutely extrodanary 5 stars
10/26/99 Eva Davis It was a very powerful, awsom movie 5 stars
10/11/99 Weird Andy A laff riot. Rent "Shoah" or "Hotel Terminus" instead, and actually learn something. 2 stars
10/11/99 Eran (erancoo7@hotmail.com) Basically ,whoever hates the film-hates jews.It's as simple as that. 5 stars
10/09/99 sophia962 Stunning, haunting, every corny fucking thing there is to say but they're all TRUE 5 stars
9/16/99 Casey Wright & Merryn Rogan Excellent!! 5 stars
9/04/99 godsdog Intensely disturbing, immaculately executed. Spielburg is a brilliant storyteller, bar non 5 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: **** (out of ****) Category: "Excellent" 5 stars
5/25/99 iyu Best movie on the planet. Period. 5 stars
4/20/99 Tim To all those people who think the Holocaust is a hoax, watch this movie. 5 stars
3/22/99 A. M. Spielbergs best work. He will never top this. In fact it may have been inadvertant. 5 stars
2/09/99 Bob, Lord of Evil How can you not acknowledge how amazing it was? 5 stars
2/02/99 Matthew Bartley What can be said? You should be made to see this film by law. Watch it, weep and watch it a 5 stars
1/24/99 Slugmuffin A timeless masterpiece. A MUST see. 5 stars
1/23/99 Goofaloo A work of art. An epic that will be long remembered. 5 stars
1/19/99 donkey_dew This is probably the greatest movie ever made. 5 stars
1/10/99 Dasha If any film can come close to perfection, it's this one. 5 stars
11/26/98 Mr.Pink I agree with the last line of K-dog's review. 5 stars
11/26/98 little jerry As a Hollywood attempt to barely scratch the surface of The Final Solution-its impressive. 5 stars
11/25/98 Fred Everyone should see this movie. A masterpiece. 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Very hardcore. Anyone who can't feel terrible at what happened after watching this is dead. 5 stars
10/14/98 Chi-Fan Hu One of the best films I've ever seen. I wouldn't usually go and see one of these. 5 stars
9/18/98 Couch Potato Critic A powerful film. One of the 6 best films Spielberg has ever done. 5 stars
9/06/98 Helle Marie Excuse me for saying the first hour was boring, but th rest was fuckin` great! 5 stars
9/04/98 pooky the bald Dare I say this movie had faults? I dare. Important, but lacking energy. 4 stars
9/04/98 Badass The most human movie ever made. 5 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Necessary viewing. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Feb-1997 (R)
  DVD: 09-Mar-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast