More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.67

Awesome85.57%
Worth A Look: 5.37%
Average: 4.03%
Pretty Bad: 0.67%
Total Crap: 4.36%

4 reviews, 274 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Godfather, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"Deserving of his place in the Top Three Of All Time"
5 stars

The Godfather isnít just a movie; itís a riveting experience that has endured the tests of time and still goes on strong. A classic in its own very right, Director Francis Ford Coppola brings us, the ultimate mob movie. A compelling drama about a family and its troubles with rival gangs and their own, managed beat out heavy favorite Cabaret in the Oscars for Best Picture of 1973, and it really deserved it.

The film starts off with a wedding. Don Vito Corleone (Marlon Brando at his best) is celebrating the wedding of his daughter Connie (Talia Shire) to Carlo Rizzi (Gianni Russo). Don Corleone is a Godfather, which is a religious and sacred position, and is man who always has helped his friends on various occasions. He is in the business of bootlegging and gambling, and has always had political friends that protect him. But this time a man called Virgil Sollozzo (Al Lettieri) wants to be a partner with Corleone, but also introduce him to the drug cartel. Corleone backs off, but then heís critically wounded in a murder attempt, so the task goes to his sons, Sonny (James Caan), Fredo (John Cazale), Michael (Al Pacino) and Tom Hagen (Robert Duvall), Corleoneís lawyer, to pick up the pieces and try to deal with Sollozo and the rest of the crime lords in New York, known as the 5 families. Little they know that resulting gang war would be costly for everyone, especially in their family, but theyíll fight back, with a vengeance.

The script is flawless. The film starts with celebration, like it would be a celebration of life; there in the movie we are introduced to the many main characters thatíll play part of the film. Though itís a mob movie, itís more about family, and about the many traditions that Italian American people are used to, and still does up to this day. The key of the movie though, is that it manages to balance the familyís everyday life with their frequent ties in crime, and also the entire story is told within the family. We never see any gambling casinos, or prostitutes or even scenes with drugs, only the intentions of the many characters are shown. The best example of this is how the family tries to solve their problems but the hard part is how to separate business with personal problems (The Sollozo killing), and their aftereffects. Another interesting thing is how the film centers itself inside the American dream, on how the crime business can be seen as one of the fruits of their own American Dream, which is, to set up a business and make profits for your own life and for the well-being of your peers.

The scenes of violence are riveting. Iím sure that it was pretty controversial back in those days, since it was the time that censorship ruled, but it was necessary to retain the realism that the story is trying to depict. An odd thing that I also noticed was that the low-key importance of the women in the film. Almost the entire entire female cast is subjected to minor roles. We never know anything about Don Corleoneís wife except thatÖwell, sheís his wife. Same thing is seen with Sonnyís wife, and Michaelís Fiancťe, Kay (Dianne Keaton), whom we know nothing about them or where they come from. There is though, some character development with Michaelís wife Apollonia, in Italy, but itís very shallow. Other than that, the film is flawless; itís full of action, suspense, and metaphorical content, and in Leonard Maltinís words, absolutely irresistible. A total hands down for Francis Ford Coppola for an impressive major film debut, and for Mario Puzo, who wrote the best-selling classic from which the film is based on, and co-wrote the script with Coppola. In a personal note, I think thatís the real reason why the film works, because with Puzo co-writing the script with Coppola, the filmís adaptation stays truthful to the book, a thing that unfortunately most film adaptations lack. I always say that itís always good for the author to write, co-write or at least supervise the script that has been adapted from his book, because a regular screenwriter during his process of adaptation may miss the whole point of the book, and the ensuing misunderstanding ends in a terrible shit storm, and thereís plenty of examples.

The cast is magnificent. Marlon Brando gives another legendary performance that helped revive his career. Robert Duvall, James Caan, and Al Pacino are also superb in their roles, and chew up the scenery like hell. John Cazale proves that he was one of the most underrated actors ever. The rest of the supporting cast was also great.

In the end, itís absolutely, totally imperative that you watch this film. The Godfather has managed to endure the tests of time and will always stand as an undisputed classic, and the first of a trio of high-quality films to come. This is a movie that you canít refuse a view.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=297&reviewer=235
originally posted: 02/08/02 17:07:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell awesome film fuck the haters 5 stars
4/27/16 Ken People who hate or dislike this has bad taste in movies. 5 stars
3/15/15 paul johnson idiot mafia movies 1 stars
3/02/15 john lasseter overrated film tied with the shawshank redemption 3 stars
2/19/15 hhshjjsjj horse shit especially the third installment 1 stars
2/14/15 jason gracio piece of shit in cinematic history 1 stars
1/17/15 the truth I see nothing that glorifies the Mob in this masterpiece of moral degradation. PURE CINEMA 5 stars
1/08/15 vendoza i really hate this movie 1 stars
1/07/15 Robert Tschinkel One of those movies that once you start watching you cannot stop 5 stars
3/24/14 Justin R. One of the films that well crafted in all possible departments. 5 stars
11/22/12 Ed Totleben Jr One of the best movies ever! 5 stars
6/02/12 keith miron I like the killings and shootings 3 stars
2/09/12 David Hollingsworth Coppola's answer to epic moviemaking 5 stars
2/09/12 stanley welles achieves in assisting one's love of film to grow beyond all measure 5 stars
8/06/11 tomA One of the best made movies ever 5 stars
2/13/11 millersxing Timeless saga w/ superb acting, direction, & writing. Family-oriented; not family-friendly. 5 stars
7/06/10 art if you have seen on GODfather, movie you've seen them ALL! 1 stars
6/08/10 Flathead King The Godfather is the best movie that I ever seen. 5 stars
6/01/10 User Name Every time you watch The Godfather, you find new plot points; something in every cranny. 5 stars
11/08/09 art the GODfather-SCHMODFATHER!,BRANDO"S BEST ACTING WAS IN THE MISSIOURI BREAK"S! 1 stars
10/30/09 Omar Come on! Who doesn't love this film? It's a classic. 5 stars
9/28/09 HC seriously who couldnt enjoy this masterpiece of a film. 5 stars
7/10/09 Ron the only good thing about this movie was when the made swiss cheese ot of James Caan 1 stars
6/08/09 art VERY OVERRATED!,BRANDO"S BEST {1970's ACTING}WAS IN THE MISSIURI BREAKS! 1 stars
2/10/09 Todddi Hands down best movie ever, book is better though, which is saying a lot 5 stars
9/01/08 PAUL SHORTT HOWEVER EXQUISITLY MADE, ITS STILL A FILM THAT GLORIFIES (OR ATTEMPTS TO DO SO) THE MAFIA 2 stars
7/09/08 Quigley One of the great cinematic masterpieces that's every bit as renown as it should be 5 stars
4/22/08 mb Good 4 stars
4/04/08 rOCKY aNY BODY WHO HATES THES MOVIES ARE FUCKIN GAY AND SUCK 5 stars
2/05/08 Lorenzo A true classic. A Brilliant masterpiece. The restaurant scene was incredible. 5 stars
1/26/08 proper amateur film critic outstanding gangster drama 5 stars
10/08/07 mr.mike one of the films that made me a movie buff 5 stars
9/27/07 Slick his movie is horrible i dont kno what u people are thinking overated 1 stars
4/27/07 Shabana Fantastic film everyone must watch 5 stars
4/23/07 Tracey Chambers great acting,great directing, great,great movie 5 stars
4/17/07 David Cohen One of those rare cases where the movie is far better than the book 5 stars
3/08/07 ophelia west watched it evry night for a year !! none better !!1 5 stars
2/03/07 Double M If you didn't like it, watch it again. i didn't like the 1st time and now it's my #1!! 5 stars
1/23/07 action movie fan interesting characters but way too slow moving--scarface was better 3 stars
1/13/07 Clayton The greatest film ever made... 5 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini the best mob film ever 5 stars
11/01/06 Charles Tatum Good, but Part II was better 4 stars
10/17/06 Isaac Baranoff Best trilogy ever. 5 stars
9/21/06 Booksworm What can I say, folks? This might just be the last word in movies. 5 stars
6/30/06 justin the most boring movie ever made 1 stars
5/15/06 John Aster Habig over indulgent with violence and stereotypes 1 stars
5/05/06 Uri Lessing overrated performance by Brando 3 stars
5/03/06 MP Bartley Simply magnificent from the first frame to the last. 5 stars
5/03/06 Matt Seaver Probably the best thing Hollywood's ever let escape 5 stars
5/02/06 Ryan_A Pretty much the best movie ever. 5 stars
5/02/06 PaulBryant The final 20 minutes alone are Oscar worthy. 5 stars
5/02/06 David Cornelius Movie perfection 5 stars
5/02/06 William Goss Respect it? Yes. Love it? Not really. 4 stars
5/02/06 EricDSnider A fantastic epic 5 stars
5/02/06 Alex Paquin Overrated but still the best of the trilogy. Brando is excellent. 3 stars
5/02/06 HBS-SH "I" 5 stars
4/18/06 Dave One of the greatest films ever 5 stars
4/08/06 Astrocreep A gangsters dream. 5 stars
4/04/06 Nobody very very very good. what else can I say? 5 stars
3/04/06 GE_TAYLOR Does not live up to potiential 1 stars
1/04/06 me moraless 1 stars
11/25/05 Idiot_for_LMP Can't go wrong with this film. Never dies! 5 stars
10/31/05 Wisamane the godfather ass kicker of all Gangster films 5 stars
10/20/05 PAG One of the top 10 movies of all time. 5 stars
10/16/05 tony Amazing! 5 stars
10/14/05 ram1brn good movie well done 5 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor Slightly overrated, even though it is amazing. 4 stars
9/29/05 Michael Blower Perfection? 5 stars
8/29/05 Eden Possibly the best made film ever. And yes, g is an idiot 5 stars
8/11/05 Moverlover g is an idiot. The Godfather is a masterpiece! 5 stars
8/06/05 Pierre If you think this movie sucks, then you're a fuckin' idiot. This is the greatest film, ever 5 stars
7/29/05 E An instant classic, but everyone should know that by now 5 stars
7/25/05 Jake truly deserves to be called a classic 5 stars
7/19/05 Brandy Harrington I like it! 4 stars
7/09/05 Moctezuma A great film indeed 5 stars
7/03/05 jimmy GREAT 5 stars
6/28/05 Ray The second most perfect movie ever 5 stars
5/25/05 Jake An unforgettable classic. 5 stars
5/07/05 Michelle Gerardot A must see classic. 5 stars
4/26/05 Zippernek Quite possibly the most perfect movie ever. 5 stars
4/22/05 Pippin007 Its OK!! but not the best!1 3 stars
4/11/05 Ann Lemire My all time favorite 5 stars
3/26/05 JC Pierce Not my cup of tea 3 stars
3/24/05 matjaě You just could not miss with Marlon. best american actor of all time 5 stars
3/18/05 indrid cold Brando is unforgettable, but I'm not sure what is supposed to be so great about this movie. 4 stars
3/08/05 Taylor Fladgate best movie ever! 5 stars
3/06/05 Dis movi roX>>> Al's wife that he meets in sissily (that dies) is HOT! "...make him an offer he can't refuse..." 5 stars
2/23/05 Colleen Goldrick Movie History 101 5 stars
2/17/05 C Vega a cinematic masterpiece in my opinion the best of its genre 5 stars
1/30/05 Bob Barton Best movie of all time in my opinion 5 stars
1/29/05 blueviolet The best movie ever made! 5 stars
1/13/05 Tom Benton Quite possibly the best film ever made. Certainly without flaw. 5 stars
1/04/05 magaafi NO kyle. U suck. 5 stars
12/27/04 mjoc A masterpiece. 5 stars
12/08/04 Tony Best movie of the 1970s 5 stars
12/01/04 richard betts damn fuckin pure ecellence 5 stars
12/01/04 mohit great film but Schindlers List is the best 5 stars
11/19/04 Rodney Hale No matter how many I times I see it, this film always inspires me. 5 stars
11/17/04 C Vega A Film Of Genius, Everyhing Is Done Superbly In The Undisputed King Of Gangster Films 5 stars
11/12/04 Johnna Just an all round great movie 5 stars
11/05/04 Rich Strickler It doesn't get any better than this. Perfection. 5 stars
10/14/04 lewis this is an amazing film, gets better every time I watch it-a must buy for any film collecti 5 stars
10/07/04 Desperado one of the best, the baptism scene is the best scene in the history of cinema A+ 5 stars
10/05/04 Roseann A beautiful and tragic "family" saga. One of the best fills ever made. 5 stars
8/25/04 James Bond A movie you can't refuse 5 stars
8/16/04 Peter James A great film that in a way gets ruined by its hype 4 stars
8/03/04 Karla it was kool 5 stars
7/31/04 Sam Lewett What's another name for the God father? 4 stars
7/08/04 Stevo Beauty on culluloid 5 stars
6/25/04 Karen Stockdale Power corrupts......absolute power corrupts absolutely....this is the evidence! 5 stars
6/03/04 anthony sharp gr8 film gr8 dialouge 4 stars
5/25/04 C Vega One of the finest movies i have ever seen 5 stars
5/21/04 Sean Scanlan Best Picture Winner 5 stars
5/15/04 Lord Durvok 2 The music, acting and cinematography were good... in my OPINION (ever hear that word?) 4 stars
5/03/04 Ray Excellent!!! 5 stars
4/26/04 The man with the plan A classic.... 5 stars
4/10/04 IP Freeley Gray... you are clueless aren't you? best movie ever made 5 stars
3/27/04 Darlene Wright I love this!! 5 stars
3/18/04 Lesterwink23 What can I say? It's one of the all-time greats 5 stars
3/16/04 Vito Manola This movie rocks i would tell anyone and everyone to take the time and see this movie 5 stars
2/20/04 AJ A Classic for Generations 5 stars
2/08/04 MelissaNYC You MUST have this film (& part 2) in your movie collection. Share this one with the kids! 5 stars
2/08/04 Travis How can you hate this movie..... 5 stars
1/29/04 Tony montana Scarface was better! 5 stars
1/26/04 Jacob A. Cialona A totally awesome trilogy.Wish there were more. 5 stars
1/24/04 CC Amazin 5 stars
1/24/04 M The best movie ever! 5 stars
12/27/03 I Would PURE PERFECTION IN EVERY FUCKING ORGASMIC WAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/17/03 Tim Triangle Cool film hard to fault maybe a tad slow in some places 5 stars
12/06/03 Agent Sands A factual classic, w/ all-around bravado cast &, especially for the '70s, great filmmaking. 5 stars
12/04/03 john a sensational gangster movie from a time when people knew how to do them right! 5 stars
11/13/03 Valerie I think I'm the only female who knows the difference between Clemenza and Tessio. 5 stars
9/19/03 Mark86 I can keep watching this one 5 stars
8/23/03 Matt This is a movie that could be 50 years long. Wouldn't be enough 5 stars
8/04/03 Movie Guy Oh yes. 5 stars
8/03/03 Ara Shahinian Brilliant!!!! Awsome!!!!!! Fantastic!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/03/03 Putski The second one's better, but this is still mindblowing 4 stars
7/23/03 Shadaan Felfeli I wished it wouldn't end. 5 stars
6/23/03 AD best movie ever made 5 stars
6/20/03 Sammy one of the best movies ever made period 5 stars
6/18/03 Andrew Callaway Incredible. The best mobster movie ever. 5 stars
5/30/03 Halistair W. Cobbwrench Fantastic, stunning, epic, beautiful filmmaking 5 stars
5/23/03 Ryan F. In my Top Five. My jaw hangs open every time i watch it. 5 stars
5/12/03 Jack Bourbon Almost as good as. . . "Heat?????" 5 stars
5/01/03 Flounder An outstanding film, well casted, wondrufully edited. This movie has it all. 5 stars
4/17/03 Jon "Thumb the Toad" Lyrik Fuck Goodfellas, THIS is the best mob film ever made. 5 stars
3/23/03 GMan This movie is like the best of film noir/gangster. And oh, yeah. JOHN SMITH IS FULL OF SHIT 5 stars
3/22/03 Blah. Dark and deep. I like it. 5 stars
2/22/03 Kyle One of the best films ever. 5 stars
2/12/03 Aussie Film Maker Beautiful films (Well the first two) before Francis Ford Coppola went mad. 5 stars
2/11/03 Ultron One of the best. 5 stars
2/10/03 FcPoliFan Can it get any better? 5 stars
2/08/03 natasha_theobald masterful, epic film about family and loyalty 5 stars
1/29/03 wintermute Hard to equal 4 stars
1/28/03 The Aussie Film Reviewer It just isn't possible to give this less than four stars. Story, acting, directing = great. 5 stars
1/27/03 KJ like it 3 stars
1/08/03 Seppo Perfect film! 5 stars
12/22/02 take1 best movie ever 5 stars
12/02/02 Mike Great film 5 stars
11/20/02 Interrog8 Great movie! What are you people thinking? 5 stars
11/07/02 Jay An excellent movie! Pelswick is a fucking idiot! 5 stars
11/03/02 Donald Cockram A dated, ludicrously overrated flick with a couple of good scenes. 3 stars
10/31/02 Joseph James There's no need to coment, the film speaks for its self 5 stars
10/27/02 moviemachine Flounder can suck my ass! This is a brilliant masterpiece! 5 stars
10/23/02 Abe I have yet to see a film that can even come close to Godfather. Super!!! 5 stars
10/22/02 bill good 4 stars
10/20/02 Jay A Brilliant Masterpiece! 5 stars
10/09/02 hoser The absolute best film of all times. You have to be fuckin blind and stupid not to love thi 5 stars
10/08/02 Mark R. King Top Three Film of All Time 5 stars
10/01/02 Sophia Anyone who hates this movie should stick to Barney Videos. 5 stars
9/14/02 rerrge eggrtgetg 5 stars
9/13/02 Etienne Turgeon Un des 10 meilleurs films de tous les temps 5 stars
8/30/02 Buddha It's not about the killings, it's about the culture, the style, the performances. Tres cool 5 stars
8/25/02 Turkish good gangster movie cause it was the first, but goodfellas was better 4 stars
8/22/02 The Truth The only movie in all Top 10 best of all time lists that I can't say is overrated 5 stars
8/16/02 Scott Undescibable. Must see again just thinking about it. anyone who doesnt like it=insane 5 stars
7/15/02 ! This is where it al started! Excellent acting by pacino and brando, brilliant movie! 5 stars
7/10/02 asif excelent 5 stars
7/09/02 CVJ NWO Who gives a shit what your Fucking head looks like Spanners 5 stars
7/08/02 James Wright my head looks like the millenium dome 5 stars
7/06/02 Monster W. Kung Flounder: glad to see that dumbasses who like Attack of The Clones don't like this. 5 stars
5/22/02 officer 412/l DON'T FUCK WITH THE FAMILY 5 stars
5/16/02 Kelly I LOVE this movie, but if Brando were never alive who could play Godfather? Nobody could. 5 stars
4/20/02 summer it pisses me off when people call it a movie, if anything it was a film and more than that! 5 stars
4/02/02 Charles it's the best movie, i've ever seen 5 stars
3/21/02 Chris This movie is fucking unbelievable, best ever 5 stars
2/22/02 Kristi When I finally saw it, I loved it... Such a classic!! 5 stars
2/03/02 Lin Rainey Pacino is absolutley brilliant. A masterpiece of a film. 5 stars
2/02/02 TM Life time film 5 stars
1/22/02 Tam Great acting, cinematography & score, but could get a bit slow-moving & incomprehensible 5 stars
1/15/02 Obi Wan Sorry, but this is a bit over rated. I thought it was good, but don't know about great. 3 stars
1/14/02 Andrew Carden I Like Part 2 Better, but This Was Worthy Of Top 10 Movies Ever. 5 stars
1/05/02 Magnum Craphole Probably the best movie out of a wonderful decade. 5 stars
12/31/01 bruno maybe the greatest film ever. 5 stars
12/31/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) {{{OZ}}} may have a serious boner for this movie, but I just thought it was good. 4 stars
11/29/01 R.W. Welch King of the mob movies, very effectively done. 5 stars
11/27/01 sdfr One of the greatest artistic achievements of the modern world. 5 stars
10/29/01 spaceworm Leave the gun; take the canole. 5 stars
10/25/01 Bassam El-Baroni nothing i've seen so far has lived up to the sheer quality of this movie and its sequel. 5 stars
10/22/01 Cookie Cutter One of the true masterpieces. Just amazing. Never boring, despite the length. 5 stars
8/06/01 daniel completely flawless. 5 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Simply fucking amazing... 5 stars
7/31/01 DMF I forget how good this movie is. Then I see it again. 5 stars
7/03/01 taj Every bit the classic its reputed to be. Fuckin' Awesome indeed. 5 stars
7/03/01 TLsmooth What the hell has happend to Pacino? He is the same loudass in every film now. 5 stars
6/15/01 zombie greatest film of all time. period 5 stars
6/05/01 Anna hmm I would say its pretty good...oh no wait its FUCKINg good 5 stars
5/13/01 Teddy DuChamp I'm comin' for ya, desert beagle, and your little dog, too. 5 stars
4/28/01 The Jedi Droid nearly perfect..kicks ass... 5 stars
4/19/01 Tam Sheer movie magic. Coppola's direction is genius & Pacino gives his best ever performance. 5 stars
3/25/01 Monster W. Kung One of the few real masterpieces of cinema, no doubt about it. 5 stars
2/28/01 Ticiana Maria Ramos de Castro The perfect movie. It will be never forget 5 stars
2/14/01 Lee Captivating Cinema 5 stars
2/08/01 Terrie Smith Brooding masterpiece; Pacino's transformation is the heart of the film. 5 stars
2/08/01 Hellfire Kick @ss Movie! See this at all costs. 5 stars
2/07/01 Obi Wan I'm a big fan of gangsters and mob flicks but for some reason I didn't like this at all. 2 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog A must see!!!! Masterpiece in filmmaking!! Coppola's best! 5 stars
1/13/01 zippernek A movie I can't refuse 5 stars
1/12/01 Skip A perfect film. The acting, direction, score, screenplay, everything! 5 stars
12/20/00 Speedy The best film ever; Pacino, Caan, Duvall, Keaton, Brando are amazing 5 stars
12/18/00 Artist Freak Epic, sweeping, sensual, moody, delicious, visceral, violent, exquisite 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla i'ts not average, its fucking awesome! not even the excellent "Goodfellas" can top this one 5 stars
11/15/00 The EVIL Penguin a bit slow but nice trilogy 3 stars
11/15/00 salvo toscano Can't believe it is not topping the ranking! 5 stars
11/09/00 viking The best film ever made ? 5 stars
10/12/00 Dan P. The greatest mob movie ever, a movie that you can watch over and over and never get bored. 5 stars
10/06/00 JL When I rented it I immediately rewound and re watched it. Not a dull moment. 5 stars
6/09/00 TERRIE SMITH The film that started it all; Brando, Pacino & Duvall really shine 5 stars
6/01/00 Jimmy A great film 5 stars
5/29/00 Cooke This is the best one. 5 stars
5/03/00 matt words can't explain it 5 stars
4/26/00 Leo One of my all time favorites 5 stars
3/22/00 Chris M. It gets better every time I see it. Excelent! 5 stars
3/11/00 Will watched it for the first time, jesus was I missing out. That was amazing. 5 stars
2/25/00 movieman the best ever 5 stars
2/14/00 Jeff A triumphant film, a masterpiece, great 5 stars
2/14/00 stan good movie, a classic 4 stars
2/12/00 el guapo may be boring if your life is continuous post to the same board...otherwise awesome 5 stars
2/10/00 Matt The "sucks all ass" imbeciles below me are what gives AOLers a bad name 5 stars
1/24/00 Casey Jarzabek THE BEST OF THE BEST 5 stars
1/19/00 k.tomkowski Truly remarkable. Passes the test of time. 5 stars
10/30/99 rowan r who am i to comment on coppola?! 5 stars
10/10/99 SJKelley Brilliant script. Characters. Story. Acting. Directing. Wow. 5 stars
9/18/99 Melissa Like the rating says - absolutely fucking awesome. 5 stars
9/16/99 mr. pink not my kind of gangster movie.... 3 stars
9/08/99 Elijah The original, the best; a modern masterpiece, period. 5 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: ***Ĺ (out of ****) Category: "Very Good" 5 stars
6/28/99 Chris Gianaras The greatest film ever made. Period. 5 stars
6/18/99 Dave Quaglia This movie made me proud to be an Italian 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Impeccable film making. A classic in every sense of the word. 5 stars
5/26/99 GothamDK Liked GF II better, but a must see, even if you don't like gangster movies. Great style! 5 stars
5/13/99 Jenna Hoffman Bomb Ass Diggity Movie!!! 5 stars
4/19/99 jimmy jam classic, classic, classic, classic, classic 5 stars
4/19/99 unstrung holy shit. thats all i can say. (oh yah, mr. pink -- go fuck yourself) 5 stars
4/17/99 Ah Dooey masterpiece 5 stars
2/19/99 Piz realism is sincere, all mob movies have to measure up to this. 5 stars
1/30/99 Vick Di Brecci If you like this, I recommend Part II. 5 stars
1/12/99 Bluntman Classic! 5 stars
12/14/98 Jules I can't believe there are people who don't think this is one of the best ever... 5 stars
12/04/98 Matthew J. Soucy Devastatingly original: Part II is superior. 5 stars
11/25/98 Fred Best movie of the 70s, even better than Taxi Driver. Only watch on special occasions. 5 stars
11/24/98 little jerry Look at any of Coppola's 60's films & then this for the quantum leap of the century. 5 stars
11/16/98 Lord Of The Dunce Brando was SO perfect for the role. Bellisimo. 5 stars
10/29/98 Silent Rob Sheer cinematic perfection! 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo Sensational classic film. Viva Coppola. 5 stars
10/01/98 Flea Bitten Nut Damn, this is a fine film. In every way. A historic event. 5 stars
9/28/98 Brandon B. Possibly the greatest of all time. 5 stars
9/19/98 Al Pacino I thought I was pretty good... did you? 5 stars
9/13/98 Paul Leone One of the finest films ever made. Incredible story and great acting - a must see. 5 stars
9/07/98 NICK GREAT THE EPIC CONTINUES 5 stars
9/04/98 Badass WOW! 5 stars
8/26/98 Pete I am not eloquent enough to fully relate how good this flick (and Part II) is. 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Just good. No other way to describe it. Good. 5 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} An all time classic. If you haven't seen this movie, go do so now. NOW, damn you! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  14-Mar-1972 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast