More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.48

Awesome30.43%
Worth A Look30.43%
Average: 10.87%
Pretty Bad: 13.04%
Total Crap: 15.22%

1 review, 40 user ratings


Latest Reviews

True Fiction by Jay Seaver

Pick of the Litter by Jay Seaver

Fahrenheit 11/9 by Peter Sobczynski

House With A Clock In Its Walls, The by Peter Sobczynski

Life Itself (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Unity of Heroes by Jay Seaver

Hanagatami by Jay Seaver

Predator, The by Jay Seaver

Fahrenheit 11/9 by Rob Gonsalves

Madeline's Madeline by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Selena
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Capsule Review

"No grande quadrangular, but a two base-hit."
4 stars

When she died at the tender age of 23, Selena was on the brink of reaching Gloria Estefan proportions. (Popularity-wise, not butt-wise)

Whether she was killed by her assistant is besides the point because this film celebrates her short but eventful life, rather than try to Oliver Stone it.

Star Jennifer Lopez got the Oli treatment in U-Turn, but here she is charming as the title character alongside Hispanic film regular Edward James Olmos.

Worth a look. Mucho grande.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=298&reviewer=15
originally posted: 12/10/98 16:36:29
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/29/13 katherine Im sorry but this is my opinion, I thought it was too sanitized:-[ 3 stars
1/20/09 marve legaspi i loved it!!! really.... 5 stars
10/27/08 Samantha Pruitt great movie and a great portrayal! very interesting 4 stars
3/07/08 Albanian girl this is one of the films that makes me crz.its so great!!!!!!good job all of them!!!! 4 stars
1/24/08 bwakz it waz a sad sad movie and i loved it dnt mok hur movie u dnt no wat i wuld du 2 u......... 5 stars
11/21/06 JAYME DON'T SHOW TO ANYONE 5 stars
8/08/05 Carin Brown I love movies based on true stories and this is no exception . I was captivated by her stor 5 stars
1/15/05 nicole this is the best movie ever made 5 stars
11/15/04 Jessica Anderson IT WAS AN AMAZING FILM! I LOVE YOU SELENA 5 stars
9/15/04 Sheyla Hernandez After I saw the movie, I begin listen to her music why? I dont Know 4 stars
7/14/04 Daveman Contrived, melodramatic and often hagiographic, but hey it works, I liked it. 3 stars
7/08/04 natty T.yes j lo makes me crazy with this wonderful achievment 5 stars
6/22/04 anonymoooos I loved looking at her big butt in them tights 5 stars
3/19/04 CARLY THIS IS THE BEST FILM EVER 5 stars
2/05/04 c.r This is one greatest movies about a singer! 4 stars
12/12/03 Robert very good film JLO did a great job!!! 5 stars
10/29/03 Jessica It is Awesome... She will always be in my heart 5 stars
11/14/02 Paul "J-lo+ now has the fame that should have been Selena's. Sick world 1 stars
6/13/02 hilarydsur awesome but sad 5 stars
1/27/02 Andrew Carden Really Bad Start For J-Lo...She Gives Selena No Flavor or Good Taste. 2 stars
8/17/01 hilary worth a look 4 stars
8/10/01 canadian you got to love a movie that looks at jenns big butt 4 stars
4/25/01 Jake J-Lo pullin a Madonna. 1 stars
4/23/01 kiki walky Selina was a talented person, and it's a great story 5 stars
2/20/01 Samantha Curwick I think she was verry prity.Selina is so cool. 3 stars
6/06/00 Dave It should be SELENA with lopez' current success. A REAL latina should have the part!!!!! 2 stars
4/30/00 Yo Momma an excuse to look at Jennifer's wonderful ass! 1 stars
4/24/00 Oscar Alvarez A tragic biopic worth seeing 5 stars
10/03/99 Karla An excuse to look at Jennifer Lopez's big butt 1 stars
4/24/99 gibb Motola gave Lopez a record deal. Now she thinks she IS Selina!!!FUCK stop her! 1 stars
4/08/99 Dave Jennifer Lopez is a discrace!!! She sucks in this movie -any movie for that matter 1 stars
2/09/99 Gary Selena's dad should be pissed about his portrayal. Found out he had edit rights. Fuckin A! 4 stars
12/07/98 Shadow Raider GO TO HELL, Lopez! It's bad 'nuff to hear the real singer being shot. Give her a break. 2 stars
9/22/98 Maria Hernandez I 'm a huge fan of Selena and I was disapointed about the movie. It was poor plotted. 1 stars
9/06/98 Young Einstein Like me some Lopez. Break me off a piece of that. 4 stars
9/01/98 MikeF I saw most of this on HBO. I didn't like it. 2 stars
8/29/98 Mister Whoopee Jen Lopez has a tasty ol' big butt. 3 stars
8/25/98 The Capital City Goofball I have all Selena's albums. And posters. And I talk to Jesus. And I'm an astronaut. 2 stars
8/17/98 Miss Stress oh look, another entertainer who made it big after they died...bah 2 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Jen Lopez has back. This film does too. All back. Like, a shitload of butt. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  21-Mar-1997 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast