More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.28

Awesome57.69%
Worth A Look: 29.81%
Average: 2.88%
Pretty Bad: 1.92%
Total Crap: 7.69%

3 reviews, 86 user ratings



Killer Klowns from Outer Space
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by the Grinch

"Not since 'Big Top PeeWee' has the Circus been this scary!"
4 stars

Come on. Face it. Clowns are just creepy. There's a reason why John Wayne Gacy was a party clown. There's just something fundamentally wrong with a face-painted freak that always wears a spectre-like grimace and makes anatomically incorrect balloon animals for kids...and I ain't talking about Marilyn Manson here.

Killer Klowns was a superb idea for a campy movie, and you get the feeling that the makers were fully aware that they had a smorgasborg of swiss on their hands. Yep, the only thing creepier than clowns are midget clowns. And the only thing possibly creepier than midget clowns are grotesque and malevolent ALIEN clowns. Alien clowns who want to saran-wrap the entire human population in cotton candy and then suck them dry like Nina Hartley with a swizzle stick!

It all starts when the E.T. clowns land outside a small American town, 'the Blob'-style. When people start disappearing, a few kids discover the awful truth and set out to stop the intergalactic bozos before they consume the earth in one sweet-toothed swoop!

I felt there were a few missed opportunities here and there. For instance, I was hoping the clowns could have some sort of tiny clown car land rover that all of them fit into, but I guess either that scene was cut or the budget wouldn't allow it. But even given the low budget, the makeup FX are excellent. The bulbous nosed Klowns are incredibly detailed and fascinating to behold. These prosthetics could've very well been done by such Fango-Hall-of-Famers like Tom Savini or Screaming Mad George.

I challenge anyone not to laugh as the Klowns dispatch victims via rabid balloon animals, or when the irritatingly catchy theme song by goofy punk band 'The Dickies' kicks in with the "Bring in the Clowns" guitar licks.

Go rent this, 'Clownhouse', and 'Something Wicked This Way Comes', then grab a few friends and strike up the calliope! The only experience that's remotely similar to the circus/sideshow today is the fair, and while carnies are indeed scary, they just ain't as colorful. Put that in your horn and toot it, Zippy.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2986&reviewer=156
originally posted: 12/22/99 18:23:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/08/16 David Hollingsworth A cult 80s classic of very cheesy fun! 5 stars
10/30/13 JNagarya May be intended as a comedy, but even if you keep reminding yourself that it's only a film. 5 stars
10/20/13 patrickpackham@hotmail.com unforgettable - in a good way. Laughs aplenty if you're not a pedantic clown yourself. 5 stars
3/11/11 Monday Morning I quit watching when they shot some kids with a popcorn gun. 2 stars
1/12/10 Jeff Wilder A grade Z movie that makes no apologies for being a grade Z movie. 4 stars
10/08/09 Roger It's been years since I laughed so hard at a movie! 5 stars
9/09/09 DJ Fitzgerald What a Great D Movie! 1 stars
3/22/09 james obrien very very funny 5 stars
4/11/07 Asep The best "evil clown" movie ever made...NOT a horror movie, though...a weird, wild romp.... 4 stars
3/20/07 Abs Load of crap. what a waste of time and bandwith downlading and watching it 1 stars
11/28/06 Tim My favorite part from the movie is when the klowns put the girl in a giant yellow balloon. 5 stars
11/14/06 poppy seed funny as hell. 4 stars
7/17/06 mark I stain my underwear everytime I see cotton candy 3 stars
3/23/05 Killer Bond It's a pretty good movie!! 5 stars
1/20/05 Tammy edwards I't was really good, it made me jump the first timeI watched it. 5 stars
1/06/05 frank fields i love this movie funny funny 5 stars
12/13/04 mrs ishy best ever! 5 stars
12/08/04 Adam A very hilarious movie. I am a true fan, I saw it last night, and went out and bought it. 4 stars
10/26/04 Books bad ass 5 stars
9/08/04 Dillon Hastings It a bunch of bull-shit 1 stars
8/21/04 luke hilarioud 5 stars
8/07/04 G-man never go to the circus, lol 5 stars
7/27/04 Samuel A really great film. 5 stars
7/23/04 jack could be a true story 5 stars
7/19/04 coy this movie is hilarious! 5 stars
7/11/04 Adam A classis B-movie !! 5 stars
6/27/04 jack scare this movie sucks 1 stars
6/22/04 Dick Logan Another door!! Another door!! Another door!! Classic cheese!! 5 stars
6/21/04 the legend the greats movie ever 5 stars
5/08/04 American Slasher Goddess A great B movie 4 stars
4/22/04 Lord Durvok 2 This is what B-movies should be... 5 stars
4/17/04 Chudrow I Likee Movie Much 5 stars
4/17/04 Buttsavage Amazing 5 stars
2/06/04 btory man it seems so stupid, but hell its funny 3 stars
2/05/04 Evan "pothead" Kruger Who watched a movie like this for "substance", fuckin ass, this movie is awsome, 5 stars
1/10/04 HorrorScribbler Killer clowns from outer space? Holy shit. -- Dean Wormser 4 stars
12/05/03 Derek If you don't like this movie, eat a d!ck 5 stars
11/07/03 John Heick This movie is actually fairly amusing, but only if you dont care about how cheesy it is. 5 stars
11/04/03 phil this was horribe! i was bored from the get-go! this movie had no substance! boring! 1 stars
10/25/03 emily cress killer clowns rock. i love that movie 5 stars
10/19/03 Alan Hit and miss camp. Had its moments, but I'll soon forget it for the rest of my life. 3 stars
10/16/03 james clean family fun 5 stars
9/18/03 Lord Durvok II Definately a fun - and creepy - flick. "What're you gonna do with those pies boys?" 4 stars
8/23/03 Michael Baum Late night laughs! 4 stars
8/06/03 Andrea That movie sux, whom ever decided to write this should run and hide from all humanity. 1 stars
8/03/03 Frank Bliss Awesome movie! 5 stars
7/14/03 Matthew Truelove Movies like this made me a horror movie fan as a kid! Excellent example of goofy horror! 5 stars
7/04/03 raVen kicked ass 5 stars
6/21/03 Phil Ross Awesome and Campy! 5 stars
5/31/03 Allison Like most corny 80's horror movies I loved it! 5 stars
4/02/03 Gray utltra campy horror and they wanted it that we 5 stars
1/10/03 Joshua Noel Good B-Grade Movie 5 stars
11/01/02 Art Campy horror fun 5 stars
10/31/02 Tellosamatokillavrillavigne B-Movies are the BEST movies. And this was funny shit. 5 stars
10/23/02 neil the punk this film rules the dickies soundtrack makes it 5 stars
10/02/02 me this movie is so awsome... the only problem is i can't find it anywhere!!! 4 stars
8/16/02 Shaun the filmakers knew what it was, I knew what it was, and its great! 5 stars
7/20/02 Kyle Ho-ly shit! 5 stars
4/18/02 sandman Solid 1 star movie!!!!!! 5 stars
4/02/02 Film Dude Not bad as one might think. 5 stars
3/26/02 Scarecrow god, i hated this movie 2 stars
3/24/02 Alex A waste of two hours of my life! =( 1 stars
3/23/02 Butterbean I laughed my ass off here! 4 stars
3/14/02 RAPP81 dot Com Saw this when I was 7 as well... DVD's a good value for what's on it for $10. 5 stars
3/11/02 KevinS KICKS ASS!!!!! 5 stars
2/02/02 Judith Latham PURE CHEESY WONDERFUL CAMP!!!! 5 stars
11/23/01 Andrew Carden Cult Classic Alamo! 5 stars
10/14/01 E-Funk I saw this when I was 7,still awesome after all these years. Chiod bros rock! 5 stars
6/08/01 Serial_Monk_the_Jawbreaker Frightening but campy and thoroughly executed horror film! This guarantees good fun! 5 stars
5/30/01 Sean Callahan My little brother is now scared to death of clowns 5 stars
5/15/01 Melanie Awesome movie, its my favorite!! 5 stars
4/29/01 joey obnoxiosu my all time fav!! 5 stars
4/17/01 lisa Love the short one! 5 stars
3/02/01 Ali I want to see 5 stars
2/16/01 Godzilla King Kong Mediocre in ways,but quirky fun,creative,sometimes scary,as Dave returns to jail,Moody dead 4 stars
1/11/01 Harold M. Good clowns gone bad, way bad. 4 stars
1/08/01 scarious It's my favorite movie and one of the best movies ever made. 5 stars
1/05/01 Hihihi15 This movie is amazing. They're killer klowns!!! 5 stars
11/26/00 cravertx This movie is so cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/22/00 Lovebug This Movie was more fun than a barrel of Monkeys. It is a great drinking movie!!! 5 stars
9/18/00 D SILK E 1 this is the ultimate underground 80's movie classic 5 stars
7/09/00 Andrew Freeman One of the best movies 5 stars
3/18/00 John Lindsey cool, i recommend this Movie to anyone who likes ID4, Mars attacks or Toxic Avenger, 5 stars
3/02/00 Rob Humanick Hilarious, campy fun for any sci-fi fan who doesn't care about a bad plot or awful acting. 4 stars
12/18/99 The King of the Bros This movie fucking rocks, go see it now you piece of shit! 5 stars
11/08/99 Fan of 80's nostalgia. Lame campy movie of alien clowns should more go to MST3K! 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-May-1987 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast