More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.29

Awesome: 20.83%
Worth A Look43.75%
Average: 6.25%
Pretty Bad: 2.08%
Total Crap: 27.08%

3 reviews, 30 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Maniac (1980)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Complete filth."
1 stars

I need to go get my book of adjectives for this one. As a fan of horror (and BAD horror often), please understand that I review Maniac as an objective and hardcore horror fan. I am not offended by overt gore, scenes of torture, or even Vicki Lawrence. Translated, I'm TOUGH to offend. Having said that, read on.

Ick. Gross. Not fun. Nasty, in the most literal version of the word nasty you can think of. An unpleasant viewing experience. Plotless, brainless, directionless, scareless, completely devoid of any thought, ideas or even a check for the caterers probably. Like nasty slasher movies? Me too. But this is....just.....ick.

A guy from the Godfather movies (Joe Spinnell) kills women in extraordinarily graphic and non-entertaining fashion. He scalps them, and unless I'm mistaking this movie with Amadeus, he brings the skins home to nail to some mannequins.

A lot of times a movie reviewer will describe a movie as "plotless". This term is generally an exaggeration, an embellishment employed to prove a point. When I say Maniac is "plotless" however, that is indeed a compliment to the script.

It's a short nasty series of bloody murders with no scares or suspense or story at all. Abused mama's boy kills women. It's dreary. In between the blood scenes, you'll fall asleep. Often.

If you haven't gotten the point yet, this is simply a waste of 90 minutes of your life. Makes Friday the 13th look like Chariots of Fire. This one gives mindless, stupid horror movies a bad name.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=2992&reviewer=128
originally posted: 11/15/99 21:27:17
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell sleazy trash 1 stars
5/07/12 elbichosucio More intense on the big screen especially when introduced by Mr Lustig himself. 5 stars
2/09/12 David Hollingsworth Gory, but actually good slasher/character study 5 stars
11/10/11 matthew thompson dalldorf The gore is explicit, but it's the psychological horror that really gets ya' 4 stars
5/02/10 PAUL SHORTT ABHORRENT AND SICK 1 stars
1/06/10 art RORY CALHOUN"S MOTEL HELL WAS A HUNDRED TIMES BETTER THAN THIS MESS! 1 stars
8/22/09 666GOREHOUND666 A must have film for all lovers of classic gore ,and anbody that puts it down is ignorant ! 5 stars
6/05/08 ben dover awesome gore 4 stars
4/16/08 art A RELISTIC FILM ABOUT A SERIAL KILLER 4 stars
2/13/08 mr.mike a treat for fellow gorehounds and lovers of low-budget horror cheapies 4 stars
1/14/08 action movie fan routine stalker/slasher gorefest-so so,cannibal holocaust and ferox were gorier but better 2 stars
12/05/07 David Anyone who could enjoy this is the kind of person who would jack off to death camp photos. 1 stars
7/10/07 Total Crap The movie sucks, but it was still fucking awesome with the gore! 4 stars
9/14/06 JM Synth Certainly Makes an Impact 4 stars
11/02/05 ShadowFace5 Good murder scenes. So-so story 4 stars
7/06/04 spex Very entertaining,disturbing,graphic.....GREAT FLICK!!! 5 stars
5/07/04 dead next door very sick movie with good gore. 3 stars
5/01/04 Joey Absolute woman hating garbage! 1 stars
3/29/04 true review Scariest horror villian ever because its based on reality 4 stars
9/16/03 Franky off the charts, lovely film, Spinell is a genious 5 stars
7/22/03 Kyle FUCK, THIS SUCKS COCK. 1 stars
7/07/03 Chainsaw Slasher Masterpiece, Billiant interpretation of the mind of a serial killer 5 stars
10/26/02 Charles Tatum Just a slasher film, man, just a slasher film 1 stars
9/22/02 Morally Sound Maniac! is a great gore film with a great script. 5 stars
11/30/01 Rutt13 Disturbing, gory, hard to rate. For horror fans ONLY. 3 stars
6/17/01 Frank Zito Resurrected Maniac is my all-time favorite movie!!!!!!!! (31 viewings so far) 5 stars
9/09/00 SwatchDog Eww.. but good 4 stars
7/03/00 DAVID It feel under the mediocre line for me! 3 stars
2/29/00 Ken Krysa ALL TIME CLASSIC HORROR FILM. AWESOME GORE. 5 stars
12/01/99 JARED A GREAT DISTURBING FILM, A REAL HORROR MOVIE 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Dec-1980 (NR)
  DVD: 26-Oct-2010

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast