More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.71

Awesome: 8.82%
Worth A Look: 11.76%
Average: 23.53%
Pretty Bad52.94%
Total Crap: 2.94%

2 reviews, 22 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Devil's Own, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Kiss me, I'm an Irish terrorist!"
2 stars

Let's eat, drink, be merry and have bad accents.

Brad Pitt and Irish accents do not go well together.

The plot's a mess, Pitt's accent is lame, Treat Williams is a terrible bad guy and Harrison Ford just seems tired. Let the guy take a nap already.

It's hard to enjoy a movie when Pitt, one of the stars, badmouthed it before it opened. When your cast has no faith in a movie, it's hard for an audience to have faith in a movie.

Not horrible, considering the talent involved, but way below expectations for the talent involved.

Why did Reuben Blades die? That was dumb, too.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=301&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/01/98 01:51:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/09/15 Anne could have been...... 3 stars
3/15/14 PAUL SHORTT DULL AND UNCONVINCING 2 stars
1/26/07 JR I love Harrison Ford--even if he was shoveling barnyard slop for 1 1/2 hours....I'd watch! 4 stars
1/18/07 David Pollastrini not great, not terrible 4 stars
3/10/06 R.W.Welch Speak the speech, I pray you, trippingly on the tongue. 3 stars
3/09/06 great surprisingly good movie, sold me on the IRA's cause.... 5 stars
8/19/05 ES oh Jess your so stupid, why not high five binladen while you're at it, movie's bad 2 stars
4/27/04 fabian jonczyk I thought it was ok but the plot needs ajustment and the acting was not to bad i thought 3 stars
3/08/04 jess this movie is truely awesome , i can understand the ira and their actions 5 stars
3/25/03 Jack Sommersby Pitt and Ford are superb in this wildly uneven but compelling action drama. 4 stars
3/07/03 Glenn Very realistic and down to earth, amazing that this is from hollywood 5 stars
7/12/02 KMG Interesting 4 stars
8/08/01 Mr. Hat Weird.That's not a bad thing,but the bad thing ~ this was that I thought itwas mostly shit. 3 stars
8/01/01 TLsmooth Stop being nice because Han Solo is in it, it really sucked hippo schlongs. 1 stars
3/31/01 Monster W. Kung Very uninteresting and boring all over. There's much worse stuff, but this ain't good. 2 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla i was dissapointed, could've been better 2 stars
7/28/00 Terrie Smith Rather disappointing; Pitt's Irish accent distracting & Ford was unconvincing. 3 stars
6/10/99 Homer J. Simpson this movie was crap, brad pitt needs to learn how to act 2 stars
9/04/98 Scott Taylor I remember when Pakula made good movies. 3 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Harrison's scar distracts me. 2 stars
8/17/98 Johny Couldn't save itself from an unsatisfying ending 3 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Every family of Irish descent does a jig at parties and drinks Guiness. Not bad but.. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Mar-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast