More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.57

Awesome68.52%
Worth A Look: 25.93%
Average: 1.85%
Pretty Bad: 1.85%
Total Crap: 1.85%

1 review, 48 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Ballad of Buster Scruggs, The by Peter Sobczynski

Widows by Peter Sobczynski

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald by Peter Sobczynski

Hurt by Jay Seaver

Thugs of Hindostan by Jay Seaver

Intimate Strangers (2018) by Jay Seaver

Papillon (2018) by Rob Gonsalves

Brief History of Time, A by Jack Sommersby

Caddyshack II by Jack Sommersby

Outlaw King by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Bill & Ted's Excellent Adventure
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Vanessa

"A couple of idiots traveling through time? Most excellent!"
5 stars

For anyone who has ever played air guitar in front of the mirror, screaming and singing to "Cherry Pie" by Whitesnake, there is a movie out there for you. I mean, I've never done that. I'd never do something as silly as that! No! ...Stop looking at me like that.

Bill and Ted's Excellent adventure has the dubious honor of being the only movie with Keanu Reeves that I not only liked, but liked his performance, as well. Let "The Matrix" be damned! I'd much rather Reeves be shaggy haired and screaming out, "I am Ted 'Theodore' Logan!", with the threat of military school looming over his mushroom-cut head.

The plot is extremely simple. Bill (Alex S. Winters) and Ted (Reeves) are friends. They are failing history. ("Who was Joan of Arc?" "...Noah's wife?") Ted's dad is threatening to send him to an Alaskan military school. They meet Rufus (George Carlin), a guy from the future who's toting a phone booth which allows them to travel through time, collecting historical figures to use in their history report that they have to give in front of the whole school, so that they can later become the best and most loved musicians of all time, thus aligning the planets and bringing peace and harmony to the universe. Whew.

"...What?"

Something's afoot at the Circle K, indeed.

Our two hapless heros collect various historical figures, starting with Napoleon. After dropping off the lovable, tiny French dictator for bowling and ice cream with Ted's little brother, Deacon, they then travel to Anceint Greece where they find Socrates preaching about Days of Our Lives. I know that for at least two years after first seeing this movie, I read Socrates as "so crates." Hell, two years? I still do that today. After collecting a few more historical celebrities, including Abraham Lincoln, Billy the Kid, Sigmund Freud, and Ghengis Khan, for "extra credit, dude.", they travel back to their home in San Dimas, California. They have time to kill, so where do they go? The mall, of course! Predictably, the misplaced historical figures are also arrested.

Will the protagonists get them out of prison? Will they fail history? Will Ted ever score with Bill's stepmom? ("Remember when she was a senior and we were freshmen?" "Shut UP, Ted!") All this and more will be answered. These two were the forerunner for the stupid antics of Beavis and Butthead, but one can't help liking Bill and Ted more. By the time of the most excellent finale, you are rooting for them and hope they'll pass so Ted won't be shipped to Alaska.

Who needs memorable quotes from Ghandi or Winston Churchill? All you've got to know is "Be excellent to each other!" and "Party on, dudes!"

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3014&reviewer=5
originally posted: 11/01/99 05:15:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/29/17 morris campbell excellent fun 4 stars
4/08/15 LadyBakon Loved these guys! Most excellent! 5 stars
3/23/15 Jerry Spray Excellent? Not quite. Entertaining? Hell, yeah! 4 stars
2/13/11 brian Please just continue to be excellent to each other. 4 stars
8/09/09 Steve Michaud Vanessa once again displays her ignorance for all to see. 4 stars
12/22/08 the dork knight Incredibly dumb. 5 stars 5 stars
9/04/08 David Cohen Amusing 4 stars
12/12/07 zenny classic fun flick 5 stars
10/31/07 johnnyfog The historical dudes make it funny. 4 stars
5/30/07 Jason very funny..its a classic! 5 stars
1/22/07 hudso FUCKIN INSANE!! but cherry pie isnt by whitesnake dumbfuck its warrant 5 stars
7/12/06 K Money this is a classic 5 stars
7/03/06 me amazing 5 stars
12/06/05 Daveman Keanu Reeves in his element. 4 stars
8/30/05 ES This movie makes me smile just thinking about it, harmless fun 4 stars
5/28/05 Indrid Cold At times fairly cheesy and slow-paced, but overall it's an unforgettable, hilarious trip. 5 stars
2/03/05 Jeff Anderson A great, goofy BLAST! Director & star Alex Winter's hilarious FREAKED is a cool double bill 5 stars
8/20/04 DM Funny, but could benefit from more George Carlin 4 stars
6/21/04 R.W. Welch Flaky time-travel opus is done with considerable flair. Mostly for teens, but... 4 stars
6/20/04 Joseph Should be mandatory; has world saving potential. 5 stars
2/23/04 Trish Dude, "Cherry Pie" was Warrant, not Whitesnake!! 5 stars
9/29/02 Morally Sound Like, totally EXCELLENT! 5 stars
8/16/02 I Can't Swim Still being re-made, in various forms, but rarely if ever as good 5 stars
4/19/02 Christine it's awesome, i like it, cause of the history part. 5 stars
2/18/02 Adam FUCK YEAH 5 stars
2/12/02 Shelly Howard Totally believable except for capturing Genghis Khan with a twinkie. 4 stars
10/11/01 Nate Dogg This movie is bodacious 5 stars
9/18/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) George Carlin isn't in the movie enough to thoroughly save it. 2 stars
6/29/01 Mike Salerno One word comes to mind : Instant Classic, that would be 2 words 5 stars
6/15/01 Bada Bing Crosby Its message, 'be excellent to each other', is universally appropraite 5 stars
6/04/01 Brian Foster I lost my virginity while watching this movie! 5 stars
5/31/01 bryan right on, one of the best films ever dude! 5 stars
5/31/01 Dude! They didn't have all the historical figures speak english, that alone makes it great! 5 stars
5/07/01 Desert Eagle overrated 3 stars
4/25/01 Drei Cherry Pie is by Warrant, Dumbass! 5 stars
4/12/01 Jesse L A fun movie all the away around but best seen not straight.... 5 stars
3/02/01 Jessie The best movie ever made! spunky dudes too! 5 stars
2/22/01 Tim Hoitink This movie is a classic comedy and I only hope that we start talking like that again 5 stars
2/11/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi I'd actually rather watch this than most of the tripe that passes for "teen" movies lately. 5 stars
1/27/01 Iggy You KNOW it's good. 5 stars
1/09/01 Keanuette An extremely good and very funny comedy with some great performances 5 stars
1/02/01 Destruction Worker With out this movie we wouldn't have the Matrix we know and love today 5 stars
6/11/00 Bender Not as great as some people say, but still enjoyable 4 stars
4/24/00 Steve Layne Fun and better than its sequel. 4 stars
1/26/00 mister man Utterly brilliant film.Keanu Reeve's finest hour without a shadow of a doubt.. 5 stars
12/29/99 Janelle Best Teen comedy! 5 stars
12/25/99 Obi Wan You have got to be shittin' me?!?!?! This flick sucked George Burns Ass!! 1 stars
11/02/99 Meepos Alex Winters needs more work. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Feb-1989 (PG)
  DVD: 12-Jul-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Stephen Herek

Written by
  Chris Matheson
  Ed Solomon

Cast
  Keanu Reeves
  Alex Winter
  George Carlin
  Bernie Casey
  Jane Wiedlin
  Rod Loomis



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast