More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.89

Awesome: 21.05%
Worth A Look: 18.42%
Average: 5.26%
Pretty Bad39.47%
Total Crap: 15.79%

1 review, 32 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Bill & Ted's Bogus Journey
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by rotten f. milk

"This movie is most non... non... NON heinous, dude."
2 stars

Dude, dude, dude. Like awesome dude. Dude, dude, dude. Yeah.

The whole Bill & Ted's series seems fitted around the image/persona of Keanu Reeves. To wit:

1) Ted (Keanu) is a wannabe rock star. So is Keanu. 2) Ted's image is one of a moron that somehow got lucky. Likewise for Keanu. 3) It took a mystical, magical phone booth to get Ted to learn how to play the guitar. It'll take a mystical, magical phone booth to get Keanu to play the bass. 4) Wild Stallions went nowhere. Dogstar is going down the same path.

So, in retrospect, it boggles the mind how a movie such as Bill & Ted's Bogus Journey was ever made. I mean, after their excellent adventure, who would have wanted an encore? Apparently, there must have been a need. It's all about supply and demand.

However, like a fine wine, this movie gets better with age. Wait! Let me justify myself. Bogus Journey is a stupid, stupid movie. In fact, this movie is SO bad, that it's funny. I mean, two slackers, being killed, "melvining" death, going to hell, going to heaven and then saving the planet? It was just HORRIBLE.
Then again, the movie wasn't made for critical acclaim. It was made for laughs. Very stupid laughs. Now, having understood the fact that it was a very stupid movie, I rented it. It made it all the more enjoyable. Sometimes it fun not having to be challenged by a movie.

The only disadvantage is that you feel stupid at the cashier when you go to rent it. The person working the til will most undoubtably have a look of complete disgust that someone will have rented such a movie.

Of course, this doesn't take away the fact that it's still a bad movie. It might have been its purpose to be bad and therefore it had succeeded... but it's not THAT bad.

Perhaps the only reason one would rent this movie is because they are out of shit to kill brain cells and are in need of something else.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3015&reviewer=3
originally posted: 07/05/00 17:55:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

4/14/16 Anne no comment 1 stars
9/04/08 David Cohen Reeves and Winter look like they aged 10 years between this movie and the last 2 stars
10/31/07 johnnyfog No Beethoven playing the synth in this one. 2 stars
10/26/05 Indrid Cold Too ambitious for its own good, lacks the charm of the original. 3 stars
2/05/05 Jeff Anderson A worthy, funny sequel! DIE HARD 2's William Sadler as the Grim Reaper STEALS THE FILM!!!!! 5 stars
1/20/04 kaz kewl 4 stars
8/14/03 Del Liked it better when I was 19, when it came out, boy have I changed 2 stars
7/07/03 John Aster Habig if not for the Grim Reaper this film would be totally bogus 4 stars
6/12/03 trinity most excellent, keanu is great 5 stars
5/18/03 Zebby Dumb but stupid. And funny. 3 stars
3/12/03 Blabity blah I've seen better film on teeth 1 stars
2/18/03 Charles Tatum As dumb as the first one 1 stars
9/29/02 Morally Sound Actually, a sequel that doesn't suck. 5 stars
3/28/02 NeuroManson You killed Bill & Ted you midievil dickweeds!!! 1 stars
3/06/02 Julia Cox Bogus indeed compared to the original 2 stars
12/30/01 Will Diamond A treat for Bergman fans, death is hilarious! Overdone ending hurts, but the film is great. 4 stars
9/18/01 Mr. Hat Better than the first one, but it has some of the worst rock n roll I've ever heard. 2 stars
9/14/01 Ann An excellent movie thats silly, stupid, and fun all rolled into one! 5 stars
9/09/01 Gary Loved 'Excellent Adventure', this is an oversized waste. 1 stars
6/15/01 Bada Bing Crosby Major disappointment, but what can you expect from a sequel 2 stars
4/06/01 Me Bill & Ted are dumb, the story is silly, the movie itself is actually smart and very funny. 4 stars
3/11/01 How about no COOLEST MOVIE EVER!!!! 5 stars
1/09/01 Keanuette A very good sequel. Can't wait for Number 3!! 5 stars
11/05/00 Jon a fun movie... at least i can jack off to it! 4 stars
10/26/00 Scott A fantastic comedy that is far better than the original. 5 stars
10/17/00 Dan Overblown and messy. Scene with Death playing Twister, etc. was great, tho. 2 stars. 2 stars
9/16/00 matt stupid, yes, but very very funny 5 stars
7/23/00 John Middleton Keanu Reeves' best performance 2 stars
7/08/00 gromm Better than dumb and dumber. But that's not saying much. Funny though. 2 stars
5/13/00 Daria Not the worst movie I've ever seen, but it comes VERY close 1 stars
4/24/00 Ryan seeing william sadliers feet make it worth it!! 4 stars
3/02/00 LucyB Worth seeing for William Sandlers performance alone. Many very funny scenes. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Jul-1991 (PG)
  DVD: 12-Jul-2005

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Peter Hewitt

Written by
  Chris Matheson
  Ed Solomon

Cast
  Keanu Reeves
  Alex Winter
  George Carlin
  William Sadler
  Pam Grier
  Joss Ackland



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast