More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.33

Awesome: 6.98%
Worth A Look: 11.63%
Average: 13.95%
Pretty Bad41.86%
Total Crap: 25.58%

2 reviews, 31 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Revenge of the Green Dragons by Jay Seaver

Birdman by Peter Sobczynski

John Wick by Peter Sobczynski

Blue Room, The by Jay Seaver

Cat and the Canary, The (1927) by Jay Seaver

#Stuck by Jay Seaver

Fury (2014) by Jay Seaver

Book of Life, The (2014) by Jay Seaver

Golden Era, The by Jay Seaver

Maze Runner, The by Daniel Kelly

subscribe to this feed


Saint, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"I'm all for suspending disbelief, but Shue as genius is too much."
1 stars

Ugh.

If you can believe Elisabeth Shue as a physics genius, then congratulations. You're as fucking clueless as she is.

Kilmer's all smirk as a master of disguises (occupation of choice these days) who robs from the rich for himself. That's it. He falls for Shue who (and this is the unintentionally funny part) has devised a way to make cold fusion happen.

Suuuuuure.

She's blank-eyed, a deer in the headlights. Kilmer's on autopilot, content to not so much act as coast.

Stupid plot, subpar acting.

And enough with the techno soundtracks, dammit!

Is it better than the television show? Only if you think the television show was horribly bad.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=307&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/03/98 01:36:24
[printer] printer-friendly format  
TV to Screen: For more in the TV to Screen series, click here.

User Comments

11/15/11 Chris. Warning: Lots of cheese, eat with crackers 2 stars
3/18/08 kowface A dog is a dog-by any other name. 1 stars
2/11/08 Pamela White interesting but not the real Saint 3 stars
1/07/07 JM Synth Okay, but more likely to leave you screaming for Moore than for more 3 stars
12/27/04 The Mockingbird I'm with Jason, I could make fun of it at every step and yet... 4 stars
7/04/04 The More You Know 3 miracles 1) ignores camp, but fun. 2) defies logic, but clever. 3) lacks cred, but savvy! 5 stars
5/05/04 John really dull 2 stars
1/05/04 cwlg420 One of my favs 5 stars
10/04/03 Joesco Despite the georgeous Elisabeth virtually unwatchable 2 stars
3/26/03 Jack Sommersby Crushingly dull, lifeless adventure. 1 stars
3/20/03 May Q. Horney Seldom was so momentous a subject rendered so lame by a movie. 2 stars
10/03/02 Jason This is a bad movie, not good at all, but for some strange reason I LOVE IT 5 stars
1/27/02 Andrew Carden Prtety Interesting. Elizabeth Shue Was Great. 4 stars
11/24/01 Shams Huque I watched for Elisabeth Shue, who's gorgeous! 4 stars
7/16/01 bobbuttons despite my better judgment i enjoyed the film...watch it if you're bored on a Sunday 3 stars
7/03/01 R.W. Welch Sub par believability, has a few interesting moments. 2 stars
5/07/01 Gracy Lionheart "Sir, Please take off your pants, I mean your sweater." Doh!!! Boring Movie!!! 2 stars
4/01/01 Jesse L What a disappointment.. 1 stars
6/08/00 TERRIE SMITH Pretty boring; get the impression Kilmer wishes he was somewhere else. 3 stars
5/02/00 lucas jackson waste of money 2 stars
2/20/99 Piz pretty way out there syory, but a cool good guy/bad guy movie 4 stars
12/26/98 Schizofrenic No comment. What a snoozefest. 2 stars
11/28/98 Mr.Pink Very ridiculous ans so bad, it's good! 4 stars
11/13/98 Jules FUCKING STUPID! I think movie makers have a found a new formula for ruining good ideas... 1 stars
9/15/98 Negative Creep Without any actual film score this film was a snoozefest. 2 stars
9/06/98 Young Einstein A non-event. Too much action, not enough substance. 2 stars
9/01/98 MikeF this was long. wih out the eye candy (Shue) it would of totaly sucked. 2 stars
8/25/98 Matt Elisabeth Shue in a bra, but the rest of it is pretty average stuff 3 stars
8/25/98 The Capital City Goofball Pseudo-scientific neo-action bollocks. 1 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet Shue is fun to look at, but park your brain. 3 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} US action in a Euro-setting. Why a female scientist has to be gorgeous is beyond me. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  04-Apr-1997 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast