More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.46

Awesome32.86%
Worth A Look: 22.86%
Average: 14.29%
Pretty Bad: 17.14%
Total Crap: 12.86%

5 reviews, 40 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Daniel Kelly

Goodbye to Language by Jay Seaver

Mea Culpa by Jay Seaver

Homesman, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay, Part 1 by Peter Sobczynski

Purge, The: Anarchy by Rob Gonsalves

Raid 2, The by Rob Gonsalves

Fault in Our Stars, The by Rob Gonsalves

Dumb and Dumber To by Brett Gallman

Space Mutiny by Jaycie

subscribe to this feed


Pink Flamingos
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Eliza

"Fascinating - you don't want to watch, but you can't turn away."
4 stars

Wow. I knew John Waters was out there. I've seen Cry Baby, I've seen Hairspray. Pink Flamingos was so much more. You've read the other reviews, you know about the incest, rape, cannibalism etc etc. But! Don't be turned off. If you have to see this movie for any reason, it's to see the singing anus.

Yes, a singing anus - it's a skill my friends and I have considered perfecting. There are so many more reasons to see Pink Flamingos, though. A delightful rendition of Humpty Dumpty, some bright blue pubic hair, a castrated man, sex with a chicken (now that's gotta hurt).

Ok, this is how the story goes. Divine (using the name Babs) is in hiding in a trailor that has no address. She has with her a flatmate named Cotton, a sexually deviant son Crackers and her overweight egg-obsessed mother, Eidie. She has been named by the media as the Filthiest Person Alive - a title you would presume to be not particularly sought after. Aha! Not so! Enter blue haired Raymond (a dead ringer for Pinhead from Neighbours - for all those Aussies who are reading), orange haired Connie and their fertile Butler. They own a drug ring that pushes in school yards, many porn shops and run a business that involves abducting young women from the streets, impregnating them (via their butler) and selling the babies to lesbian couples. They want to be known as the Filthiest People Alive, and will stop at nothing to rid the world of Filthy Divine.

Uhoh!

Pitch Filthy against Filthy and you're asking for trouble. And trouble is exactly what John Waters provides. I love it! I just love it! Ditch neo-trash...dump neo-violence (Tarrantino just doesn't rate in comparison) - if there is any film that you must see, it's Pink Flamingos. Oh sure, you'll probably hate it at the time, you'll wish you hadn't eaten a meal beforehand and you'll vow to never put yourself through anything like it again. In retrospect, however, you will be delighted at your iron gut and open-mindedness. And you'll have some pretty swanky moves to put on your partner next time you weasle them into bed.

A word of warning: do not eat beforehand and do not view if you're weak stomached. Just sit back and relax and enjoy the strange and wonderful show unrolling before you. PS She really truely ate that dog shit. Oh...mi....god.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=309&reviewer=159
originally posted: 09/17/99 19:03:54
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/15/12 PAUL SHORTT HAND ME THE VOMIT BAG 1 stars
8/10/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Landmark movie has something for everyone. 5 stars
5/08/09 Doody Head Loved the doody eating scene. Classic entertanment 5 stars
3/18/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess All i can say is HOLY FUCK! 4 stars
9/16/08 damalc shocking and at times funny, but just a waste after shock wears off 2 stars
4/14/08 Will Tingle see it (uncut) for the "shock" but know that crap plot, acting and filming = crap movie 1 stars
2/10/07 Jazz One of the funniest movies I have ever seen, disturbed everyone i saw it with, but is fucki 5 stars
2/02/07 Glenn Soffen I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!! The blowjob scene made me hard. I guess I'm sick but I like it. 5 stars
8/01/06 Smokezilla One of the few movies that I love just as much today as the first time I watched it. 5 stars
8/07/05 daddymike worth a look 4 stars
3/13/05 malaya hilarious, radical. beyond porn! 5 stars
12/08/04 2kte4u John is brilliant 4 stars
3/19/04 Morally Sound The most disguting, vile thing I have ever seen, Scarred me for life. See it! 4 stars
3/02/04 Janet A movie to only shock people is outrageously immature. No one should waste their time. 1 stars
6/08/03 earl hoffert one fo the greatest films ever made 5 stars
5/21/02 Charles Tatum THIS is what John Waters has been trying to live up to since? 3 stars
5/19/02 Peter vanHaaften I loved the dog shit part, they needed incest, all in all i almost blew my load 5 stars
5/17/02 Jake I had to watch this more that once to really like it. It's really funny and crazy! 5 stars
4/03/02 Edfink Lombardo John Water's brilliance is at its prime in this mondo-trasho cult classic! 5 stars
3/11/02 Brad Streep Decadant BRILLIANCE! I love you John!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/12/01 slappy jacks waters is a mad fag art fag butcher of morals gotta love him 4 stars
11/23/01 Andrew Carden Pretty Unfunny and EXTREMLY Stupid Movie. 2 stars
4/15/01 GeorgE McCaul I personally did not like this film, but I know many who do and can understand why. 3 stars
3/29/01 zippernek ...at least the acting is not second class.... 2 stars
3/15/01 Sthenno Another piece of trash art!Babs heads the way for Edie,Crackers,Cotton,& fights for filth! 5 stars
3/12/01 wasif khan i do not know about this. i haven't seen this. 5 stars
3/03/01 Matt Word!!!! 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy THE definitive cult classic. 5 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog More fun than eating a turd 4 stars
8/09/00 The King of the Bros More fun than fucking chickens! 5 stars
10/11/99 Weird Andy I hope Waters is lyin' when he claims that was a real dog turd. 4 stars
9/19/99 Aaron White Like a clown uncensored, pulls every trick the superego can't accept. 4 stars
9/17/99 the Grinch I like John Waters the person, but Waters the filmmaker is cheap and scatalogical 2 stars
12/08/98 Binky Tough to look away from, but pretty stinky. 3 stars
11/25/98 little jerry Edie The Egg Lady ,what a cutie. 4 stars
10/31/98 Silent Rob Like a rail disaster! What do PF and Led Zep have in common?Both feature a singing asshole! 4 stars
10/24/98 grunter Pantywaists beware; this is the real fuckin' freakshow; if only my ass could do that. 5 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Toe-sucking. Odd. 3 stars
8/17/98 Miss Stress run, run away! well unless you want to see a girl fucked with a chicken 2 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Gross. Too gross. Not the classic you're told it is. Simply gross. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Apr-1997 (NC-17)
  DVD: 07-Sep-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  John Waters

Written by
  John Waters

Cast
  Divine
  David Lochary
  Mary Vivian Pearce
  Mink Stole
  Danny Mills
  Edith Massey



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast