More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Worth A Look: 22.54%
Average: 14.08%
Pretty Bad: 16.9%
Total Crap: 14.08%

5 reviews, 41 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Hell & Back by Jay Seaver

Summer House, The by Charles Tatum

Saving Mr. Wu by Jay Seaver

Martian, The by Peter Sobczynski

Green Inferno, The by Rob Gonsalves

Hotel Transylvania 2 by Charles Tatum

Walk, The by Peter Sobczynski

Lost in Hong Kong by Jay Seaver

Amish Grace by Charles Tatum

Sicario by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed

Pink Flamingos
[] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Far from a classic. It's pretty sad."
2 stars

Tranasvestites, incest, rape, torture, fat women in underwear eating eggs in a crib, sex with chickens, licking of furniture and consumption of dog turds. Note: This is not a PG film.

It's Pink Flamingos. An amateur film John Waters made with some buddies way back about Babs Johnson (Divine), a man/woman hellbent on retaining her title as the filthiest person alive.

It's something to see... if you can't help but stop and look at a car crash.

Or if you think Divine is entertaining.

Personally, I can't see how Waters and Divine built successful careers after this.

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 08/23/98 12:04:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/26/15 stanley welles an outdated experiment in bad taste 1 stars
8/10/10 Chad Dillon Cooper Landmark movie has something for everyone. 5 stars
5/08/09 Doody Head Loved the doody eating scene. Classic entertanment 5 stars
3/18/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess All i can say is HOLY FUCK! 4 stars
9/16/08 damalc shocking and at times funny, but just a waste after shock wears off 2 stars
4/14/08 Will Tingle see it (uncut) for the "shock" but know that crap plot, acting and filming = crap movie 1 stars
2/10/07 Jazz One of the funniest movies I have ever seen, disturbed everyone i saw it with, but is fucki 5 stars
2/02/07 Glenn Soffen I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!! The blowjob scene made me hard. I guess I'm sick but I like it. 5 stars
8/01/06 Smokezilla One of the few movies that I love just as much today as the first time I watched it. 5 stars
8/07/05 daddymike worth a look 4 stars
3/13/05 malaya hilarious, radical. beyond porn! 5 stars
12/08/04 2kte4u John is brilliant 4 stars
3/19/04 Morally Sound The most disguting, vile thing I have ever seen, Scarred me for life. See it! 4 stars
3/02/04 Janet A movie to only shock people is outrageously immature. No one should waste their time. 1 stars
6/08/03 earl hoffert one fo the greatest films ever made 5 stars
5/21/02 Charles Tatum THIS is what John Waters has been trying to live up to since? 3 stars
5/19/02 Peter vanHaaften I loved the dog shit part, they needed incest, all in all i almost blew my load 5 stars
5/17/02 Jake I had to watch this more that once to really like it. It's really funny and crazy! 5 stars
4/03/02 Edfink Lombardo John Water's brilliance is at its prime in this mondo-trasho cult classic! 5 stars
3/11/02 Brad Streep Decadant BRILLIANCE! I love you John!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
12/12/01 slappy jacks waters is a mad fag art fag butcher of morals gotta love him 4 stars
11/23/01 Andrew Carden Pretty Unfunny and EXTREMLY Stupid Movie. 2 stars
4/15/01 GeorgE McCaul I personally did not like this film, but I know many who do and can understand why. 3 stars
3/29/01 zippernek least the acting is not second class.... 2 stars
3/15/01 Sthenno Another piece of trash art!Babs heads the way for Edie,Crackers,Cotton,& fights for filth! 5 stars
3/12/01 wasif khan i do not know about this. i haven't seen this. 5 stars
3/03/01 Matt Word!!!! 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy THE definitive cult classic. 5 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog More fun than eating a turd 4 stars
8/09/00 The King of the Bros More fun than fucking chickens! 5 stars
10/11/99 Weird Andy I hope Waters is lyin' when he claims that was a real dog turd. 4 stars
9/19/99 Aaron White Like a clown uncensored, pulls every trick the superego can't accept. 4 stars
9/17/99 the Grinch I like John Waters the person, but Waters the filmmaker is cheap and scatalogical 2 stars
12/08/98 Binky Tough to look away from, but pretty stinky. 3 stars
11/25/98 little jerry Edie The Egg Lady ,what a cutie. 4 stars
10/31/98 Silent Rob Like a rail disaster! What do PF and Led Zep have in common?Both feature a singing asshole! 4 stars
10/24/98 grunter Pantywaists beware; this is the real fuckin' freakshow; if only my ass could do that. 5 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Toe-sucking. Odd. 3 stars
8/17/98 Miss Stress run, run away! well unless you want to see a girl fucked with a chicken 2 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Gross. Too gross. Not the classic you're told it is. Simply gross. 2 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  11-Apr-1997 (NC-17)
  DVD: 07-Sep-2004



Directed by
  John Waters

Written by
  John Waters

  David Lochary
  Mary Vivian Pearce
  Mink Stole
  Danny Mills
  Edith Massey

Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast