More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.21

Awesome60%
Worth A Look: 21.33%
Average: 8%
Pretty Bad: 1.33%
Total Crap: 9.33%

1 review, 69 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Road Not Taken, The by Jay Seaver

Great Battle, The by Jay Seaver

True Fiction by Jay Seaver

Pick of the Litter by Jay Seaver

Fahrenheit 11/9 by Peter Sobczynski

House With A Clock In Its Walls, The by Peter Sobczynski

Life Itself (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Unity of Heroes by Jay Seaver

Hanagatami by Jay Seaver

Predator, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Cosi
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Thom

"Magnificent and endearing."
5 stars

Who, but a group of lunatics, led by a man looking for personal redemption, could put on a performance of Mozart' s opera, Cosi Fani Tutte in a way that evokes the spirit of Mozart himself.

Mozart was not a serious man, but he was a serious artist. He was unconventional, made his own rules and understood enough about being human to be the human he wanted to be. Naturally, he was not liked, understood, or tolerated by many people in the "respectable" society that comprised his audience. But they loved his music.

Cosi works inside this interpretation of Mozart as a bohemian, who preferred the lunatic fringe as the source of an authentic, visceral, sensual, and spiritual humanity to the salon's of the aristocracy, which were cold, mannered and devoid of genuine or openly expressed humanity.

A local asylum for the mentally deranged is looking for a director for the annual variety show. An out of work actor/director who seems to be generally apathetic about his life and his work, applies for the job. He is looking for something that will bring him back into communion with the muse that breathes life into his spirit and he doesn't know that he is about to find it.

The only other person who comes for the job is an unqualified oaf with no professional experience. The choice naturally lands with the uninspired director. The administration of the asylum wants him to create a program that keeps the patients "in their range", which would be some soft-shoe pablum that doesn't excite the patients or overtax their evidenly limited abilities as humans. The patients, led by one outspoken man who has spent his life in institutions and has invented a fabulous personal history for himself, insists that they do a production of Cosi Fani Tutte.

Lewis (Ben Mendehlsen), who has just found a job after being unemployed and harangued by his girlfriend, wants to please the powers that be, but as a man true to the arts, he accepts, after some emotional pleading on the part of one of the patients, the challenge of producing Cosi.

The administration reluctantly agrees until one of the performers/patients burns down the playhouse and the show is cancelled. But the show, which has by that time come to represent symbolically, the reaching outside of ones range, in the case of the patients, towards wholeness or healing or integration into society, and in the case of the director, of reclaiming his muse and his artistic reason for being, has taken on its own life and the crew retire in secret to put the show on. They work tirelessly during the day practicing their dummy revue for the powers that be, while at night, rehearsing Cosi.

Stunning performances. This film is about triumph over not only adversity but also opression, self-imposed and externally imposed. It is a film about questioning boundaries, valuing humanity, reaching towards the unknown, and healing the human heart of brokenness and despair. It is a tribute to art as the path of creative self-realization and expression of the inner forces at work in our psyche. Art externalizes these forces as symbols of the great mysteries of being human, bringing us in touch with ourselves and by extension all of the world.

There is something ineffible about simply existing. And beyond that lies the heart. A free humanity has never seemed to find a comfortable resting place in a society, which prefers to lock up, deny or destroy anything that challenges its precarious order.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=311&reviewer=67
originally posted: 07/05/99 07:12:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.

User Comments

6/06/11 Immortal Free phentermine 2009 jelsoft enterprises ltd, Millenium health hoodia hoodia, Phentermine 1 stars
3/04/11 Bill Cary brilliant creation. ..beyond comment 5 stars
5/13/10 SS I think it's a good try to bring issues to conversation BUT they do it in the wrong way 3 stars
10/19/09 auzzie chickie great! the characters r beautiful and u will fall in love with all of them!enjoy! 5 stars
4/29/08 simone i think this movie was despicable, it made a mockery of the mentally ill!! 1 stars
2/18/07 Brian and Carol 5 stars: touching, funny, original, memorable 5 stars
8/18/06 C.J. enjoyable 4 stars
9/04/05 abdullah not bad but wouldnt want to see it again 3 stars
1/15/05 Aitv Reivydaite greatest auditions i've ever seen...how many of you can inhale a balloon? 5 stars
10/12/04 jo best australian film i've ever seen 5 stars
9/19/04 Melanie Codrington i had to watch this film for my drama class, and i think it is brilliant!!! 5 stars
9/07/04 Emma its was an "ok" movie 4 stars
8/14/04 jill carlton funny, sad brilliant 5 stars
6/27/04 angle i feel asleep at school while watch it; need i say more 1 stars
6/15/04 jenna really funny with a touch of seriousness 5 stars
5/26/04 Jack Easy to enjoy and the cast were fanstatic 4 stars
3/25/04 anon funny 4 stars
3/10/04 Zekal It was reasonable, had some funny bits but nothing to write home about 3 stars
1/14/04 David Fowler Genuinely sweet, funny, and uplifting without even once being saccharin. "Cosi" is a joy. 5 stars
12/13/03 Jay Baker An absolutely amazing film - one of the best that keeps you wanting to see it again and ag 5 stars
11/26/03 DoDa ashtons hotter yeh doda rules 1 stars
11/23/03 Chris and Larry delightful - one of the funniest movies ever! 5 stars
11/19/03 zac t'waz awesome 5 stars
9/26/03 Laris Great movie! 5 stars
7/23/03 Double G Awesome, great, best film eva, ya, man, koolio,ya 1 stars
7/22/03 Rick Loved it--the audition scene is the most hysterical thing you can imagine 5 stars
6/21/03 kat COSI legendary! 4 stars
6/05/03 kay ward not bad 3 stars
6/02/03 Kristin Westman BLOODY BRILLIANT!! 5 stars
5/09/03 R.U. Gay Very crap 1 stars
1/11/03 Heather great characters, hilarious, excellent acting 5 stars
11/17/02 D Okay 4 stars
11/05/02 Pete It was the most enlighting film 5 stars
10/24/02 Paul B. Too great a movie. 4 stars
10/21/02 chae not too bad 1 stars
7/28/02 Stephanie were studying it in Drama, weve seen the movie, now were looking at the script 4 stars
6/15/02 Clare We're studying this movie in English - and it's OK worth a look 4 stars
5/18/02 emma was ace i am now studing it at school 5 stars
5/13/02 Stacy Sigmont it was great really funny in some parts 5 stars
4/20/02 tim moodie i saw a play done by springwood thertre productions 5 stars
4/09/02 Denny Clough It was a fabuluous experience 5 stars
4/06/02 Girl Love the burnt cat! 5 stars
3/30/02 Reg_1952 Fantastic film that enduced a wide range of emotions within me. 5 stars
3/19/02 Candice great film, love the humour!! 4 stars
3/18/02 Shauna Davies I loved the film, it is just so funny!! 5 stars
3/08/02 Stuart Hollingsworth Terrific 5 stars
2/24/02 binny the movie was good, and so was the book, imstudyingitatschoolatthe moment,ineedhelpemail me 5 stars
1/04/02 Kirri Liepins One of my favourite movies...hilarious and loveable! 5 stars
11/08/01 Jenna This film is great! Although it is low budget, the actors were outstanding! 5 stars
8/22/01 Mick Davies A unique blend of human interest and classic Aussie humour. 4 stars
6/26/01 grub pretty darn good 4 stars
6/16/01 dan delightfully funny and thought provoking but a little heavy on language 4 stars
6/04/01 erin this movie was fantastic i could watch it again and again 5 stars
5/09/01 colleen it seems funnier if you understand the characters, by reading or studying the play. 4 stars
4/21/01 John Maybe we are all a touch mad, but Mozart had it right 250 years ago 5 stars
4/20/01 Kate Smith A film that proves that Australia has talent, look where Toni Collette has gone 5 stars
3/30/01 B. Hoipgood hilarious and witty 5 stars
3/05/01 Cocksucker Shocking and it really sucked! 2 stars
3/03/01 ligon hicks real dirtly 5 stars
2/14/01 J E WILSON ONE OF THE BEST FILMS EVER!!! 5 stars
9/24/00 Luke Great, really great work 5 stars
5/12/00 dru summers Fanbloodytastic. Ben Mendelsohn was fabulous. 5 stars
3/24/00 Lesley funny, Aussie, same old story line 4 stars
11/19/99 J Hilarious 5 stars
11/03/99 terry loved it 5 stars
3/03/99 Thom an endearing film full of dignity and the triumph of the heart and will 5 stars
8/31/98 Mister Whoopee Are all aussies mentally ill? Good film, but change the subject matter. 4 stars
8/17/98 Miss Stress asshole should have left lucy, damn it! 3 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Another Australian quirky film about mental patients. Yes, another one. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Apr-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Mark Joffe

Written by
  Louis Nowra

Cast
  Ben Mendelsohn
  Barry Otto
  Toni Collette
  Rachel Griffiths
  Aden Young



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast