More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.44

Awesome58.82%
Worth A Look: 32.35%
Average: 4.9%
Pretty Bad: 1.96%
Total Crap: 1.96%

7 reviews, 60 user ratings



Grosse Pointe Blank
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Wanna impress me? Kill a guy with a pen and incinerate his body!"
4 stars

Is it wrong of me to find a man sexually attractive because he possesses the ability to kill a man with a pen?

This is a very fun movie. It's also an interesting movie - allow me to explain. It's basically a fantasy adventure with a great twist; definitely not run of the mill. An assasin who is becoming disillusioned with his choice of career returns home to Michigan for his high-school reunion. Hilarity ensues? Oh yes, and more than a little romance and, well, coming of age, really.

But mostly, I just found this film to be fucking hilarious. I don't know what it is about my generation, but hot damn do I find violence amusing. And the Cusack's are so good together. I don't think they should be allowed to make movies without each other.

I won't really reveal any more of the plot, but suffice to say it's a silly movie, not a thriller per se, but with some high tension moments, and the occasional explosion! Yeah! And guns! And gratutitous violence and murder! And 80's music! Wheeee.

People say we here at hollywoodbitchslap.com (ok, not people, just fans of "Armageddon") can't appreciate a 'fun' movie. Well, this one was just that. Not a terribly good movie, the structure was a little odd, not really bad, but so unusual it distracted me. And Ackroyd and Driver are not to my liking, but thankfully they were never so bad they detracted from the movie. Overall, just a damned fun film.

Not a great movie. But damned fun. 4 freakin' sporks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=312&reviewer=6
originally posted: 10/08/98 14:05:21
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/22/17 morris campbell boring point blank is more like it 1 stars
3/21/10 PAUL SHORTT SLICK, HIP AND CLEVER 3 stars
10/27/08 The Dork Knight Cute romance with a generous amount of Blam Blam 5 stars
10/14/08 Dr.Lao One of the few Hollywood "black comedies" that is actually funny 4 stars
6/06/07 R.W. Welch Clever plot device with good follow-through. B+ 4 stars
8/25/05 ES if this is what they mean by dark comedy than what's not to like = see it 4 stars
2/23/05 julia anything with john cusack is sure to be a hit 5 stars
2/14/05 Naka Smart, hilarious, engrossing, touching...the funnest dark comedy I've seen yet 5 stars
1/03/05 Landshark the Jon Stewart of the hitman subgenre: fresh, hip, irreverent 5 stars
8/25/04 Agent Sands This is one of my favorite movies in a LOOONNG time. It's just perfect!!! 5 stars
2/27/04 Nomah This movie is WRITTEN! 5 stars
12/31/03 Tocco Great town and movie. 5 stars
10/21/03 Dean Rapp A thinking persons black comedy 4 stars
10/12/03 laura paterson one of the BEST film's ever! hilarious! 5 stars
3/03/03 Jack Sommersby Overblown comedy/actioner veers fatally off-tone. Some snappy dialogue helps. 2 stars
2/17/03 nanite happy, black and clever at the same time. who would wanr more? 5 stars
1/08/03 Phil M. Aficionado Way over the top comedy and satire with brilliant performances; LOL moments and great pace. 5 stars
11/09/02 Stevo Madly underrated. Extremely entertaining for every second. One of the best of the decade. 5 stars
10/10/02 Sparticus Boy You are the ones who are the ball lickers!! This is the best movie ever made! 5 stars
4/03/02 Butterbean This was awful! I had to turn the tape off halfway. 1 stars
11/29/01 KMG This is a grossly pointless movie that makes one's mind go blank after 2 hours 3 stars
10/15/01 Meg J John Cusack. Nuff' said. 5 stars
10/08/01 jawsboy pretty sweet movie. Cusack kicks ass!! 4 stars
8/19/01 Edwin Menguin It made me feel slightly unstable, very 'cool'. Fuckin' Cunt Eyes 3 stars
7/28/01 Geebo Cusack was good, the movie was also 5 stars
7/20/01 dBoy(!) One of my favorite films 5 stars
6/08/01 Laurian Diaconescu I loved the movie,it was really good.One of the best black comedy I've ever seen. 5 stars
5/05/01 The Chosen One awesome 5 stars
4/17/01 BrainPan Ten years!! ten yearrrrrs. 5 stars
2/17/01 Jake very slick film. Both Cusacks were good. 4 stars
11/20/00 The EVIL Penguin Cusack at his best 4 stars
7/17/00 The Bomb 69 well written, Dan Aykroyd can actually be funny with the right material 5 stars
5/01/00 Steve Layne Very good premise, but it doesn't deliver that well. 3 stars
1/09/00 John Markham A class film.John Cusack is at the pinnacle of cool. 5 stars
6/25/99 Andrew P. My favorite movie. Cusack as a hitman! You can't go wrong there! 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan Great. 5 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn I fell asleep.. enough said.. ZZZZ 2 stars
4/06/99 Michael Grimm different kind of humor, made you think 5 stars
3/28/99 TJwills Cusack hits a homerun and Piven takes it to new levels. 5 stars
3/25/99 James Coffey Great dark comedy, however Aykroyd seemed a bit out of place to me. 5 stars
3/04/99 Rachel It was OK, but i think I'm gonna have to see it a third time. 4 stars
2/02/99 Matthew Bartley Cusacks the coolest thing since Nicholson 4 stars
1/27/99 Kooky Sal This was a sincerely good film in almost every respect, though the soundtrack was medicore. 5 stars
11/27/98 G great script, great acting, great movie 5 stars
11/16/98 Jules Boring. I expected more. 3 stars
10/20/98 Haskell Daniels Awesome all over. Cusack rocks and Aykroyd hasn't done a movie this good for years. 5 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo This movie makes me want to write, every time I see it. 5 stars
10/01/98 Flea Bitten Nut What a great God damned movie. Hype on the 80's soundtrack was misdirected, but it ruled. 5 stars
9/26/98 Pat Flanagan "You can never go home again, but apoparently you can shop there." 5 stars
9/24/98 Nate Dogg Makes yah wonder what ever really happened to Lloyd after "say anything," eh? 5 stars
9/23/98 Anna Karenina Dope. Saved Aykroyd's career. Cusack's can do no wrong. 5 stars
9/05/98 Badass Existential grief has never been captured on film so vibrantly 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball I was ready to blow Aykroyd up until this, but since BB2000 he's back on the list. 5 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee No argument here. I'd do Minnie. Mouse. haha. 5 stars
8/21/98 Mike F this move is dabomb 5 stars
8/21/98 Pete Cusack=good. Great flick. Stands up to repeat viewings. 5 stars
8/18/98 zubilicious Cusack is awesome with this sketchy role. His timing just makes it even better. 5 stars
8/17/98 Johny Cusack rocks, movie funny, kickass 5 stars
8/17/98 J-Guy (The MFC) really dug it. in fact, I am going to go buy a gun, now. 5 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Get's better the more times you see it. A great movie all around. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Apr-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast