More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.47

Awesome: 4.9%
Worth A Look: 23.53%
Average: 22.55%
Pretty Bad: 11.76%
Total Crap37.25%

3 reviews, 84 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Anaconda
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Charles Tatum

"Don't be fooled by the snake that she's got"
3 stars

From its bizarre cast to its iffy effects, "Anaconda" has "cult film" written all over it.

A film crew run by Terri (Jennifer Lopez) and her professor boyfriend Steven (Eric Stoltz) are departing on a boat into the Amazon River Basin, trying to shoot a documentary on a lost tribe. Along for the trip is cameraman Danny (Ice Cube), sound techs Gary (Owen Wilson) and Denise (Kari Wuhrer), conceited narrator Warren (Jonathan Hyde), and shifty captain Mateo (Vincent Castellanos). Mateo seems to know Paul (Jon Voight), an unlikely Paraguayan priest/snake hunter who the film crew picks up and who knows how to find the lost tribe. Now, we already know there is one big snake shadowing the crew, and you know its mean if it can kill Danny Trejo in the opening minutes of the film. Sure enough, the snake finds many opportunities, and meals, as it gets our heroes one by one.

Released over a decade ago, "Anaconda" has enjoyed a cult following. The cast is mostly recognizable A-list (now), running and screaming in a pulpy B flick. I even remember Oscar buzz around Voight, who wrestles, subdues, and chews every second of every scene that he is in. The film's reputation precedes it: Stoltz really is unconscious for half of the film, and the climax features one of the most memorable vomiting scenes in film history.

While the cast is fine (and I keep waiting for that one role that will turn Ice Cube into the big time successful action star I know he can be), the film's winking and knowing attitude gets in the way. I am not sure if the actors knew this was light stuff. Llosa's direction is great, and the river scenes are a cinematographer's dream, but only Voight seemed to be clued in to the campy possibilities of the screenplay.

The animatronic effects are a hundred times better than the computer effects (a huge stumbling block), and unlike "Jaws," the screenwriters dumb down to the audience, looking for any excuse to put people in harm's way. Eventually, this turned me off.

"Anaconda" might be the best of the big snake genre, considering its lousy in-name-only sequel, and any ten minutes of the crap Sci-Fi Channel feeds us (and I sat through all of "Boa vs. Python"), but here, the hype is more fun than the film.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=314&reviewer=325
originally posted: 02/02/08 01:50:19
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell silly but fun 3 stars
4/22/11 Chris F not a bad movie, i enjoyed it 4 stars
1/28/10 Jeff Wilder So cheesy it's entertaining. 3 stars
7/27/08 The Dork Knight Filmed before J-Lo started working out. So suffice to say, she has a nice booty 3 stars
4/12/08 Colleen Cousineau Loved it. 5 stars
2/11/08 John Geddie quite a campy film -- difficult to get past 3 stars
6/09/07 Jeff Anderson Dumb & jokey, but well made & Voight's leglock scene with Kari Wuhrer is a SHOWSTOPPER!!!!! 3 stars
4/23/07 David Risser Slow in development, but good snake! 3 stars
11/18/06 Farnsy I liked this movie and you can't do a fucking thing about that 4 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Few campy qualities;Decent but cliche premisis;But a legendary chilhood classic!! 4 stars
8/05/06 Stanley Thai An under rated movie with great performances. A good thrill ride. 4 stars
5/20/06 Kcaj It's good 4 stars
1/03/06 cody a pretty good monster flick, too short of a movie, but it has JLO 3 stars
8/28/05 Quigley anaconda? more like anacon-dumb! i've seen better brendan fraser movies, no joke! 1 stars
8/21/05 Aldo SO COOL 4 stars
7/21/05 Brandy Harrington Awful movie, only morons will be entertained. 1 stars
5/28/05 tony WHAT A SLAP IN THE FACE! But John Voight spices things up at the end! 3 stars
5/15/05 Indrid Cold Decent schlock, Voight is mildly hilarious. 2 stars
1/19/05 American Slasher Goddess Cheesy fun 3 stars
11/14/04 X $ % & ! Bad. 1 stars
7/25/04 Vince See it for what it is - a pretty good horror B-Movie 4 stars
12/09/03 Samuel You can see the outline of Owen Wilson inside the anaconda... 3 stars
11/22/03 jack what the hell was that. i thought it was supposed to be a porno with fat ass lopez. 1 stars
8/10/03 Dan Navarro Way better than most of the printed reviews would have you believe 4 stars
8/09/03 Double G i dunno why u people hated it, this was actually pretty good!!! 4 stars
6/22/03 Jack Sommersby Energetically directed but just too familar and mundane. 2 stars
4/02/03 Gray my snakes bigger :) good idea BADLY done 2 stars
9/09/02 Movie guy i liked this film 5 stars
8/07/02 I Can't Swim Some movies KNOW they are bad B-movies, like this one, so lighten the fuck up, dickbags! 4 stars
4/27/02 Connoisseur one of the best monster movies of the 90s 4 stars
4/01/02 Jake What is this!? Anaconda smashes, makes noise and moves fast like a PC graphic! Abysmal. 1 stars
2/06/02 Nevz this film is fucking shit 1 stars
1/28/02 Andrew Carden Totally Boring and Tastelss Horror Movie. A Disgusting Gore-Fest. 1 stars
12/23/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Snake movies have goten alot of bad reputations so, this one stands out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
12/06/01 travis one of my faviorates. 5 stars
9/12/01 Butterbean It's not the best scarry flick, but the snake attacks were awesome! 4 stars
8/10/01 canadian one good scene that zooms in on lopez ass 3 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg pure hilareousity 2 stars
5/30/01 Thrillhouse How can you like this movie?!?! It sucked! 1 stars
4/16/01 Rampage Whovever rates this trash high is a jerk! and that means Jesse, Erik, and dan! LOSERS! 1 stars
4/12/01 Jesse L good movie and special effects. Hey Mateo, bite the snakes head off 4 stars
2/17/01 jk this is so backwards that even the water goes back up the waterfall 1 stars
2/15/01 KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi I'm crazy about Ice Cube, but this this not his finest hour and a half. 2 stars
12/08/00 Cristopher Revilla I think I know now why Lopez started singing, 'cuz this sucked 1 stars
11/07/00 Deepak Robinson Excellent Film, 4 stars
10/26/00 dan how can you not love this movie? it rocks! 5 stars
10/18/00 terry c lopez bites[even her singing] crap ass bad movie 1 stars
10/13/00 Erik It was cool. 5 stars
9/28/00 Ground Zero deliciously awful movie.... 1 stars
5/25/00 Elvisfan a decent b-movie w/some decent actors 4 stars
4/29/00 Pansy the only savior to Lopez's carrer is her godawful singing 1 stars
3/10/00 David Rogers Too many Jaws rip-off scenes. Did they hav writers block or something? 2 stars
3/09/00 fuck yeah!! The best moment in the movie is when you see Jennifer Lopez's buns through a transparent ni 3 stars
11/11/99 robert streit I liked this movie more than most people did. Alot better tha Con Air and the ilk. 3 stars
11/04/99 Mickey "Father Death" MacJohnstmyster Ice Cube's next single "A G who cant act" , absolute crap everyone sucked in it ,just crap. 1 stars
10/03/99 Joe Schmoe John, your comments confirm you're a nutcase, Ice Cube needs to do some coke 1 stars
10/03/99 John A fun film...Jennifer Lopez has a great butt! 4 stars
7/07/99 Ben Leostein Rating: * (out of ****) Category: "Below Average" 2 stars
5/14/99 Jaddax so scary my 4 year old daughter watched it and it did`nt even scare her 3 stars
5/10/99 Ah Dooey Who'd want to rate this crap 4 stars? Forget it. 1 stars
4/20/99 Lucas jackson The movie was good until it started,fucking shit 1 stars
4/16/99 Mr. Kramitall total crap 1 stars
4/02/99 The Incredible Sulk Screw you Eileen, and your wretched review. Bitch. 1 stars
3/27/99 Technorama My budgies make better turd than this. 1 stars
3/18/99 Max Bernstein absolute poop 1 stars
3/18/99 Madcap ummmmm, nice snake 2 stars
3/14/99 Viral Messiah Can there be negative numbers here? Best part was watching the goddam snake get gibbed. 1 stars
3/10/99 Oggy Whoopee. Jaws was better. 1 stars
2/11/99 Don Wilson Shitty speacial effects! But it was an okay movie. 3 stars
1/25/99 Chloe Marie Eregeskenoph Funny! So bad, it's good! John Voight is esp. amusing. Look for wires under the snake! 4 stars
1/08/99 Jo Mama it killed some time and i was actually into the cheesy FX. 3 stars
11/24/98 DrEvil The worst giant snake movie I ever saw. 1 stars
11/24/98 Lord Of The Dunce I can't find the words. Just abysmal. 1 stars
11/10/98 Hugh Jass I laughed when that stupid snake went bananas... God, that movie was a joke. Really. 1 stars
11/02/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! Jennifer Lopez's ass is bigger & scarier than the bloody snake!,its alright.....i guess.... 2 stars
10/14/98 Chi-Fan Hu Stupid plot, stupid dialog, stupid movie 1 stars
9/24/98 katherine the first time i saw it it was awesomre, but the 2nd time round.. nah. 3 stars
9/06/98 Kid Pee-Pee They based the entire film around this really bad special effects snake. My dick is scarier 1 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress i'm sorry, snakes don't get that big. 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball If you wwanted to make a really fake looking snake, this one would be your model. 1 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee I'll tell it like it is. SHIT! 1 stars
8/21/98 Mr. Horny it's a good film... FOR ME TO POOP ON. *sidenote* Kari Wuhrer is hot. 2 stars
8/21/98 Pete Piss rotten flick. Though Kari Wuhrer is quite the eye candy 2 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Good god, why didn't they finish this movie? An effects movie with terrible effects. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Apr-1997 (PG-13)
  DVD: 10-Aug-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1997 (M)


Directed by
  Luis Llosa

Written by
  Hans Bauer
  Jim Cash
  Jack Epps Jr.

Cast
  Jennifer Lopez
  Ice Cube
  Jon Voight
  Eric Stoltz
  Jonathan Hyde
  Owen Wilson



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast