More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.03

Awesome: 14.29%
Worth A Look40%
Average: 11.43%
Pretty Bad: 2.86%
Total Crap: 31.43%

2 reviews, 23 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Intimate Strangers (2018) by Jay Seaver

Papillon (2018) by Rob Gonsalves

Brief History of Time, A by Jack Sommersby

Caddyshack II by Jack Sommersby

Outlaw King by Jay Seaver

Last Letter (2018) by Jay Seaver

Overlord (2018) by Jay Seaver

Vanished, The by Jay Seaver

BlacKkKlansman by Rob Gonsalves

Great Buster: A Celebration, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Silent Night, Deadly Night
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Charles Tatum

"Stupid Night, Dumb Night"
1 stars

This little slice of hell was picketed when released because the psycho killer is dressed as Santa Claus. That ain't the half of it.

I have never seen a film that has such a devout hatred of children. The first twenty minutes of this are nauseating as a child is scared after unwisely being left alone with his "catatonic" grandfather. The child sees his parents killed, including his mother getting her top ripped off and her throat slit. His father gets shot in the head a couple of times. The boy, Billy, and his baby brother, Ricky, go to an orphanage where all the beatings and being tied to the bed commence. He grows up, leaves the orphanage, finds himself playing Santa at a toy store, has a flashback, and begins killing everyone.

Of the four women killed in the film, three of them are topless when their death occurs. The children at the orphanage witness not one, but two, men dressed as Santa Claus shot to death right in front of them. When Billy, the main killer, is offed, Ricky goes a little nuts, guaranteeing a sequel or two...or three.

I remember thinking it was no big deal that the killer dressed like Santa when this film came out. Now that I have kids of my own, I would not let them within a hundred feet of the TV while I reviewed this. This film is disgusting, without the slightest scare or original idea.

Go rent "Black Christmas" instead.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3194&reviewer=325
originally posted: 02/28/03 09:37:59
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

9/25/17 morris campbell worthless slasher flick 1 stars
2/21/17 morris campbell sorry holiday horror sadistic and stupid 1 stars
8/02/15 mr.mike Ok horror flick 3 stars
4/12/13 cr a great horror movie surprising and mosy conversial films. worth your time folks 4 stars
1/10/10 art good horror films on holidays,FRIDAY the 13TH,april fools day AND THIS at XMAS! 4 stars
9/26/09 art FINALLY A HORROR FILM,WHERE THE KILLER IS AN ORDINAIRY man,NOT A HOBGOBLIN!,my hats is OFF! 4 stars
3/16/09 Josie Cotton is a goddess creepier then i thought i would be 4 stars
2/16/09 action movie fan not great bhut not terrible, traumatized child becomes ruthless killer-decent slasher film 3 stars
10/25/07 art an outstanding slasher movie 5 stars
6/05/07 Benny G. I thought this movie would be dumb, but it was fairly good and delivered old-time gore! 4 stars
1/11/07 Michael Cox Opening is disturbing, mother superior is good casting, Santa is great 4 stars
11/25/06 David Pollastrini needs more gore! 2 stars
11/22/05 Darren O while not great, it was unfairly picketed, though it wasn't the first of it's kind 3 stars
12/22/03 Ravenheart How can you not like a killer santa!!!! Screw political correctness!!! 5 stars
7/07/03 Chainsaw Slasher Amazing Film, Just absolutely brillant 5 stars
6/29/03 Geo78665 "I'm looking for the warm side of the door." "Punish!" Good slasher fun. 4 stars
5/21/03 Sugarfoot So predictable and corny that It's like watching your blender at work. 1 stars
3/01/03 Richard Castillo A sad excuse to cash-in on another Hallween rip-off 1 stars
12/07/02 Kyle Moronic? Well, maybe. But still kinda fun for a slasher movie. 4 stars
10/29/02 Charles Tatum Moronic horror for morons 1 stars
1/24/02 Andrew Carden Pleasing Horror Movie. Quite Scary Also. 5 stars
10/15/01 ElephantShoes umm yeaaaaaah.right. now who's heard of any of these people. Anthony Perkins, 'nuf said 3 stars
4/21/00 Mary Lou So good!Better than Psycho! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Dec-1984 (R)
  DVD: 07-Oct-2003

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast