More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.93

Awesome39.29%
Worth A Look: 25%
Average: 30.36%
Pretty Bad: 0%
Total Crap: 5.36%

3 reviews, 38 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Loving Vincent by Jay Seaver

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Romy and Michele's High School Reunion
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by PyThomas

"The female Bill and Ted... which really ain't saying much."
3 stars

Two young ladies prepare for their 10-year class reunion. The year they graduated? 1987. Boy do I feel old.

I mean, I graduated in 1990... only a three year difference. My class's ten-year shindig is in 2000. And what do I have to show for it? Well, I'm married, I have a good career, I'm involved with a comedy troupe, I got all sorts of shit online... it ain't much, but I still got two years to add to it.

Romy (Mira Sorvino) and Michele (Lisa Kudrow) don't have that much time, however. They're doing time working the usual dead-end jobs in LaLa Land. Once they get wind of their impending 10-year reunion, they assess their lives, find out they're not too impressive, and ultimately put together a scheme to improve their image. The primary source of motivation is to get back at the group of preppie girls that tormented them through their high school years.

Typical reunion-type story stuff. The plot is somewhat contrived. But hearing Lisa and Mira in valley-girl mode almost makes up for it. Kudos to the production team for capturing high school life in 1987 almost flawlessly. Nice choice of 80s tunes for the soundtrack as well. Janeane Garofalo does a nice job as a spiteful recluse.

MST3K fans, take note: One of the characters' names is Sandy Frank.

Basically a harmlessly fun movie. Sure makes me feel ancient, though.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=321&reviewer=9
originally posted: 08/21/98 06:45:09
[printer] printer-friendly format  
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2007 Deep Focus Film Festival For more in the 2007 Deep Focus Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

10/10/15 david froman most underated comedy of the 90's 4 stars
10/23/10 Jeff Wilder Has heart. But would've benefited from a more biting approach to the material. 3 stars
9/28/07 David Duh! I am with the worst movie of 1997, and maybe beyond that! 1 stars
5/24/07 ES The movie you can't help but forget, like that one with Diaz and Applegate 3 stars
11/27/06 sirina it was such a funny movie ten stars 5 stars
12/03/05 Jennifer S. I've seen this movie many times over the years and it's ALWAYS funny!!! 5 stars
6/01/05 Emily Swenson it's wonderful 5 stars
1/16/05 Jeff Anderson Forget Lisa Kudrow, the incredibly sexy Mira Sorvino is the absolute high point in this gem 5 stars
7/18/04 Samuel A very funny movie indeed. 5 stars
6/29/04 Jack Sommersby Bubbly star performances and bouncy direction keep it watchable. 3 stars
4/17/04 Michael Greenwaldt My personal favorite comedy of all time! A smart film disguised as dumb! Great dialogue! 5 stars
5/12/03 Jack Bourbon Rent if for the in-your-face, all-out coozefest of Phoebe and Woody's Whore. 4 stars
4/03/03 R.W. Welch Has some nice touches but just par for the course overall. 3 stars
3/14/02 Kirsten Abercrombie Two leads terrific but plot flawed and Jeneane Garofello just a plain gross-out. 4 stars
2/01/02 Geo7654 Okay, but not as good as it could've been, and sometimes annoying. 3 stars
1/13/02 Andrew Carden It May Sound Strange, but This Was Very Realistic. 5 stars
9/12/01 Butterbean A cute movie. 3 stars
8/23/01 Ginger I think the movie is really good due to Mira Sorvino, Lisa Kudrow, and Alan Cumming. 5 stars
8/10/01 Audra I loved it, Lisa Kudrow and Allan Cumming rule! 5 stars
1/29/01 Nic I cry laughing EVERY time I watch this movie. It's on my list of BEST movies.. ever!!! 5 stars
9/01/00 Terrie Smith On the silly side, of course, but Kudrow and Sorvino make it work. 4 stars
5/14/00 Daria Top-notch silly fun 5 stars
4/14/00 Elvisfan The dance number bet. the girls & Alan Cummings made the movie 4 stars
2/14/00 steve layne The jokes are extremely unfunny, but the movie is semi-entertaining and the music is great. 3 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski "I LOVED it, Stan!" "Me too, Kyle!" "AHHH!!!!" :-) 5 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn Am I, like 14 again??. Loved it.. great soundtrack, the memories it stirred up.. ahhh... 5 stars
2/03/99 Michelle Me Belle I just love this movie! Its so cute and funny, teh characters are great! 5 stars
12/22/98 PirateGirl Even though it means I have to disagree with Pete -- watch it drunk, with girlfriends! 5 stars
10/30/98 Silent Rob Why can't I hate this movie more...it just kinda creeps in there. 3 stars
10/24/98 grunter caught me totally offguard; modern screwball comedy that works; rewards repeat views. 5 stars
10/06/98 katherine i like it, but a little dumb 4 stars
9/23/98 Jason Rosenbaum Hands down worst movie of 1997. Lisa Kudrow must be killed. 1 stars
9/23/98 Rob Forey Funny but very predictable, Lisa Kudrow is great in it. They both look awesome! 3 stars
9/06/98 Admiral Mung Bean Soda (+/- 12db) Good fun fluff for a lazy Sunday afternoon. Janeane Garofalo rocks, as usual. 4 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee Would have got low scores if not for the presence of Garofalo, who never disappoints. 3 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress it had it's comedic value. 3 stars
8/21/98 Pete I HATE THIS CRAPFEST. It was as annoying as 12 year old girls. Grrr arrgh. 1 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Saved by Kudrow, Mira's okay, the jokes are sometimes funny and the story? It's okay. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Apr-1997 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  David Mirkin

Written by
  Robin Schiff

Cast
  Mira Sorvino
  Lisa Kudrow
  Janeane Garofalo
  Alan Cumming
  Julia Campbell
  Mia Cottet



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast