More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.3

Awesome31.65%
Worth A Look: 24.05%
Average: 11.39%
Pretty Bad: 8.86%
Total Crap: 24.05%

2 reviews, 67 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

Endless, The by Jay Seaver

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Volcano (1997)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"Gaby Hoffmann got hot. Where was I when that happened?"
4 stars

Tommy Lee Jones is da man. And Anne Heche is a big ole lesbo.

Jones is a tough as nails LA cop...with a pretty little daughter who needs him, awwww. Anne Heche is the smarter than...well, me anyways, scientist who knows LA is about to be devored by lava. But no one believes her. Damn them! But eventually they have to because...well, because LA starts to be devored by lava. Chaos ensues.

In the disaster flick trend that followed the success of Twister, I fel this is the only one (including the aforementioned) with any merit. It has good plot structure. It doesn't try to do too much, and Mr. Jones kicks butt. Heche does too. But she wasn't gay yet when they shot this, so she kept the butchiness low-key. In all seriousness they both do a better than average job.

The rest of the movie is what you would expect. Spectacular effects, high tension, plot twists and near death experiences... you know, the usual.

But it's at the top of its genre. 4 sporks

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=322&reviewer=6
originally posted: 09/03/98 11:19:42
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

10/09/10 art TOOMY LEE and ANNE HECHE are more intense than the volcano! 3 stars
1/27/09 nail oh!interesting movie awesome!!! 4 stars
6/23/08 sam excellent 4 stars
10/10/07 diegomg Ilove this movie, is one of my favourites. 5 stars
4/23/07 David Risser The best disaster move I have ever seen!!! 5 stars
10/19/05 Quigley after seeing it so many times, it gets old, but the effects are pretty good. go tommy lee! 3 stars
8/11/05 ES Love that were all the same afterall ending, total cheese, unbelievable premise 2 stars
6/10/05 Indrid Cold A forgetten/forgettable disaster flick. Nifty visuals though. 3 stars
4/18/05 George R-Scott No! This film is terrible. Boring, badly edited and with no characters developed properly. 1 stars
2/07/05 Jeff Anderson THE TOWERING INFERNO KICKS THIS POOR IMITATION'S ASS! Tommy Lee Jones deserves MUCH BETTER! 1 stars
9/26/04 Bucky Buckner Boone From boredom only; Don Cheadle makes anything better than it would normally be 3 stars
4/29/04 Christopher Dimitry Ladiv My favourite movie!Cool,and great! 4 stars
1/13/04 john bale Poor Mr. Jones shouting over F/X, daughter becomes Mother Theresa , a real disaster ! 2 stars
12/09/03 john laughable..an insult to the paying audience 1 stars
11/09/03 I Would Fuck you if you think this piece of shit should have been released 1 stars
9/29/03 Alan Features tires that can be driven through lava without popping. Probably not Firestones. 2 stars
3/31/03 sfghghfghg this movie absolutely sucks -see the core or Dantes peak instead! 1 stars
10/15/02 Charles Tatum Someone should sacrificed this film to the volcano 2 stars
4/14/02 R.W. Welch Standard disaster pic, some pretty good F/X. 3 stars
1/08/02 Andrew Carden A Horrible Rehash Of The Cheesy 70's Disater Flicks. 1 stars
8/09/01 Mr. Hat Not THAT bad. 3 stars
6/14/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe I've seen better...I've seen worse..at least no tacked-on romance, right?? 3 stars
10/18/00 dan it's bad bad bad. See Dante's Peak! 1 stars
6/28/00 Naushad Khanji Disaster flicks are rare.Better like it.Nice entertainment. 4 stars
6/04/00 OS A first rate disaster film 4 stars
4/16/00 steve Well, at least it was better than Dante's Peak 4 stars
2/15/00 Jeff this film was ok, nothing special 3 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Very cool, very cool. What, you were expecting Shakespeare? Get over yourselves!!! 4 stars
1/28/00 doctor very good 5 stars
1/27/00 Ed Wood entertaining ,a wild ride 5 stars
1/25/00 Jericho a good movie 5 stars
1/21/00 movieman Thrilling 5 stars
1/20/00 ripley very entertaining 5 stars
1/17/00 victor ireccomend this movie 5 stars
1/17/00 Dirk Diggler very entertaining 5 stars
1/17/00 Dirk Diggler This is a thrilling movie 5 stars
1/15/00 D.D. I enjoyed this movie alot 5 stars
1/13/00 henry hill I definitly enjoyed this film 5 stars
1/13/00 GoodFella a very good movie 5 stars
1/13/00 jerry g hugely entertaining 5 stars
1/13/00 the doctor this is a good movie 5 stars
1/12/00 chuckles VOLCANO is the disaster movie to see 5 stars
1/12/00 paul this movie rocked!!, way better than TWISTER 5 stars
1/12/00 jedi knight I thougt this was a good movie 5 stars
1/12/00 box office bob this is much better than "Dante's Peak" 5 stars
1/12/00 moviefreak a thrilling film 5 stars
1/12/00 mickey a very good movie 5 stars
1/12/00 dr.d terrific 5 stars
1/12/00 dr.d i really liked this movie 5 stars
1/11/00 cl a very good movie 5 stars
1/10/00 dr.d way underrated 5 stars
12/04/98 Shadow Raider Awful from blech to shit. Dante's Peak sucked even more. 1 stars
12/01/98 Mr.Pink Even worse than Dante's Peak if that was possible. 1 stars
11/24/98 Fred Fuck LA, let it burn. And the studio that made this movie,that damn little kid at the end.. 1 stars
11/24/98 Lord Of The Dunce Disposable moviemaking. Awful from go to woah. 1 stars
11/10/98 Hugh Jass It stank. Awful movies suck like those Backstreet Boys and Hanson. Biatch. 1 stars
10/28/98 Silent Rob I still say Anne Heche can lick any actress working today! (sorry) Better than Twister!!!! 3 stars
10/18/98 katherine it smells like smelly poop. disaster movies stink like my friend natalie. 1 stars
10/17/98 Sailor Moon Ate My Balls Get the hell outta my face! Thumbs down! 1 stars
9/13/98 BBReBozo Heche's tits belong to Leatherface Degeneres? Bah! 2 stars
8/28/98 Mister Whoopee Go away, you awful little producer. 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball What's next? "Locust"? "Heavy Rain"? "Really Awful Windy Day"? "Blocked Toilet"? 1 stars
8/21/98 Mike F any old piece of shit will entertain me, this was ok. 2 stars
8/21/98 Pete Anne Heche is cool, but this movie is tripe. 2 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet We can walk right next to lava and not get burned. Yeah! We rule n'shit! 1 stars
8/18/98 Johny I couldn't sit through the whole thing 1 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Another "disaster" film, short on idea and tall on suspension of disbelief. Bah. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Apr-1997 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Mick Jackson

Written by
  Jerome Armstrong
  Billy Ray

Cast
  Tommy Lee Jones
  Anne Heche
  Gaby Hoffmann
  Don Cheadle
  Jacqui Kim
  Keith David



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast