More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.02

Awesome45.14%
Worth A Look: 28.47%
Average: 13.89%
Pretty Bad: 8.33%
Total Crap: 4.17%

7 reviews, 102 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Raja Natwarlal by Jay Seaver

Search for Weng Weng, The by Jay Seaver

Creep (2014) by Jay Seaver

Kundo: Age of the Rampant by Jay Seaver

Guardian (2014) by Jay Seaver

As Above, So Below by Jay Seaver

November Man, The by Jay Seaver

Hana-Dama: The Origins by Jay Seaver

Creeping Garden, The by Jay Seaver

Seventh Code by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Remember how cool it was when you first saw it?"
5 stars

The peak James Bond movies -- say, any of the original Sean Connery entries, and maybe the first two Roger Moores -- couldn't have been made in any other period except the mod '60s and groovy early '70s.

There were two British invasions, the Beatles and Bond, and America went daft for a while. Our culture reflected it, and the Bond movies, ever more gaudy and excessive, were decadence on a grand scale. But the spy genre after Vietnam -- even the drum-tight GoldenEye -- seemed glumly realistic, with largely colorless villains and almost no sex.

Austin Powers, the goofy-deadpan parody written by and starring Mike Myers (Wayne's World), takes a page from GoldenEye and asks what might happen if a smug, womanizing secret agent from the '60s were transplanted to the politically correct '90s. In GoldenEye, Bond was all too regretfully aware of the shifts in sexual politics; Austin Powers, frozen in 1967 and revived in 1997, remains blissfully ignorant. "Am I making you randy, baby?" he asks a potential conquest, imagining himself to be irresistible. As, in a sense, he is. He's so cheerfully retro-sexist he's almost a breath of fresh air.

The movie is Mike Myers' valentine to the Bond films and '60s Brit culture in general. The costume designers must have had fun; this and Romy and Michele's High School Reunion may spark a new trend in form-hugging leather. Myers has more or less duplicated a typical espionage plot: the Blofeldian villain Dr. Evil (also played by Myers) steals a nuclear weapon and holds the world hostage for $100 billion. The joke is that Dr. Evil, who'd also been on ice for the last thirty years, was originally going to demand $1 million -- big bucks in 1967.

You don't necessarily have to be familiar with the movies Myers spoofs in order to enjoy Austin Powers, though it helps. What I enjoyed more than the specific parodies was the spirit behind them. Myers is reviving a style and sensibility that have been frozen since, well, about 1967; when Austin Powers emerges into 1997, he brings his era with him. This allows a few culture-clash jokes, such as Dr. Evil attending group therapy with his genetically-engineered offspring (the cynically funny Seth Green). At the end of this scene, Dr. Evil launches into a childhood reminiscence that gets increasingly bizarre; it sounds like classic Myers.

Elizabeth Hurley also turns up as a second-generation agent who eventually climbs into an Emma Peel get-up, just like her mom (Mimi Rogers), who was Austin's partner thirty years ago. Hurley is about the right age to be the result of a forgotten "shag" between Austin and his partner; Myers never plants this reverse-Oedipal revelation, though I expected it.

Much of 'Austin Powers' could have been lifted from Roger Ebert's book of clichés; Ebert probably loved such touches as Dr. Evil insisting on putting Austin in an elaborate death trap that doesn't work. Mike Myers is slowly carving himself a niche as the next Steve Martin (whose early comedies resemble Myers'). He's an eager postmodern prankster -- a Jim Carrey who can also write, and a Quentin Tarantino who can also act.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=327&reviewer=416
originally posted: 01/22/07 08:49:43
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

9/25/12 roscoe decent entertainment, but not all there. the sequels are better and funnier. 3 stars
3/02/08 Pamela White comical innuendos and spoofs 5 stars
2/08/08 Anthony Feor Still the best one. It is so origional and doesn't go for the 1930's slapstick comedy crap. 5 stars
4/24/07 David Risser Funny entertaing, and very good. 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Really one of the funniest films I've seen by far. 4 stars
1/31/07 Albert Stone the novelty started to wear off in the last two Powers films, but this one is superb. 5 stars
1/17/07 Matt As funny as nuclear war...utter, total CRAP. 1 stars
5/11/06 Agent Sands Clever. Wayne's World is a little better... 4 stars
6/26/05 bobby I loved the casino part and the steemroller part. it was exellent. 5 stars
6/24/05 tony Best Austin Powers ever! The funniest one! i think so 5 stars
5/18/05 Pippin007 Humorus. The story is OK 4 stars
4/20/05 Indrid Cold A clever idea, but the laughs are few and far-between. 3 stars
10/30/04 Scott Roen this is good if you just want silly nonsense 3 stars
10/29/04 ODH I want sharks with laser beams on their head, I figure every creature deserves a warm meal! 5 stars
10/29/04 Theresa Wagner Its worth seeing just because it is so cheesy..some good laughs though 4 stars
10/24/04 MG i laughed, ALOT!!! 4 stars
9/10/04 jeff not as good as goldmember but still funny as hell 5 stars
8/07/04 Anthony G good times 4 stars
5/31/04 John it's just one hell of a great concept - pity it isn't all that funny 3 stars
5/02/04 J A outragesly funny!!! *** 4 stars
2/29/04 Littlepurch Not as good as Goldmember but MUCH better than part 2. Hurley was actually pretty good! 5 stars
1/27/04 Chloe Brody Groo-vae Bayb-ae!!! 5 stars
10/14/03 Jareth Fuck Wayne's World. Austin Powers was the role Mike Myers was born to play. 4 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Why didnt they make a 'Waynes World 3' ?? oh why... 4 stars
3/04/03 Jack Sommersby Myers is sensational in this mostly uproarious comedy. Inventive and fun. 4 stars
1/21/03 Dave Hilarious movie, far superior to its sequals. 5 stars
12/31/02 John Aster Habig the best of the trilogy because it had heart and its humor was more tasteful 5 stars
10/14/02 chris very funny 4 stars
7/24/02 STEVE THIS MOVIE AND ITS 2 SEQUALS ARE SHAGY BABY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
7/13/02 Chris I Laughed My Ass Off. 4 stars
6/21/02 H Thomas One of the Greats! 5 stars
6/09/02 NWO4LIFE Overrated, but funny enough. Dr. Evil is a gem. 3 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee Not as consistently funny as the sequel. Liz Hurley is easy on the eyes though. 3 stars
3/01/02 Chowie Yeah Baby Yeah 5 stars
11/23/01 J.E.E This is better than the 2nd one why? Cause it has nudity and those naked girl are hot 5 stars
11/12/01 R.W. Welch Totally off-the-wall 007 spy spoof; mostly pretty clever stuff. 4 stars
10/31/01 Andrew Carden Can Anymore Say Cult Classic? 5 stars
9/06/01 spaceworm Cute? Yes. Funny? If you say so... 3 stars
9/04/01 Butterbean A classic character! 5 stars
8/21/01 Daft Arse 3000AD IF AUSTIN POWERS DOES NOT MAKE U LAUGH, donate your bone to the dog's home! 5 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Funny, clever spoof of those show off spies. Never flip into a convertible!! 4 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Shall we shag now ,or shall we shag later . 5 stars
3/06/01 ivan yunanato great 5 stars
2/06/01 Classicdog Funny flick!!! Myers is a comic genius. 4 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla That was a pretty fucked up show, even horny teenagers will be disapointed and disgusted 2 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin They will ruin your intelligence 2 stars
11/04/00 TruckGirl rockin! I'll watch this one again and again! 5 stars
5/30/00 perverted pixie Myers is a comic/surrealist virtuoso! And the sequel is even more groovey! 5 stars
5/29/00 Cooke Mike Myers is hilarious. 5 stars
3/10/00 Kyle Broflovski Pop culture is still reeling from the blow. :-) 4 stars
3/07/00 J. Alán Blankenship One of the funniest movies of all time... 5 stars
2/07/00 Gary Durso Dr Evil is hilarious 4 stars
11/28/99 Krissy I don't see what was so amazing It was unique but not in a good way 2 stars
8/27/99 Bornslippy One film that constantly grows on you, very funny, very original, thank you Mike! 5 stars
8/23/99 Will Handley I rape sheep 5 stars
7/25/99 blue i would rather be anally raped by a 600lb black guy instead of sitting through this again 1 stars
7/24/99 Hagbard Celine I don't understand the appeal. Gay porno is funnier. 2 stars
7/03/99 Daria I just think it could be a lot more funnier than that. 3 stars
6/14/99 Dylan Great fucking movie baby. 4 stars
5/24/99 Alex Mike Myers is so excellent in this shaggadellic movie. Schwiing !!!! 5 stars
5/08/99 Tim Mike Myers is hilarious and Hurley looks awesome 5 stars
4/23/99 J funny with some good one-liners. 5 stars
4/11/99 Alonzo (alc311@hotmail.com) This movie had liz hurley and mimi rogers, not to mention it was hilarious 5 stars
3/27/99 Technorama 007 meets Mission: Impossible on laughing gas 5 stars
3/24/99 Brian This is the greatest comedy ever. 5 stars
3/18/99 Max Bernstein Hey pussycat, dig it. 5 stars
3/18/99 Madcap Dr. Evil was hilarious, Austin was nauseatingly obnoxious 3 stars
3/17/99 Ah Dooey Rock on! 5 stars
3/12/99 Claude Serralt Great Film! 5 stars
2/19/99 nun uf yur businness I only have one word to describe Mike Myers: AWESOME!! 5 stars
2/09/99 Gary Jerry Lewis movies are 10X funnier and they suck. Maybe I missed something. 1 stars
2/01/99 Vick Di Brecci Character is funnier than the movie. Some good lines though & a great Tom Arnold (!) cameo 3 stars
1/29/99 Scott Stipe BEST Spy movie EVEr, can't wait for '99's sequel 5 stars
1/24/99 Hannah Even gets better with age. 5 stars
1/23/99 C Dub 1 million dollars... 100 million dollars! 5 stars
1/03/99 Jules Meyers is great. Movie is not. 3 stars
12/09/98 Pat Flanagan I laughed....a lot. It was an extremely funny movie. 5 stars
11/27/98 Mr.Pink I saw this movie on the day my boyfriend broke up with me and I still laughed my ass off!!! 5 stars
11/25/98 Fred Funny as hell. Hurley is beautiful. Hugh Grant should be shot. 5 stars
11/09/98 Mikey I love this movie, cant wait for Austin Powers 2 5 stars
11/02/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! Really,really silly at times....but nudity is a crack-up, YEAH BABEE !! 4 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob A film by/for people who love films. More winks than a Alabama soda machine! 5 stars
10/23/98 Negative Creep Its Shag-a-delic! Seems Retarded at first sight, but you must go deeper than that 5 stars
10/01/98 Paul Maki This movie is switched on it's Smashing Baby! 5 stars
9/28/98 Heather Has potential to be the next Rocky Horror Picture Show...maybe. 5 stars
9/24/98 Jeff Hayward Terrible. This is about as entertaining as Laugh In. Hate it. 1 stars
9/24/98 katherine funny, but gross at times. 4 stars
9/17/98 cheryl_ann even if it hadn't been way over-hyped, i still would've hated it. 1 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Funniest movie of 1997! Myer's best. Must see sequel. 6 stars. 5 stars
9/06/98 Kid Pee-Pee I guess I'm alone on this. Hated every minute. 1 stars
9/04/98 Badass Funny. Mike and Seth are histerical. 4 stars
8/31/98 MikeF it was ok. I fell asleep during the end. 3 stars
8/28/98 Chuck-D really really funny, Mike Myers's best film yet. Better even than Wayne's World 5 stars
8/23/98 James McCauley This movie blows Waynes World away! 5 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Some jokes work. Some jokes hurt. No Wayne's World. 3 stars
8/21/98 rotten f. milk It's a good film... FOR ME TO SPREAD AN UNLIMITED AMOUNT OF PRAISE FOR 4 stars
8/21/98 Pete I laughed my arse off. And said "I shagged her rotten" for days. 5 stars
8/19/98 f*r*o*s*t*y Mike Myers, you disappointed me. Damn you. 2 stars
8/18/98 zubilicious didnt like this flick, disappointing myers work. it had a couple good points, kinda. 2 stars
8/17/98 Johny Funny, funny, funny 5 stars
8/17/98 J-Guy (The MFC) I really liked this flick, but I am a huge Myers fan. He can do no wrong in my eyes. 4 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} I don't get the hysteria over this film. It's funny, mostly, but kinda... okay. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-May-1997 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1997 (M)


Directed by
  Jay Roach

Written by
  Mike Myers

Cast
  Mike Myers
  Elizabeth Hurley
  Michael York
  Mimi Rogers
  Robert Wagner
  Seth Green



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast