More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.36

Awesome57.14%
Worth A Look: 33.93%
Average: 0%
Pretty Bad: 5.36%
Total Crap: 3.57%

1 review, 50 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Nightingale, The by Jay Seaver

Line Walker 2: Invisible Spy by Jay Seaver

Death of Dick Long, The by Jay Seaver

Blinded By the Light by Lybarger

Blinded By the Light by Peter Sobczynski

Good Boys by Peter Sobczynski

Divine Fury, The by Jay Seaver

Them That Follow by Jay Seaver

Bravest, The by Jay Seaver

Abyss, The by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


All the President's Men
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Roo

"It's William Goldman. How could it suck?"
5 stars

Anyone who had 8th-grade US history knows how this movie will end, and the actors, director, and the all-important screenwriter still work together to keep you on the edge of your seat.

I have yet to see a movie with a William Goldman screenplay that sucked. This man turns out a constant stream of classics: Marathon Man, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, and of course the Princess Bride, which I liked so much that I still haven't been able to craft a worthy review. The screenplay to All the President's Men is no exception--it's eloquent and funny and dark and easy to follow and thrilling and thought-provoking and all the stuff a screenplay <b>should</b> be.

Anyway, enough about the script. All the President's Men is the story of Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein, the two reporters who broke the Watergate story. They are played in the film by Robert Redford and Dustin Hoffman, who both put in excellent performances. Hell, if you're going to get your life story put on film, get the best actors you can to play you.

Basically, these guys manage to trace the little break-in at the hotel housing the Democratic National Convention all the way back to the White House, putting the pieces together with the help of Deep Throat. It's interesting to note that no one knows who Deep Throat really is, aside from Woodward and Bernstein, and they're not talking until well after he's dead.

Exciting movie, thrilling subject, definitely worth watching.

A time-tested classic, should be on anyone's top 100 list.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3272&reviewer=74
originally posted: 08/08/00 04:59:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/23/18 Suzanne very timely today - shows the value of a free press in a democracy 5 stars
1/30/10 Monday Morning In my opinion, the best movie ever made. Excellent in every way. 5 stars
5/20/09 SCM ATPM is really much more about the press than it is about Watergate or even government 4 stars
7/03/08 PAUL SHORTT BRILLIANT DRAMA, ABOUT PEOPLE ATEMPTING TO REVEAL TRUTH 5 stars
4/25/08 Zim everything was sweet in this movie 5 stars
3/22/08 Pamela White journalism and drama at its best 4 stars
2/02/08 MP Bartley You can't beat Pakula for intelligent, paranoid thrillers. 4 stars
1/26/08 proper amateur film critic certainly one of the most brilliant movies ever made 5 stars
4/14/07 R.W.Welch Good job on a story that everybody already thoroughly knows. 4 stars
12/22/06 melissa eww. horrible 2 stars
7/24/06 Sepi53 Great American historical drama! 5 stars
2/20/06 Perry Mason Excellent docudrama. 5 stars
7/27/05 MMMMMMM I had to watch this movie for AP US History. I thought it was actually pretty good. 4 stars
6/15/05 Brita Tarrant One of my all-time favorites. I watch it over and over. 5 stars
6/11/05 chico downingstreetmemo.com 5 stars
5/26/05 Chloe It was very boring!!! 1 stars
5/11/05 kim i had to watch it for class, enjoyed it thoroughly. 5 stars
10/25/04 UMER great acting is the USP of the movie 4 stars
6/09/04 Nobody A fascinating, historically accurate Watergate documentary 5 stars
5/16/04 John a tight drama/thriller from begiining to end - always exiting despite the complicated plot 5 stars
5/01/03 Kristen Shows accurate depiction of power role Media plays! 5 stars
1/30/03 jman203503 I think the movie looked great!!!!!! 5 stars
1/08/03 Seppo Great thriller with excellent cast. 5 stars
11/13/02 Anisa Finally! I depiction of what us journalists REALLY do for the public. 4 stars
11/03/02 Donald Cockram Not really a good film. The acting is mediocre, often hammy, but the story is interesting. 4 stars
10/17/02 Charles Tatum Now every two bit reporter wants "the big story" 4 stars
10/16/02 Angel Cai worth a look 4 stars
8/24/02 spf awesome 5 stars
7/12/02 KMG Fantastic....Redford and Hoffman have awesome chemistry! 5 stars
7/11/02 J Well its not in MY top 100 list Roo but it is a good film nevertheless 4 stars
6/03/02 wax descent movie, good script my my journalism teacher didn't help. 4 stars
5/17/02 JJ a classic film that should not be forgotten 5 stars
3/19/02 jamie im in a high school journalism class, and was assigned to watch it, what a GREAT movie 5 stars
1/24/02 Andrew Carden Interesting Drama. Very Realistic. 4 stars
1/16/02 Aadam Soorma Yea, it wuz sweet! Yum yum... 5 stars
1/03/02 Robyn Weiss loved the movie and now want to be a journalist 4 stars
11/20/01 Geoffrey McCarthy Quite simply one of the best films ever made. 5 stars
11/13/01 Andrew Well written. Takes you into the life of a journalist. 4 stars
11/06/01 LPL#1eDiT this movie was excelent! 5 stars
7/29/01 Coach R excellent use of lighting and camera angles 4 stars
7/23/01 Monster W. Kung Another 70s great movie (best decade, if anybody says different I'm gonna kick his ass). 5 stars
6/13/01 il siciliano disappointing... I expected much more 2 stars
5/12/01 ME This movie was great 5 stars
3/31/01 Erik North A Must-See Movie About American Politics Gone Berserk 5 stars
3/18/01 Christi great film 4 stars
3/14/01 Abigail Whitney Great Movie . . . Robert Redford is wonderful! Educational and enjoyable. 4 stars
11/25/00 Sarah Interesting, but at points hard to follow 4 stars
11/21/00 Dumb THIS MOVIE IS WORSE THAN CRAP 1 stars
10/25/00 Geni This movie blows, what sort of fucked up movie critic are you 2 stars
10/20/00 Monica Great Movie! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Sep-1976 (PG)
  DVD: 21-Feb-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1977




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast