More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.7

Awesome: 28.16%
Worth A Look41.95%
Average: 12.64%
Pretty Bad: 5.75%
Total Crap: 11.49%

8 reviews, 126 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Fifth Element, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"Interesting, And Colorful Too"
4 stars

I came upon this film, again through my dad, while passing through one of the cable channels on our TV set a while ago. And after the movie ended, we were quite pleased of what we saw. I personally enjoyed the film, and I still find it hard to believe that writer-director Luc Besson wrote the script when he was 13, but hey, whatís wrong with that? I began writing a novel since I was 17, and I'm still working on it. I'll let you know when I've finished it. Anyways, it was an enjoyable movie.

Two hundred and fifty years in the future, life as we know it is threatened by the arrival of Evil. Only a religious cult, that at first worshipped aliens before the future -when they are revealed as aliens- know that they possess the only weapon against it. The four elements of life, that lay alongside a fifth element. And only the fifth element (played by Milla Jovovich) can stop the Evil from extinguishing life, as it has done every five thousand years. She is helped by ex-soldier, current-cab-driver, Corben Dallas (played by Bruce Willis), who is, in turn, helped by talk show radio host Ruby Rhod (Chris Tucker), and along for the ride are Father Vito Cornelius (Ian Holm), who is the guide of the fifth element on earth and the main priest of the religious cult. But for her to work, they need to find and retrieve the four other remaining elements, which are stones, so the cycle can be complete. Unfortunately, Evil is being assisted by Mr. Zorg (Gary Oldman) and his alien mercenaries, the Mangalores, who both seek to profit from the chaos that Evil will bring, but only if they find the stones for him.

The very first appreciative things in the movie are the set decorations and the costumes. They're colorful enough to give the atmosphere of a comic sci-fi flick, which was a nice and interesting touch. The music also helped since it's very 23rd century too. One of the main ideas of the script will catch enough attention towards some people, like my dad and me, to make it a totally fun subject to discuss and compare. Now I'm not talking about the part of when evil returns, but about the religious people serving aliens, calling them "my lord," and worshipping them. It kind of brings you back into the long-discussed topic of the days of Moses and Ezequiel, and if God was God itself or an alien. If you're keen enough, you'll catch that amidst the fun and the suspense of the opening scenes, and discuss it along later. Though later in the film, a flaw appears, since itís confusing that father Vito and his followers still worship the aliens, despite the time that they live in and the peopleís knowledge that they're aliens, not gods. I would've walked out of the sect a long time ago the first minute I found out about this.

Another one of the little flaws that I caught was that the alien costumes, despite everything else, they looked unrealistic, and in fact didn't look like aliens at all, but more like people in costumes. That kind of took the fun of many scenes, especially the Mangalore scenes, since they really looked fake. In most of them, if it wasn't for the action, it brought a good chuckle. Plus, Zorg's pet also didn't look that real.

The futuristic settings of the movie give you some remembrance feeling as if you were looking at a more modern and more realistic version of The Jetsons. High rise buildings above the smog, and air freeways of flying cars buzzing one over another. Not that they're wrong though, but it sure looked interesting.

The performances were okay; Bruce Willis was basically his average, no question about that. Ian Holm and Gary Oldman were of course great as always, although Oldman eclipses Holm in a way that he basically steals the show in almost every scene that he's in, despite his accent. Milla Jovovich did his best in a tough role as the fifth element, but didn't seem to pull it off as she was behaving too childishly. Chris Tucker as talk radio host Ruby, really got into my nerves and his acting really annoyed me. And as you can see in the film, he also annoyed Bruce.

In the end, itís basically a typical Sci-Fi action comedy, with some good twists and great colorful settings. It's not that good of a movie but it still worth watching since its funny and entertaining. The only thing to watch for here is Tucker, who I really wanted him to fuck off and die, but that's me. Lets see later how do you do, and feel.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=328&reviewer=235
originally posted: 04/24/01 12:42:27
[printer] printer-friendly format  
This film is available for download or online viewing at CinemaNow.com For more in the CinemaNow.com series, click here.
OFFICIAL SELECTION: 2013 Boston SciFi Film Festival For more in the 2013 Boston Sci-Fi Film Festival series, click here.

User Comments

6/19/14 megancyber A REPEAT movie for easy movie nights, soectacular scenery, costuming and outrageously acted 5 stars
7/11/13 kevin phil great movie 5 stars
1/22/12 Kyle great 5 stars
10/11/09 Jeff Wilder Willis and Oldman are solid. Jovovich pretty. Script weak. 3 stars
10/06/09 pat Not what I'd call "cerebrally charged", but still entertaining...with the right substances. 4 stars
2/10/09 Johnny Favorite To all the naysayers: you suck, this movie is FUN, get it?? 5 stars
1/30/09 finamus how can you not love this movie? 5 stars
1/13/09 Anonymous. a film with alot of wtf moments. :] 4 stars
11/30/08 James This movie is dog shit, I don't understand why so many people like it. 2 stars
9/01/08 Samantha Pruitt the movie has a great look to it, funny, with cool characters! 4 stars
8/21/08 Shaun Wallner Interesting storyline. 4 stars
8/05/08 Bnorm This movie was indeed supa green. one of my top 5 5 stars
7/27/08 The Dork Knight I liked it. I can't help it! 4 stars
12/15/07 Pamela White movie sucks plot stupid 1 stars
6/27/07 johnnyfag il quinto escremento! 1 stars
2/28/07 munsa, Sittienaida the movie is veryinteresting and terefis. I agree that love is very important to the person 5 stars
2/19/07 Taina G IT'S FREAKIN ROCKS MY SOCKS/SMOKE YOU!! LMAO Meat Popicle lol,Multi Pass!LOVE IT,BEautiful! 5 stars
2/16/07 Vip Ebriega Entertaining futuristic Sci-fi. 3 stars
2/14/07 johnnyfog Worst fuckin dye job ever on Milla! Weirdest sci-fi ever, but I liked it 5 stars
2/06/07 Stacy You can't be a perfect woman with hair like that. Movie's pretty cool, though. 4 stars
1/31/07 JeromeBosch graet F/X, Chris Tucker fuckin' ruins everything else. 4 stars
1/24/07 Jimbo One of my favourites ever. Milla Bruce Gary and Chris u can't go wrong-Flat but epic+pretty 5 stars
1/22/07 Sambadi Trashy crap. One of the worst. 1 stars
1/22/07 del Could have been SO MUCH better, but...definitely still worth a look. 4 stars
1/22/07 Ole Man Bourbon Irritating drivel. 2 stars
12/26/06 johnnyfog Weird acid trip of a movie. Its good because of Milla and Gary Oldman 4 stars
9/23/06 sam bonner visually striking? you bet!! maybe it should have been a silent movie. 3 stars
8/17/06 Stanley Thai It's a fun filled movie. Just have fun and enjoy it. 4 stars
5/22/06 VulcanRaven Milla Jovovich is great and it is so futuristic 5 stars
5/22/06 tom Probably my favourite film of all time, has everything! 5 stars
4/10/06 R.W.Welch Flaky sci-fi opus doesn't really jell but is still watchable. 3 stars
11/15/05 nikola the BEST costumes ever 4 stars
8/13/05 Indrid Cold A pretty cool diversion, which is very high praise for a movie like this. 4 stars
8/13/05 ES This came out the same year as Time trek Generations, you tell me what's better 5 stars
5/15/05 Indrid Cold Visually fascinating, but oddly uninteresting. 3 stars
1/10/05 Jagal Shoot, someone already said fifth Excrement... Hot chic Awful film 1 stars
1/10/05 Nicole Hmm.....liked it a lot when it first came out - I have since rethought that 3 stars
1/09/05 burton miller RETARDED: one of the worst screenplays in history 1 stars
12/19/04 Monster W. Kung The fifth excrement... 1 stars
10/16/04 Don Eckert Story is a bit choppy but very imaginative, fast paced and fun to watch. 4 stars
9/01/04 T. Rhudy Milla Jovovich is great 5 stars
6/29/04 Karen Stockdale A fun film with imaginative outifts/sets and the wonderful Gary Oldman - whats not to like? 4 stars
4/25/04 Carla i thought it was pretty good, and pretty funny. I liked the 'opera'. 4 stars
4/18/04 john yes, Milla 5 stars
4/12/04 Gobsmack Stunning, original, and just plain fun. 5 stars
11/30/03 marcel Ledoux even if my name i similar, it is too cheezy 3 stars
11/29/03 john all over the place predictable and boring 1 stars
11/24/03 Sihuhe I like Zorg and his Pet! 5 stars
10/24/03 Wendy Carpenter Pointless drivel, wasting Bruce Willis's talents. 1 stars
10/15/03 crystal freakin'rocks!! 5 stars
8/11/03 Nicole Pretty decent 4 stars
5/30/03 The Talking Elbow The worst part is Bruce Willis's ugly ass orange sweatshirt 4 stars
5/25/03 Lenny Milla. 'nuf said. 4 stars
5/24/03 Bloody Vixen I like, no questions! 5 stars
5/20/03 JL Not a deep movie, but definitely escapist entertainment fun. 4 stars
4/13/03 Terrible This is one of the worst movies I have ever seen -- literally. It makes no sense whatever. 1 stars
4/07/03 Jon Would anyone else agree that this movie is literally bursting with colour? 4 stars
3/10/03 Nicole I really liked this movie 5 stars
2/26/03 GMan Hmm...Milla Jovovich near nude... Gary Oldman playing,well, Gary Oldman... pretty good... 4 stars
2/06/03 Dice My 2nd least favorite movie ever 1 stars
1/12/03 Chiendog Witty, imaginative... almost a parody of the sci-fi-action genre. 5 stars
12/06/02 GIA great act of gary oldman 3 stars
10/21/02 Monster W. Kung This movie blows donkeys. 1 stars
10/15/02 Interrog8 Everything you would want from an action flick. 5 stars
9/29/02 Fuze44 I dug the freaky chick. 3 stars
8/29/02 Hessian Besson dose it again. 5 stars
6/28/02 Zefram Mann Great acting. Great visuals. A fun movie that really IS fun! 5 stars
6/25/02 Charles Tatum Say what you want...this is really cool 5 stars
4/06/02 Junshi Alright, cliched theme though, and dull, not memorable. 3 stars
3/18/02 Butterbean It's a nice action flick to waste your time on. But it's highly forgetable 3 stars
2/20/02 Xaver I love the action, the characters (esp. Tucker) AND THE MUSIC. 5 stars
2/17/02 Mad Max Tucker sucks but Willis and Oldman are funny, and the action, effects are awesome! 4 stars
1/25/02 Monster W. Kung Incredibly moronic, superficial, and unfunny piece of crap. 1 stars
1/07/02 Adam Barraud Visually stunning, this sites reveiwer know little to nothing. Interesting enough storyline 4 stars
1/06/02 Andrew Carden Uninteresting and Unlikeable Movie. Jovavich Was The Only One Who Gave Off Steam. 2 stars
12/31/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) Bruce Willis has always been good. Any crappy flick he's in except Armageddon isn't crappy. 4 stars
12/24/01 Hoorah visually the same as the concept wild and wonderful dont expect any sort of reality 5 stars
12/09/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This one Sci-Fi that people must see a instant classic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
11/16/01 Sumixam excellent, Tucker is hillarious 5 stars
11/14/01 seldom scene great LOOKING film and a comic book plot 4 stars
9/29/01 Phoenix A great sci-fi adventure. It's funny and action packed. 5 stars
8/07/01 Joe Zappa It was too exotic. I was kinda freaked out. Willis and Tucker were okay, though. 3 stars
7/21/01 gus i kinda liked it - tho, milla jovovich acts as well as a chimp 3 stars
7/16/01 Josh I rolled my eyes through most of this movie. 1 stars
7/13/01 Caligula Robot ducks, ball of evil, chocolate dripping from forehead, plot written by dumb monkey. 1 stars
7/02/01 TLsmooth I would rather clog my ears with ovine feces than listen to Chris Tucker in this. 1 stars
6/24/01 Dean If Besson wrote this when he was 13, he must have been retarded. 1 stars
5/22/01 mjm103171 the blue chick that sings techno-opera kicks ass! 4 stars
4/27/01 ChilliPepper One of the Best movies i have seen. And the soundtrack is Great! 5 stars
4/26/01 Brian The fifth Element is CHEESE, but still a fun film. Chris Tucker and Willis deliver laughs. 4 stars
4/02/01 moviegoer bruce willis does and exceelent job, as do most of the actors 4 stars
3/24/01 Monster W. Kung Turn your brain off before you see this junk. 1 stars
2/21/01 Steve in Prague I used to fuck this girl who wokred on the 5th element..Alissa Randall...5 stars 5 stars
11/22/00 Furanku Fun, fun, fun, and damn the critics who didn't like it. It wasn't meant to be Citizen Kane! 5 stars
11/14/00 The EVIL Penguin AWESOME! well, almost....... 4 stars
10/31/00 Damion Cain One of the best movies ever. Milla is a goddess, you can't dispute that. 5 stars
10/17/00 emblem Brilliant international flavoured sci-fi action with heart 5 stars
8/25/00 Maclay01 Ppl who hated this film have a prejudice for a certain type of sci-fi. Get over it! 5 stars
6/02/00 perverted pixie Hoopy space case stuff with Brucey, Gazza, and a cameo from Captain Hollister! 5 stars
3/11/00 David Rogers Was different. Most decent movie that I've seen Bruce in. 3 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Flawless visuals, excellent concept. Kinda just there in terms of dialogue, but it works. 5 stars
1/10/00 Howie Great humor. Comic style action! Visually and musically stunning. 5 stars
1/09/00 Will that was awful! but for some reason I loved it, go figure. 4 stars
12/15/99 Paul funny, fast moving action. 4 stars
12/05/99 Wolfyboy The script fit together awesomely 4 stars
12/04/99 Roy Stogner "Sci-fi" fans will appreciate it's style. Science fiction fans should go read a book. 3 stars
11/19/99 msf6 This was like watching a cartoon on steroids Chris Tucker is funny but as a whole SUCKS ASS 1 stars
10/26/99 Karahde Khan One of the worst big-budget movies ever. Plus it has Gary Oldman, which I can't stand. 1 stars
9/06/99 godsdog I LOVE THIS MOVIE! A BLAST TO WATCH, AND A SIMPLE BUT FUN PLOT! The CGI was used properly 2 5 stars
4/25/99 JDC Works if you consider it a spoof of every cliche in scifi. Not being too serious saves it. 3 stars
4/10/99 Shelley THE BEST SCI/FI MOVIE EVER!! BRUCE RULES!!! 5 stars
3/22/99 A. M. Silly Fun. 4 stars
2/18/99 Piz s-l-o-w movie, not high on action, no laughs, dozens of better Willis movies 2 stars
12/09/98 Scion of Graveheart Kick-ass sci-fi flick ever. THE best of them all. Clever and funny as hell. 4 stars
10/03/98 Armageddon I'm telling ya, Bruce is 100 times better than you give him credit for. Very entertaining. 5 stars
10/01/98 Paul The credits at the end were entertaining, but the part where the movie was showing sucked. 1 stars
9/28/98 Brandon B. Oldman was good. Excellent special effects and music. 4 stars
9/07/98 BBReBozo Congrats to Milla for showing her nuggets. Congrats to me for watching it. 5 stars
8/30/98 Drasord very clever, and very corny. Sci/fi fan's might like this one. I just LOVE Milla. 3 stars
8/30/98 Matt just your average action movie, in a more stylish package 3 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball The monsters looked fake, as did Bruce. He's the worst action star around. 3 stars
8/21/98 Mike F I like this movie a lot. but I guess it's cause I like shity movies. 4 stars
8/21/98 rotten f. milk Willis sucks. Movie = decent. 3 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet Milla rules, as did the beginning of the film. Willis has to go. 4 stars
8/17/98 Johny Visually Great, needed less Chris Tucker 3 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} Moments of brilliance and moments of gut-wrenching awfulness. Willis begone! 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-May-1997 (PG-13)
  DVD: 11-Jan-2005

UK
  06-Jun-1997 (PG)
  DVD: 25-Oct-1999

Australia
  15-May-1997 (PG)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast