More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.84

Awesome: 3.13%
Worth A Look: 6.25%
Average: 18.75%
Pretty Bad: 15.63%
Total Crap56.25%

2 reviews, 20 user ratings



Fathers' Day
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by spork-girl

"French = Bad."
1 stars

Yes, I saw Father's Day. I even saw the french flick it's based on. I'm a little ashamed.

My dad is a French freak, he actually likes French things. Ugh. So i was forced, as a small child, to see numerous French films, including the one this is based on.

So I'm in Denmark visiting my parents, and if you've ever been there you know there is very little to do, so my sister Anna and I decided to do a movie marathon in which we saw George Of The Jungle, Four Rooms and yes, Father's Day

It was bad.

It was cute, but it wasn't really funny, and I was promised funny, dammit.

Summary: A boy runs away, the mother asks two of her ex boyfriends to go find him and lies to them, tell each he is the real father of the child. They find him and eventually after a series of mishaps, bring him home only to learn neither is really the father.

In this version, the boy runs away to be a groupie for Sugar Ray. Mark McGrath can't act. He's cute, but he should just shut up.

But Mel Gibson was in it, for like 2 minutes, talking about piercing his hooha, and that was pretty damned funny.

I hate to admit this, but in this one specific case, the French version was better than the American, because it's basically a slapstick comedy, and Americans don't like slapstick, so they took it all out, and it just doesn't work that way.

Haha, Mel Gibson's hooha. 1 spork.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=329&reviewer=6
originally posted: 08/30/98 12:07:26
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/06/06 CTT Clumsy and predicatable 2 stars
4/04/06 John Aster Habig That Paul McCartney song f#$ing rocked 5 stars
2/05/05 Jeff Anderson ABSOLUTE MISERABLE GARBAGE WITH WILLIAMS & CRYSTAL AT THEIR WORST! THE BOY IS A TOTAL JERK! 1 stars
9/19/02 J It was an enjoyable film. 4 stars
10/21/01 Andrew Carden Get Out The Gun. 1 stars
8/09/01 Mr. Hat A few funny moments. 3 stars
5/28/00 Jed A good underrated robin/crystal flick. 3 stars
4/11/00 Elvisfan Normally I hate all Robin Williams movies; this one is not that bad. No, really. 4 stars
3/11/00 David Rogers Robin cried too much. 3 stars
1/25/99 Chloe Marie Elestenogoph (clatter@hotmail.com) Boy oh boy, does this blow goats. So very unfunny, so badly made. 1 stars
1/24/99 Melissa I saw this on a transcontinental flight and wanted to throw myself from the plane. 1 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce A dead set shocker. 1 stars
9/28/98 katherine now THIS has to be the stupidest movie i ever saw. cant robin williams get any GOOD roles? 2 stars
9/26/98 Maegs I fell asleep. 2 stars
8/25/98 Pete Crystal+Williams= Craaaap? Who'd a thunk it? And the kid who played the son.. ugh. 2 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Billy Crystal=great at Oscars/awful on film. 3 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee You lost me. 1 stars
8/21/98 Mike F I think it's so funny that all those punks were at a sugar ray show. 3 stars
8/17/98 J-Guy (The MFC) good movie. Paul McCartney on the soundtrack, cant go wrong there. 3 stars
8/16/98 {{{OZ}}} The idea was good, the execution was awful. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  09-May-1997 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Jul-1997




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast