More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.94

Awesome49.25%
Worth A Look: 26.87%
Average: 5.97%
Pretty Bad: 4.48%
Total Crap: 13.43%

3 reviews, 49 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Darkest Hour by Jay Seaver

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Last Temptation of Christ, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Cochise

"A powerful film giving us a very human Jesus."
4 stars

This is not a sacrilegious film, and I don't understand why so many people hated it. In the film, Jesus actually does what God wants Him to do.

Jesus is presented in the film as a real person suffering the doubts and temptations that many of us suffer. In the film He tries to find out what God wants Him to do. The film is not based just on the Gospels, but is also based on a novel written by Nikos Kazantzakis.

WARNING - In order to review this film and discuss its meaning, I have to reveal the ending. So . . . if you don't want to know what happens in the end, please don't read this until after you have seen the film.

This film deals with one of the basic concepts of Christian theology. That is, Jesus as the son of God was made human so that God could punish Him for the sins of mankind, thus diverting God’s wrath away from mankind. That is why Christians say, “Jesus died to save us from sin.”This point is very important in the film. If Jesus died for our sins, He had to be human, thus suffering the same temptations that humans suffer.

The last temptation Jesus suffers in the film is the temptation to get down off the cross, escape crucifixion and live a normal life with a wife and children. Jesus would have the power to do this. However, if one looks at the film closely, one can see that the sequence where He did get off the cross and live a normal life was only in His mind. When Jesus realizes He is still on the cross, He fulfils the task God set for Him. Jesus resists His last temptation.

Jesus resisting this temptation reinforces the concept of Jesus dying for our sins, a concept which is the central core of Christian theology. If Jesus was totally pure and never subject to temptation, then He couldn’t take on the characteristics of humanity and God Punishing Him would have no point. Only if Jesus has human qualities and suffers as a human, can His suffering save mankind from sin. Jesus is essentially a scapegoat for humanity.

Jesus’ job of making crosses is not based on the Bible, so this is a bit unrealistic. However, I liked the scene where Jesus changed the water into wine. I like the laid-back way He performed the miracle.

Harvey Keitel makes a convincing Judas. Also a brilliant performance by Barbara Hershey as Mary Magdelene.

Willem Dafoe’s performance as Jesus was very genuine. Dafoe’s interpretation of the role gave Jesus a human quality.

The film went through the events in the gospels faithfully, but with a slight twist on the way the director looked at them. The scenes were given a very down-to-earth quality.

The humanity of Jesus was stressed very strongly in this film.

A lot of people did not like this film, in fact they hated it, thinking it sacrilegious. I feel that many who hated the film probably did not realize that everything that happened from the time the little girl (Satan disguised) told Jesus that He did not have to die happened in Jesus’ mind in a fraction of a second. This includes His living a normal life and getting old. When He was back on the cross the daydream sequence was over.

The daydream sequence was the last temptation of Christ. The fact that He resisted the temptation and fulfilled His destiny as the saviour of mankind fits in with standard Christian theology.

One of the best films about Jesus. This is not a sacrilegious film.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3416&reviewer=228
originally posted: 05/30/08 11:07:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/25/12 bryan the passion of the christ is far more better than this piece of shit 1 stars
3/24/11 Jeff Wilder Excellent film. Far better than Mel Gibson's atrocious film. 5 stars
12/21/09 Loki I think the most controversial part of the film was when Jesus talked to Paul. Best movie! 5 stars
10/22/09 art MEL GIBSON"S PASSION OF THE CHRIST much BETTER than this BLASPHEMY! 1 stars
6/27/09 Joe Smaltz Pretty sad for Scorsese. gave up in the middle, should have earlier! 1 stars
6/11/09 art sacrilegious!,mel gibson"s "passion of the christ"<million times better. 1 stars
1/31/09 hardfact strange film 4 stars
6/08/08 John Patricio great film. I dont understand the controversy 4 stars
6/01/08 dupadoit so stupid 1 stars
5/15/08 PAUL SHORTT POISON - DO NOT TOUCH 1 stars
10/14/07 Wendell O. Maness I don't believe in God anyway and this movie was lame 2 stars
6/20/07 Bitchflaps Dafoe and Keitel are great, but the "Grand Inquisitor" scene with Paul was lazy plagiarism 3 stars
6/27/06 Michael Parkes An absolutely amazing movie. Spritually, far more effective than Gibson's "Passion..." 5 stars
3/18/06 Rever what Jake said 5 stars
8/11/05 Jake Powerful. Better than Mel Gibson's Movie and one haunting film. 5 stars
4/15/05 Veronika Boyd This movie makes me want to change my status from Agnostic to Christian. 5 stars
3/21/05 Gray kicks the crap out of pasions 5 stars
2/26/05 keith withington Powerful film. Anything but blasphemous as final scene highlights. 5 stars
1/27/05 MyGreenBed Put this baby on when you're in need of sleep, zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz 2 stars
10/27/04 Carolyn Metz powerful, but too gory 4 stars
10/25/04 UMER not upto the usual standards of scorsese 3 stars
3/27/04 Boris Morales great film, awesome soundtrack, beautiful photography 5 stars
3/20/04 Con Kangas Brilliant 5 stars
12/29/03 Agent Sands Great filmmaking, & actually really respectful towards Christianity. 5 stars
12/20/03 David Jones Very Powerful Film 5 stars
11/28/03 john replaces one Christ myth with another but effective 5 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper Not even worth the effort to type a comment. 1 stars
11/24/02 Charles Tatum It's based on a novel, NOT THE BIBLE 5 stars
9/15/02 Bastard Child of Mother Teresa What the fuck? Y'all know this one sucks! 1 stars
8/19/02 artemishia willem dafoe is AMAZING! this film is the best 5 stars
12/02/01 travis r. sorensen scorsese should have won best director. really makes you think. 5 stars
10/30/01 andrea reid only people that know the truth about Jesus should watch this film, because it is wrong 4 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Interesting...controversial...and a great soundtrack. 4 stars
7/25/01 Koscher very spiritually moving...right on 5 stars
6/11/01 SlipNSlide what's with you and "revisionist"? how very evangelistic of you. 5 stars
5/15/01 R.W. Welch Not very convincing revisonist bio, so-so acting. 3 stars
5/01/01 JW Brilliant 5 stars
4/18/01 Movie Hound Video As a Christian I was not offended. It's just a movie 4 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Average, well-acted, occasionally interesting. 3 stars
2/03/01 b.t. A personal triumph for America's greatest living director. Dafoe is astonishing as Jesus. 5 stars
12/10/00 Bradley Herring Pure cinema. Scorsese has accomplished perfection, protestors be damned. 5 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla Weird movie, i guess it kinda challenged my religious scruples, see it if your open minded 5 stars
11/13/00 Larry I am much more inspired by a Jesus I can relate to, rather than a see-all God figure. 5 stars
10/14/00 comeasur #1 on my all time list.Spiritually enriching.Empathize with all Jesus lived and died for. 5 stars
6/19/00 Ray Marvellous. Obviously a huge emotional and intellectual commitment from director and cast. 5 stars
4/30/00 Melchoir This movie is a wonderful, brilliant look at the life of Jesus. 5 stars
2/10/00 Kevin Delaney If you're insulted by this movie, you are a simpleton 5 stars
1/21/00 Leah I was insulted by the way Jesus was portrayed. He was God, without sin. 2 stars
12/14/99 Karahde Khan Almost every great director has made a dud. Scorsese is no exception. Crucify this bore. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Sep-1988 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Martin Scorsese

Written by
  Paul Schrader

Cast
  Willem Dafoe
  Harvey Keitel
  Barbara Hershey
  Verna Bloom
  Paul Greco
  Steve Shill



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast