More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.35

Awesome: 14.46%
Worth A Look: 25.3%
Average48.19%
Pretty Bad: 4.82%
Total Crap: 7.23%

6 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

Brawl in Cell Block 99 by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Deuce Bigalow: Male Gigolo
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by The Ultimate Dancing Machine

"Fairly painless for an SNL movie"
3 stars

My Webster's Dictionary defines "gigolo" thusly: "1. A man who is paid to be a dancing partner or escort for women. 2. A man who is the lover of a woman and is supported by her." This is to say that the phrase "male gigolo" is redundant. I for one tend to look askance at this kind of idiot-proofing, just like I tend to squirm in my seat when I see the name Adam Sandler listed in the credits as Executive Producer. Luckily, "Deuce Bigalow" isn't half bad--though to be honest it isn't really half good, either.

Rob Schneider (who co-wrote the script) stars as a schlumpy-looking loser who subs for an out-of-town gigolo, which is of course just as contrived as it sounds. His unlikely--and, despite what you might expect, rather tame--adventures bring him into contact with a colorful supporting cast of women, including a narcoleptic (Deborah Lemen), a Tourette's Syndrome sufferer (Amy Poehler), and the girl of his dreams (Arija Bareikis)--who, he discovers to his consternation, is an amputee.

The cast is basically hit or miss, with most of the really funny bits coming from Deuce's oddball female customers. Schneider is reasonably winsome as the hapless hero, but William Forsythe, as the police detective who pursues him, overacts painfully. A lot of the jokes seem weirdly mistimed; there's a lot of allegedly witty rejoinders that dangle lifelessly in the air. (Incidentally, the film's jumpy editing style effectively kills at least a few gags.)

Goofball comedies of this kind often devolve into a series of loosely strung-together skits, with minimal consideration given to plot, and the pattern certainly holds true here. What saves Deuce Bigalow is its essential good-naturedness, its cheerful insistence that we're all really weirdos and might as well accept each other as such. Unlike a lot of gross-out comedies, this movie has heart, if not much imagination (the soundtrack actually includes "You Sexy Thing," which you might remember from the similarly themed The Full Monty).

Admittedly, it all concludes with a wretched rerecording of Blondie's "Call Me" over the end credits, but it passes its under-ninety minutes running time agreeably enough.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3420&reviewer=223
originally posted: 04/21/01 19:33:11
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/16/07 David Pollastrini Aren't all gigolos male? 3 stars
12/01/06 David Cohen Not as bad as I thought it was going to be 3 stars
2/07/06 tatum Some funny moments ruined by tastelessness 2 stars
8/25/05 tony it was very funny 4 stars
4/12/05 clatz Very funny, the character TJ was priceless 4 stars
9/10/04 jeff he made me pick it up "with my anus" halarious movie 5 stars
11/28/03 Samuel funny! 3 stars
11/09/03 Eddie Fan This film is so funny, and if u didn't laugh, u need to get a life! 5 stars
8/08/03 gibbons a far cry from the greatest comedy ever made, but has its moments 4 stars
7/21/03 Ghetto Smurf Excuse me, must make pee-pees 4 stars
6/02/03 KCobain The Deuce is loose! 4 stars
12/28/02 Miss P I was laughing the whole way through the film. Go Man Whore!! 5 stars
7/11/02 CVJ NWO Brilliant sounds corny but is truly a funny film 5 stars
4/28/02 Valerie Cameron A zany hoot with a few misfires but mostly good. A- 5 stars
3/30/02 Jojo this movie was great, only because of bree turner and her wet t-shirt... DAMN! 4 stars
3/22/02 Mr. Hat (I'm Back!) Funny as hell! 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Moronic to the extreme. I couldn't stand it. 1 stars
9/04/01 Butterbean a very cute flick! Would have been funnier if Rob fucked one of the girls. 4 stars
5/17/01 nowak Much better than I expected 4 stars
4/19/01 Tam Had some good laughs, but my cash would have been better spent on a pot of leg wax. 3 stars
3/22/01 Johnny B Ha, BJ is hilarious. Does he really have tourettes? 5 stars
1/30/01 Dean The girl with tourettes was the funniest. bjclips.com is all about tourettes if u want more 4 stars
1/24/01 Elvisfan As much fun as a papercut, while you have sunburn 1 stars
11/29/00 Matthew Bartley SuckeD 1 stars
10/05/00 lainey louise one of the best comedys in a while p.s. his butt ruled 5 stars
9/19/00 Bender Not great, but it had more laughs than I thought it would. 3 stars
7/28/00 QUENTIN CONGRESS EXTREMELY FUNNY! 4 stars
7/04/00 Monday Morning Same guys made "Big Daddy"? At least they're consistent...it sucked, too. 2 stars
6/23/00 fire-n-ice fuckin funny!!!!! 5 stars
3/26/00 JonnyAngel Me laugh. Ha ha. 3 stars
3/02/00 ghgkgkgk it was the best 1 stars
2/29/00 Rubber Hey lover Happy Gilmore too, but this is below average. 2 stars
2/16/00 hum dont tell anyone I was talked into seeing this rubbish 1 stars
1/25/00 pauline wasn't as funny as i thought it would be 2 stars
1/18/00 Stephanie Bond Lame but funny enough to leave you feeling good 3 stars
1/16/00 Joel Harwood COOL COOL 5 stars
1/15/00 Kevin Cho Has its VERY funny parts - much better than I could have thought. Too much marketing. 4 stars
1/14/00 QuiGon 2003 This movie was so much funnier than expected. Great laughs. 4 stars
12/26/99 Lame-Oh not as bad as Superstar (which totally sucked) 3 stars
12/25/99 Obi Wan Movie is funny, but seen most jokes coming due to bad marketing on commercials 3 stars
12/17/99 Ron McKenly Fucking Great! 5 stars
12/16/99 jake wonderful 5 stars
12/15/99 Chocodile I was hoping for more from Schneider, but it's better than most of the crap out there 4 stars
12/14/99 Siro THE BEST CINEMATIC ACHIEVEMENT EVER!!! 5 stars
12/13/99 Trip EXAMPLE SCENE: Someone calls his name, Deuce turns too fast and falls in pond. ENCORE!!! 1 stars
12/13/99 DD Bro Hilarious, Schneider can actually act 4 stars
12/12/99 Tom Not the best Holiday offering, but certainly not as bad as End of Days! 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  10-Dec-1999 (PG-13)
  DVD: 14-Mar-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  06-Jan-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast