More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.76

Awesome: 15.69%
Worth A Look: 13.73%
Average25.49%
Pretty Bad: 21.57%
Total Crap: 23.53%

7 reviews, 60 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Assassinaut by Jay Seaver

Dead Don't Die, The by alejandroariera

Dead Don't Die, The by Peter Sobczynski

Shaft (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Men in Black: International by Peter Sobczynski

Chasing the Dragon 2: Wild Wild Bunch by Jay Seaver

Hole in the Ground, The by Jay Seaver

Knife+Heart by Jay Seaver

Booksmart by Jay Seaver

Dark Phoenix by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed


Bicentennial Man
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Improv King

"Popcorn flick - nothing more, nothing less."
3 stars

Give the producers credit on this one: Bicentennial Man is very faithful to the details of both the original short story and the novel by Isaac Asimov. They even mention the Three Laws of Robotics! Of course, adapting the story is easy: it has a lot of sentimental moments, and the film hits every damn one of them. Really hard.

The plot? Pinocchio with a sci-fi twist: Robot Model NDR (nicknamed Andrew by the family), designed to be a simple household servant, shows signs of creativity and feelings, and spends the next two hundred years improving himself, figuring out what it means to be human. The passage of time is handled fairly well, except for a couple of titles that say "umpteen years later". The art direction and costuming is pretty good: it's a good mix of modernity and 80's futurism. And the robotic make-up is truly amazing: check out Andrew 2.0. Still, this movie is only average, as this is the billionth Hollywood movie that takes absolutely no risk with the material. Robin Williams does the same comic shtick he can do in his sleep. The emotional turmoil is standard pot-boiler fare. There's a sprinkling of dirty poo-poo-type jokes to keep the kids awake. AND EVERY SINGLE MOMENT WHERE THE FILM WANTS YOU TO CRY IS ACCOMPANIED BY AN ORCHESTRA PLAYING THIS FUCKING LOUD.

(On a tangential note, why is it necessary for loud violins in Hollywood movies? Do the film-makers think we are so stupid we won't know where to cry?)

Basically, this one's a rental. Watch it for the visuals, get a good night's entertainment. And reach for the mute button if someone onscreen begins to cry.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3423&reviewer=114
originally posted: 12/20/99 12:09:22
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/24/13 Michelle O farfetched and flimsy = even Robin's brilliance couldn't make this decent 2 stars
6/14/09 chippyneil isaac was ahead of his time.very thought provoking and yes emotional is,nt that the point.l 5 stars
6/07/08 PAUL SHORTT DESPITE BEING DULL IT DOES MANAGE TO RAISE SOME THOUGHT PROVOKING IDEAS 3 stars
3/08/08 Pamela White Futuristic and interesting that even a robot isn't happy with his body 4 stars
2/01/08 Lrd.Gov Jake B Privett Our Robin Williams only just makes this film watchable. He's a comic master. 3 stars
8/07/07 kedda ghazarian (other) hello other kedda ghazarian. we have the same name. i live in australia where are you from? 1 stars
8/27/05 ES Couldn't stand this movie, preachy PC crap, as if robots will be a future minority race 1 stars
8/22/05 Naka Nope. 2 stars
7/27/05 tony a very good film. the only drama movie williams dosnt ruin 4 stars
4/14/05 kArYn mEndOzA nicE mOviE 5 stars
11/19/04 Zeus Great movie 5 stars
10/22/04 dawn chai its a moving film about a life and love 5 stars
5/22/04 christen pachoco Superb!!! 5 stars
5/20/04 Jason Asimov must be spinning in his grave 1 stars
9/24/03 DM Starts okay, goes downhill fast 2 stars
6/27/03 cochese Man, for a big star Williams sure does pump out some shit movies. 1 stars
12/08/02 Nevz Muppets! watch the damn film properly! 4 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano Robin's acting talents would have been better applied to "Mork & Mindy 2000!". 1 stars
8/04/02 KMG THERE WAS SOMETHING "A-I"-ISH ABOUT THIS MOVIEl: FUTURISTIC/DEPRESSING 2 stars
6/22/02 qtpie okay 3 stars
4/30/02 Tiffany Faye Hawthorne From promising start, dives into interminable bathos. 2 stars
4/24/02 Danielle Ophelia No one escapes unscathed...not even teh damn Key Grip. 1 stars
12/25/01 Andrew Carden It Wasn't A Disater In Any Way, but Neither Was It A Great Movie. 3 stars
11/21/01 Kenneth E. Carper Anyone who hates this movie is a heartless moron! 4 stars
8/29/01 Gary Bollocks 1 stars
8/09/01 Mr. Hat Interesting. Not always that good, but interesting. 3 stars
2/16/01 Jun Too shallow and too hollow the story line...what's more to say? 1 stars
1/30/01 puff the magic dragon Isaac asimov's wonderful story is reduced to sentimental slush !!! 3 stars
12/26/00 Turtle A Robin Williams flick that just cannot be missed! 5 stars
12/19/00 Paulsj Bring some Tissue!! I had to make sure I wasnt wearing a skirt , I cried so much!! 4 stars
11/24/00 Connoisseur I agree with Gen. 4 stars
9/12/00 Jed The heck with the critics this is a excellent movie. 5 stars
9/04/00 The Extreaminizer Brilliant Idea Killed by Slowness, Overlength, and Horrible Ending 1 stars
8/07/00 lulany I wanted to Like this movie because I love Robin but it's just too dull and predictable. 2 stars
7/31/00 Bender Overlong, but entertaining and touching. 4 stars
7/10/00 Art Richardson I loved this movie. RW is Awesome 5 stars
7/03/00 Jed &uck you people this is a very good film this proofs that critical treatment can be insane. 5 stars
6/23/00 fire-n-ice i loved this movie 5 stars
6/18/00 Gen I like the sci-fi futuristic stuff 4 stars
6/01/00 danilo how can you not like this movie? 5 stars
3/25/00 Richard Wright It would have been 3 stars if not for those SICK inducing final 20 mins,RW is a sappy b... 2 stars
3/09/00 David Rogers I hate the Pepsi girl! She can't act! That alone is the reason you should dump this. 2 stars
3/07/00 J. Alán Blankenship After all the lame movies that have come out, this one was a breath of fresh air. =) 4 stars
2/04/00 kedda ghazarian very very spectacular 5 stars
1/15/00 Kevin Cho Robin WIlliams HAS to stop making these movies. He is a great person, actor - MOVE ON! 2 stars
1/15/00 Marli It'a good if you watch it just for fun 4 stars
1/10/00 Jim Russo TV ads show it as Robin W. comedy - - and so it draws kids and parents - - what a rip off. 1 stars
1/05/00 Joel Harwood It makes u laugh and cry 5 stars
1/02/00 Richard Hendricks Great chick-flick. Stays close enough to the book to make it worthwhile. It's hollywood! 4 stars
12/31/99 W. Krauss pleasant change of pace----good acting 4 stars
12/29/99 Booyah! This was crap. People who take stuff like this as good film need to look a bit deeper. 1 stars
12/29/99 Nessus Ham fisted at times and slow at others, but with some redeeming qualities. 3 stars
12/26/99 Lame-Oh it was okay 3 stars
12/25/99 Ken Kopin As good as can be expected. (Should have been 6 hours long to do justice to the story.) 4 stars
12/22/99 PhilmPhreak It didn't suck. 4 stars
12/19/99 Boyd What's another word for putrid? 1 stars
12/19/99 Mr Showbiz Doggedly uplifting scifi heart-tugger. 2 stars
12/14/99 Steven Kelly I thought that it was awesome 5 stars
12/13/99 Malbert *Much* better than I expected, a very special movie 5 stars
12/12/99 jenn "Blu Smrf" powerful, amazing, moving,,,,need i say more? an all out incredible movie! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Dec-1999 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  26-Dec-1999


Directed by
  Chris Columbus

Written by
  Nicholas Kazan

Cast
  Robin Williams
  Sam Neill
  Embeth Davidtz
  Oliver Platt
  Wendy Crewson
  Allan Rich



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast