More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.81

Awesome38.21%
Worth A Look: 32.55%
Average: 11.79%
Pretty Bad: 7.08%
Total Crap: 10.38%

12 reviews, 140 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

Thousand Junkies, A by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Talented Mr. Ripley, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Stephen Groenewegen

"Top of the Class"
5 stars

Anthony (The English Patient) Minghella has adapted Patricia Highsmith's thriller, The Talented Mr Ripley, and given it all the sumptuous production values of a prestige epic.

Book and film are propelled by anti-hero Tom Ripley (Matt Damon), who covets the lifestyle of the young, rich, Americans travelling idly through Europe during the 1950s. Ripley becomes so adept at insinuating himself into these privileged lives, that by the end of the film he no longer knows who he really is. Minghella accentuates this bleak twist at the film's conclusion; Highsmith focused on the thriller aspects - Ripley's ingenuity at outwitting the Italian police, and outsmarting the social set (thankfully retained in the film). You can't help but wish Ripley success, and Damon appealingly characterises him as both underdog and outsider. The film is predicated on the existence of an American class system, based on wealth. Ripley - whose background is obviously poor (it's spelt out more in the book) - can never be fully accepted into this world.

The film is astutely cast. Jude Law features as the magnetic, but loathsome, Dickie Greenleaf whom Ripley is sent to Europe to fetch home. Cate Blanchett practically steals the film as a spoilt, unhappy American in search of love overseas. Philip Seymour Hoffman plays a snob, who is repulsive but recognisably human enough to inspire shock at his fate.

Some of the film's sequences are paced too leisurely, and Minghella's directorial touches alternate between the heavy-handed and inspired. But he combines the ingredients of The Talented Mr Ripley beautifully. Deserving of special note are Gabriel Yared's haunting score, John Seale's cinematography and the art direction/set decoration of John Fenner, Stefano Ortolani and Bruno Cesari.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3426&reviewer=104
originally posted: 03/16/00 16:43:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/22/17 morris campbell not a bad flick 4 stars
5/17/17 Louise Love this film - seen it several times. Brilliantly made and great story. 5 stars
5/24/14 The king Stunning italian backdrop with great disturbing story 5 stars
5/06/14 Jason Probably Damon's best performance 5 stars
2/06/14 PAUL SHORTT OVERLONG, DISTURBING, SLOPPY SUSPENSE DRAMA, DESPITE GOOD PERFORMANCES 2 stars
2/07/11 Pamela White Contrived is the word, terrible not talented at all 2 stars
2/09/10 Craig D. An insulting dumbing down of the story. Read the book or watch Purple Noon instead. 2 stars
10/28/09 the dork knight Mostly crap. And I think they forgot to add an ending. 3 stars
10/06/08 Mike B Freaking great movie. I don't care what you say 5 stars
8/15/07 The Sucky MR. Ripley The voice impressions sucked, his life sucked, this movie sucked. 1 stars
1/11/07 Phil M. Aficionado Could we make it any more contrived? Not possible? OK, just had to ask. 2 stars
1/10/07 David Pollastrini not horrible 2 stars
8/12/05 ES Zzzzz... huh what? =thank god its over 1 stars
3/02/05 Andrea Hale The Great Gatsby meets Alfred Hitchcock! Destined to be a classic. 5 stars
2/13/05 John Bale Well crafted and acted off beat thriller with great scenary 4 stars
12/31/04 DM Creepy and unsettling 4 stars
5/27/04 Vince Loved this one. Highly Recommended! 5 stars
4/10/04 Kendall Tomlinson The best film I've seen in the last 20 years! 5 stars
3/18/04 u've The film is great esp with Jude Law. He's definitely way hotter than Damon. 5 stars
1/19/04 Helen Bradley Matt excellent, last scene a problem 5 stars
1/08/04 A F Boring yet strangly boring 3 stars
12/20/03 Kent I simply loved this film. Captures the 50's 5 stars
9/22/03 Darryl Damon sucks in everything. At least the story here is pretty interesting. 3 stars
5/22/03 JL Sounds good, but when i tried to watch it i got bored & left half way through. 3 stars
4/02/03 Marcia Lartz Philip Seymour Hoffman gives best performance; Jude Law's Oscar nom. made no sense. 3 stars
12/07/02 Kyle I don't like Damon very much. But Law is luscious! 4 stars
11/28/02 Lady who hates romantic comedies Jude Law is 1000+ times hotter than Matt Damon - Gwyneth is paltry as always 4 stars
11/01/02 Jenny Madere The movie's unexpected events made it intresting to watch 4 stars
10/28/02 Butterbean It's something I'll see only once, but I just wanted to give Ripley a hug. 3 stars
9/22/02 Brahmsian Gwyneth is gorgeous, and the scenery is too, but the movie? Snore City. 2 stars
9/14/02 Riki Once you can understand the characters, this movie is AMAZING. 5 stars
8/08/02 . Just a weird movie, BOOOOORINGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG 2 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi god, i hated this, id rather watch.....ants phucking each other...hehehe, thatd be funny... 1 stars
4/02/02 Marcia Lartz Philip Seymour Hoffman gives best performance; Jude Law's Oscar nom. made no sense. 3 stars
12/25/01 ryan movie is methodical but not boring 5 stars
8/29/01 Gary A solid, stylish adaptation. Damon is a fantastic actor & Blanchett lights up the screen. 4 stars
8/18/01 Mike The movie was more boring than a root canal. 1 stars
7/15/01 Josh Tybur I'm sorry, the acting was great, but this movie bored me to tears. 1 stars
6/21/01 Gary Acting is excellent, particularly Blanchett and Damon, but is overlong and lacked impact. 3 stars
5/31/01 Dann What a cool film! Why do most of the people here not like it? I loved the ending. 4 stars
5/31/01 Matt Dorsey Despite fine acting and an origional feel, still one of the worst movies I've seen. Go fig. 2 stars
5/26/01 Basil I felt really sorry for Tom. God I hated Gwyenth Paltrow. 5 stars
4/23/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Subtle themes of sex and mental illness, which work beautifully. Gwyneth still blows goats 4 stars
4/09/01 ChErRyRiPe What a boring piece of shit! 1 stars
3/20/01 hum avoided this due to all the hype. sorry I didnt see it sooner. 4 stars
2/14/01 Jake Good have been so much better. Lost interest after first hour 2 stars
1/26/01 movie chick A damned fine movie if you ask me. 5 stars
1/15/01 Yoshi What idot could think this piece of absolute shit was entertaining?I'd rather watch Pokemon 1 stars
12/24/00 Marc Lookout Hated every second. Faggot shit. Ripley talented only at sucking dick. 1 stars
11/06/00 F. W. Awesome! Matt Damon excels. Every bit as gripping as the novel. 5 stars
10/04/00 Elvisfan Gwynnie aside, I liked it very much. Matt & Jude & Cate were great 4 stars
9/03/00 The Extreaminizer Horrible Matt Damon........Get Back to Good Will Hunting......Bagger Vance will save you... 1 stars
8/03/00 Jed Acting was alright but the film goes down in flaws and is overlong. 3 stars
7/31/00 Matthew Bartley Quite possibly the worst film ever!Sucks all ass does not even come close! 1 stars
7/30/00 Jude Law is superb! Chris 5 stars
7/24/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Nothing like the book. Rewritten to please stupid Hollywood folks. Ripley should kill them. 1 stars
7/05/00 Michael Grimm ending blew chunks, director is full of himself 1 stars
4/11/00 Ernie Levesque Tiring and Ambivalent. Paltrow is wonderful. 3 stars
4/07/00 Tim This movie bored me and I couldn't wait to get out of the theater 2 stars
3/29/00 Jessica Brilliant. Any movie that shows Matt and Jude naked is all right by me. 5 stars
3/27/00 Richard Wright A well acted, gripping film with surprises aplenty and a career best performance from MD. 4 stars
3/27/00 Linn Cool, so deep so thoughful! 5 stars
3/15/00 Chloe Sesta Jacobs CRAP! It was made out to be one of the best movies out. Too long. Matt was crap! 1 stars
3/04/00 Phlipit Jude Law's Butt 5 stars
3/03/00 Matthew Bartley Pompous, boring, badly acted, over inflated crap 1 stars
3/01/00 Booyah! Crap. But then Minghella's stuff is always overrated. 2 stars
2/29/00 Rachem it was an ok flick, great cinematography and such, but i say relegate it to the renter pile 3 stars
2/26/00 Allan Spellbinding. Beautifully made. Cate Blanchett/Jack Davenport-THE BEST. 5 stars
2/25/00 Matthew Smith terrific performances, a thriller in hitchcockian style. 5 stars
2/24/00 Mic Bland, predictable, implausible, contrived, unconvincing. 3 stars
2/24/00 tom matt damon--wheres the oscar nom, or the oscar for that matter 5 stars
2/16/00 Heather One of the year's best! 5 stars
2/12/00 Skye Chapman very pretty, but hardly profound. the gay guy did it (again!) 4 stars
2/11/00 CRAIG BEST THERE'S MUCH MORE HERE THERE INITIALLY MEETS THE EYE; A VERY RICH SUBTEXT 4 stars
2/10/00 Greg Harris Hot Hot Hot Matt Damon 5 stars
2/06/00 jess wonderfully disturbing. 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Somebody kill Gwyneth Paltrow. I'm sick of that overrated, whey-faced toothpick. 2 stars
2/06/00 Adelina Minghella has produced yet another wonderful film. Everything about it was just superb. 5 stars
1/30/00 Kevin Cho, movie-buff Oscar-worthy - 2nd best film of the year, BEST big-producer movie. 5 stars
1/30/00 P.S.O.K it was slow as hell! at least i had a nice picture to look at. 4 stars
1/30/00 Charles Improved on the book 5 stars
1/29/00 Ami the Wonderbread Fantastic. Loved the story, the characters, the visuals, and Jude's performance! 5 stars
1/23/00 chick a great, great movie, a little slow, but *very* disturbing. 5 stars
1/21/00 tom the book is good but the movie is amazing-the oscar shouldhave damons name all over it 5 stars
1/21/00 LC Too slow! It was nice to take a $7 trip to Italy. 3 stars
1/18/00 Mike Hunt Chilling. Reminiscent of thrillers of the past. Damon is tremendous (in every scene)! 5 stars
1/18/00 Jerry Endeecott I love this film, fucking creepy, but also fucking good!! 5 stars
1/18/00 Karean Peterson This Movie Sucks. I would wait to see this movie on NBC. I almost went to sleep!! 2 stars
1/17/00 vickie All characters brilliantly played & you'll be talking and thinking about it for a long time 5 stars
1/17/00 Bueller Extremely well made and disturbing film. Damon was laughable while imitating Paltrow. 3 stars
1/16/00 Joe Shapira Creepy but wonderfully acted! 5 stars
1/13/00 Corey Shaw It Was Pure Unadulterated CRAP!!! 1 stars
1/12/00 Gracia totally shitty 1 stars
1/12/00 Carl A dark indentifiaction with Ripley may prompt the viewer to stay witht the movie. 4 stars
1/11/00 Maruice Nelsona I love this film!!! Very deep, dark, and terrifying, with excellent acting!!! 5 stars
1/11/00 Linda I found it disturbing but overall it didn't gel--but Jude Law is beautiful. 4 stars
1/10/00 Marlowe I want my 2 hours back. 1 stars
1/10/00 Zode Just what kind of movie is this, anyways? 2 stars
1/10/00 sherrie matt could have taken on more characteristics of dickie to create more of a mystery! 3 stars
1/07/00 Marcellous Wallace The best film I've seen in years! Don't miss it! 5 stars
1/07/00 Marvice Nelson What can't Anthony Minghella do? Matt was great too. 5 stars
1/06/00 StapleGirl Jude Law made the whole film. 4 stars
1/06/00 marcy piss poor acting/piss poor plot (tended to jump around a lot). and the ending. no..just no. 1 stars
1/06/00 Richard Miller Dark and creep, excellent acting, overall great film! 5 stars
1/06/00 Jerry Nicolason This film surpassed every expectation of mine, I absolutely loved it! 5 stars
1/06/00 Richard Miller Dark and creep, excellent acting, overall great film! 5 stars
1/06/00 meg Gorgeous scenery, good musical score, fabulous cast, but it left me feeling dank. 3 stars
1/05/00 Ryan Phillipe got hit by a car and it rules! This movie was about as fun as getting fucked in the ass by aliens w/ sladgehammer heads 1 stars
1/05/00 Laura Keating Jude Law is brilliant, film is beautiful, but story is dumbed down. The book was better. 4 stars
1/05/00 Jen absolutely amazing! 5 stars
1/05/00 jules the acting and filming superb-but so CREEPY i wanted to walk out 4 stars
1/04/00 Harvey Richardson The best film of the year! Nothing short of a masterpiece!! Go Matt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/04/00 Harvey Richardson The best film of the year! Nothing short of a masterpiece!! Go Matt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/04/00 Anthony B. So fucking good!! 5 stars
1/04/00 MAXOMENOS This movie felt like I was taking a bad drug. The acting was great, the plot sickening. 2 stars
1/04/00 ScottA2001 Tight story & makes sense all the way around 5 stars
1/03/00 SJKelley Damon makes up for his bad acting in Private Ryan. Jude Law! Too many contrivances at end. 4 stars
1/03/00 Jo Jo The Idiot Circus Boy It's about ME! IT'S ABOUT ME!!!!! 5 stars
1/03/00 Ben Ryan Is there anything Matt Damon is bad at? Doubtful 5 stars
1/03/00 George Whelan III Exptriatism at its best! 4 stars
1/03/00 El Tigre Beautifully filmed, nicely creepy. 5 stars
1/02/00 oiu [kpk 5 stars
1/02/00 Adam Hey, ambiguity in a movie's good...but not when it bogs the story down 1 stars
12/31/99 natasha I can't wait to see it again without the loud people who couldn't appreciate it. 5 stars
12/30/99 K. Lackey A hauntingly errotic tale that leaves you wanting more. 5 stars
12/30/99 Richard Miller What a great film!! I loved every second of it, I've already seen it twice,it's sooo good! 5 stars
12/30/99 blue b. A bit disturbing, but definitely worth seeing. 4 stars
12/30/99 Theresa Loiacano Wonderfully acted by Matt Damon. Makes a star of Jude Law. 4 stars
12/30/99 Jimmy Chang Beautiful and unsettling, especially the ending. A lengthy film without a dull moment. 5 stars
12/29/99 Anthony Burroughs Absolutelty, fucking brilliant! Nothing short of a masterpiece! 5 stars
12/29/99 Alexis What a creepy movie - good acting but too creepy for my tasts. 3 stars
12/29/99 kevin miller i feel the opposite about damon. thought he wasn't believable enough. everyone else good . 4 stars
12/28/99 Gene Miller Mr. Ripley's talent was to bore his audience to death. About forty people walked out . 1 stars
12/28/99 Dorien Grey Disturbing movie--it would have been much better had the last three minutes been left out. 4 stars
12/27/99 Magyarpoet Who could idenify with some spoiled rich punks living well in Europe. Not believable story 1 stars
12/27/99 jenn "Blu Smrf" i agree with malbert, way over hyped with not enough story to back it up 3 stars
12/26/99 Malbert Overhyped, Matt Damon is extremely creepy&definitely pulls off his character 4 stars
12/24/99 Marc Amazing film. Matt Damon sends chills up my spine. One of the best films of the year. 5 stars
12/22/99 Andy Little more than a travelogue of pretty places and pretty faces 3 stars
12/19/99 dick-78 An amazing story with many twists and turns. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Dec-1999 (R)
  DVD: 21-May-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Feb-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast