More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.81

Awesome38.21%
Worth A Look: 32.55%
Average: 11.79%
Pretty Bad: 7.08%
Total Crap: 10.38%

12 reviews, 140 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Buddy System, The by Jack Sommersby

Amiko by Jay Seaver

Man Who Killed Hitler and Then The Bigfoot, The by Jay Seaver

Laplace's Witch by Jay Seaver

Eighth Grade by Peter Sobczynski

Unfriended: Dark Web by Peter Sobczynski

Mamma Mia: Here We Go Again! by Peter Sobczynski

Boiled Angels: The Trial of Mike Diana by Jay Seaver

Buy Bust by Jay Seaver

Isle of Dogs by Rob Gonsalves

subscribe to this feed


Talented Mr. Ripley, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Filmnet

"'Would you rather be a fake somebody or a real nobody?”"
5 stars

Matt Damon as a psychopath that I don’t want to be caught? I never thought I would be won over but there lies the brilliance of this film. The story is beautifully written and delivered, lovingly produced and given the rich texture with which Anthony Minghella (The English Patient, Truly Madly Deeply), has become synonymous. Scripted (from Patricia Highsmith’s story) and directed by Minghella, “Ripley” is something of an “English Patient” reunion for much of the production team.

The 1950s-set story follows the movements of the solitary, indistinguishable music-loving, love-hungry bathroom attendant Tom Ripley (Matt Damon – Saving Private Ryan, Good Will Hunting) after a chance encounter with the millionaire Herbert Greenleaf (James Rebhorn – Snow Falling on Cedars, The Game). Under the mistaken impression that New York-based Ripley was at Princeton with his playboy son, Dickie (Jude Law – Gattaca, eXistenZ), Greenleaf commissions him to retrieve the charismatic Dickie from Italy, where he is enjoying the good life with his novelist fiancé Marge (Gwyneth Paltrow – Emma, Sliding Doors).

Armed with $1000, Ripley embarks on his journey, becomes absorbed and soon obsessed with Dickie and Marge’s cultured and carefree lifestyle, and goes to extreme lengths to obtain and retain it. His desire to be a fake somebody over a real nobody forms the crux of his motivation, and I found it impossible to completely disprove his zealousness. As he says, “Nobody thinks that they are a bad person…[everything you do] make sense in your head at the time.”

Much of the success of this film rests on the excellent casting which is rounded out by Philip Seymour Hoffman (Boogie Nights, Happiness) as Dickie’s best friend and fellow playboy Freddie; Cate Blanchett (Elizabeth, An ideal Husband) is cast in a pivotal role as the young and innocent American heiress Meredith; and Jack Davenport (TV’s This Life) is sublime as the kind, loving and graceful musician Peter.

I have to admit that I have previously found both Matt Damon and Gwyneth Paltrow highly overrated (I still can’t believe she won the Oscar) but I must take it back for these performances. Damon is appropriately mysterious and creepy. His boyish good looks, naivete and curiosity are worked beautifully into the persona of Ripley. It is fascinating to watch as he develops (or was he always?) into a complicated, misunderstood wannabe with a blackened soul, and ultimately, a psychopathic killer. Paltrow is excellent doing her someone-once-told-me-I-was-the-new-Grace-Kelly standard, as a victim of circumstance. Extra credit to Minghella for realising their potential.

Two performers whom I have no doubt about are Jude Law and Cate Blanchett. For both of them, the term luminous comes to mind. They don’t even need to open their mouths to give brilliant performances. As the spoiled and irresponsible socialite in “Ripley”, Jude is both likeable and unsympathetic whilst Cate is perfect as the potential “exposee” Meredith.

Australian film legend John Seale (The English Patient, Witness) continues his sensational cinematographic record with his lush interpretation of the Italian settings which, thankfully, does not overpower the narrative. Another Minghella regular, editor Walter Murch (The Godfather Trilogy, Ghost) and production designer Roy Walker (Eyes Wide Shut, The Killing Fields) outdo themselves, whilst “Sabrina” and “Mambo Kings” team Gary Jones and the legendary Ann Roth (what hasn’t she worked on?) produce their usual Award-winning costumes.

Don’t expect a cliched “alls-well-that-ends-well” ending. This intriguing film is about characters and inner turmoil not police sirens and car chases. Like “American Beauty”, it’s a film that is enjoyed afterwards for the thoughts that linger in your mind. “Ripley” is a well paced morality tale about lies, love, ambition and identity with a dark undercurrent of suspense. Don’t miss it. (Natasha Wood-filmnet.org.au)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3426&reviewer=169
originally posted: 03/14/00 01:49:48
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/22/17 morris campbell not a bad flick 4 stars
5/17/17 Louise Love this film - seen it several times. Brilliantly made and great story. 5 stars
5/24/14 The king Stunning italian backdrop with great disturbing story 5 stars
5/06/14 Jason Probably Damon's best performance 5 stars
2/06/14 PAUL SHORTT OVERLONG, DISTURBING, SLOPPY SUSPENSE DRAMA, DESPITE GOOD PERFORMANCES 2 stars
2/07/11 Pamela White Contrived is the word, terrible not talented at all 2 stars
2/09/10 Craig D. An insulting dumbing down of the story. Read the book or watch Purple Noon instead. 2 stars
10/28/09 the dork knight Mostly crap. And I think they forgot to add an ending. 3 stars
10/06/08 Mike B Freaking great movie. I don't care what you say 5 stars
8/15/07 The Sucky MR. Ripley The voice impressions sucked, his life sucked, this movie sucked. 1 stars
1/11/07 Phil M. Aficionado Could we make it any more contrived? Not possible? OK, just had to ask. 2 stars
1/10/07 David Pollastrini not horrible 2 stars
8/12/05 ES Zzzzz... huh what? =thank god its over 1 stars
3/02/05 Andrea Hale The Great Gatsby meets Alfred Hitchcock! Destined to be a classic. 5 stars
2/13/05 John Bale Well crafted and acted off beat thriller with great scenary 4 stars
12/31/04 DM Creepy and unsettling 4 stars
5/27/04 Vince Loved this one. Highly Recommended! 5 stars
4/10/04 Kendall Tomlinson The best film I've seen in the last 20 years! 5 stars
3/18/04 u've The film is great esp with Jude Law. He's definitely way hotter than Damon. 5 stars
1/19/04 Helen Bradley Matt excellent, last scene a problem 5 stars
1/08/04 A F Boring yet strangly boring 3 stars
12/20/03 Kent I simply loved this film. Captures the 50's 5 stars
9/22/03 Darryl Damon sucks in everything. At least the story here is pretty interesting. 3 stars
5/22/03 JL Sounds good, but when i tried to watch it i got bored & left half way through. 3 stars
4/02/03 Marcia Lartz Philip Seymour Hoffman gives best performance; Jude Law's Oscar nom. made no sense. 3 stars
12/07/02 Kyle I don't like Damon very much. But Law is luscious! 4 stars
11/28/02 Lady who hates romantic comedies Jude Law is 1000+ times hotter than Matt Damon - Gwyneth is paltry as always 4 stars
11/01/02 Jenny Madere The movie's unexpected events made it intresting to watch 4 stars
10/28/02 Butterbean It's something I'll see only once, but I just wanted to give Ripley a hug. 3 stars
9/22/02 Brahmsian Gwyneth is gorgeous, and the scenery is too, but the movie? Snore City. 2 stars
9/14/02 Riki Once you can understand the characters, this movie is AMAZING. 5 stars
8/08/02 . Just a weird movie, BOOOOORINGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG 2 stars
6/06/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi god, i hated this, id rather watch.....ants phucking each other...hehehe, thatd be funny... 1 stars
4/02/02 Marcia Lartz Philip Seymour Hoffman gives best performance; Jude Law's Oscar nom. made no sense. 3 stars
12/25/01 ryan movie is methodical but not boring 5 stars
8/29/01 Gary A solid, stylish adaptation. Damon is a fantastic actor & Blanchett lights up the screen. 4 stars
8/18/01 Mike The movie was more boring than a root canal. 1 stars
7/15/01 Josh Tybur I'm sorry, the acting was great, but this movie bored me to tears. 1 stars
6/21/01 Gary Acting is excellent, particularly Blanchett and Damon, but is overlong and lacked impact. 3 stars
5/31/01 Dann What a cool film! Why do most of the people here not like it? I loved the ending. 4 stars
5/31/01 Matt Dorsey Despite fine acting and an origional feel, still one of the worst movies I've seen. Go fig. 2 stars
5/26/01 Basil I felt really sorry for Tom. God I hated Gwyenth Paltrow. 5 stars
4/23/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Subtle themes of sex and mental illness, which work beautifully. Gwyneth still blows goats 4 stars
4/09/01 ChErRyRiPe What a boring piece of shit! 1 stars
3/20/01 hum avoided this due to all the hype. sorry I didnt see it sooner. 4 stars
2/14/01 Jake Good have been so much better. Lost interest after first hour 2 stars
1/26/01 movie chick A damned fine movie if you ask me. 5 stars
1/15/01 Yoshi What idot could think this piece of absolute shit was entertaining?I'd rather watch Pokemon 1 stars
12/24/00 Marc Lookout Hated every second. Faggot shit. Ripley talented only at sucking dick. 1 stars
11/06/00 F. W. Awesome! Matt Damon excels. Every bit as gripping as the novel. 5 stars
10/04/00 Elvisfan Gwynnie aside, I liked it very much. Matt & Jude & Cate were great 4 stars
9/03/00 The Extreaminizer Horrible Matt Damon........Get Back to Good Will Hunting......Bagger Vance will save you... 1 stars
8/03/00 Jed Acting was alright but the film goes down in flaws and is overlong. 3 stars
7/31/00 Matthew Bartley Quite possibly the worst film ever!Sucks all ass does not even come close! 1 stars
7/30/00 Jude Law is superb! Chris 5 stars
7/24/00 Boy In The Designer Bubble Nothing like the book. Rewritten to please stupid Hollywood folks. Ripley should kill them. 1 stars
7/05/00 Michael Grimm ending blew chunks, director is full of himself 1 stars
4/11/00 Ernie Levesque Tiring and Ambivalent. Paltrow is wonderful. 3 stars
4/07/00 Tim This movie bored me and I couldn't wait to get out of the theater 2 stars
3/29/00 Jessica Brilliant. Any movie that shows Matt and Jude naked is all right by me. 5 stars
3/27/00 Richard Wright A well acted, gripping film with surprises aplenty and a career best performance from MD. 4 stars
3/27/00 Linn Cool, so deep so thoughful! 5 stars
3/15/00 Chloe Sesta Jacobs CRAP! It was made out to be one of the best movies out. Too long. Matt was crap! 1 stars
3/04/00 Phlipit Jude Law's Butt 5 stars
3/03/00 Matthew Bartley Pompous, boring, badly acted, over inflated crap 1 stars
3/01/00 Booyah! Crap. But then Minghella's stuff is always overrated. 2 stars
2/29/00 Rachem it was an ok flick, great cinematography and such, but i say relegate it to the renter pile 3 stars
2/26/00 Allan Spellbinding. Beautifully made. Cate Blanchett/Jack Davenport-THE BEST. 5 stars
2/25/00 Matthew Smith terrific performances, a thriller in hitchcockian style. 5 stars
2/24/00 Mic Bland, predictable, implausible, contrived, unconvincing. 3 stars
2/24/00 tom matt damon--wheres the oscar nom, or the oscar for that matter 5 stars
2/16/00 Heather One of the year's best! 5 stars
2/12/00 Skye Chapman very pretty, but hardly profound. the gay guy did it (again!) 4 stars
2/11/00 CRAIG BEST THERE'S MUCH MORE HERE THERE INITIALLY MEETS THE EYE; A VERY RICH SUBTEXT 4 stars
2/10/00 Greg Harris Hot Hot Hot Matt Damon 5 stars
2/06/00 jess wonderfully disturbing. 5 stars
2/06/00 Kyle Broflovski Somebody kill Gwyneth Paltrow. I'm sick of that overrated, whey-faced toothpick. 2 stars
2/06/00 Adelina Minghella has produced yet another wonderful film. Everything about it was just superb. 5 stars
1/30/00 Kevin Cho, movie-buff Oscar-worthy - 2nd best film of the year, BEST big-producer movie. 5 stars
1/30/00 P.S.O.K it was slow as hell! at least i had a nice picture to look at. 4 stars
1/30/00 Charles Improved on the book 5 stars
1/29/00 Ami the Wonderbread Fantastic. Loved the story, the characters, the visuals, and Jude's performance! 5 stars
1/23/00 chick a great, great movie, a little slow, but *very* disturbing. 5 stars
1/21/00 tom the book is good but the movie is amazing-the oscar shouldhave damons name all over it 5 stars
1/21/00 LC Too slow! It was nice to take a $7 trip to Italy. 3 stars
1/18/00 Mike Hunt Chilling. Reminiscent of thrillers of the past. Damon is tremendous (in every scene)! 5 stars
1/18/00 Jerry Endeecott I love this film, fucking creepy, but also fucking good!! 5 stars
1/18/00 Karean Peterson This Movie Sucks. I would wait to see this movie on NBC. I almost went to sleep!! 2 stars
1/17/00 vickie All characters brilliantly played & you'll be talking and thinking about it for a long time 5 stars
1/17/00 Bueller Extremely well made and disturbing film. Damon was laughable while imitating Paltrow. 3 stars
1/16/00 Joe Shapira Creepy but wonderfully acted! 5 stars
1/13/00 Corey Shaw It Was Pure Unadulterated CRAP!!! 1 stars
1/12/00 Gracia totally shitty 1 stars
1/12/00 Carl A dark indentifiaction with Ripley may prompt the viewer to stay witht the movie. 4 stars
1/11/00 Maruice Nelsona I love this film!!! Very deep, dark, and terrifying, with excellent acting!!! 5 stars
1/11/00 Linda I found it disturbing but overall it didn't gel--but Jude Law is beautiful. 4 stars
1/10/00 Marlowe I want my 2 hours back. 1 stars
1/10/00 Zode Just what kind of movie is this, anyways? 2 stars
1/10/00 sherrie matt could have taken on more characteristics of dickie to create more of a mystery! 3 stars
1/07/00 Marcellous Wallace The best film I've seen in years! Don't miss it! 5 stars
1/07/00 Marvice Nelson What can't Anthony Minghella do? Matt was great too. 5 stars
1/06/00 StapleGirl Jude Law made the whole film. 4 stars
1/06/00 marcy piss poor acting/piss poor plot (tended to jump around a lot). and the ending. no..just no. 1 stars
1/06/00 Richard Miller Dark and creep, excellent acting, overall great film! 5 stars
1/06/00 Jerry Nicolason This film surpassed every expectation of mine, I absolutely loved it! 5 stars
1/06/00 Richard Miller Dark and creep, excellent acting, overall great film! 5 stars
1/06/00 meg Gorgeous scenery, good musical score, fabulous cast, but it left me feeling dank. 3 stars
1/05/00 Ryan Phillipe got hit by a car and it rules! This movie was about as fun as getting fucked in the ass by aliens w/ sladgehammer heads 1 stars
1/05/00 Laura Keating Jude Law is brilliant, film is beautiful, but story is dumbed down. The book was better. 4 stars
1/05/00 Jen absolutely amazing! 5 stars
1/05/00 jules the acting and filming superb-but so CREEPY i wanted to walk out 4 stars
1/04/00 Harvey Richardson The best film of the year! Nothing short of a masterpiece!! Go Matt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/04/00 Harvey Richardson The best film of the year! Nothing short of a masterpiece!! Go Matt!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
1/04/00 Anthony B. So fucking good!! 5 stars
1/04/00 MAXOMENOS This movie felt like I was taking a bad drug. The acting was great, the plot sickening. 2 stars
1/04/00 ScottA2001 Tight story & makes sense all the way around 5 stars
1/03/00 SJKelley Damon makes up for his bad acting in Private Ryan. Jude Law! Too many contrivances at end. 4 stars
1/03/00 Jo Jo The Idiot Circus Boy It's about ME! IT'S ABOUT ME!!!!! 5 stars
1/03/00 Ben Ryan Is there anything Matt Damon is bad at? Doubtful 5 stars
1/03/00 George Whelan III Exptriatism at its best! 4 stars
1/03/00 El Tigre Beautifully filmed, nicely creepy. 5 stars
1/02/00 oiu [kpk 5 stars
1/02/00 Adam Hey, ambiguity in a movie's good...but not when it bogs the story down 1 stars
12/31/99 natasha I can't wait to see it again without the loud people who couldn't appreciate it. 5 stars
12/30/99 K. Lackey A hauntingly errotic tale that leaves you wanting more. 5 stars
12/30/99 Richard Miller What a great film!! I loved every second of it, I've already seen it twice,it's sooo good! 5 stars
12/30/99 blue b. A bit disturbing, but definitely worth seeing. 4 stars
12/30/99 Theresa Loiacano Wonderfully acted by Matt Damon. Makes a star of Jude Law. 4 stars
12/30/99 Jimmy Chang Beautiful and unsettling, especially the ending. A lengthy film without a dull moment. 5 stars
12/29/99 Anthony Burroughs Absolutelty, fucking brilliant! Nothing short of a masterpiece! 5 stars
12/29/99 Alexis What a creepy movie - good acting but too creepy for my tasts. 3 stars
12/29/99 kevin miller i feel the opposite about damon. thought he wasn't believable enough. everyone else good . 4 stars
12/28/99 Gene Miller Mr. Ripley's talent was to bore his audience to death. About forty people walked out . 1 stars
12/28/99 Dorien Grey Disturbing movie--it would have been much better had the last three minutes been left out. 4 stars
12/27/99 Magyarpoet Who could idenify with some spoiled rich punks living well in Europe. Not believable story 1 stars
12/27/99 jenn "Blu Smrf" i agree with malbert, way over hyped with not enough story to back it up 3 stars
12/26/99 Malbert Overhyped, Matt Damon is extremely creepy&definitely pulls off his character 4 stars
12/24/99 Marc Amazing film. Matt Damon sends chills up my spine. One of the best films of the year. 5 stars
12/22/99 Andy Little more than a travelogue of pretty places and pretty faces 3 stars
12/19/99 dick-78 An amazing story with many twists and turns. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  24-Dec-1999 (R)
  DVD: 21-May-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  24-Feb-2000




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast