More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.49

Awesome73.75%
Worth A Look: 11.25%
Average: 8.75%
Pretty Bad: 2.5%
Total Crap: 3.75%

2 reviews, 68 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

Fashionista by Jay Seaver

I Love You, Daddy by Rob Gonsalves

Jailbreak by Jay Seaver

Attraction (2017) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Picnic at Hanging Rock
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Stephen Groenewegen

"Notes on a favourite"
5 stars

Picnic is arguably the most impressive and influential film of the Australian “New Wave” of the 1970s.

The performances are all superb – AFI nominated were Helen Morse for Mlle de Poitiers, the sympathetic and seemingly weak French mistress who proves the strongest of the teachers; Anne Lambert, who manages to make Miranda slightly more than a symbol and expression of other characters’ longing; and Tony Llewellyn-Jones as Tom, the Irish handyman who beds Minnie the maid (Jacki Weaver). Llewellyn-Jones’ nomination was the most surprising for such a small role, but he affects an accent and was familiar from starring in Paul Cox’s Illuminations around the same time. Rachel Roberts’ monolithic Mrs Appleyard should also have found favour, but perhaps slipped between lead and supporting categories or fell victim to patriotic fervour.

Particularly touching is the friendship across classes between rugged Bertie (a marvellous John Jarratt) and the awkward English Fitzhubert (Dominic Guard), whose obsession with Miranda allows him to experience more of Australian life than his stuffy British elders.

Weir’s direction is superbly evocative, and Cliff Green’s screenplay intriguing without ever being arch. Besides Bruce Smeaton’s original score, the use of classical music – and of course Georghe Zamfir’s pan pipe flutes – adds considerable texture.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3437&reviewer=104
originally posted: 07/25/03 17:40:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Australian series, click here.

User Comments

2/06/17 Louise Haunting, unsettling & atmospheric - it draws you right in. 5 stars
3/29/15 stanley welles an evocative, impressionistic masterwork 5 stars
12/08/11 hurdygurdy man Beautifully crafted backdrop not sustained by punchless storyline. 3 stars
11/16/11 Dr.Lao A true horror movie, as opposed to a mere bloodfest 5 stars
4/08/11 art one verySPOOKY MOTION PITCURE! 3 stars
1/27/10 PAUL SHORTT ATMOSPHERIC, HAUNTING AND EFFECTIVELY MYSTERIOUS 5 stars
8/18/07 chienne U should go 2 Hanging Rock, I did. Feel it b4 u pass judgement. 5 stars
10/16/06 Indrid Cold Not sure exactly what it's about, but the rock is indeed a strange, unsettling metaphor. 4 stars
5/18/06 chienne I am very proud of this Oz offering 2 cinema history..it's gorgeous 5 stars
5/04/06 Supriti Bose Awesome Movie...like to see it once again. 5 stars
4/06/06 MP Bartley Beautiful, compelling, eerie, terrifying. Stunningly directed. 5 stars
4/08/05 Jerry Scheschy it's an outstanding, spellbinding film. 5 stars
11/18/04 Jade i had to whatch it for a school assignment, and i was hooked it made me think , Great! 5 stars
3/27/04 Amy C hypnotic, haunting, errie but all the while beautiful 5 stars
3/25/04 Sally Its Beauitful 5 stars
3/24/04 Carla Errie, compelling and enthralling 4 stars
11/21/03 Nut Great atmosphere. You are emotionally pulled into the film 5 stars
9/24/03 Lesley-anne Maher If it really is based on actual events, i would give my teeth to know what happened to them 5 stars
9/23/03 natasha352003 Excellent movie 5 stars
9/09/03 Pia It was excellent yet a little frustrating 5 stars
9/01/03 Anna Bloody excellent 5 stars
8/31/03 jackie it was alright i found it intresting 3 stars
8/31/03 Heather Stuart This is a really well acted movie 4 stars
8/27/03 Em it was ok, bit boring 3 stars
8/20/03 race good 3 stars
8/19/03 melanie it was wierd 1 stars
6/10/03 Geoff A haunting film, the sexual tension and repression are captured superbly 5 stars
4/12/03 alex martin it was good cause all the girls were cute 5 stars
4/12/03 lauren martin crap as 1 stars
4/12/03 lauren hoystead it was stupid they should have found the girls 1 stars
4/12/03 Rosie Higgins just are question no one knows that i have asked... are miranda and marion sisters 5 stars
4/12/03 Rosie Higgins I think if they had got more searchers out and looked for longer for the 2 girls. 5 stars
3/27/03 Brenda Cooper hauntingly memorable, one of my ten best 5 stars
2/19/03 Emily interesting 3 stars
2/08/03 Fred Levy One of the great films 5 stars
12/23/02 Martin Hankin Brilliant, intriguing and haunting film. The musical score is superb. Must see! 5 stars
12/14/02 sandy howard spectacular 5 stars
12/09/02 jen hollingbery brilliant and timeless 5 stars
10/09/02 George Sweeney New age jumble. Expected to see John Tesch in the rocks. 2 stars
7/13/02 bdgvhjxhudhu Id vjhvvvcshunbsdgsbggsfvfK hcvydsd dscdsf fgyvv dffwf ea g ad gegaegaegea egeageag rhtr r 5 stars
3/24/02 Bryony Pearson i thought it was gonna be boring, but wow was it really enthralling!!! worth a see!! 5 stars
2/05/02 Gordon Beautiful, haunting film with subtle eroticism and a really spooky first half. 5 stars
2/03/02 Erikoll The ending is so so, but the first two thirds is brilliant. 4 stars
12/07/01 Julian Byatt My favorite film of all time! 5 stars
10/19/01 Patricia Tunstall An excellent movie 5 stars
9/21/01 Mike McDonald Hauntingly beautiful; thought provoking 5 stars
8/12/01 jade excellent 5 stars
8/12/01 dani sutherland it was great but left me in to much suspence so i was wondering if anyone new the realstory 4 stars
7/25/01 kerry voigt brilliant film 5 stars
4/25/01 viking The film which put Australian cinema on the map. 5 stars
4/22/01 Prue Good resourse for our history assingment 4 stars
4/03/01 sarah a beautiful and haunting soundtrack that compliments an equally haunting film. 5 stars
2/15/01 R.W. Welch A strikingly beautiful picture, but it does leave you hanging. 4 stars
2/14/01 stephanie field beautiful 5 stars
2/06/01 renee crawford iT WAS THE BEST MOVIE 5 stars
12/07/00 Hatice its great 5 stars
11/05/00 sam evans of its time 4 stars
9/24/00 Jeremy Hurtz Sumptuous and haunting. Sublime. 5 stars
7/13/00 Tom One of my all-time favorite films 5 stars
7/08/00 Chris Drake What, pray tell, was in those 7 cut minutes? A murder mystery, veiled in smoke/mirrors 4 stars
6/28/00 Jeffrye Tveraas Etherial, subconcious and thoroughly enthralling. Also slightly upsetting. 5 stars
5/30/00 Michael Grimm aussies suck!!! 2 stars
5/23/00 Jane Rawoof Haunting and atmospheric!! 5 stars
5/19/00 tank One of those overrated, boring Australian films that few Aussies are willing to denigrate. 3 stars
1/17/00 k.tomkowski Superb, especially direction. A classic 5 stars
12/19/99 Mooyok Masterpiece. Just eery. 5 stars
12/11/99 dimitri limios its a video film not big screen 5 stars
12/08/99 Booyah! A regular fucking masterpiece. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Jun-1988 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  08-Aug-1975




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast