More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.23

Awesome: 10.23%
Worth A Look: 25%
Average42.05%
Pretty Bad: 22.73%
Total Crap: 0%

5 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Tomorrow Never Dies
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"Is it a Bond movie or a 2-hour commercial for BMW?"
2 stars

You know you're in trouble when you find out the latest Bond movie is directed by the same guy who directed Stop! Or My Mom Will Shoot!

First, Pierce Brosnan is no Sean Connery. But then, neither were George Lazenby, Roger Moore, or Timothy Dalton. But for some reason, I like Brosnan less than the others (Dalton excluded). I can't quite figure out why.

So here we have Bond 18, known as Tomorrow Never Dies. The bad guy? Elliot Carver, a media baron, played with glee by Jonathon Pryce. Kind of a Rupert Murdoch with gun-toting henchmen. Carver has a thing about writing headlines for his newspapers and television news shows and then making those events come true, like sinking British ships off the coast of China and making it look like the Chinese did it. Our boy James has an inside to Carver: he used to get busy with Carver's wife Paris (a lifeless Teri Hatcher). So he makes his way into Carver's place and meets Wai Lin (Michelle Yeoh), who turns out to be working for the Chinese government the way Bond does for the Brits. She's like the female Bond.

What follows is the usual Bond stuff: action, high tech gadgets, product placement out the ass (phones, watches, anything with a BMW logo on it), double entendres and Bond getting a girl. It's a little livelier this time around because of Yeoh, because quite frankly, she's hot, and she can kick very nearly everyone's ass.

But Brosnan's wooden, and Hatcher, while moderately good looking, is just stinky. She and Brosnan have zero chemistry together (word is they didn't get along on set, and it shows). Pryce is all right as Carver, but he has this habit of pounding keys on a hand-held keyboard thathe carries around with him. He writes his headlines (they show up on a big ol' video wall behind him), but all he's really doing is hitting stuff at random, so instead of seeing "BRITISH BATTLESHIP SINKS IN SOUTH CHINA SEA" or something, we'd see "asdfjudskfngubiydzfgsa." But we don't.

Ah, movies.

Not the best Bond.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=344&reviewer=7
originally posted: 10/10/98 02:11:23
[printer] printer-friendly format  
James Bond: For more in the James Bond series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell a good bond movie imho 4 stars
7/23/12 Monday Morning They're all starting to look alike. F 'em all! 2 stars
8/30/09 Jeff Wilder Better than Goldeneye. Here we get to the point quickly and Brosnan does good. 4 stars
3/19/09 PAUL SHORTT HEAVY HANDED EXTRAVAGANZA WITH SILLY ONE-LINERS AND A FOOLISH STORY 2 stars
11/10/08 Mark Gibson formula-yes, but at least it occupies 2 hours nicely, villian-terrible. 4 stars
1/21/08 alya de arora i just can say Good Good Good 5 stars
5/08/07 JM Synth A Bond movie which manages to be genuinely bland. One of the very weakest 2 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday Decent movie, but not one of the better Bond stories. 3 stars
2/16/07 johnnyfog Not bad, despite boring-ass scenes in Japan 3 stars
2/15/07 I Gluck Love Brosnan as Bond, I thought this one was good not great 3 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega Exciting, but lacking on something new 4 stars
1/23/07 Sepi53 Good action, not greatest Bond-film, but Brosnan is good 4 stars
11/11/06 Eden Fairly formulaic. Lacks the energy and style of Goldeneye, has crap villians 3 stars
10/30/06 ProSneakyD Better than goldeneye, a very hi tech bond adventure, but it feels slow & drags on a bit. 4 stars
6/10/06 Yorkee This continues the fresh approach - good effort. 4 stars
5/18/06 Uk_shooter quite a good bond film, but not the best 4 stars
1/03/06 Anthony Feor A good one, but lacking a bit of what Bond is 3 stars
8/26/05 Eden Sometimes gets boring, especially towards the end 3 stars
5/27/05 tony Explosive scenes of martial arts. But sometimes slow. It was an ok film. 3 stars
4/13/05 Indrid Cold Quite weak and forgettable, the villian is oddly unlikeable. 2 stars
2/06/05 Tom Benton Another entertaining, slick and stylish entry in the 007 series ... 3 stars
1/08/05 keithers.. Nice Plot....but starting to slip into die hard style.... 4 stars
8/31/04 R.W. Welch Evil genius out to destroy the world for his own gain, etc.,etc. 3 stars
7/18/04 Daveman Mind-numbingly superificial but at least it's more entertaining than subsequent Bond films. 2 stars
5/08/04 Littlepurch. Not the best but gd. Brosnan says he wants 2 work wif that woman again, I can see why! 4 stars
11/29/03 john a sadly uninspired Bond film 2 stars
11/21/03 rony i never watch james bond, but this ONE I watched for Michelle Yeoh!!!go yeoh!!go yeoh!!^_^ 5 stars
8/02/03 Stefan Halka This film proves that there is more to an action film than action. Like a plot. 3 stars
7/06/03 Paul S. Magic moments: Michelle Yeoh walking down a wall, Yeoh kicking arse, Yeoh`s Q-scene, Yeoh. 5 stars
5/16/03 mr. Pink Okay. not bad. Quite entertaining. Bla-bla-bla 3 stars
1/22/03 Angolmois Bond movies were always shallow, but this one scrapes the bottom of the barrel. 2 stars
12/04/02 Jiz Brosnan's best. The partner thing actually worked, and Stamper's a real badass 5 stars
9/17/02 CVJ Not a very good bond at all Brosnans worst 2 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee One of the more underrated bond films. Michelle Yeoh is superb. 4 stars
9/20/01 Butterbean Bronson and Dence were brilliant, but the story wore thin 3 stars
9/09/01 Henry Ginsberg Wicked stunts.The end sequence is as good as any. 5 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat (formerly Joe Zappa) The second time is bad, but the next time is better. 3 stars
6/04/01 keith langman alright movie can't recap the original bond movies 3 stars
2/26/01 Bruce My personal favorite Bond film, Michelle Yeoh is awesome 5 stars
2/16/01 Chris Drake Brosnan grew on me:endearing!Yeoh=Wow,dear Pryce needs new dentist.Great action,esp@Saigon 4 stars
12/01/00 joe at least it's better than TWINE 4 stars
10/24/00 Gremlin The plot's so fucking gay it's ridiculous.The only good part was hot-as-hell Terri Hatcher. 2 stars
6/26/00 Naushad Khanji Brosnin is the worst Bond ever!.The formula looks tired. 2 stars
6/24/00 Terrie Smith Predictable but Brosnan and Yeoh work well together 3 stars
5/29/00 Cooke Bond is awesome. 5 stars
11/19/99 bishopj@pumpkinsfan.com Jesus Christ, this was so sucky and predictable. 2 stars
2/09/99 bond some good action scenes, but overall a crap movie 2 stars
1/10/99 Dasha Pierce Brosnan is the best Bond ever, but the movie was average 3 stars
1/09/99 Jo Mama man wants to take over the world...yadda yadda yadda. VERY predictable 2 stars
12/06/98 Ryano Wai Lin=best female character in Bond movie ever. Brosnan=cool. Movie=Top-notch. 5 stars
10/17/98 Sailor Moonn Ate My Balls If you Goldeneye, then this movie is for you. Pierce Brosnan forever! 4 stars
10/01/98 Paul Maki Without Michelle Yeoh where would this movie be. 5 stars
9/25/98 Des Bromilow It's BOND through and through, what more? 4 stars
9/07/98 BBReBozo Michelle Yeoh = 7 bucks from BBReBozo 4 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Some witty dialogue would have helped 007. Plot was idiotic. 3 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet Teri Hatcher died. Early. Bravisimo. 3 stars
8/17/98 Johny I think Bond only said like 100 words in this film 3 stars
8/17/98 {{{OZ}}} A dumb premise all around. This franchise is dying. 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  19-Dec-1997 (PG-13)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast