More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
4.14

Awesome53.52%
Worth A Look: 21.13%
Average: 16.9%
Pretty Bad: 2.82%
Total Crap: 5.63%

4 reviews, 47 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood by Peter Sobczynski

Lion King, The (2019) by Peter Sobczynski

Stare by Jay Seaver

DreadOut by Jay Seaver

S He by Jay Seaver

We Are Little Zombies by Jay Seaver

Lion King, The (2019) by alejandroariera

Darlin' by Jay Seaver

Astronaut (2019) by Jay Seaver

White Storm 2: Drug Lords, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Full Monty, The
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"You'll laugh."
5 stars

English comedy takes a certain sensibility to really enjoy. If you enjoy Red Dwarf, Black Adder, that kind of thing, you'll love The Full Monty.

If you can't really deal with the non-obvious humor of English comedy, or you just don't know what a "git" is, then perhaps you should go elsewhere.

The Full Monty is not just a movie that relies on the concept of fat guys stripping to get it's laughs, it's much deeper than that. But you have to look for the depth, or at least know to look.

Robert Carlysle (Trainspotting) is a fantastic actor. His support cast in this film are all journeyman British actors who'd never have seen the inside of a US cineplex, and all that combined with a great script makes this interesting fare.

If it had been made in Hollywood, the title roles would have been played by Wesley Snipes, John Leguizamo and Patrick Swayze, but thankfully it wasn't. (Thanks Wong Foo.)

Don't be fooled by the male stripper angle - there's not a whole lot of flesh exposed here and what little is will hardly embarass the homophobes in the audience.

This is just a funny movie, a well acted film, a well-paced project that fails rarely. You'll laugh.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=346&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/19/98 09:44:58
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/07/17 Louise Great fun - with the most uplifting ending I have ever seen - I always smile! 5 stars
7/17/07 David Cohen Funny and senstitive, why can't Hollywood make pictures like this? 5 stars
11/04/06 Dr Trevor j. Hawkeswood Worst film I have ever seen! 1 stars
10/23/06 allee it was ok! Nothing close to the best. Did have a cute ending though! 2 stars
4/21/06 Chris Olivier My favourite comedy 5 stars
11/28/05 Indrid Cold Great idea, funny and heartwarming. Not quite a classic though. 4 stars
2/12/04 Jenny Tullwartz I never got over my disappointment that it isn't a reuniting of the Monty Python folks. 3 stars
4/05/03 Jack Sommersby A major artistic miscalculation. Too self-adored and contexturally empty. 1 stars
8/03/02 Kino I believe in miracles! since you came along! You sexy thing! 5 stars
7/08/02 Henry Ginsberg The best Movie of all time OOOOOOHHHHHH! YEAH 5 stars
2/09/02 Bertha Venation the Broadway show stole lines directly from THIS movie, dear 5 stars
11/24/01 Andrew Carden If Wanna See Full Monty, See The Broadway Show. 1 stars
9/09/01 Gary Overrated & at times too sentimental, but still a well-acted and funny movie. 3 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg slightly over rated 4 stars
7/20/01 Gus Fucking Brilliant 5 stars
6/20/01 Elvisfan I normally hate 'crowd-pleasing' movies but I'll happily make an exception here 5 stars
3/17/01 lisa loved the gnomes. the kid was a bit of a right weaner 5 stars
3/02/01 Steve in Prague why is 13 year old teen critic II reviewing this film?????? 5 stars
2/26/01 Jun Great and wonderfully acted. No Hollywood movies can compete. 5 stars
2/13/01 Jake Touching and funny. 4 stars
12/09/00 clifford greenhill Get this shit outta HERE!!! 1 stars
8/23/00 Matthew Bartley very funny, very poignant 5 stars
7/12/00 Daren Redmond This is the David Beckham of films! Hyped, and overrated!! 4 stars
6/29/00 Terrie Smith Only the Brits could pull this off; nice to see Tom Wilkinson in a comedy role. Very funny. 5 stars
4/04/00 yankee funny movie, accents are hard to follow, where else is a man sandwiched in saran wrap 5 stars
3/24/00 Lesley funny 4 stars
1/09/00 Nicholas Anelka Dreary Brit-com, full of British bastards. 3 stars
12/10/99 seldom scene clever yet at times hard to understand the dialect 4 stars
10/30/99 Bozo Funny, touching, appealing actors - everything you want in a comedy & more 5 stars
6/15/99 Dylan This is brilliant. Carlisle is fantastic. Its a tragedy and a comedy amalgamated. Fantastic 5 stars
4/05/99 Cool Thing A very funny movie, if you don't expect it to be the second coming of Christ. 5 stars
2/02/99 Matthew Bartley Not witty but just,you know, funny. 4 stars
1/03/99 Dasha The guys were great, but really, it wasn't THAT good. 3 stars
11/13/98 Lord Of The Dunce Only cultural ignorance could stop you finding this movie funny. 5 stars
9/28/98 Heather I think I've seen this one too many times. I'm addicted! 5 stars
9/28/98 katherine FUNNY!!!! 5 stars
9/26/98 Maegs Carlysle turns out another memorable performance. The epitome of the comedy with heart 5 stars
9/25/98 ShadowStar A British comedy with a great storyline... go figure. Oh, 2 words: Garden Gnomes! 5 stars
9/16/98 Chuck-D just bad, I dunno why this got so much good press: slow, not funny, british = three strikes 2 stars
8/31/98 Mister Whoopee I'm down with this. Loved this film. 5 stars
8/26/98 Pete A great, great flick. Writing, acting, directing.. all top notch. See it. 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball Dull humor. Haha. I actually enjoyed it. Didn't think I would. 4 stars
8/24/98 JenniferLorraine If you have dull humor... you will enjoy this.. oh & get plenty of coffee. 3 stars
8/20/98 The Man With The Helmet Carlysle will be huge VERY soon. Great film. 5 stars
8/19/98 Johny It's no TRAINSPOTTING, but OK in it's own right 3 stars
8/18/98 zubilicious funny as hell, good soundtrack, solid acting. 4 stars
8/17/98 {{{OZ}}} A really funny film, without being too obvious. 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Aug-1997 (R)
  DVD: 06-Mar-2007

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Peter Cattaneo

Written by
  Simon Beaufoy

Cast
  Robert Carlysle
  Tom Wilkinson
  Mark Addy
  Paul Barber
  Steve Huison
  Hugo Speer



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast