More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.62

Awesome: 6.31%
Worth A Look: 2.7%
Average: 9.01%
Pretty Bad: 10.81%
Total Crap71.17%

8 reviews, 63 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Eye of the Beholder
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Dead daughters, snowglobes, and a bunch of other nonsense."
1 stars

I'm pleased to see that this movie opened (and closed) in January. It gives a solid benchmark for sheer crap. Everything that follows this year will earn the question "Was it as horrible as Eye of the Beholder?" I'm pleased to announce that I've already seen the worst movie of the year.

Hmmm....where to begin? Well, how about the fact that this movie has no plot, no drama, no excitement, it makes no sense, it has no sense of timing or pacing, the performances are bad, the script is a joke, the popcorn got stuck in my teeth, and this guy behind me had bad gas. All in all, I got what I deserved with this movie.

Me: "Yo guys, I wanna see something! What's out that we haven't seen?"

They: "Um....'Eye of the Beholder' or 'Down to You' or 'A Hit in the Head with a Brick'."

Me: "Let's ignore the fact that I cannot find ONE good review of this movie ANYWHERE. Let's just go."

So we went.

The first like 8 minutes was OK. There was some attmept at the setting up of a plot-like thing, maybe. Ewan (I charge extra to smile) McGregor is some mysterious guy who is hired to track down some rich jerk's son. The son gets stabbed rather boringly, and mystery dork follows the murderer around for 8 months while we watch. That's pretty much it. The idea that the beautiful and vapid Ashley Judd could leave a string of corpses all over the country is more amusing than interesting. Somebody flashes a gold necklace, they're dead. You see how it goes.

So she kills. He watches. She runs. He follows.

Oh, and then she kills, he watches, she runs and he follows.

He follows her everywhere. I swear this movie looked like it had funding from the "Visit America's Backwaters!" campaign. They start in Pittsburgh, then like Florida, Colorado, Maine, then somewhere warm, then Detroit, then Alaska. This movie is a travelogue only with lingerie and poorly staged murders.

The plot barely ambles on long enough to give us just wonderful glimpses of the acting talents long dormant in the likes of Jason ("Just booked on Hollywood Squares") Priestly and k.d. Lang. There really is no connections between scenes, characters wander around and stumble into coincidences, and it's stupid, too.

Our hero (?) sees visions of his overtly annoying daughter. She's not really there, just there enough to make every audience member confused and annoyed. Also, our auteur director apparently has a lot to say on the importance of SNOWGLOBES in lame-ass, pretentious movies. So he throws a bunch of snowglobe-segues and snowglobe fadeouts. I just explained it in a more clever way than he showed it.

Anyway, I've dedicated WAY too much time to this unwatchable mess. Trust me. If you decide to see it, just change your mind and send me half of the ticket price. You'll be saving money.

Dear Reader: The motion picture Eye of the Beholder is doody. I can no way in good faith recommend one celluloid frame in this boring and obnoxious display of amaturish pretense. If you insist upon seeing this film, I consider you a fool and I challenge you to enjoy it.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3461&reviewer=128
originally posted: 02/01/00 23:05:08
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/10/14 PAUL SHORTT DISJOINTED AND CLUMSY 2 stars
5/19/10 ikkin74 One of the worst things I've ever seen. 1 stars
7/26/09 the dork knight Fancies itself a bit of an art film. I wasn't entertained for one minute. 1 stars
12/16/07 mrsinister WOW. Bad. 1 stars
12/02/07 Charles Tatum Never connected to the flick, but not a disaster, either 3 stars
10/24/07 Ivana Mann Underrated, creative exploration of the thin line between love & obsession.Give it a chance 4 stars
9/23/07 Hard Rock Jane Austen Jack Sommersby, please say you're joking. Hundreds of other commentors can't be all wrong! 1 stars
9/22/07 Gretchen Seitz Possibly worst movie ever made until Judd made it look good by comparison to TWISTED. 1 stars
9/19/07 Sugarfoot So hilariously awful, too bad it's meant as a serious thriller. Awful, Awful Awful! 1 stars
10/29/04 Alan Bradbury This film makes Plan 9 from Outer Space look like Casablanca 1 stars
2/06/04 Mike This is literally the crappiest film ever made. 1 stars
12/21/03 Natalie Stonecipher You could film bouts of diarrhea I've had and make a better movie than this from them! 1 stars
11/05/03 anonomous bitch this movie suc kkkkks negrooooo 1 stars
10/31/03 Comic book guy Worst movie ever 1 stars
6/09/03 Say it ain't so, Ashley! The scariest part is, Ashley Judd so resembles the role she plays herein! 1 stars
3/27/03 Pam be Dextrous Low expectations when K.D. Lang plays least scary character, but film sinks way below them. 1 stars
3/04/03 Jack Sommersby Amisunderstood, shockingly original masterpiece. Judd and McGregor are first-rate. 5 stars
12/31/02 Jenna Furr I hope Ashley Judd shits in her pants every time she remembers what a monstrosity she made 1 stars
12/17/02 Eccentric Brit Woman kills. Man follows. WHY? Well, they forgot to explain why. 1 stars
12/03/02 Aileen Wuornos Ashley/Joanna is my fantasy love! I could be happy wallowing in her shit! 1 stars
11/21/02 Nicole Wright Absolutely Crap, worse film I've ever seen 1 stars
11/13/02 Natalie Stonecipher You could film bouts of diarrhea I've had and make a better movie than this from them! 1 stars
10/30/02 Jessica Davis (user-2ivfaq6.dialup.mindspring.com) How transparent! Ashley Judd really playing herself! 1 stars
10/16/02 Dingleberry How funny that the two people who like this can't spell. This is shit on celluloid. 1 stars
9/15/02 Crystal grate 5 stars
6/25/02 Law Ewan rocks, even if the movie did suck 3 stars
6/10/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi come on, i no this was pretty shit, but EWAN WAS IN IT!!! 5 stars
4/25/02 Jenna Furr I hope Ashley Judd shits in her pants every time she remembers what a monstrosity she made 1 stars
3/27/02 Bill O'Reilly If I can do it for 2 days, Ashley Judd should give Rosie diarrhea for 2 decades! 1 stars
3/04/02 Aileen Wuornos Ashley/Joanna is my fantasy love! I could be happy wallowing in her shit! 1 stars
2/19/02 Nicole Wright Absolutely Crap, worse film I've ever seen 1 stars
2/03/02 Allison Lafferty Really a sequel to DOUBLE JEOPARDY? Joanna Eris really Libby Parsons in disguise? 2 stars
1/29/02 Jessica Davis How transparent! Ashley Judd really playing herself! 1 stars
1/25/02 Melissa Zanus Is Ashley Judd Satan incarnate or what? 1 stars
9/20/01 Amber It tried, disappointing ending 3 stars
9/02/01 Kenny Thejet He follow, and follow and follow her until you get tired, and the end is really bad. 1 stars
3/26/01 nowak To me it was wonderful. Saw it twice. 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Unbearable...Judd, who was so good in Ruby in Paradise, has gone straight downhill. 1 stars
10/02/00 Image umm....and the point to the movie was.........????? 3 stars
8/18/00 Tim this movie sucked..watching paint dry was more exciting than this movie 1 stars
8/18/00 Bevan R. Clark Beguiling, slick and Ashley Judd is a revelation 5 stars
7/15/00 Kakki Made no sense. Was it an ashley judd fashion show? 1 stars
6/25/00 Emily I liked it! I don't know why it got such bad reveiws, I was drawn to watch it more. 4 stars
6/20/00 mahone crap is in the eye of the director 1 stars
6/07/00 Casper Absolute Crap. What was Ewan thinking???? 1 stars
3/26/00 Bitchface I loved this damn movie.... 5 stars
3/15/00 Lame-Oh sissy movie 1 stars
3/06/00 Captain Highcrime Nice to see home again (Montreal), too bad it had to be inbetween naps. 2 stars
2/29/00 cornbun deluxe this ought to win the best picture oscar....kd lang was amazing! i loved it! best film! 5 stars
2/29/00 Mr. Kramitall Horrible beyond recognition. What the hell was that? 1 stars
2/19/00 Mortis I'm haunted by this film..Amazing visuals 4 stars
2/15/00 Pizaster Made you think...about what, i have no idea. 2 stars
2/14/00 the fucker ashley judd's tits are HUGE!!... too bad the movie spoiled our sex! 1 stars
2/10/00 Karen terrible, senseless move, we walked out in the middle 1 stars
2/09/00 PhilmPhreak What the fuck was that? 1 stars
2/08/00 Ann Um...no 1 stars
2/06/00 Lame-Oh What a piece of junk. Can't beleieve I saw that wretched scum-butt! 1 stars
2/02/00 Tom I want my movie back for this crap 1 stars
1/31/00 Richard Hendricks Wife thought this was a nice chick flick.I knew it would suck.I was right. :) 1 stars
1/31/00 Janine Lay, RN Plot like molasses, acting sucked, terribly disapppointing ending, overall-sucked! 1 stars
1/30/00 scorched This movie blows!!! 1 stars
1/30/00 schmegs Completely senseless... 2 stars
1/29/00 Malbert Wow...pretty bad 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jan-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  10-Aug-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast