More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.62

Awesome: 6.31%
Worth A Look: 2.7%
Average: 9.01%
Pretty Bad: 10.81%
Total Crap71.17%

8 reviews, 63 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Eye of the Beholder
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Erik Childress

"To call Eye of the Beholder incoherent would be a compliment."
1 stars

If there is a worse movie than Eye of the Beholder in the year 2000 - then you should pray for a belated Y2K catastrophe to save us from it. Ashley Judd should pray that no other films such as this and "The Passion of Darkly Noon" come out of the celluloid closet to join Double Jeopardy in the trifecta of imperfection that now sits like a boil on the resume of a really good actress. At least Ewan McGregor has two more Star Wars films to fall back on - otherwise there's a bad film festival on cable in his future with a double bill of this and A Life Less Ordinary

Eye of the Beholder has all the makings of a good thriller…starring Shannon Tweed…in an “HBO World Premiere Movie”. In fact there have been HBO World Premiere Movies with more plot, character, action and coherency than the latest clue that Ashley Judd should fire her agent. Between Double Jeopardy and this, Judd is flying into a career abyss faster than you can say Pia Zadora. And that’s terrible because Judd really is a good actress. Kudos is deserved to the marketing people who cut the TV ads which, unlike Double Jeopardy, give us no idea what the film is about. Unfortunately, neither does the actual film. In a nutshell, Ewan McGregor is a British Intelligence Agent hired to follow a rich man’s son and see where all his money is going to. After essentially seeing a shot-by-shot remake of Grosse Pointe Blank for 15 minutes, Judd kills the guy’s son screaming “Merry Christmas Daddy” and for all intents and purposes should end McGregor’s interest in this case. But despite having the murder on tape, McGregor continues to follow her, apparently believing that no jury in the post-O.J. era would convict someone with such overwhelming evidence. But the body count mounts, even though no one seems to care that these people have died, and McGregor just continues to watch and watch and watch her – all the time listening (and talking to) his daughter who is there in spirit, if not flesh, even though she’s not dead. I think. Why is the “eye” so obsessed with this icy villainess? Because she’s hot, I suppose. And strips down to her underwear before carving a guy up. And she likes to walk naked in the rain (while washing blood off herself). And wears lacy teddies before shooting detectives point blank. With a woman like this, I’d be fishing pubic hairs out of her bathtub too, wouldn’t you? You will have no idea who to root for in the final hour of this film. First, Judd is a cold-blooded murderess who would make Sharon Stone envious then she becomes the poor stalking victim whom we’re supposed to forgive because her daddy abandoned her. McGregor selfishly tries to protect Judd in the second half, just McGregor is himself a daddy abandon, so it makes sense that these two are destined to be together in a star-crossed version of “Who’s your daddy?” This may have been just the film that would have driven Joel, Mike, Crow and Tom Servo nuts on the Satellite of Love. You have to start making jokes during this film just to keep your sanity. Chicago residents will laugh as the orange police cars pull up on the hilly streets of the city and announce themselves as the “federal police”. What kind of Kafkaesque acid trip is this? The audience present at my viewing let out a collective sign/laugh as the credits faded up. You can’t imagine seeing a worse film this year and you don’t want to imagine it. If I see a worse film than Eye of the Beholder all year – theaters ban me now so I can have my Friday nights free to see the next HBO World Premiere Movie.

Ashley Judd is better and naked in other films. If you want to see her naked and crazy like in Eye of the Beholder - rent Normal Life - an incredibly better film. Or even take a look at HBO's Norma Jean and Marilyn. Skip Eye of the Beholder at the theater, on video, and on cable.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3461&reviewer=198
originally posted: 02/10/00 08:15:30
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/10/14 PAUL SHORTT DISJOINTED AND CLUMSY 2 stars
5/19/10 ikkin74 One of the worst things I've ever seen. 1 stars
7/26/09 the dork knight Fancies itself a bit of an art film. I wasn't entertained for one minute. 1 stars
12/16/07 mrsinister WOW. Bad. 1 stars
12/02/07 Charles Tatum Never connected to the flick, but not a disaster, either 3 stars
10/24/07 Ivana Mann Underrated, creative exploration of the thin line between love & obsession.Give it a chance 4 stars
9/23/07 Hard Rock Jane Austen Jack Sommersby, please say you're joking. Hundreds of other commentors can't be all wrong! 1 stars
9/22/07 Gretchen Seitz Possibly worst movie ever made until Judd made it look good by comparison to TWISTED. 1 stars
9/19/07 Sugarfoot So hilariously awful, too bad it's meant as a serious thriller. Awful, Awful Awful! 1 stars
10/29/04 Alan Bradbury This film makes Plan 9 from Outer Space look like Casablanca 1 stars
2/06/04 Mike This is literally the crappiest film ever made. 1 stars
12/21/03 Natalie Stonecipher You could film bouts of diarrhea I've had and make a better movie than this from them! 1 stars
11/05/03 anonomous bitch this movie suc kkkkks negrooooo 1 stars
10/31/03 Comic book guy Worst movie ever 1 stars
6/09/03 Say it ain't so, Ashley! The scariest part is, Ashley Judd so resembles the role she plays herein! 1 stars
3/27/03 Pam be Dextrous Low expectations when K.D. Lang plays least scary character, but film sinks way below them. 1 stars
3/04/03 Jack Sommersby Amisunderstood, shockingly original masterpiece. Judd and McGregor are first-rate. 5 stars
12/31/02 Jenna Furr I hope Ashley Judd shits in her pants every time she remembers what a monstrosity she made 1 stars
12/17/02 Eccentric Brit Woman kills. Man follows. WHY? Well, they forgot to explain why. 1 stars
12/03/02 Aileen Wuornos Ashley/Joanna is my fantasy love! I could be happy wallowing in her shit! 1 stars
11/21/02 Nicole Wright Absolutely Crap, worse film I've ever seen 1 stars
11/13/02 Natalie Stonecipher You could film bouts of diarrhea I've had and make a better movie than this from them! 1 stars
10/30/02 Jessica Davis (user-2ivfaq6.dialup.mindspring.com) How transparent! Ashley Judd really playing herself! 1 stars
10/16/02 Dingleberry How funny that the two people who like this can't spell. This is shit on celluloid. 1 stars
9/15/02 Crystal grate 5 stars
6/25/02 Law Ewan rocks, even if the movie did suck 3 stars
6/10/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi come on, i no this was pretty shit, but EWAN WAS IN IT!!! 5 stars
4/25/02 Jenna Furr I hope Ashley Judd shits in her pants every time she remembers what a monstrosity she made 1 stars
3/27/02 Bill O'Reilly If I can do it for 2 days, Ashley Judd should give Rosie diarrhea for 2 decades! 1 stars
3/04/02 Aileen Wuornos Ashley/Joanna is my fantasy love! I could be happy wallowing in her shit! 1 stars
2/19/02 Nicole Wright Absolutely Crap, worse film I've ever seen 1 stars
2/03/02 Allison Lafferty Really a sequel to DOUBLE JEOPARDY? Joanna Eris really Libby Parsons in disguise? 2 stars
1/29/02 Jessica Davis How transparent! Ashley Judd really playing herself! 1 stars
1/25/02 Melissa Zanus Is Ashley Judd Satan incarnate or what? 1 stars
9/20/01 Amber It tried, disappointing ending 3 stars
9/02/01 Kenny Thejet He follow, and follow and follow her until you get tired, and the end is really bad. 1 stars
3/26/01 nowak To me it was wonderful. Saw it twice. 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Unbearable...Judd, who was so good in Ruby in Paradise, has gone straight downhill. 1 stars
10/02/00 Image umm....and the point to the movie was.........????? 3 stars
8/18/00 Tim this movie sucked..watching paint dry was more exciting than this movie 1 stars
8/18/00 Bevan R. Clark Beguiling, slick and Ashley Judd is a revelation 5 stars
7/15/00 Kakki Made no sense. Was it an ashley judd fashion show? 1 stars
6/25/00 Emily I liked it! I don't know why it got such bad reveiws, I was drawn to watch it more. 4 stars
6/20/00 mahone crap is in the eye of the director 1 stars
6/07/00 Casper Absolute Crap. What was Ewan thinking???? 1 stars
3/26/00 Bitchface I loved this damn movie.... 5 stars
3/15/00 Lame-Oh sissy movie 1 stars
3/06/00 Captain Highcrime Nice to see home again (Montreal), too bad it had to be inbetween naps. 2 stars
2/29/00 cornbun deluxe this ought to win the best picture oscar....kd lang was amazing! i loved it! best film! 5 stars
2/29/00 Mr. Kramitall Horrible beyond recognition. What the hell was that? 1 stars
2/19/00 Mortis I'm haunted by this film..Amazing visuals 4 stars
2/15/00 Pizaster Made you think...about what, i have no idea. 2 stars
2/14/00 the fucker ashley judd's tits are HUGE!!... too bad the movie spoiled our sex! 1 stars
2/10/00 Karen terrible, senseless move, we walked out in the middle 1 stars
2/09/00 PhilmPhreak What the fuck was that? 1 stars
2/08/00 Ann Um...no 1 stars
2/06/00 Lame-Oh What a piece of junk. Can't beleieve I saw that wretched scum-butt! 1 stars
2/02/00 Tom I want my movie back for this crap 1 stars
1/31/00 Richard Hendricks Wife thought this was a nice chick flick.I knew it would suck.I was right. :) 1 stars
1/31/00 Janine Lay, RN Plot like molasses, acting sucked, terribly disapppointing ending, overall-sucked! 1 stars
1/30/00 scorched This movie blows!!! 1 stars
1/30/00 schmegs Completely senseless... 2 stars
1/29/00 Malbert Wow...pretty bad 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jan-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  10-Aug-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast