More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.63

Awesome: 6.25%
Worth A Look: 2.68%
Average: 8.93%
Pretty Bad: 11.61%
Total Crap70.54%

8 reviews, 64 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Shape of Water, The by Jay Seaver

I, Tonya by Rob Gonsalves

Wonder Wheel by Peter Sobczynski

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Rob Gonsalves

Swindlers, The by Jay Seaver

Oro (Gold) by Jay Seaver

Disaster Artist, The by Peter Sobczynski

Explosion by Jay Seaver

Lucky (2017) by Rob Gonsalves

Breadwinner, The by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Eye of the Beholder
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by EricDSnider

"Another bad Ashley Judd thriller."
2 stars

Ashley Judd seems to be making a career out of doing crappy thrillers. Admire her for picking a genre and sticking with it, I guess.

First there was the ridiculous "Double Jeopardy"; now it's the moody, incomprehensible "Eye of the Beholder," a film that is genuinely unpredictable, but only because nothing in it makes sense. Predicting what will happen next would be like guessing what's around the corner in a dream: It could be anything, because all rules of logic and reason are vetoed.

Ewan McGregor, all soft-voiced and sweet, plays The Eye, a secret agent working for what appears to be the U.S. government (though he is clearly a foreigner). His surveillance skills have earned him his nickname, and he's so good at his job that his devotion to it has cost him his wife and daughter. He has visitation rights, though, sort of: He frequently imagines his little girl there with him, giving him advice and helping him with his surveillance work.

It is one of those patriarchal hallucinations that brings about an over-interest in a woman he's pursuing. She's Joanna Eris (Ashley Judd), a woman with many disguises, all of which center around wearing a different wig, who is suspected of blackmailing an important guy's son. The Eye sees her kill someone, and then more people are killed, and all the while, The Eye does little or nothing to stop her. Why? Because his phantom daughter tells him that Joanna is like her, a little girl abandoned who needs a father.

(I've prettied it up a bit; it makes even less sense in the movie.)

So The Eye tails Joanna everywhere (she never spots him, despite the bright orange jacket he always wears), always watching but never interfering, until she comes into danger herself, in the form of a wretched-looking Jason Priestley, playing an Alaskan druggie, who beats her up for approximately the same reason that she killed those guys (that is, for no reason, at least not one that the movie is willing to share with us).

Director Stephan Elliot has an interesting style, using snowglobes to move us from one city to another, and shooting the whole thing in a greyish, somber tone. What he can't seem to do is pull it all together into something cohesive. Is this a murder mystery? A psychological drama? A love story? None of the above? So much happens with so little explanation that the only possible reaction when it's over is, "What did I just watch?" No point is arrived at, and no one seems to have learned anything.

Except the audience, who has learned not to trust Ashley Judd movies anymore.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3461&reviewer=247
originally posted: 07/04/03 12:37:32
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

12/11/17 Thejonez wwhat? 2 stars
6/10/14 PAUL SHORTT DISJOINTED AND CLUMSY 2 stars
5/19/10 ikkin74 One of the worst things I've ever seen. 1 stars
7/26/09 the dork knight Fancies itself a bit of an art film. I wasn't entertained for one minute. 1 stars
12/16/07 mrsinister WOW. Bad. 1 stars
12/02/07 Charles Tatum Never connected to the flick, but not a disaster, either 3 stars
10/24/07 Ivana Mann Underrated, creative exploration of the thin line between love & obsession.Give it a chance 4 stars
9/23/07 Hard Rock Jane Austen Jack Sommersby, please say you're joking. Hundreds of other commentors can't be all wrong! 1 stars
9/22/07 Gretchen Seitz Possibly worst movie ever made until Judd made it look good by comparison to TWISTED. 1 stars
9/19/07 Sugarfoot So hilariously awful, too bad it's meant as a serious thriller. Awful, Awful Awful! 1 stars
10/29/04 Alan Bradbury This film makes Plan 9 from Outer Space look like Casablanca 1 stars
2/06/04 Mike This is literally the crappiest film ever made. 1 stars
12/21/03 Natalie Stonecipher You could film bouts of diarrhea I've had and make a better movie than this from them! 1 stars
11/05/03 anonomous bitch this movie suc kkkkks negrooooo 1 stars
10/31/03 Comic book guy Worst movie ever 1 stars
6/09/03 Say it ain't so, Ashley! The scariest part is, Ashley Judd so resembles the role she plays herein! 1 stars
3/27/03 Pam be Dextrous Low expectations when K.D. Lang plays least scary character, but film sinks way below them. 1 stars
3/04/03 Jack Sommersby Amisunderstood, shockingly original masterpiece. Judd and McGregor are first-rate. 5 stars
12/31/02 Jenna Furr I hope Ashley Judd shits in her pants every time she remembers what a monstrosity she made 1 stars
12/17/02 Eccentric Brit Woman kills. Man follows. WHY? Well, they forgot to explain why. 1 stars
12/03/02 Aileen Wuornos Ashley/Joanna is my fantasy love! I could be happy wallowing in her shit! 1 stars
11/21/02 Nicole Wright Absolutely Crap, worse film I've ever seen 1 stars
11/13/02 Natalie Stonecipher You could film bouts of diarrhea I've had and make a better movie than this from them! 1 stars
10/30/02 Jessica Davis (user-2ivfaq6.dialup.mindspring.com) How transparent! Ashley Judd really playing herself! 1 stars
10/16/02 Dingleberry How funny that the two people who like this can't spell. This is shit on celluloid. 1 stars
9/15/02 Crystal grate 5 stars
6/25/02 Law Ewan rocks, even if the movie did suck 3 stars
6/10/02 I'm in (L) with a Jedi come on, i no this was pretty shit, but EWAN WAS IN IT!!! 5 stars
4/25/02 Jenna Furr I hope Ashley Judd shits in her pants every time she remembers what a monstrosity she made 1 stars
3/27/02 Bill O'Reilly If I can do it for 2 days, Ashley Judd should give Rosie diarrhea for 2 decades! 1 stars
3/04/02 Aileen Wuornos Ashley/Joanna is my fantasy love! I could be happy wallowing in her shit! 1 stars
2/19/02 Nicole Wright Absolutely Crap, worse film I've ever seen 1 stars
2/03/02 Allison Lafferty Really a sequel to DOUBLE JEOPARDY? Joanna Eris really Libby Parsons in disguise? 2 stars
1/29/02 Jessica Davis How transparent! Ashley Judd really playing herself! 1 stars
1/25/02 Melissa Zanus Is Ashley Judd Satan incarnate or what? 1 stars
9/20/01 Amber It tried, disappointing ending 3 stars
9/02/01 Kenny Thejet He follow, and follow and follow her until you get tired, and the end is really bad. 1 stars
3/26/01 nowak To me it was wonderful. Saw it twice. 5 stars
2/21/01 Rocket Boy Unbearable...Judd, who was so good in Ruby in Paradise, has gone straight downhill. 1 stars
10/02/00 Image umm....and the point to the movie was.........????? 3 stars
8/18/00 Tim this movie sucked..watching paint dry was more exciting than this movie 1 stars
8/18/00 Bevan R. Clark Beguiling, slick and Ashley Judd is a revelation 5 stars
7/15/00 Kakki Made no sense. Was it an ashley judd fashion show? 1 stars
6/25/00 Emily I liked it! I don't know why it got such bad reveiws, I was drawn to watch it more. 4 stars
6/20/00 mahone crap is in the eye of the director 1 stars
6/07/00 Casper Absolute Crap. What was Ewan thinking???? 1 stars
3/26/00 Bitchface I loved this damn movie.... 5 stars
3/15/00 Lame-Oh sissy movie 1 stars
3/06/00 Captain Highcrime Nice to see home again (Montreal), too bad it had to be inbetween naps. 2 stars
2/29/00 cornbun deluxe this ought to win the best picture oscar....kd lang was amazing! i loved it! best film! 5 stars
2/29/00 Mr. Kramitall Horrible beyond recognition. What the hell was that? 1 stars
2/19/00 Mortis I'm haunted by this film..Amazing visuals 4 stars
2/15/00 Pizaster Made you think...about what, i have no idea. 2 stars
2/14/00 the fucker ashley judd's tits are HUGE!!... too bad the movie spoiled our sex! 1 stars
2/10/00 Karen terrible, senseless move, we walked out in the middle 1 stars
2/09/00 PhilmPhreak What the fuck was that? 1 stars
2/08/00 Ann Um...no 1 stars
2/06/00 Lame-Oh What a piece of junk. Can't beleieve I saw that wretched scum-butt! 1 stars
2/02/00 Tom I want my movie back for this crap 1 stars
1/31/00 Richard Hendricks Wife thought this was a nice chick flick.I knew it would suck.I was right. :) 1 stars
1/31/00 Janine Lay, RN Plot like molasses, acting sucked, terribly disapppointing ending, overall-sucked! 1 stars
1/30/00 scorched This movie blows!!! 1 stars
1/30/00 schmegs Completely senseless... 2 stars
1/29/00 Malbert Wow...pretty bad 2 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  28-Jan-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  10-Aug-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast