More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.68

Awesome: 25%
Worth A Look45.45%
Average: 9.09%
Pretty Bad: 13.64%
Total Crap: 6.82%

2 reviews, 32 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Transcendence by Peter Sobczynski

Other Woman, The (2014) by Daniel Kelly

Starry Eyes by Jay Seaver

American Jesus by Jay Seaver

Coastlines by Jack Sommersby

Joe by Jay Seaver

Raid 2, The by Brett Gallman

Crimes Against Humanity by Jay Seaver

Murder at 1600 by Charles Tatum

Mr. Bean's Holiday by Charles Tatum

subscribe to this feed


Dirty Work (1992)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"A guilty pleasure, but nothing of merit"
2 stars

If you liked Porky's, you might like Dirty Work. If you loved Porky's, you'll really like it a lot. But if you want storyline, plot, drama... what the hell are you thinking looking at a Norm McDonald movie?

Here's the skinny.

Sandler.
Farley.
McDonald.
Rickles.
Chase.

Are we getting it yet? Come on. It's a no-brainer. Yes! This is aSaturday Night Live fest. The humor is the point. No highbrow here. No heavy thinking.

It's titilation, and you know what else? It's kinda funny. Forget the storyline. They could be running a ship into an iceberg or fighting an animatronic snake or being a stripper not a dancer... it doesn't matter!

You got SNL guys, you got Saigon whores, you got a spare few hours... you got Dirty Work. It's no epic, but what do you want? DiCaprio?

If it's running at your local $2 cinema, go get some. But don't tell anyone. They just wouldn't understand.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=35&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/19/98 12:24:10
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

1/29/05 ralph a true movie expert 32 yrs old great cast.but just average film 3 stars
1/17/05 Jeff Anderson Too many fat and gay jokes get in the way, otherwise a twisted and very funny comedy. 5 stars
4/22/04 Casey G One of my Favorite comedies of all time 5 stars
3/10/04 Gigohead I loved it! It's years old now and it's a classic! I added it to my DVD collection 5 stars
11/28/03 Samuel A Laugh a minute flick..Porbably one of the funniest movies ever!! 5 stars
10/03/03 Samuel Justus Norm kicks ass! he kicked ass here! he kicked ass on SNL! Norm McDonald kicks ass! 5 stars
6/19/03 John Aster Habig NOTE TO SELF: Norm MacDonald kicks David Spade's wussy butt 5 stars
3/13/03 A Viewer UMM What is Chris Parry talking about. Dirty Work is an awesome movie!!!!! 5 stars
2/16/02 Derek SNarr The funniest movie I have ever seen. 5 stars
1/02/02 Andrew Carden Gary Coleman Was The Best Part. It's That Bad. 1 stars
11/30/01 Rutt13 really funny, could maybe be a cult movie 4 stars
8/07/01 Mr. Hat I envy this movie: I suck at revenge, but not that much. These guys rule at it. 4 stars
6/28/01 hub Fucking funny 4 stars
1/24/01 Lavan Chandran Norm MacDonald's humour is an acquired taste, but if you like him you'll love this movie 4 stars
1/16/01 Sklorsh A really sick and twisted comedy. Farley's few bits made the movie for me. 4 stars
1/10/01 groovee3 this movie is sweet if you don't take it seriously. Besides, it has some great quotes 5 stars
6/30/00 Bender The plot is weak, but the movie is hilarious in my opinion 4 stars
11/08/99 Weird Andy Dead hookers in car trunks...comedy gold. 4 stars
7/24/99 Hagbard Celine The only funny scenes in this flick involved Gary Coleman. Nuff said. 1 stars
7/19/99 The Bomb 69 mostly hit some miss comedy 4 stars
6/10/99 Homer J. Simpson Personally I do not Norm Mcdonald is that funny, but hell that movie was hilarious 4 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson "You mean to tell me you bet on the fight in Rocky 3, and you bet against Rocky!?! 4 stars
1/29/99 Scott Stipe Funny, Funny, Funny 5 stars
12/20/98 Jeff ***** 5 stars
11/12/98 Lord Of The Dunce Some very funny bits, some really slow bits, but overall a decent gross-out comedy. 3 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor Norm was great as the News guy on SNL and is to in this. F U Colin Quinn. 4 stars
9/13/98 Paul Leone The kind of movie so crappy you have to wonder how it ever got made... 1 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball The poster made me expect I'd hate it. I didn't. It as fuh-neeee. 4 stars
8/23/98 Superfly Only 75 minutes, but Norm kicks ass. 4 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee i could do this film again 4 stars
8/16/98 Johny As a rental with a bunch of friends you could do worse 3 stars
8/13/98 {{OZ}} Saturday Night Live guys on reunion. Can't lose. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  23-Jun-1998 (PG-13)
  DVD: 14-Aug-2001

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Bob Saget

Written by
  Frank Sebastiano
  Norm McDonald
  Fred Wolf

Cast
  Norm McDonald
  Jack Warden
  Artie Lange
  Don Rickles
  Chris Farley
  Chevy Chase



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2013, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast