More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.93

Awesome: 16.46%
Worth A Look25.32%
Average: 13.92%
Pretty Bad: 23.42%
Total Crap: 20.89%

3 reviews, 140 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Come Drink with Me by Jay Seaver

Fearless Hyena, The by Jay Seaver

Treatment, The by Jay Seaver

Waste Land (2014) by Jay Seaver

I Am Trash by Jay Seaver

Equalizer, The by Brett Gallman

I Am Here (2014/II) by Jay Seaver

Equalizer, The by Peter Sobczynski

Boxtrolls, The by Peter Sobczynski

Man From Reno by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Alien: Resurrection
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Unfairly slammed, even by its own screenwriter."
5 stars

The 'Alien' series, for my money, is the most provocative franchise Hollywood has ever spawned. What began as a sci-fi splatter-film concept has developed, over four films and eighteen years, into an ongoing meditation on women's issues.

The Alien films aren't really about the eponymous monsters; they're about Ellen Ripley (Sigourney Weaver), the real alien of the series -- a woman fighting for her life in hostile male environments. This is Hollywood's only feminist franchise, and is of considerable value as such.

Pregnancy, abortion, rape, motherhood, the death of a child, her own death -- Ripley has been through it all, at least symbolically. Two centuries after her Nestea plunge into molten metal in Alien 3, Ripley is resurrected when scientists clone DNA from her blood; the military extracts the alien Queen inside her, hoping to study and train it. Business as usual: the patriarchy always does idiotic, suicidal things in the Alien movies.

Ripley, it turns out, still has a bit of alien DNA in her. Weaver's freshly cloned Ripley is cynical and oddly childlike; death has left her both jaded and liberated. She's already died once -- what more can you do to her? Weaver's performances have gotten stronger with each sequel, and this is her most complex work yet. The script, by Joss Whedon (Buffy the Vampire Slayer), endows Ripley with a dark, fatalistic wit. "She'll breed," Ripley shrugs, referring to the captive Queen. "You'll die." No big thing. Slime happens.

A lot of slime happens in Alien Resurrection, directed with baroque flair by the traditional young visionary -- this time it's Jean-Pierre Jeunet, of Delicatessen and The City of Lost Children. The action unfolds, as in Alien, aboard a junky space vessel, where aliens can hide and humans can't escape. A band of space pirates, including the waiflike Annalee Call (Winona Ryder), board the ship occupied by Ripley and her brood of aliens. Jeunet and Whedon deliver the alien-attack scenes with a spin and a wink.

There are also two powerfully upsetting moments that will stay with me for a while. One takes place in a lab full of botched cloning experiments. The implications of what Ripley finds there are chilling. The other comes near the end, when we meet a new breed of alien -- a grotesque humanoid who seems to be Ripley's twisted mirror image. If Ripley is a human with a touch of alien, this thing is an alien with a touch of humanity, and the climax -- an inspired quote from the end of Alien -- is both tense and saddening.

If Alien was about rape, Aliens about motherhood, and Alien 3 about unwanted pregnancy, what is Alien Resurrection about? The intrusion of science and government into women's bodies, I'd say. It imagines a techno-religious future, ruled by a cyber-crucifix called Father (remember Mother, the computer in Alien?) and enforced by the military.

"Alien Resurrection" continues the series' message that women -- even women who aren't quite human -- must assert their humanity in the face of inhumanity. That doesn't necessarily mean aliens: Nothing they do is nearly as inhuman as what humans do to each other in the name of science, God, and country.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=350&reviewer=416
originally posted: 12/30/06 11:29:39
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/24/10 PAUL SHORTT STYLISH BUT CLUMSY 2 stars
5/04/10 Jeff Wilder Well-directed and entertaining. But ultimately pointless. Better than 3 if nothing else. 2 stars
8/19/09 Jon B Kind of sucked.... but about a thousand times better than Alien 3. 3 stars
4/12/09 K. Sear A horrible, confused mess. 1 stars
4/20/08 Movielover Alien Resurrection makes baby Jesus cry. 1 stars
9/12/07 Tyler Sciortino At least 3 had vision. This is cheesy, recycled, tailored-to-"cynical"-90s-audiences crap. 1 stars
6/14/07 T-Bag This should off been a Hicks movie, he should never off been killed off!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1 stars
4/17/07 Stevo deserves to be sealed inside a crate and shot into the sun. 1 stars
3/07/07 action movie fan a silly gross out fest-nothing more-the first two are the best 2 stars
2/17/07 Vip Ebriega 'Alien' with a whole new look on Ripley. 4 stars
2/03/07 Vip Ebriega Much better than 3. 3 stars
1/26/07 Bitchflaps Visually arresting and entertaining, but silly, script didn't deserve such a good director. 3 stars
12/01/06 David Pollastrini not horrible 3 stars
10/02/06 Jeremy Davies interesting story, but still nowhere near as good as Aliens 4 stars
9/23/06 Booksworm Best of a great series. Joss Whedon's script alone makes it excellent. 5 stars
8/10/06 Dragon The Artist Great beginning to a sequel, decent concept! 4 stars
3/09/06 Dk Weakest in the seies but considering its such good fun its a real compliment to this saga 3 stars
2/23/06 Leia Doesn't get enough respect...EASILY better than the crappy 3 and AVP. 4 stars
1/09/06 Steven Lewis Worst of the four but great eye candy. Ron Perlman is just awesome. 4 stars
1/06/06 SlappytheFrog Better than you might expect if you get off Fincher's cock for 3 seconds. 4 stars
11/26/05 cr a bad sequel ,good visual effects, I like Sigourney weaver but her role was weird,ok story 2 stars
11/02/05 shackle Not as bad as people would have you believe if you take it as a stand-alone entry. 4 stars
10/26/05 Crumbcake I didn't think it was all that bad. 4 stars
10/24/05 K. Sear Starst off well and then turns into complete shit. 1 stars
10/24/05 Suk-R-Punch At least Jeunet kept me awake, which is more than I can say for your beloved Fincher. 4 stars
10/19/05 Eden Jeunet doesnt have a clue how to make an alien film 2 stars
10/19/05 Gumbo I really liked all the characters and this makes a great stand-alone film. 4 stars
10/17/05 Crapture I thought it was great, but then, I love Jean-Pierre Jeunet's style, so...I'm biased. 4 stars
10/15/05 OodlesofOs I never saw what all the fuss was about. I thought it was a definite step up from 3. 4 stars
10/14/05 gasp Gory-as-hell! 5 stars
10/13/05 Bryant Gumby The strangest and goriest of the series...I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
10/12/05 Johnny Cake No, Klondo, you suck...and so does your mother...for cheap, too! What a bargain!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
10/10/05 Klondo guys, guys, c'mon now, it sucked. 2 stars
9/16/05 drippy Oh well...the same people that hated this liked 3. 4 stars
9/07/05 JubJub I thought this was actually pretty damn good...what's the fuss??? 4 stars
9/02/05 Mailk Many of you just don't mesh with Jeunet's sensibilities...and that's fine with me. 4 stars
9/02/05 Edward Definitely not as bad as everyone said. Quite cool, in fact...I was shocked. 4 stars
9/01/05 unlimited jeunet rocks...you all just don't get his sensibilities...go suck off Fincher!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
8/31/05 Vasquez definitely an improvement over the third entry, though too much humor. 4 stars
8/30/05 Brisbane I honestly don't know why everyone hated this so much...IT ROCKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/29/05 Blissful Johnny A great way to cap off the series...well...until AVP...ugh. 4 stars
8/28/05 Jabberjaw Call me nuts, but I thought this was a lot of fun...not the best, but not the worst either. 4 stars
8/28/05 hicks I don't know what everyone was talking about, I really enjoyed this one...better than 3. 4 stars
8/28/05 Joker Better than many would have you believe. 4 stars
8/27/05 cam-ron Everyone told me it sucked, then I saw it and thought it was actually pretty good. 4 stars
8/26/05 Termite This should have been the beginning of the "Clone Trilogy" 5 stars
8/25/05 Copper Works better as a stand-alone film rather than sequel! Weaver's performance rules!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/24/05 salamone Jean-Pierre Jeunet can do no wrong, you got that? NO WRONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/24/05 Eden Interesting but suffers from a crap cast, crap action and feels way too MTV 2 stars
8/22/05 MC Serch Infinitely better than Fincher's crappy ALIEN 3...INFINITELY BETTER. 5 stars
8/22/05 Chumscrubber 'Gonna take a cue from the MATRIX dorks and say "You hated it 'cause you don't GET IT!!!!!" 5 stars
8/20/05 marv The best-looking and possibly the most creative of the series...fanboys hate creativity. 5 stars
8/20/05 Cardigan Scared of a little blood and gore, are you all? Bunch of p***ies... 5 stars
8/19/05 Gaston Very different for the series, bloodier, weirder, more stylish...Jeunet RULES ALL!!!!!!!!!! 5 stars
8/19/05 JiJi Sure, you all hated it, but than again, you all LIKED "Fight Club," so what does THAT say?? 5 stars
8/16/05 ES I have no idea what thy were attempting here, weakest of the group 2 stars
4/12/05 Ronin Patjng maybe it's not a total crap for a 4th sequell but it's bad on it's own 2 stars
4/01/05 Richard Box The French Director does not understand the Franchise The MOTHER FUCKER killed it ! 2 stars
3/23/05 indrid cold The MTVesque direction totally destroys any of the original's style and dread. 2 stars
11/19/04 Dave i was getting bored at part three what the fuck 1 stars
10/29/04 Vince A very good, imaginative sequel. The casting is excellent. 5 stars
7/21/04 Patjng Pretty good for a 4TH SEQUEL!!!!!!! 4 stars
6/16/04 franknutz it may be the worst alien but its still alien great get the directors cut. 3 stars
5/29/04 whatevr yet another disappointing sequel 1 stars
3/20/04 Jack-pyschO-Lantern Not bad and it makes room for more hybrid alien/humans... Bring on ALIENS VS. PREDATOR 4 stars
12/15/03 Kung Jerker Horrible. Dishonors Alien and Aliens 1 stars
12/08/03 john horrible - except that Ryder is surprisingly good - 1 stars
11/01/03 American Slasher Goddess Really stretching it , but it's manages to be entertaining. 3 stars
10/14/03 P.Rodriguez Dare to be different. I loved it 5 stars
9/06/03 I Would For the franchise, this is no ressurection by any stretch of the imagination. 2 stars
8/26/03 Double G I think this movie is pretty good but nothing will ever beat ALIEN or Alien 3!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 4 stars
8/07/03 Alice Just as bad as Alien 3 1 stars
6/19/03 Lush The worst film in the series. Sigourny Weaver is offputting and needs to cover herself up. 2 stars
5/30/03 R.W. Welch Another example of the law of diminishing returns. 2 stars
3/06/03 Dina Smith I saw this film a long time ago, and I wasn't too impressed. 2 stars
2/11/03 y2mckay Pointless ressurection of Ripley, Aliens out of character. Perlman only good performance 1 stars
1/04/03 Jack Sommersby Dumb material imaginatively directed. 3 stars
1/04/03 Vince Vicious, you really are, probably eat your own shite, get a shrink ASAP 5 stars
12/23/02 3man It was okay. Made me forget about Alien 3. 3 stars
12/12/02 Vince Great Characters, Awesome atmosphere, Mind blowing movie. THE FRENCHMAN RULES. 5 stars
11/05/02 Vicious crappy story, french director. i hate it. never let a frenchman near american sci fi. 1 stars
7/25/02 CVJ why couldn't they have left it with Alien 3 WHY?! 2 stars
7/05/02 KMG The only cool thing was the laboratory where the messed up fetus' were 3 stars
4/06/02 Veronica Tatterworth Winona Ryder wasted, as in everyhting between 1969 and GIRL, INTERRUPTED. 2 stars
4/01/02 Joe Schulz Wasn't that bad 3 stars
2/28/02 Alan Smithee A terrible and pointless movie. Makes the 3rd film actually seem decent. 1 stars
2/27/02 Shrike I'm still waiting for Aliens to be topped... 3 stars
12/28/01 Jake Bad acting, cast and directing. Very stupid script. Ripley is good but that's not enough. 1 stars
12/11/01 Monster W. Kung Average Alien sequel gets destroyed by the most pathetic looking creature ever. 1 stars
10/29/01 Gary Weaver's strong efforts are brought down by astoundingly bad characters and dialogue. 1 stars
10/16/01 Shane Robert Myers!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The best one yet!!!!!!! But it didn't show much of the Alien creautres... Still it RULES!!! 5 stars
10/09/01 Andrew Carden Slow, Stupid, Unexciting, Everything You Need For A Horrible Film. 1 stars
9/06/01 spaceworm Hear this scream: STOP IT!!! 2 stars
8/02/01 KC Au Slow and lame compared to the 1st or 2nd Alien movie. I was bored rather than scared..... 1 stars
7/28/01 Steve Fun movie, but doesn't do anything for the already-classic series 3 stars
7/28/01 Henry Ginsberg Good action sequences .Pore plot . 3 stars
7/16/01 Nazi dad It doesn't get much worse than this crock of ..... 1 stars
7/15/01 Rampage Ripley was great. Enough said 2 stars
6/19/01 PaleDavid Unfairly maligned. A bizarre, fun, inventive installment. 4 stars
5/09/01 Jake Messed up plot , badly written! who cast this movie??! disappointing. 2 stars
5/04/01 Gracy Lionheart I liked it better than 3, but it wasn't great...or even good. 3 stars
3/14/01 Sthenno A lousy cast,gross effects,hackneyed plot means bad sequel here.Ripley is good.That's it. 2 stars
2/25/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Good performances, can't measure up to the first two, but what the hell can?? 4 stars
2/01/01 jordan i love the alien movies but i have to admit this wasn't very good. too gory.the end sucked. 4 stars
1/06/01 ChiefAlDog 1st thought: not bad 2nd thought: christ they best make a fifth to rectify this atrocity 2 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin Not as god as the first two, but still good 3 stars
10/24/00 Viking Better than Alien 3, but a long way behind Ridley Scott and James Cameron 3 stars
10/22/00 P. Rodriguez This movie's decent. Nuff said. 4 stars
9/17/00 Jed Weakling film at least it wasn't bad as Halloween 6. 2 stars
8/10/00 Jed Does have its cool & funny moments but overall its another gorefest mess. 1 stars
8/01/00 Bruce A bad end to a great series 1 stars
7/11/00 Matthew Bartley Weird mish-mash of idea and style 3 stars
4/16/00 JDC Worst of the series. The visuals and weird sensuality of it are kind of interesting, though 3 stars
4/15/00 malcolm classic sci-fi action. the smugglers nearly steal the scene. 4 stars
2/19/00 Stay Puft Marshmellow Man ONE OF THE SHITTIEST MOVIES I'VE EVER SEEN! 1 stars
2/07/00 Kyle Broflovski The soul of this series has finally been taken to nest. 3 stars
1/20/00 little jerry Hello, I am a fucking queer, and ignore my other post. This movie sucks! ALIENS is better. 1 stars
1/09/00 John Markham Shit, crap, bollocks, pants, garbage, tosh, cobblers, blah blah blah etc etc etc... 1 stars
11/22/99 Jedi15 What the hell is THIS? The first three were so good. This one just plain SUCKED!!! 1 stars
9/18/99 Dr. Fardook Jeunet proves his versitility... he made a movie that sucked 2 stars
7/25/99 Krishna Manohar Good Idea, Bad Execution. A Travesty Really. 2 stars
6/28/99 Steve Bashakus Are people high? This movie has been done many times before, and better. 1 stars
6/28/99 Chris Gianaras Better than 3. Fine until it tried to be sentimental with alien at end. 3 stars
4/19/99 ballz Winona,don't get it she looks like a dud. UGLY ASS BITCH=bad movie 1 stars
4/15/99 Jon Jackson p-i-e-c-e-o-f-s-h-i-t 1 stars
3/30/99 little jerry Far & away the best of the sequels.Has faults but when a film is this good all is forgiven. 5 stars
3/18/99 Madcap sure was better than 3 4 stars
3/12/99 Ah Dooey Big fat hairy deal. The Trilogy was great... ah, forget it. 2 stars
1/25/99 YellerDog I love the TRILOGY, but this garbage... ='( 1 stars
12/07/98 Shadow Raider Pretty crappy, only the Aliens in all movies kicked ass. What more can you say? 2 stars
11/13/98 Jules Typical result of $$$ and cliche european directing... Forcefully tries to be disturbing. 2 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob Umm, okay, who was I supposed to root for? 2 stars
10/18/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! NO SUSPENSE WHAT SO EVER.Great FX/Story/Acting one of the best yet ! 4 stars
10/01/98 Paul Are you all loco! This was the best one. It was funny, and I actually saw the aliens. 5 stars
9/16/98 Trav Recommended for feminist lesbian aliens! 2 stars
9/07/98 BBReBozo Underwater scene: best action/best dialogue. 3 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee What the hell is the reviewer thinking? 2 stars
8/19/98 f*r*o*s*t*y Aliens.. Sigourney.. Blah blah blah. Shite. 1 stars
8/17/98 Johny A sorry sequel 1 stars
8/17/98 {{{OZ}}} Absolute guff. Went to the well one too many times. 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  26-Nov-1997 (R)
  DVD: 06-Jan-2004

UK
  N/A

Australia
  01-Jan-1998 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast