More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.68

Awesome: 25.53%
Worth A Look48.94%
Average: 4.26%
Pretty Bad: 10.64%
Total Crap: 10.64%

3 reviews, 29 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Into the Woods by Peter Sobczynski

Annie (2014) by Brett Gallman

Back in Time (Fleet of Time) by Jay Seaver

Annie (2014) by Peter Sobczynski

Inherent Vice by Jay Seaver

Babadook, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hobbit, The: The Battle of the Five Armies by Peter Sobczynski

Strong Man, The by Jay Seaver

Top Five by Jay Seaver

Zero Motivation by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Hercules (1997)
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Ryan Arthur

"I'm an action figure!"
4 stars

From Zero to Hero in 90 minutes.

Missing the big names of previous Disney efforts (Tate Donovan? The former Mr. Jennifer Aniston?) Hercules has some things going against it. It's the one of the first Disney flicks aimed almost exclusively at boys. Herc trains with Phil the satyr, fights hydras and battles Hades (James Woods), and occasionally finds time to fall for Meg (Susan Egan), all in order to become a true hero and return to Mount Olympus as a god.

Action oriented with gospel tinged songs (that's an odd combination, to say the least - a greek chorus that seems more like a church choir), Hercules also boasts one of the best Disney villains in a while: Hades. Woods is funny as the lord of the Underworld, playing him like an agent with blue flames for hair. Donovan is adequate as the title character, while Danny DeVito gets a few good lines in as Phil. Nice turns in smaller roles from Matt Frewer and Bobcat Goldthwait as pain and Panic, Hades' two bumbling henchmen.

Hercules is at least as good as Hunchback, and better than Pocahontas.

Don't forget your happy meal.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=352&reviewer=7
originally posted: 09/03/98 00:32:47
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

9/21/12 Kcaj Loved it as a kid. Bit tame now but still likeable 4 stars
10/20/11 Magic This bastardisation of Greek myth still manages to be entertaining. Miracles happen. 4 stars
2/10/10 JM Synth Disney gets "hip"; smarm overload. Enjoyed it then, but not one that stands up in adulthood 2 stars
5/12/09 Dr.Lao The 90's were a bad time for Disney, and this silly bit of fluff shows why 2 stars
8/25/08 human bestest best disney movie best music 5 stars
4/25/08 Abbie This film is one of the best disney movies ever. Its amazing and i LOVE it. xx 5 stars
4/01/08 Quigley Amusing, dark and very cool. A great Disney film. James Woods is spetacular 5 stars
3/30/08 Pamela White a total flop 1 stars
11/15/06 vela good film nice music great preformance by the ''acters'' 5 stars
9/09/06 Michele cute music 5 stars
6/20/06 Herculade Sharp, fast-moving, funny, and Meg rocks. Gaining more admirers over time. 5 stars
12/09/05 Angizzle My Favorite Movie!!!! I Love It!!! It Teaches About My Favorite Subject, Mythology and its 5 stars
11/22/05 Kurtis J. Beard Delightfully pleasant. 3 stars
8/20/05 Carolyn Rathburn Now this is a cartoon. Disney always does a lovely job 4 stars
6/21/04 asian dude i shit out things more worth looking at than this movie 1 stars
4/19/03 Ubu the Ripper Another great Disney flick. 5 stars
11/23/02 Charles Tatum Disney strikes out again 2 stars
2/04/02 April I adored this movie despite it's from that sack of shit Disney Corporation! 5 stars
12/11/01 Jenny Myszkowski One of my all time favorite Disney Movies, it is fast and hilarious, and I love the songs! 5 stars
11/03/01 Andrew Carden Extremly Great Soundtrack With Magnificant Animation. 5 stars
4/09/01 Gary This isn't worthy of "Disney masterpiece" status, but it's still a good movie for the kids. 3 stars
2/25/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) That'll teach y'all to scrape Walt Disney's toilet bowl for ideas! 2 stars
2/15/01 lisa hercules hercules! 1 stars
11/20/00 The EVIL Penguin lacks disney charm; watch something else 1 stars
10/27/00 viking Greek "tragedy" !!! 2 stars
3/19/00 David Rogers What happened? It went waaaaaaaay to fast. 1 stars
9/28/98 Heather Wonderful soundtrack, and Meg is the best Disney female in a long while! 5 stars
8/24/98 The Capital City Goofball I wanted to buy the McDonalds figures, but I'm like that. 4 stars
8/17/98 {{{OZ}}} It was good. Some good moments. But nothing way special. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  27-Jun-1997 (G)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast