More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.88

Awesome: 8%
Worth A Look: 4%
Average: 12%
Pretty Bad: 20%
Total Crap56%

1 review, 19 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Annie (2014) by Peter Sobczynski

Inherent Vice by Jay Seaver

Babadook, The by Peter Sobczynski

Hobbit, The: The Battle of the Five Armies by Peter Sobczynski

Strong Man, The by Jay Seaver

Top Five by Jay Seaver

Zero Motivation by Jay Seaver

Exodus: Gods and Kings by Peter Sobczynski

Imitation Game, The by Peter Sobczynski

It Follows by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Sleepwalkers
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Remember this one? No, of course you don't."
1 stars

'Sleepwalkers' was billed as Stephen King's first original screenplay (that is, not based on any published books or stories). It wasn't — he'd written a script for Sam Peckinpah that never got made — but it was the first to see production. In any case, it plays as if King took it out of the trunk, blew the dust off, and cashed his check.

Alice Krige is a shape-shifting "sleepwalker" who has an incestuous relationship with her son (Brian Krause). Together, Mom and son lure nubile virgins (including Madchen Amick, fresh from Twin Peaks) and suck out their life force. The only thing that can stop them is a cat, and there are plenty of those here, led by a heroic feline named Clovis.

Completely by-the-numbers stuff, and of no particular interest except for the computer-generated morphing effects (impressive at the time) and the amusing cameos by King, Tobe Hooper, Clive Barker, Joe Dante, John Landis, Mark Hamill, Glenn Shadix, and Ron Perlman.

Notable today mainly for being director Mick Garris' first of many whacks at King material, in a career that would seem non-existent if not for the Tall Man from Maine.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3594&reviewer=416
originally posted: 03/13/07 04:53:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/27/14 Shelby Great movie, awesome storyline. Graphics are very good for its time. 5 stars
10/21/10 PAUL SHORTT THIN AND INEFFECTIVE 2 stars
2/16/09 action movie fan good story great special effects good suspense and great gore, scene with cop great-worthy 4 stars
11/10/07 FilmFocus One of the few Stephen King horror stories that won't scare you. 2/5. 2 stars
3/29/07 carlene I remeber almost every movie that I've seen but this one slips my mind! 1 stars
3/27/07 Irene Diaz I liked the first half of the movie, the second half was terrible 3 stars
3/20/07 David Pollastrini I saw it but have no memory of it so it must have sucked 2 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Everything in it was campy &stupid; to top it off Brian Krauss was in it;another cheeseball 1 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor The worst movie ever made. 1 stars
8/23/05 ES Incest and bestiality! Wow I can see why this one is worth the look= not 1 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess On the cheesy side, but entertaining. 3 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant Why does Mick Garris suck ass so bad? This isn't even funny-bad. 1 stars
9/28/03 Lord Durvok II Novel idea drowned by crappy effects and pointless gore and bad acting. 2 stars
10/20/02 Charles Tatum Nothing memorable, like most of King's later work 3 stars
9/02/02 y2mckay Another piece of shit movie from Stephen King. Why does kid fuck mom instead of Madchen? 1 stars
5/21/02 drkdahlia this movie sucked so badly i wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy 1 stars
9/14/01 Butterbean Mother and Son swappin spit.. hell yah!!! NOT! A very corny movie indeed 2 stars
4/25/01 Spetters One of King´s worst!! Distasteful, unfunny, stupid and definitely NOT scary!!! 1 stars
7/04/00 Joey Carlson I enjoyed the movie a lot, even though some of the effects were a little cheezy... 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  02-Mar-1992 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Mick Garris

Written by
  Stephen King

Cast
  Brian Krause
  Madchen Amick
  Alice Krige
  Jim Haynie
  Cindy Pickett
  Ron Perlman



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast