More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 8%
Worth A Look: 4%
Average: 12%
Pretty Bad: 20%
Total Crap56%

1 review, 19 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Good Dinosaur, The by Jay Seaver

Good Dinosaur, The by alejandroariera

Victor Frankenstein by Jay Seaver

Exhibition (1975) by Charles Tatum

D2: The Mighty Ducks by Jaycie

By the Sea by Jay Seaver

Our Times by Jay Seaver

Caffeine by Jaycie

Hunger Games, The: Mockingjay- Part 2 by Jay Seaver

Night Before, The by Peter Sobczynski

subscribe to this feed

[] Buy posters from this movie
by Rob Gonsalves

"Remember this one? No, of course you don't."
1 stars

'Sleepwalkers' was billed as Stephen King's first original screenplay (that is, not based on any published books or stories). It wasn't — he'd written a script for Sam Peckinpah that never got made — but it was the first to see production. In any case, it plays as if King took it out of the trunk, blew the dust off, and cashed his check.

Alice Krige is a shape-shifting "sleepwalker" who has an incestuous relationship with her son (Brian Krause). Together, Mom and son lure nubile virgins (including Madchen Amick, fresh from Twin Peaks) and suck out their life force. The only thing that can stop them is a cat, and there are plenty of those here, led by a heroic feline named Clovis.

Completely by-the-numbers stuff, and of no particular interest except for the computer-generated morphing effects (impressive at the time) and the amusing cameos by King, Tobe Hooper, Clive Barker, Joe Dante, John Landis, Mark Hamill, Glenn Shadix, and Ron Perlman.

Notable today mainly for being director Mick Garris' first of many whacks at King material, in a career that would seem non-existent if not for the Tall Man from Maine.

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 03/13/07 04:53:53
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

6/27/14 Shelby Great movie, awesome storyline. Graphics are very good for its time. 5 stars
2/16/09 action movie fan good story great special effects good suspense and great gore, scene with cop great-worthy 4 stars
11/10/07 FilmFocus One of the few Stephen King horror stories that won't scare you. 2/5. 2 stars
3/29/07 carlene I remeber almost every movie that I've seen but this one slips my mind! 1 stars
3/27/07 Irene Diaz I liked the first half of the movie, the second half was terrible 3 stars
3/20/07 David Pollastrini I saw it but have no memory of it so it must have sucked 2 stars
8/09/06 Dragon The Artist Everything in it was campy &stupid; to top it off Brian Krauss was in it;another cheeseball 1 stars
10/05/05 Jesse Taylor The worst movie ever made. 1 stars
8/23/05 ES Incest and bestiality! Wow I can see why this one is worth the look= not 1 stars
11/02/03 American Slasher Goddess On the cheesy side, but entertaining. 3 stars
10/10/03 Erik Van Sant Why does Mick Garris suck ass so bad? This isn't even funny-bad. 1 stars
9/28/03 Lord Durvok II Novel idea drowned by crappy effects and pointless gore and bad acting. 2 stars
10/20/02 Charles Tatum Nothing memorable, like most of King's later work 3 stars
9/02/02 y2mckay Another piece of shit movie from Stephen King. Why does kid fuck mom instead of Madchen? 1 stars
5/21/02 drkdahlia this movie sucked so badly i wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy 1 stars
9/14/01 Butterbean Mother and Son swappin spit.. hell yah!!! NOT! A very corny movie indeed 2 stars
4/25/01 Spetters One of King´s worst!! Distasteful, unfunny, stupid and definitely NOT scary!!! 1 stars
7/04/00 Joey Carlson I enjoyed the movie a lot, even though some of the effects were a little cheezy... 5 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  02-Mar-1992 (R)



Directed by
  Mick Garris

Written by
  Stephen King

  Brian Krause
  Madchen Amick
  Alice Krige
  Jim Haynie
  Cindy Pickett
  Ron Perlman

Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2014, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast