More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.91

Awesome: 34.38%
Worth A Look40.63%
Average: 12.5%
Pretty Bad: 6.25%
Total Crap: 6.25%

1 review, 26 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Outland
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by the Grinch

"SEE!? Peter Hyams used to have a Y in his last name!"
4 stars

There's a certain, sad little bit of satisfaction I get from being the first person on HBS to review this. Being that I can't hog all the glory for myself, I'm going to bring in my friend Kevin to do his Outland Rap for yall. Kevin?...

He's the S to the E to the AN, see?
Trouble 'O' Seven, Sean Connery
On a mining colony he's the only law
a hardcore regulator bustin' jaws

He pays the bills with his shotgun skills
baggin' amped up psychos with hydraulic drills
When he smells a rat named amphetamine
Sean plays the sleuth to keep the cosmos clean

Among the astral refuse, and xenordiodes
he's the only clean cop on Jupiter's Io
When Peter Boyle sees he can't be bought
he calls in the hit squad with their 30 aughts

But Sean thinks fast, he's a man of principle
the assasins are good, but they ain't too sensible
He suits up fast and goes intergalactic
with a vacuum blast he turns they heads gigantic

Seanie C. reigns supreme and rocks the place
that fat bitch Boyle gets punched in the face
Back with the fam, Earth's now his hood
reunited and it feels so good!

Outland. Definitely not the greatest film, definitely suffers from Peter Hyams' sloppy, simplistic writing...but definitely lives up to its self-ascribed description of "High Noon in Space"!

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3625&reviewer=156
originally posted: 01/14/00 21:02:25
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

5/29/14 PAUL SHORTT WELL MADE BUT SILLY AND UNPLEASANT 2 stars
8/22/12 Bev Carter On my list of favorite films 5 stars
10/22/08 Shaun Wallner Thought this was a good film. 4 stars
7/29/08 JM Synth One of the best sci-fi films of the last 30 years 5 stars
6/24/08 ben dover brilliant overlooked classic 5 stars
7/22/07 ben dover classic 5 stars
3/11/07 Roy F. Moore I agree with David Cohen on this. Thoughtful with great dialogue. 5 stars
2/04/07 GSR Underrated. Accused of being a "cash-in", etc. Some truly excellent dialogue. Definitely wo 4 stars
7/25/06 David Cohen A thinking fan's sci-fi movie, no wonder it fared poorly in the box office 5 stars
8/27/05 Mr. Chuckles One of my favorite scifi movies ever. 5 stars
8/13/05 ES Mr. connery after movies like this its clear you'll never sell out, right? 5 stars
3/16/05 randy chase scene=good; wife & kid=yucky sappy. 3 stars
3/15/05 Jeff Anderson Philip Harrison's great production design & Sean Connery's performance save this okay film. 3 stars
6/11/04 John very good film - no complaints 4 stars
10/19/03 Alan 24 hours notice prior to the goons arrival. Why all the last minute scrambling? 2 stars
9/25/03 Keith Richardson This movie is a hoot - Jerry Goldsmith's music and the colony chase are highlights. 5 stars
7/13/03 3man Decent space western and FX were good for the time. 4 stars
7/04/03 Sam Moszynski Solid sci-fi action film with a top notch performance from Connery 5 stars
1/04/03 Jack Sommersby A first-rate, stunning sci-fi actioner. Connery's best performance. 4 stars
10/14/02 Charles Tatum Outlandish 4 stars
4/02/02 R.W. Welch Undistinguished sci-fi opus that even Commery can't do much with. 3 stars
2/16/02 murat SAD to see sean connery in it.Reminded me alien.this movie sucks 1 stars
8/21/00 Anthony Script full of holes, sad to see Connery submerse so deep in manure 1 stars
6/06/00 Chris Brydon Good. Liked the way it portrayed contract workers to be the same in the future. 4 stars
1/15/00 Marcus There's nothing like a great old western located in space! Look at the success of StarWars. 5 stars
1/15/00 Kevin Cho Outland is the BEST comic ever drawn (aka Bloom County). And this movie is hardly that. 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  22-May-1981 (R)
  DVD: 19-Nov-1997

UK
  N/A

Australia
  02-Feb-1982




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast