More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.35

Awesome: 20.88%
Worth A Look: 27.47%
Average28.57%
Pretty Bad: 12.09%
Total Crap: 10.99%

4 reviews, 67 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Fortress, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

MFA by Jay Seaver

You Only Live Once by Jay Seaver

November (2017) by Jay Seaver

Friendly Beast by Jay Seaver

Foreigner, The (2017) by Jay Seaver

Tom of Finland by Rob Gonsalves

Happy Death Day by Jay Seaver

78/52: Hitchcock's Shower Scene by Jay Seaver

Death Note: Light Up the New World by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Con Air
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Slyder

"Too Much Destruction Can Sometimes Annoy You"
3 stars

I remember when Con Air was released, it was supposed to be one of the biggest blockbusters of the year, next to The Rock and later on, with Face/Off. At that time, a thought went into my mind about Nicholas Cage, who was at the time, fresh off his Oscar win in Leaving Las Vegas, being adamant of getting done the perfect action film. That for me explained the why's of he being in many action films that year. Don't consider this flick amongst his "goals," because it wasn't as good as the other two. It was good to watch but kind of bends and fucks up in the end. Simon West, of course, would go on to direct the disastrous Generals Daughter, and Nic Cage… well, you know what happened.

So, good old Cameron Poe (I guess the writers wanted to use Crowe, but he wouldn't let them) is a U.S. Ranger, according to the opening scenes, fresh out of the Gulf War, and ready to meet his pregnant wife on the bar. He does, but a bunch of drunken fucks look to fight him and he kills one of them. He goes to jail 10 years because of that, and when he goes to freedom, he's taken home via airplane, a prison airplane, which usually carries a bunch of motherfucking convicts around the U.S., hence the name Con Air. Oh, and he's bringing Baby 'O (Mykelti Williamson) for the ride. But more convicts are to be taken to the plane to transport them to another Maximum Security Prison, that's where a gang of lifer fucks, headed by Cyrus "The Virus" Grissom (John Malkovich), get on the plane and while on air, they surprise the guards and seize the plane. Now it's up to Poe and U.S. Marshall Vince Larkin (John Cusack), to try to stop all these guys from fleeing the law.

The movie has its clever moments and some exciting action scenes, but some of them and some comedic moments are too stupid and annoying. The scene where the convicts ambush the police on Lerner airfield is very badly made, enough to bring some chuckles. Also the crane scene, a crane, after who the fuck knows of how many years it's been without use, can still be working. And Larkin would have been burned alive thanks to the engine blast, not simply get a fucking black shit on his shirt. At least the flying car and the throwing of Pinball were the only great scenes of the movie. The last part of the movie really threw the film's chances of redeeming itself. With so much destruction and sometimes unbelievable scenes in the end, was almost worthy enough to just take the fucking tape out of the VCR and smash it apart. The film overall was okay, but the ending part really fucks it up, enough to ask your money back.

The performances were okay though Cage, Cusack, and Malkovich deserved more than this. The script really needed some re-writes, and if they had done that, the movie would have been so much better.

In the end, this film belongs to the long list of "watch at your own risk" type of films. But somehow, in my senses, I feel that most people will likely end up hating it, rather than liking it. Sorry Nic, you screwed up in this one. (2.5-5)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=367&reviewer=235
originally posted: 04/25/01 05:52:49
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

2/27/13 Julie Link brainless but fun and I love it 4 stars
11/20/09 Jeff Wilder Fun popcorn movie. Better than most Michael Bay shit. 4 stars
6/07/09 frankie fret wow nick cage sucks in this movie, his "accent" makes me cringe, although the action was ok 2 stars
1/10/09 Anonymous. sends a mean spirited message? this film has a good message. not that it needs to. 4 stars
7/20/08 Shaun Wallner The Action was Amazing! 5 stars
6/08/08 PAUL SHORTT SENDS A MEAN-SPIRITED MESSEAGE THAT CRIMINALS ARE LIKE ANIMALS AND SHOULD BE TREATED SO 1 stars
1/16/07 David Pollastrini great action 4 stars
12/21/06 Sepi53 super great action film with fine cast 5 stars
9/01/06 Michele love it 5 stars
7/18/06 Stefan Halka Good, entertaining popcorn flick. 4 stars
9/15/05 Tom Burns A great action movie. Loved it! 5 stars
5/10/05 Indrid Cold Juicy, intense action. But pretty dumb. 4 stars
2/12/05 J Con Air is off the chain! 5 stars
1/10/05 bana spectacular action scenes rock this shit 5 stars
7/27/04 Stuart Malkovich as usual superb acting..cage's character was irritating especialy the fake accent 3 stars
5/06/04 J.Peckerfoot cant stand cages accent but its a solid wham bam thankyou jerry film! 4 stars
1/26/04 LIAM JACKSON great film. buscemi was on top form as a rather twisted fuck. 5 stars
12/31/03 beautie maikovich was great,cage sucks,movie is great 5 stars
12/05/03 john insulting movie - completly unbelivable and ridiculously far fetched 1 stars
10/12/03 laura paterson Malkovich, cage and cusack! what more do you want? 5 stars
4/12/03 Bloody Vixen Too much American muck...Nicholas sucks in this, but Malkovich was superb! 4 stars
11/15/02 Stevo Stupid but really fucking great. 5 stars
10/27/02 MarktheShark6 Cage's accent was not needed, but Malkovich made it funny and Cusack added character. 5 stars
10/24/02 Charles Tatum Yay criminals! 3 stars
10/15/02 Interrog8 Big time action. Malkovich kicked ass! Where's the plot? 4 stars
10/14/02 Jim Unusually good cast for this kind of movie. 4 stars
5/17/02 R.W. Welch Flamboyant action extravaganza, mostly for explosion fans. 3 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Entertaining...simple minded, but entertaining. 3 stars
12/12/01 Mad Max Entertaining? Screw you, KMG 3 stars
11/29/01 KMG Pretty entertaining for a movie about a hairstyling products company! 4 stars
9/19/01 tobias i wonder if lerner airfield does excist 5 stars
9/11/01 Rebecca Telfer It was great it keep you wait about was the virous was going to do next 5 stars
9/05/01 Butterbean One of the few mindless action flicks I enjoy 4 stars
8/31/01 Henry Ginsberg This film has no plot. 2 stars
8/31/01 Gary Great actors give average performances in this dumb, overblown but still entertaining film. 2 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk This feels like a Michael Bay movie...which means i fucking hated it. 1 stars
7/15/01 officer 412/l big,dumb and fun. switch off your brain and you will have a whale of a time. 4 stars
6/15/01 Law Firm of Dewey, Cheatam & Howe Does not take itself seriously, the best way to do a movie like this 4 stars
5/11/01 Finity i liked it a lot 4 stars
2/13/01 Richard Wright Its not high art, but it sure did entertain me, and to me that's all that matters. 4 stars
1/25/01 dog a total kick ass movie of course its staring Nick 5 stars
1/14/01 Avenger Girl Enjoyed it even though its usual hollywood hype, good cast especially Cage. 4 stars
12/27/00 Turtle An awesome action movie that is just plain great! 5 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin a good movie 4 stars
8/11/00 Terrie Smith Countless explosions don't make a film; Malkovich & Buscemi worth watching. 3 stars
4/17/00 Bruce A real piece of crap, an insult to action movies. 1 stars
3/10/00 Richard Wright Preposturous all the way through,but with enough good lines and action to keep you watching 3 stars
2/17/00 Bozo Horrible but fun; at least it knows its stupid & has fun w/that; altho I hate Nic 4 stars
4/11/99 Tristynn Loved it Steve was fab.(as usual),Nick can act in anything..someone give the man an award 5 stars
3/28/99 TJwills Bad ass actioner. Cusack and Cage together is a fabulous combo. Add Buscemi and Ving Rhames 5 stars
2/19/99 nun uf yur businness JHON MALKOVICH ROCKES!!! oh en Cage is cool too! 5 stars
1/12/99 demon_shredder Aside from Malcovich and Buscemi this movie was pretty lame. 4 stars
12/29/98 Schizofrenic Advice for Meaney: GET THE HELL BACK TO DEEP SPACE NINE! 3 stars
12/11/98 Scion of Graveheart What the hell is Chief O'Brien from Star Trek: DS9 doing on a airplane flick? Cage sucks! 3 stars
12/10/98 baby-a nicholas cage suxs ass 4 stars
11/21/98 Slupet Cool action flick. 4 stars
10/25/98 Lord Of The Dunce Cage's hair was awful, the movie pretty dumb but fair. 3 stars
10/07/98 Maegs All the people I like-chappell, cage , malcovich etc . Loses 2 * for Nic's Hair. 3 stars
9/17/98 cheryl_ann john malcovich saved this movie from being worse than it was. 3 stars
9/17/98 Ben Affleck HIGHLY underrated!! Cage is great, action is plentiful, characters are very entertaining. 5 stars
9/14/98 Chip Taylor GOD DAMMIT IT KICKS MAJOR ASS. NIC IS THE BOMB. 4 stars
8/29/98 Johny Not enough fun to overlook holes 2 stars
8/25/98 Miss Stress it was THE ROCK on a plane. 3 stars
8/24/98 JenniferLorraine I liked this one, the action was good and the plot was different. 4 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Two words. Buscemi. Malkovich. 3 stars
8/21/98 Pete I felt nothing towards it.. much like how I feel about furniture and Sandra Bullock 2 stars
8/17/98 {{{OZ}}} It's mindless, but fun enough to watch. Just don't think at all. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  06-Jun-1997 (R)
  DVD: 16-May-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A


Directed by
  Simon West

Written by
  Scott Rosenberg

Cast
  Nicolas Cage
  John Cusack
  John Malkovich
  Steve Buscemi
  Ving Rhames
  Colm Meaney



Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast