More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
1.52

Awesome: 2.27%
Worth A Look: 2.27%
Average: 13.64%
Pretty Bad: 9.09%
Total Crap72.73%

6 reviews, 96 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Speed 2: Cruise Control
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Charles Tatum

"Lose Control"
1 stars

Sandra Bullock returns as Annie in this terrible, ill conceived sequel that has great action and awful dialogue.

Annie and her new beauhunk, Alex (Jason Patric), go vacationing on a cruise to the Caribbean. Where is Keanu Reeves? He wisely skipped this sequel, perhaps sensing it was doomed to fail. Alex is a cop, and Annie is nervous about pursuing a relationship with him. The cruise is a way to relax the both of them, spending some down time together, and maybe they will discover more about each other, and themselves, and find a deep ageless love that transcends the gods and makes all of us believe that there is a soulmate out there for each of us and we just have to find them...and then nutty Geiger (Willem Dafoe) takes over the ship.

Geiger was recently fired from the cruise company because he is ill from spending too much time doing their computer systems. As luck would have it, there is a traveling jewelry showcase onboard, so Geiger decides to rob the ship, and send it careening all over the seas in the process.

Annie and Alex do a lot of arguing and making up in between Geiger's terrorist acts. They help screaming nameless passengers and crew members (is that Lois Chiles? is that Colleen Camp? is that Bo Svenson? is that UB40?), but Geiger is always, everyone now, "one step ahead of them." The final half hour, as the ship heads toward an oil tanker and certain doom, are exciting, but they do not make up for the rest of the film.

Even during filming, I remember seeing set interviews where Bullock was swearing off a "Speed 3." Now we know why. Alex is blessed with the same superhuman powers Bruce Willis was blessed with in "Die Hard 2." Alex can figure out who Geiger is just from the most scant of clues. Alex can diffuse grenades. Alex can slow whole ships down with the grandest of ideas. Alex can save a little deaf girl Drew (Christine Firkins) from certain drowning. Alex can defy all laws, marine and physic, in order to get back to his gal Annie. Alex even gets a catch phrase, in case this had proved successful- "I'll be right back."

The original "Speed" screenwriter, Graham Yost, had nothing to do with this film, and it shows. Geiger is a creepy villain, leeching himself to stay alive, but he often does stupid things just to mess up and let Alex or Annie triumph. All the cast members have "funny" one liners to mutter during the intense proceedings, reminding us that this is all in good fun. However, this also removes all the tension, as in the case where Annie is shooting flares into the air while Geiger comments on her "fiery temper;" that line alone made me want to shut the film off. The first film had tension, but here director and co-story writer de Bont decided to turn this into a half hearted smirk fest.

There are some brilliant action pieces. The sight of the giant ship headed to the oil tanker, then a crowded pier, are wonderful. Don't worry, that's no spoiler, the film's trailer gave it away when it was released in 1997. But, there are also some action pieces that should have been lost entirely. The lifeboat rescue, and Drew's elevator ordeal, are both too long and go nowhere in the grand scheme of Geiger's. Toss in some hot and cold computer effects as well.

In the end, "Speed 2: Cruise Control" cannot take advantage of its built-in audience and deliver another tight actioner like the first film. It takes the audience for granted, and proves the character of Annie cannot carry an entire film. This film cruises into oblivion, cable television reruns, and sinks.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=368&reviewer=325
originally posted: 01/07/04 05:29:51
[printer] printer-friendly format  
For more in the Tatum's Video Grab'nRun series, click here.

User Comments

3/13/17 morris campbell TRASH AWFUL SEQUEL JUST TRASH 1 stars
1/01/10 Dane Youssef Like New Years Eve 1999, this is one of those events that lives up to all the hype. 1 stars
9/14/09 Jeff Wilder Worst movie ever? Not quite. One of the worst sequels? Yes 1 stars
1/28/08 Pamela White not as good as Speed but worth a look 4 stars
7/10/07 Total Crap This movie is a FUCKLOAD of SHIT in a wagon. Call it Speed? Was this director on drugs?! 1 stars
6/02/07 King If there is a graveyard for movie, this movie should go 6 feet under. Hold on maybe 12 feet 1 stars
2/14/07 johnnyfog Possibly the worst action film in existence. Destroy all copies 1 stars
2/06/07 Matt Goofball ending just about saves this turkey from sinking completely. 3 stars
1/13/07 Sepi53 not that bad 3 stars
11/25/06 David Pollastrini boring, dull, etc. 2 stars
5/29/06 inty it was fine 3 stars
2/26/06 Quigley wow, people. it wasn't THAT bad. sure, it was over-the-top and horribly acted, but geez! 3 stars
1/18/06 cody a okay follow up the action thriller speed, kinded like posedion adventure meets speed 3 stars
1/09/06 Jim ther is no such thing as a bad Sandra Bullock movie 5 stars
1/03/06 Anthony Feor In the end its just a wild crazy nap. It lacked everything the first one had 2 stars
11/16/05 nemeth all you people suck. this one is better than the first!!! 5 stars
8/21/05 FRankie the movie is fine 3 stars
8/17/05 ES hey I hated Speed just as much as this tanker 1 stars
7/11/05 Indrid Cold Everybody hates it because it sucks compared to Speed, but it's a decent actioner. 3 stars
5/26/05 tony this movie was pretty bad near the end. Kinda cheezy. But otherwise ok. rent this movie! 3 stars
5/25/05 Jake This movie Sucks Balls! 1 stars
5/02/05 Monster W. Kung I'd rather cut one of my balls and throw it out of the window than see this shit again. 1 stars
2/07/05 Jeff Anderson THIS DRECK GIVES SEQUELS A BAD, BAD NAME! Sad to say, Sandra's smoking hot, but bad in this 1 stars
12/20/04 WatsUp I hate Bullock. Soooo artificial 2 stars
12/10/04 tony this movie was a good sequel but the computer animation was a bit poor. 2 stars
12/10/04 Kristina Williams do I have to say it? 1 stars
9/28/04 X BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! 1 stars
2/23/04 Whatevr worst sequel ever 1 stars
2/21/04 Denise Duspiva Speed + Repeat= Speed 2 3 stars
1/31/04 Liam McIntyre Suckfest of the century! 1 stars
1/16/04 Chris This movie is FINE. I don't know why we consider it one of the worst of all time. Fun. 4 stars
1/15/04 Betty White Dafoe is wildly amusing, but he can only do so much for his overlong, silly film. 3 stars
1/08/04 Jack Sommersby Lethargic and underwhelming. 1 stars
1/01/04 Charles Tatum One of the biggest disappointments I have ever witnessed 1 stars
12/21/03 Matt Okay, it sucked, but it was so bad it's good...! 3 stars
12/07/03 john one of the worst movies ever made - insulting to the paying audience 1 stars
10/15/03 DrSkyTower complete and utter shite, worst action flick I've ever seen 1 stars
8/06/03 omar "surfur" youssef No, Reeves isn't in this movie. I guess he actually saw the script. 1 stars
8/04/03 The Watcher I would rather have 20 root canals performed in a third world country by a blind guy 1 stars
7/04/03 T3 Sandra rocks, this movie sucks though. 2 stars
6/26/03 cochese Yuck 1 stars
6/04/03 Emma i think its good. for a 12 year old its action-packed:) 5 stars
4/24/03 GWB bad 1 stars
3/25/03 Jack Sommersby Gag me. 1 stars
3/18/03 Sean McLean I would rather be wafted a handful of farts after a chili contest then to have watched this 1 stars
3/13/03 R.W. Welch Completely unconvincing and a waste of good F/X money. 1 stars
3/13/03 Shadaan o.k ...they should have stopped with the first one. 2 stars
2/03/03 kz and to think the first one was so good 1 stars
1/21/03 Matt Thiel Mind numbing. The music score is pretty good, though. 1 stars
1/04/03 freewaygl hahahahahah who thought this one up? its so ridiculous its great!!! 4 stars
12/30/02 Fonq35 My ass could have written a better screenplay... THIS IS SHIT! 1 stars
12/12/02 NoRefill When the boat started crashing, I fell asleep, woke up later and it was still crashing. 1 stars
11/17/02 Nevz oh dear, oh dear. 1 stars
10/27/02 Matt Neopalitano ...and I originally thought Keanu screwed the pooch by not signing up for this. 1 stars
9/23/02 snowconehead Speed 2!!! Zippin along at 7 nauts per hour!!! Everybody walk!! walk for you lives!!!!!!! 1 stars
9/06/02 Chancey Thunderpants Damn, even a dumbass like Keanu stayed away from this turd. That says it all right there. 1 stars
8/02/02 I Can't Swim Dafoe has 'Body of Evidence', 'Spider-Man' & this on his resume..get a new agent dude! NOW! 1 stars
7/10/02 jerimiah big time ass sniffin' on a hot, humid summer day at the gym 1 stars
7/08/02 Girl 9 abandon ship captin...this one's full of shit! 1 stars
1/22/02 Some Guy I HATED THIS MOVIE!! SPEED I WAS WAY BETTER. IMO THEY COMPLETELY RUINED THE "SPEED" NAME! 2 stars
1/18/02 randy scott It stinks! The funny thing is though siskel and ebert gave it 2 thumbs up! NO LIE! 1 stars
8/09/01 E-Funk Jan De Bont: BURN IN HELL 1 stars
7/10/01 TLsmooth Will one of you guys do me a favor and poke my eyes out? 1 stars
5/03/01 Gracy Lionheart YAWN!!! Boring!!! 1 stars
3/12/01 Kellis The Rating Says it all. 2 stars
2/25/01 INCUBATOR Sux all ass + 1 ass more 1 stars
2/07/01 lisa Keanu had the right idea. 1 stars
1/09/01 Fernand The only good thing of the movie is CHRISTINE FIRKINS she is so beautiful. 1 stars
1/08/01 NoRefill I feel it is my duty (and everyone I know) to rate this as the worst film ever made. 1 stars
11/28/00 Cristopher Revilla Another pathetic fuckshit, i'd rather watch the original than this fucking garbage!!! 1 stars
9/16/00 Wafer Was the director kidding? 1 stars
6/28/00 Naushad Khanji Terrible sequel to a most brilliant film.Muddled script.Badly executed 1 stars
3/22/00 Lame-Oh Speed 2: starring that no talent scumbutt Sandra Bullock. Ugh. 1 stars
1/14/00 Croweater Arguably THE worst film of the 90's, starring the worlds most sickening/purile actress. 1 stars
1/12/00 dr.d AWFUL!!! 1 stars
10/20/99 Tony Daquano Suck it out my ass 1 stars
10/05/99 rob Silly, but still entertaining. 3 stars
8/26/99 Azimat I NEVER HATED SANDRA BULLOCK SOO MUCH AFTER WATCHING THIS!!! 1 stars
6/03/99 lucas jackson this movie was so bad it made the first movie look good 2 stars
5/27/99 GothamDK Please no more! No Keanu is the only blessing. Sandra gets the only 2 stars. 2 stars
1/19/99 Chronically hip A nightmare. The guy below is on crack. Worthless in every way. Nauseating. 1 stars
1/16/99 Dasha Why this movie was ever made? 1 stars
12/13/98 Binky An unmitigated disgrace. 1 stars
11/27/98 Mr.Pink God! I almost started to miss Keanu! 1 stars
11/18/98 MinxxDaShorty the first one was shit, the second one speaks for itself!!! ha ha ha ha ha ha ha 1 stars
11/05/98 Lord Of The Dunce Bullock is named correctly. She is a large working cow. This movie was the pits all through 1 stars
11/02/98 MR HOLLYWOOD !! Tedious and Coma-like, YES i know, BUT i cant stop drooling over Sandra Bullock,YUMMY!!! 2 stars
10/18/98 Kwyjibo A disgracefully stupid, moronic, pathetic, hopeless film. De Bont should be blacklisted. 1 stars
10/13/98 jym possibly the worst movie ever 1 stars
10/09/98 Blake Sandra Bullock rules, but the movie blows. 2 stars
9/05/98 Kid Pee-Pee I had to leave. I couldn't stomach the camera shaking anymore. I was nauseous. Disgraceful. 1 stars
9/04/98 Scott Taylor I couldn't stop giggling in the theater. People were looking at me. "The humanity!" 1 stars
8/25/98 The Capital City Goofball The producers clearly assumed we have no intellect. Made me very angry. Utter shit. 1 stars
8/21/98 Mike F I like crappy films. but please. 1 stars
8/21/98 Pete A pox on the house of everyone involved. I wanted to poke out my eyes with a spoon. 1 stars
8/19/98 Johny I couldn't even get through it on HBO during a rainy day 1 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  13-Jun-1997 (PG-13)
  DVD: 30-Jul-2002

UK
  N/A

Australia
  25-Sep-1997 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast