More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.12

Awesome: 22.67%
Worth A Look27.33%
Average: 14%
Pretty Bad: 11.33%
Total Crap: 24.67%

8 reviews, 102 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Astronaut (2019) by Jay Seaver

White Storm 2: Drug Lords, The by Jay Seaver

Vivarium by Jay Seaver

Art of Self-Defense, The by Jay Seaver

Crawl by Peter Sobczynski

Swallow by Jay Seaver

Perfection, The by Rob Gonsalves

Luce by Jay Seaver

Last Black Man in San Francisco, The by Jay Seaver

Farewell, The (2019) by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Contact
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Chris Parry

"Take a big wee before sitting down to this bollocks."
1 stars

Let me make one thing clear. I thought this movie was gonna rock the fuckin' house.

It didn't.

Y'see I was expecting something different to what came about. I wasn't expecting lacklustre chemistry (and acting) between McConnaughey and Foster (maybe McConnaughey). I wasn't expecting a plotline with more holes than your average Korean-made condom. I wasn't expecting to have to nearly explode my bladder waiting for this thing to finish.

Let's give it the rundown. Jodie looks for alien signals with big dish. Evil boss wants her closed down. Just as she's about to lose it all she hears the ever elusive 'blip'. That's no spoiler, you always know she's going to hear something.

But the next thing you know EVERYONE can hear it. It's on CNN for crying out loud! All the money and trouble she went through and all she needed to do was flick on Bobbie Bautista!

It get's worse. Later, as everyone in the Whitehouse (and the world at large) is trying to unlock the alien code, the President and co crowd around a TV to hear CNN (again!) giving us the news.

The blip is a blueprint for a big machine. Nobody knows what it does, but what the hell, the world spends four trillion clams building one.

So they build this thing and just as they're about to send someone into it to have a geek around the universe (or something) nobody bothers putting any security out to catch the insane Christian with plastique strapped to his scrotum from blowing the whole thing to shite.

Good lord. Well at least it must be over now, huh?

If only. I think I've spilled enough so I'll leave it to the unlucky folks who get stuck watching this crud to fill in the blanks and laugh at the stupidity from here on in.

But let me say this. When the three hour "English Patient" came out every non-thinking movie-goer assumed they were watching a brilliant film because (A) it was way long and (B) the dialogue was long, rambling, boring, enunciated well and not funny. The makers of Contact seem to have decided to abandon making a good film and go with the "brilliant film" formula already established by The English Patient.

It's not good. It's crap. It uses "God vs Science" arguments to try to look more intellectual than it is, but it never really pushes into that discussion on any higher level than Foster and McConaughey starting an argument, then falling into the sack.

The final scene, well that's just typical Zemeckis smoothing all the rough ends so that everyone has all the gaps filled in for them.

You won't enjoy this film. And if you really do, I mean really really do.... well I'm sorry fella. You're not a true thinker.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=375&reviewer=1
originally posted: 08/17/98 17:18:55
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/07/14 josh messier Best film I have ever seen period! 5 stars
7/17/12 Phil K a very interesting,thought provoking film... 4 stars
1/17/11 Man out 6 Bucks Failed to send catholic Hitler and christopathic crusading terrorists down a black hole. 3 stars
11/20/09 JsmmyE Hi! tSlEshY 1 stars
9/24/09 JR Great review, Rob. One of the top 20 films of all time. Fantastic.. 5 stars
9/05/09 rob enjoyable watch, but just too silly in places, they could have made the script sharper 4 stars
3/08/09 SandySue I liked it - Jodie Foster and Matthew pick good ones 4 stars
10/14/08 Shaun Wallner Awesome Story! 5 stars
3/02/08 bronson Mejia intelligent 4 stars
7/27/07 R.W. Welch Murky sci-fi with romance angle that doesn't click. 3 stars
6/10/07 mb Very Interesting Story ... purely demonical New Age, however 4 stars
4/06/07 fools♫gold Intheend youchoosewhatyouwish2believe, andit'smuchbttrthn anythingEternalSunshine has2offer 5 stars
1/10/07 Booksworm "clark" is clearly an idiot.Excellent movie.FUCK anybody who doesn't like it. 5 stars
11/16/06 David Pollastrini a bit slow in places but still good 4 stars
8/26/06 brett An Awesome Beautifull sci-fi. 5 stars
4/30/06 R H Horton It sucks 1 stars
3/28/06 Brian Meyer Only movie I ever walked out on... not even "Batman and Robin". 1 stars
9/27/05 Carolyn Rathburn Good film, makes you wonder about life, out there 4 stars
9/21/05 Eric Fortune It was pretty good. The ending wasn't all it could be. 4 stars
9/04/05 Ritchie Kelly The movie is about Ellie's loneliness. She's at the loneliest age, in her 20s. She has no 5 stars
6/27/05 tony Very slow. slow everything. thank god my ass was itchy during this movie! 1 stars
6/20/05 Adam If you have insomnia rent this overated flick....ZZZzzzz 2 stars
5/22/05 Cham I watched the whole movie to find out that her father is an alien?!?!?!?! 1 stars
5/06/05 Mind Junkie It coulda been better 4 stars
4/24/05 Charlene Javier Call me stupid but it was boring! 2 stars
4/23/05 Kim I found it watchable. 3 stars
4/22/05 Roy Smith Worth a Look - if you love cliche's. It's actually boring! 2 stars
4/21/05 Carolyn Rathburn I enjoyed this film, it certainly makes you wonder what might be out there 4 stars
4/20/05 Krisan I liked it, i thought it had wonderful visuals 4 stars
4/20/05 Dan Good and intelligent sci-fi, but read the book first. 4 stars
4/17/05 Junior LaROche Loved it! Book was better, but Carl Sagan rocks! You have to like it for the story. 4 stars
4/16/05 Linda Denisen Thought it was worth watching and imaginative. 3 stars
4/16/05 Gail Crawford great sci-fi movie 4 stars
4/14/05 I-K No wonder they waited until Carl Sagan died to make it. 1 stars
4/14/05 Roy Smith Vince needs a brain implant. Proteus is far, far too kind. 2 stars
8/01/04 Vince Proteus should be executed. This is a great Sci Fi movie 5 stars
5/20/04 Proteus Excrement. Bumbling, preachy, and pretentious. tries for 2001, looks like Pigs in Space. 1 stars
4/13/04 John Humanity portayed at it's finest-- and worst 5 stars
4/08/04 Jon This film coulda used some trimming lengthwise; in any case, I liked it. 4 stars
2/18/04 Chicken731 Obviously if you think this movie sucks, you did not understand the ending. Read the book! 5 stars
2/13/04 Des This is an amazing film, it makes the audience think - why are all the ratings 5 or 1? 5 stars
12/26/03 Mason This movie is not for people with small brains. 5 stars
10/12/03 JimmyC Horrible 1 stars
9/29/03 Michael What's wrong with all the critics here - this is one of the finest movies ever made 5 stars
8/09/03 Nicole Very good, but the ending was kind of crappy 4 stars
7/09/03 natasha_theobald bold enough to expect the audience to think and accept the unknown 5 stars
6/18/03 Angolmois Manipulative schmaltz which manages to insult both emotions and intellect. 1 stars
4/04/03 Jack Bourbon At least Jodie Foster didn't get naked in this one. 3 stars
3/27/03 Ionicera good film, banal ending 3 stars
3/25/03 Jack Sommersby Heavy-handed nonsense. 1 stars
2/26/03 Francy Intelligent plot, great Jodie, serene and solemn music. 5 stars
11/19/02 Nevz Watch it up to the last 5 minutes. 5 stars
10/22/02 Charles Tatum B grade sci-fi with huge budget 4 stars
8/19/02 Nevz I loved this film, what an excellent story. 5 stars
8/05/02 KMG I COULD'VE DONE WITHOUT THE MORAL MESSAGE 4 stars
4/08/02 Film Guy One of the best films ever made 5 stars
3/29/02 George Good movie. Too bad OZ didn't get half of it. 4 stars
3/01/02 Andrew Carden Boring Sci-Fi Flick. Way Too Long, Although Woods Did An OK Job In His Meaningless Role. 2 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Such a slow film...I lost interest. 2 stars
12/26/01 doug Very good film!...until the end which totally screws it. Very stupid ending. 3 stars
10/26/01 Da Oompa This movie had SO much potential. I hate Skerritt almost as much as Alan Thicke. 3 stars
10/18/01 ron20003 Screw the movie - Read the Book 1 stars
10/15/01 Bod Goy Enough stones? I think it's possible for people to genuinely love this movie. Which I do 5 stars
8/29/01 Gary I hate this so much. This film annoyed me so much I almost ate my own fist. 1 stars
8/06/01 E-Funk Jodie Foster's a rug-munching has-been. Fuck her and fuck this movie. 1 stars
7/06/01 Rich Cirivilleri poetry. Graceful, thoughtful, lyrical. Foster deserved the oscar. fuck the academy! 5 stars
5/28/01 cinkcool Good until the ending. Very anticlimatic. Ruins the movie. 1 stars
5/04/01 The Jedi Droid hated it 1 stars
4/24/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) I agree 150% with {{OZ}}'s review. Too bad he's the only one with enough stones to say it. 2 stars
3/27/01 Jesse L Do NOT see this movie if you are sober... 1 stars
3/17/01 S A It's a great film 5 stars
3/15/01 URA1999 This is the greatest film I've ever seen 5 stars
3/12/01 Jon Cotleur Let me get this straight: First Contact gets 'Awesome', Contact only gets 'Worth a look'? 5 stars
2/16/01 Jake This was actually quite comical so I gave it **. 2 stars
2/15/01 viking You're a complete twerp, Naushad !!! This is REAL sci-fi. 5 stars
12/02/00 Naushad Phoney SF.Story lacks pace and energy.Wooden performances.Utterly boring. 1 stars
11/13/00 The EVIL Penguin a fine experience 3 stars
10/13/00 Ant Jodie Foster, like she has done before, takes this film beyond the ordinary 4 stars
5/02/00 Overflow Bitch I loved it !! Well done. Foster great as usual, great story. 4 stars
4/12/00 TJ St John Intelligent science fiction!!!! 5 stars
3/04/00 yankee this asks great questions, what if...needs to be explored more, but then we might get crap 4 stars
12/28/99 gepetto one of the best movies to come out of the 90's 5 stars
10/17/99 Shelagh A special film. Wasn't Jodie Foster really good ? 5 stars
8/20/99 Japtalian I respect intelligent sci-fi and this was that. 4 stars
6/13/99 Vick Di Brecci Larry King and Bernard Shaw are whores and Clinton should have sued. 4 stars
5/10/99 Beachlovr9 Excellent 5 stars
5/03/99 HI! It ROCKED godammit! 5 stars
3/17/99 Ah Dooey Extraordinary sci-fi movie, definitely incredible than Species and its sequel. 4 stars
3/05/99 Eric Walker It moved me. Wasn't meant to answer questions...but to ask them. 5 stars
2/03/99 James E. Laczkowski This is one of the most extraordinary films of the decade! Jodie Foster is incredible 5 stars
1/15/99 Dasha I loved this movie, and Jodie was great as always 5 stars
1/09/99 Thorn Silvertree The first 180 seconds alone are worth the price of the film. 5 stars
12/10/98 Freyja Smart movie. Unfortunately, stupid audience. Go watch the Waterboy. 5 stars
11/25/98 Fred This wins the MTT award: for Most Tolerable Techies. Only good sci-fi movie of the 90's 4 stars
11/13/98 Jules Very close to the book. Boring and preachy. +Enough fucking worm tunnel sequences already! 2 stars
10/27/98 Silent Rob IF you enjoyed the Sagan book, this movie does deliver some of the goods. 4 stars
10/25/98 Lord Of The Dunce URGH! I HATED this movie. Zero chemistry between the leads and HUUUUGE plotholes. Ugh. Ban. 1 stars
9/17/98 Miss LILI The most FUCKIN BORINGEST movie ever !!!! 1 stars
9/17/98 Ben Affleck Not bad at all.. Smoothe sailing movie, with some really cool scenes. 4 stars
8/23/98 Mister Whoopee Nothing of merit except the cool steadicam shot. Otherwise, crap. 2 stars
8/17/98 {{{OZ}}} Total crap. Fooling morons into thinking they're seeing a good film by making it long 2 stars
8/17/98 J-Guy (The MFC) pretty good. the end was a let down. 4 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  11-Jul-1997 (PG)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  N/A




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast