More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 

Overall Rating

Awesome: 6.78%
Worth A Look: 11.02%
Pretty Bad: 12.71%
Total Crap: 18.64%

10 reviews, 58 user ratings

Latest Reviews

Pacific Rim: Uprising by alejandroariera

Unsane by Peter Sobczynski

Tehran Taboo by Rob Gonsalves

Final Portrait by Rob Gonsalves

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story by Jay Seaver

Before We Vanish by Jay Seaver

Dear Dictator by Peter Sobczynski

Tomb Raider (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

Darken by Jay Seaver

Early Man by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed

Reindeer Games
[] Buy posters from this movie
by Scott Weinberg

"Makes The Three Stooges look like Shakespeare."
2 stars

Watching Reindeer Games, I got the distinct impression that the script was originally intended to be filmed as an animated feature. I've seen episodes of Tiny Toons that pay more attention to logic, plot continuity, and acting performances. And yet again, Ben Affleck's forehead shows no sign of becoming less prominent.

This movie simply makes no sense. That can be OK, if you can occasionally buy what you see onscreen. I bought it for about the first 45 minutes. But you can only end so many scenes with "Put him in the car" before I start scratching my ass in annoyance. The talking appliances in the old Flintstones cartoons were more realistic than any character here. The whole thing is so smug and glib, that we start to feel that perhaps the joke is not onscreen, but perhaps on the audience. It's no fun when only the actors are in on the joke.

The plot reads like something that Samuel Goldwyn may have passed on in 1933: Fresh out of jail, Rudy poses as recently dead friend Nick so he can get into the pants of a pretty blonde. Unfortunately, the bimbo has a psychopath brother who wants Rudy/Nick to help him and his sweaty band of lunatics rob a casino. As if that's not enough silliness, the ludicrous script proposes one inane plot twist after another. I realize it's not a movie to be taken seriously, but come on. At least tell a story.

There are dramatic scenes that will make you laugh, comedic scenes that will make you cringe, and some surprises that will have you continually slapping your hand in astonishment (that you are expected to buy all this.) It's the kind of movie that just jumbles all the characters together, picks two out at random and says "OK, now you're the ones being screwed over by everyone....for the next five minutes, anyway." The plot twists are neither shocking nor clever, as they come completely from left field.

Reindeer Games is not completely without merit, though. It's always fun to watch Ben Affleck act. It always seems like such a struggle for him. There are a few funny lines strewn throughout, like when Rudy tells the blonde slut he'd had better sex in prison. With a veteran like John Frankenheimer at the helm, this silly affair at least looks well done. The problem is in the mind-numbing script. With this one and Scream 3 under his belt, I am still hard pressed to figure out why Ehren Kruger gets a paycheck.

Bottom Line: Recast it with Yosemite Sam, Elmer Fudd, and Bugs Bunny as the pretty blonde tramp, and you got yourself a movie. At least those guys KNEW they were in a cartoon.

link directly to this review at
originally posted: 03/04/00 17:45:50
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/28/09 Jeff Wilder Gets the job done. That's all it does. 3 stars
10/23/09 Rachel I really did not enjoy this movie and actually never finished watching it! 2 stars
3/14/09 Qeratk Hi! yYQQsZoI 1 stars
8/30/08 Shaun Wallner This ones ok. 3 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday I enjoyed the twists to this, but they just seemed to keep coming. 3 stars
2/10/07 Heather I want to see believeable actors and the majority in this film just aren't. Cardboard! 2 stars
1/10/07 David Pollastrini Charlize Theron Looked hot! 4 stars
10/23/05 Jenny Tullwartz MISFIRE! Rudolph would've been all the poorer for joining in these reindeer games! 2 stars
10/23/05 Jenny Tullwartz MISFIRE! Rudolph would\'ve been all the poorer for joining in THESE reindeer games! 2 stars
8/27/05 ES Why does Gary Sinise keep doing this garbage, he's better than that 1 stars
3/13/05 Mr. Mooring Affleck is the WORST actor ever. 1 stars
1/17/05 Jeff Anderson Surprise, I actually liked this film. R.I.P. J. Frankenheimer (1930-2002), you'll be missed 5 stars
11/18/04 Jay Lo Affleck is wooden but Theron carries the film. 2 stars
1/08/04 A F Holy Crap did that suck and I'm from MN 1 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee Funny and action-packed. Gary Sinise should have recieved "The Best Villian for 2000" award 4 stars
6/06/03 Francis Implausible is right. Who writes this stuff? 3 stars
3/09/03 Jack Sommersby Energetic, but after a while you just don't give a hoot. 2 stars
10/15/02 Charles Tatum Good twists and turns, but completely odious characters 4 stars
2/25/02 Jenny Tullwartz MISFIRE! Rudolph would've been all the poorer for joining in THESE reindeer games! 2 stars
1/24/02 Andrew Carden Almost Impossible To Enjoy...Almost Unwatchable. 1 stars
12/09/01 Joe Zappa "Reindeer Games" is awesome as Hell!!!!!! 4 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson Ben Affleck bites like a chigger 1 stars
7/21/01 Slicer This is just plain old bullshit, kids. Implausible to the core. 1 stars
6/13/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Each film Affleck's in gets progressively worse. I'm gonna smack him, I swear. 1 stars
4/17/01 I love movies r u kiddin'? this movie rocked! 5 stars
4/10/01 Spetters Not good in any way, but strangely entertaining. 3 stars
3/13/01 Paperplate UFO I can't keep a straight face when Afflek tries to look tough. Pure comedy. 1 stars
2/21/01 R.W. Welch Has no real stand-out aspects, just manages to hold your attention. 3 stars
12/10/00 BrittenysPears I'll save you the rental fee. Affleck lives and gives all the money away THIS SUCKED 1 stars
11/27/00 Fred Good movie, especially Ben Affleck and Charlize Theron. 4 stars
11/14/00 Terrie Smith A few good moments here and there but nothing exceptional. 3 stars
10/17/00 Dave Thsi movie had it all!!! Even a naked 10 year old farm boy - wait that was Charlize.. 2 stars
10/02/00 Robin Ben is on the rise!!!!! Go boy! 5 stars
9/18/00 Paul I know this is an "Affleck friendly" site but this movie sux. Theron's acting sucks ass 1 stars
8/24/00 Add A nice throw away popcorn action thiller, doesn't challenge u but has a decent ending 3 stars
8/21/00 Monday Morning Ending twist was way too far fetched. Pretty entertaining overall but leave brain at home. 4 stars
8/21/00 The Bomb 69 good movie, liked the plot twist, the ending with the money was unrealistic though 4 stars
5/31/00 Trina M. Barnard slow start, but picks up. Love the twist 4 stars
4/09/00 Stacy This movie was good! Ben Affleck is so hot. 4 stars
4/04/00 The Ronin Damn Good Movie 5 stars
3/21/00 Laura i enjoyed the twists 4 stars
3/18/00 Lame-Oh not bad, but Fight Club was better 3 stars
3/14/00 Mortis Full of twist, visually excellent, pacing was great, Ben's great, he's actings improvbe big 4 stars
3/13/00 Aurora Great fun! Ben Affleck does a great job! 5 stars
3/12/00 Malbert Cool ending&Ben Affleck keep this movie from being completely horrible 2 stars
3/08/00 Fork Story? Hmm? The characters all thrown together were entertaining. And somehow fun to me. 4 stars
3/04/00 jake Charlize is quite possabily the world's WORST actress!!!! GAWD she sucked donkey balls!!!! 1 stars
3/01/00 PhilmPhreak More holes than a pound of swiss. 3 stars
3/01/00 Ben Ryan Think Ben Affleck was in his element here. Overall good plot, geez, too much fucking snow! 5 stars
3/01/00 NC Lightweight affable Affleck meets over-the-top psycho Sinise via dull babe Theron. Yawn. 1 stars
2/28/00 "Cracka 577" it sucked fat ass 1 stars
2/27/00 TimmyToday This was trying to be a comedy 1 stars
2/27/00 Michelle Excellent movie with an excellent cast! I don't usually like actions, but this one was A+ 5 stars
2/26/00 Kathy Fast paced and entertaining - nice ass 4 stars
2/19/00 Andi C. Good plot..entertaining 3 stars
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:

Discuss this movie in our forum

  25-Feb-2000 (R)


  05-Oct-2000 (MA)

Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast