More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
2.75

Awesome: 6.78%
Worth A Look: 11.02%
Average50.85%
Pretty Bad: 12.71%
Total Crap: 18.64%

10 reviews, 58 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets by Rob Gonsalves

Roman J. Israel, Esq. by Peter Sobczynski

Coco (2017) by Peter Sobczynski

Prey (2017) by Jay Seaver

Lu Over the Wall by Jay Seaver

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by alejandroariera

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri by Peter Sobczynski

Justice League by Peter Sobczynski

Mumon: The Land of Stealth by Jay Seaver

Geek Girls by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Reindeer Games
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Greg Muskewitz

"The over-twistiness detracts more harshly from the well-made action."
3 stars

Reindeer Games (no explanation offered on the title, beyond a threat to Ben Affleck of “Don’t you play no reindeer games with me”) is a mind-numbingly twisty action flick.

In a letter from Dimension Films similar to the one I received for all of the Scream movies, they request that I not reveal the many plot twists and turns. So in other words, anything can happen –no holds barred. What I can tell you is that Ben Affleck is being released from jail for his lesser crime (auto thefts) in order to make room for the more serious committers. His cellmate is killed the day before being released, so Affleck takes his identity allowing him to meet and copulate with the friend’s girlfriend (Charlize Theron) of which they had met only through writing to each other. Her brother (Gary Sinise), believing it’s the ex-con Affleck is posing as, kidnaps the couple to use him for help in pulling of a heist. Many twists ensue. The action is tense and there are many suspenseful elements (courtesy of director John Frankenheimer) but too many preposterous coincidences and overly strenuous tricks dissolve the effectiveness. The script by Ehren Kruger is too shaky and undeveloped in certain areas, as is the case with his other two screenplays (Scream 3 and Arlington Road). Too much of Reindeer Games is an uneven blend of Wild Things and Rush Hour –both of which worked better on their own, and the movie disregards too many rules to suspend disbelief. (You can no longer assume just because someone is killed on screen means they’re dead, when it used to be that you couldn’t assume it if they were killed off screen.)

Final Verdict: C.

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3842&reviewer=172
originally posted: 12/18/00 17:41:29
[printer] printer-friendly format  

User Comments

11/28/09 Jeff Wilder Gets the job done. That's all it does. 3 stars
10/23/09 Rachel I really did not enjoy this movie and actually never finished watching it! 2 stars
3/14/09 Qeratk Hi! yYQQsZoI 1 stars
9/10/08 PAUL SHORTT WINDS UP A FIERY KNOT OF TANGLED LOYALTIES AND BETRAYALS, WITH NO ONE TO ROOT FOR 1 stars
8/30/08 Shaun Wallner This ones ok. 3 stars
2/18/07 Nick Maday I enjoyed the twists to this, but they just seemed to keep coming. 3 stars
2/10/07 Heather I want to see believeable actors and the majority in this film just aren't. Cardboard! 2 stars
1/10/07 David Pollastrini Charlize Theron Looked hot! 4 stars
10/23/05 Jenny Tullwartz MISFIRE! Rudolph would've been all the poorer for joining in these reindeer games! 2 stars
10/23/05 Jenny Tullwartz MISFIRE! Rudolph would\'ve been all the poorer for joining in THESE reindeer games! 2 stars
8/27/05 ES Why does Gary Sinise keep doing this garbage, he's better than that 1 stars
3/13/05 Mr. Mooring Affleck is the WORST actor ever. 1 stars
1/17/05 Jeff Anderson Surprise, I actually liked this film. R.I.P. J. Frankenheimer (1930-2002), you'll be missed 5 stars
11/18/04 Jay Lo Affleck is wooden but Theron carries the film. 2 stars
1/08/04 A F Holy Crap did that suck and I'm from MN 1 stars
10/17/03 Josh Standlee Funny and action-packed. Gary Sinise should have recieved "The Best Villian for 2000" award 4 stars
6/06/03 Francis Implausible is right. Who writes this stuff? 3 stars
3/09/03 Jack Sommersby Energetic, but after a while you just don't give a hoot. 2 stars
10/15/02 Charles Tatum Good twists and turns, but completely odious characters 4 stars
3/11/02 CHANTELLE I LOVE IT THATS ALL I CAN SAY 5 stars
2/25/02 Jenny Tullwartz MISFIRE! Rudolph would've been all the poorer for joining in THESE reindeer games! 2 stars
1/24/02 Andrew Carden Almost Impossible To Enjoy...Almost Unwatchable. 1 stars
12/09/01 Joe Zappa "Reindeer Games" is awesome as Hell!!!!!! 4 stars
8/19/01 Dr. Thompson Ben Affleck bites like a chigger 1 stars
7/21/01 Slicer This is just plain old bullshit, kids. Implausible to the core. 1 stars
6/13/01 *~Danielle*Ophelia~* (formerly KyLe*BrOfLoVsKi) Each film Affleck's in gets progressively worse. I'm gonna smack him, I swear. 1 stars
4/17/01 I love movies r u kiddin'? this movie rocked! 5 stars
4/10/01 Spetters Not good in any way, but strangely entertaining. 3 stars
3/13/01 Paperplate UFO I can't keep a straight face when Afflek tries to look tough. Pure comedy. 1 stars
2/21/01 R.W. Welch Has no real stand-out aspects, just manages to hold your attention. 3 stars
12/10/00 BrittenysPears I'll save you the rental fee. Affleck lives and gives all the money away THIS SUCKED 1 stars
11/27/00 Fred Good movie, especially Ben Affleck and Charlize Theron. 4 stars
11/14/00 Terrie Smith A few good moments here and there but nothing exceptional. 3 stars
10/17/00 Dave Thsi movie had it all!!! Even a naked 10 year old farm boy - wait that was Charlize.. 2 stars
10/02/00 Robin Ben is on the rise!!!!! Go boy! 5 stars
9/18/00 Paul I know this is an "Affleck friendly" site but this movie sux. Theron's acting sucks ass 1 stars
8/24/00 Add A nice throw away popcorn action thiller, doesn't challenge u but has a decent ending 3 stars
8/21/00 Monday Morning Ending twist was way too far fetched. Pretty entertaining overall but leave brain at home. 4 stars
8/21/00 The Bomb 69 good movie, liked the plot twist, the ending with the money was unrealistic though 4 stars
5/31/00 Trina M. Barnard slow start, but picks up. Love the twist 4 stars
5/12/00 LINA CANTIN NOT BAD...VERY PREDICTABLE... BEN HAS A NICE ASS..WAS WORTH THE PRICE OF ADMISSION ... 3 stars
4/09/00 Stacy This movie was good! Ben Affleck is so hot. 4 stars
4/04/00 The Ronin Damn Good Movie 5 stars
3/21/00 Laura i enjoyed the twists 4 stars
3/18/00 Lame-Oh not bad, but Fight Club was better 3 stars
3/14/00 Mortis Full of twist, visually excellent, pacing was great, Ben's great, he's actings improvbe big 4 stars
3/13/00 Aurora Great fun! Ben Affleck does a great job! 5 stars
3/12/00 Malbert Cool ending&Ben Affleck keep this movie from being completely horrible 2 stars
3/08/00 Fork Story? Hmm? The characters all thrown together were entertaining. And somehow fun to me. 4 stars
3/04/00 jake Charlize is quite possabily the world's WORST actress!!!! GAWD she sucked donkey balls!!!! 1 stars
3/01/00 PhilmPhreak More holes than a pound of swiss. 3 stars
3/01/00 Ben Ryan Think Ben Affleck was in his element here. Overall good plot, geez, too much fucking snow! 5 stars
3/01/00 NC Lightweight affable Affleck meets over-the-top psycho Sinise via dull babe Theron. Yawn. 1 stars
2/28/00 "Cracka 577" it sucked fat ass 1 stars
2/27/00 TimmyToday This was trying to be a comedy 1 stars
2/27/00 Michelle Excellent movie with an excellent cast! I don't usually like actions, but this one was A+ 5 stars
2/26/00 Kathy Fast paced and entertaining - nice ass 4 stars
2/19/00 Andi C. Good plot..entertaining 3 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  25-Feb-2000 (R)

UK
  N/A

Australia
  05-Oct-2000 (MA)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast