More in-depth film festival coverage than any other website!
Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
Advertisement

Overall Rating
3.86

Awesome36.65%
Worth A Look: 32.92%
Average: 14.29%
Pretty Bad: 11.8%
Total Crap: 4.35%

8 reviews, 113 user ratings


Latest Reviews

Beirut by Jay Seaver

Phantom Thread by Rob Gonsalves

Vazante by Rob Gonsalves

Big Fish & Begonia by Jay Seaver

Claire's Camera by Jay Seaver

Let the Corpses Tan by Jay Seaver

Queen of Hollywood Blvd, The by Jay Seaver

Rampage (2018) by Peter Sobczynski

You Were Never Really Here by Peter Sobczynski

Gemini by Jay Seaver

subscribe to this feed


Final Destination
[AllPosters.com] Buy posters from this movie
by Filmnet

"Death likes to listen to John Denver."
4 stars

Here’s a problem …how does one review a film like THE CRYING GAME, SIXTH SENSE or FINAL DESTINATION and not spoil it for those who want to see it? So much of the effect depends on the careful revelation of the central theme and the clever execution of certain plot devices, if you get my drift, that to explain any of it may diminish that effect. I’ve always seen a reviewer’s job as being to supply the reader with all of his or her impressions and facts about the film so the reader can then make up their own minds as to whether to see the film or not, rather than to criticise the film as a work. I’ll try to tread as carefully as possible.

I once read an interesting list that circulated by e-mail … “Everything I Need To Know I Learned From Horror Movies” … full of good advice on how to survive in shock/horror movies … “If a dog howls in the distance, something bad is about to happen” or “Listen to the theme music” or “Don’t look in the medicine cabinet, because when you shut the door, there will be someone behind you in the mirror.”

I reckon Director/Writer James Wong and his friends might have read this list, too. There are some very good things to learn from watching FINAL DESTINATION. The most important is that if you listen to John Denver, you are going to die. Poor John Denver is used from the first scene in the same sort of context as John William’s double bass was used in JAWS.

The film’s opening scenes, as you will have deduced from the numerous trailers already on TV, includes one of the most spectacular air crashes (from the inside out) I have ever seen, and there have been a few recently. This is a real E-Ticket ride and you’re only 10 minutes into the piece. Interesting, but the trailer also includes an enormous face suck between Sawa and Larter which in fact doesn’t occur in the actual release cut, not that it really matters. I guess what it says is that it is now ethical to entice your audience with scenes that aren’t in the actual film.

FINAL DESTINATION is not a who done it. From about half way through the film, it becomes a how’s it gunna be done and to whom. I think it is a cut above the usual slasher movies … pardon the pun … and certainly much more intelligent. I guess the best way to rate this film without giving anything away is to give you a sort of score sheet.

I’d say there are at least six “Jump Out Of Your Seats,” ten “Cool! Ways to meet (or meat) a grizzly end” and at least seven classic “Oh, Shit! Did you see that!” Comparing apples to oranges, I thought this was a much better film than I KNEW WHAT YOU DID LAST SUMMER and URBAN LEGEND (not hard to do) and almost as spooky, but much, much more graphic, than THE SIXTH SENSE. It has a lot of the flavour and themes of Peter Jackson’s great New Zealand/Hollywood flick, THE FRIGHTENERS.

Director and contributing writer James Wong cut his teeth on some of the classic episodes of THE X-FILES, MILLENNIUM and created the Australian-back lot sci-fi series SPACE: ABOVE AND BEYOND. You can see his pedigree through some of the humour and timing.

FINAL DESTINATION certainly had a lot of the X-FILES and MILLENNIUM about it. It certainly could have been back story for an X-FILES episode … it already has two FBI agents keeping the bench warm for Mouldy and Skuller. Wong gets great performances out of Devon Sawa (IDLE HANDS), Ali Larter (VARSITY BLUES) and Seann William Scott (AMERICAN PIE). Sawa, who pretty much carries the picture, is someone to watch.

Teens will love it, though the ridiculous MA15+ rating will keep many of them away unless their parents take them. A good date flick … girls, if you don’t have your head buried under his arm, his will certainly be under your’s. If your kids drag you along to it, go happily, but take a change of underpants. (Randall Berger--filmnet.org.au)

link directly to this review at http://www.efilmcritic.com/review.php?movie=3848&reviewer=169
originally posted: 04/17/00 13:41:35
[printer] printer-friendly format  
Trilogy Starters: For more in the Trilogy Starters series, click here.

User Comments

9/13/17 morris campbell not bad but nothing special 3 stars
11/12/10 PAUL SHORTT GORY, UNSATISFYING HORROR 2 stars
12/27/09 dhanashree patil its the best film 5 stars
2/17/09 action movie fan good twilight Zone style shocker-opening scene draws from number 22 tz episode 4 stars
7/24/08 Shaun Wallner This movie was Awesome!! Loved It. 5 stars
8/25/07 Quigley A very original modern horror film; very rare! Terrible ending. I'd recommend it 4 stars
7/30/07 David Risser good thriller! 4 stars
2/13/07 Anthony Feor I'll admit it is sometimes scary, however, the plot hole are not. (3/5) 3 stars
11/06/06 Chris Really enjoyed this movie 4 stars
10/05/06 Booksworm This is on a very short list of scary movies I'd watch. 5 stars
8/05/06 Stanley Thai A smart thriller, not horror, IMO. No slashers but good kills and acting. 4 stars
2/22/06 sharon best moive in years 5 stars
11/16/05 Lacy Brewster Scary, but good 4 stars
10/05/05 tony the movie is fine but then again, crap 3 stars
9/05/05 Tom Burns The death scenes are jaw dropping. their awesome. 5 stars
6/24/05 Monday Morning Rocks 5 stars
6/02/05 Chris A true horror classic! 5 stars
1/23/05 Darryl So, another teen horror flick. But the reason (plot) for the bloodbath is original. 4 stars
10/31/04 lucas worth a look 4 stars
10/19/04 BERT UR ALL TWATS WITH NO TASTE LOL 1 stars
9/10/04 jeff good excitement. didnt get much media attention!!! nice name VARUNA,haha 4 stars
8/02/04 magaafi VARUNA & DM, GO FUCK URSELFS!! GOOD MOVIE, U MUST WATCH!!!! 5 stars
6/23/04 Fabian Ramirez it waz the shizznik 5 stars
6/09/04 molly watch it everyday!!!! bring on the third one!!!!!!! 5 stars
4/06/04 samantha best film ever 5 stars
2/06/04 DM Totally overdone, with 3rd-rate philosophy 1 stars
12/09/03 Ricky a very suspensful flick, it was really great!! 5 stars
11/25/03 Thiago first one is really good, second one is great.... bring us the third one! 4 stars
11/04/03 American Slasher Goddess More original then alot of the new teen slashers, but hampered by an anti-climatic ending. 4 stars
10/18/03 Littlepurch Could have done with more death scenes like the train decapitation but still good for jumps 4 stars
9/26/03 Charles Tatum Interesting idea just starts repeating itself 3 stars
9/18/03 Samuel Justus Death itself was stalking the victims! one by one... 5 stars
8/23/03 jom awesome, by the way I was wondering if it's based on any novel 5 stars
7/14/03 Samuel Justus James Wong, Jeffery Reddick, and Glen Morgan Rule!!! One of the greatest films of all time! 5 stars
5/24/03 R.W. Welch S. King might wish he had thought of this one. Overdone in spots but cleverly constructed. 4 stars
5/08/03 idie hott movie,- captivating, suspenseful, and intriguing 5 stars
4/24/03 Bill makes the top 20 worst films ever. Fucken rubbish. 1 stars
4/15/03 Jack Bourbon Fun. Poor teenies. 4 stars
3/29/03 NYTRANSIT417 Guts and Blood Fly...leaving me thinking...Howd they do that? 5 stars
3/23/03 Sam Bucus the Elder The Stunning Ali Larter saves this from one of the most screwy premises in cinematic histry 4 stars
2/20/03 Dave Occasionally amusing, but ultimately shite. 2 stars
2/06/03 Chris Death Takes A Holiday, And We Get To See A Stupid Horror Movie 1 stars
2/03/03 y2mckay Oz, Tony Todd was not playing Death in this film. Shit-funny review tho. 3 stars
10/23/02 palaboy101 watch out! you could be next! (knock on wood) 4 stars
6/11/02 crush A great film. 5 stars
6/07/02 stud cool 5 stars
5/19/02 Jon Artus Do you know what would make this movie good? Throw it away and watch South Park instead... 1 stars
4/22/02 lll Better than most teenage crap out there. 4 stars
4/08/02 Monster W. Kung I mean, come on. 2 stars
3/02/02 Alan Smithee Pretty good stuff. Suffers from an obviously tacked on ending. Ali Larter's hot. 4 stars
2/20/02 Xaver Slightly engaging. Fun. 4 stars
1/27/02 Tiffany Thunderhurst Ali Larter, most underrated actress around, can make even a brain-dead premise rock! 5 stars
1/25/02 Lucy Crosland Superb! Please cast Ali Larter in more like this. Dont waste her in trash like Legally Blon 5 stars
1/12/02 hd the best ever 5 stars
1/11/02 jessica gg xcellent film, really unexpected and thoughtfull!!! 5 stars
12/13/01 ben wasden A fun ride with at least two scenes that will make you jump out of your skin. 5 stars
12/08/01 Mr Math Better than most teen thrillers, but that's not saying a lot. Still pretty dull. 3 stars
10/31/01 Sumixam Can see why the X-Files is so great, go you good things! 5 stars
10/02/01 Phoenix Well crafted, and better than a lot of the horror films out there. 4 stars
9/13/01 Gary Pure entertainment. Funny, clever and an brilliant ending. 5 stars
8/12/01 Jake Not scary, bad effects stupid ideas and lame characters. 2 stars
8/06/01 badfish Great,full of surprises,Loved it! 5 stars
8/04/01 sarah The concept was interesting but it fell flat quick 2 stars
7/28/01 Steve This wasn't horror, it was SUSPENSE, get it right! Still scared me shitless. Good storyline 5 stars
7/02/01 Lisa & Steph seann william scott is HOT!!!!! 5 stars
6/20/01 King Jackass Sure to be a cult classic. 5 stars
6/13/01 H Totally predictable, utterly stupid 1 stars
4/09/01 Gary This is a really good movie but it's really scary. SEE IT IF YOU HAVEN'T ALREADY! 5 stars
2/16/01 Shezz Best horror film i've ever seen!!! 5 stars
2/10/01 Amanda Thompson Best Horror movie I have seen in a long time! Chad Donella was excellent!! 5 stars
2/08/01 Bender A very good premise, but only half successful. 3 stars
2/04/01 Del R Way better than the scream series for sure 4 stars
1/23/01 Lyndsay I think some of the people on here never gave it a chance. 4 stars
1/09/01 Monday Morning Smart, fun & wonderful...everything that "Scary Movie" WASN'T! 5 stars
12/30/00 Piper It's in the league of horror classics such as The first nightmare on elm street etc. 5 stars
12/05/00 Izzy This movie is amazing! best movie for its category! 5 stars
12/03/00 Bicster Too predictable and painful to watch 1 stars
11/14/00 The EVIL Penguin Pretty scary, but thin plot. 3 stars
10/02/00 seany pooh yeah baby it rocks and kills and slashes and etc. etc 5 stars
9/20/00 Jeff 1 slick thriller!! 5 stars
9/14/00 Guadalupe the best movie of the year! 5 stars
9/08/00 Tdis72 A very good film, not exactly scary but somewhat funny and very shocking. 5 stars
7/04/00 Tandi It was the best 5 stars
6/09/00 Bender Great premse pretty much wasted in this uneven movie, plus a dreadful ending. 3 stars
5/27/00 Chopper3 What a great ""switch-brain-off" film, great shocks, good direction overall, acting was ok. 5 stars
5/21/00 mellemel If there wasn't any dialogue, I would give it five stars. 3 stars
5/20/00 Matthew Bartley Scary and disturbing, It works better cos it isn't ironic or self-aware 5 stars
5/05/00 Michelle I loved this movie. It was so exciting. I had my mouth open for most of the movie. 5 stars
4/29/00 Fishsticks Scary as hell. 'Cause it doesn't think itself funny. Mostly hole-free plot, too. 4 stars
4/25/00 Obi Wan Loved the flick..but who wrote the dialogue? Can "I'm Not going to die" be anymore obvious 4 stars
4/23/00 Benjamin Lesbian A very pleasant surprise from the duo that basically made the X-FILES what it is today. 5 stars
4/16/00 Zeitgeist gret concept, yes, but do we REALLY need all those holes in the plot? 2 stars
4/14/00 Des I totally enjoyed this movie...made me jump! 5 stars
4/11/00 LoveGravy shock/vomit/disgust-inducing movie-writing sucks,but good for nonjaded gore-seeking viewers 4 stars
4/11/00 kohawk ONLY redeeming quality this movie has are the creative death scenes. 3 or 4 of them 2 stars
4/09/00 EMagGaRony this is some freaky shit.... scares you so bad you don't want to drive home 5 stars
4/09/00 "Persnickety" freaky as hell, scared the shit out of me, though silly at times! 5 stars
4/08/00 AlexClare13 I loved the actors the plot, everything! 5 stars
4/04/00 Donna lots of blood and guts! keeps you guessing 4 stars
4/02/00 Randall Didn't change my perception of the whole concept of death, but it was a fun movie 4 stars
3/27/00 arnold fantastic but dumb ending 5 stars
3/27/00 frizz GREAT movie! it changed my perception of the whole death concept 5 stars
3/26/00 Froggirl Never have I seen so much suspense! Death scenes were elaborate and great. Leaves u thinkin 5 stars
3/26/00 Froggirl Never have I seen so much suspense! Death scenes were elaborate and great. Leaves u thinkin 5 stars
3/23/00 Ben Ryan Makes you appreciate life more.. and fucks up your head at the same time! 5 stars
3/21/00 Lame-Oh makes Scream look like Turbulence on ludes 3 stars
3/20/00 Girl9 Interesting concept, worth seeing on a big screen! 5 stars
3/19/00 frank good flick 5 stars
3/19/00 JustinR2001 The most sensationally terrifying horror flick of the decade. Watch out for the bus! 5 stars
3/19/00 Captain Highcrime Does anybody else remember there was a HS class going to France aboard TWA 800? Unnerving. 4 stars
3/19/00 kelly the movie was soooooo good!!!! scary, and it really made u think!!!! i suggest u go see it! 5 stars
3/18/00 Zantetsuken Not a bad concept, but predictable at times. Good scares if you go in not being big headed. 4 stars
3/18/00 Bludworthy Sensationally intense -- graphic & creative death scenes & an abruptly shocking end. Whoa! 5 stars
IF YOU'VE SEEN THIS FILM, RATE IT!
Note: Duplicate, 'planted,' or other obviously improper comments
will be deleted at our discretion. So don't bother posting 'em. Thanks!
Your Name:
Your Comments:
Your Location: (state/province/country)
Your Rating:


Discuss this movie in our forum

USA
  17-Mar-2000 (R)
  DVD: 17-Jan-2006

UK
  N/A

Australia
  13-Apr-2000 (M)




Home Reviews  Articles  Release Dates Coming Soon  DVD  Top 20s Criticwatch  Search
Public Forums  Festival Coverage  Contests About 
eFilmCritic.com: Australia's Largest Movie Review Database.
Privacy Policy | HBS Inc. | |   

All data and site design copyright 1997-2017, HBS Entertainment, Inc.
Search for
reviews features movie title writer/director/cast